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Date of Hearing: July 14, 2015
Counsel: Sandy Uribe

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Bill Quirk, Chair

SB 519 (Hancock) — As Amended June 2, 2015
As Proposed to be Amended in Committee

SUMMARY: Makes reforms to rules governing the processing of claims by the California
Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board (board). Specifically, this bill:

1Y)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7

8)

Prohibits the board from requiring an applicant to submit documentation from the Internal
Revenue Service, the Franchise Tax Board, the State Board of Equalization, the Social
Security Administration, or the Employment Development Department in order to determine
eligibility for compensation.

Requires all correspondence by the board to an applicant to be written in specified languages.

Prohibits the denial of a claim for a victim who is a minor based on the grounds of failing to
cooperate with law enforcement.

Provides that a felon on probation or parole is eligible for compensation for mental health
counseling despite this status.

Prohibits the board from establishing policy or regulations limiting the amount recoverable
for funeral expenses to less than $7500.

Requires the board to approve or deny an application within 90 days of acceptance.

Allows an applicant to be accompanied by a service animal at a hearing to contest the denial
of a claim.

Permits a crime victim to testify at a restitution hearing or a modification hearing by live,
two-way audio and video transmission, if it is available at the court.

EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

3)

Establishes the board to operate the California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCP).
(Gov. Code, § 13950 et. seq.)

Provides than an application for compensation shall be filed with the board in the manner
determined by the board. (Gov. Code, § 13952, subd.(a).)

States that, except as provided by specified sections of the Government Code, a person shall
be eligible for compensation when all of the following requirements are met:
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a) The person form whom compensation is being sought any of the following:
i) A victim,
ii) A derivative victim.

iii) A person who is entitled to reimbursement for funeral, burial or crime scene clean-up
expenses pursuant to specified sections of the Government Code.

b) Either of the following conditions is met:
1) The crime occurred within California, whether or not the victim is a resident of
California. This only applies when the VCGCB determines that there are federal

funds available to the state for the compensation of crime victims.

ii) Whether or not the crime occurred within the State of California, the victim was any
of the following:

(1) A California resident.
(2) A member of the military stationed in California.
(3) A family member living with a member of the military stationed in California.

¢) If compensation is being sought for derivative victim, the derivative victim is a resident
of California, or the resident of another state who is any of the following:

1) At the time of the crimes was the parent, grandparent, sibling, spouse, child or
grandchild of the victim.

ii) At the time of the crime was living in the household of the victim.
iii) At the time of the crime was a person who had previously lived in the house of the
victim for a person of not less than two years in a relationship substantially similar to

a previously listed relationship.

iv) Another family member of the victim including, but not limited to, the victim's fiancé
or fiancée, and who witnessed the crime.

v) Is the primary caretaker of a minor victim, but was not the primary caretaker at the
time of the crime.

d) And other specified requirements. (Gov. Code, § 13955.)
4) States that an application shall be denied if the board finds that the victim failed to

reasonably cooperate with law enforcement in prosecution of the crime. (Gov. Code, §
13956, subd. (b)(1).)
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6)

7

8)
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Disqualifies certain individuals from eligibility, including a participant in the crime for which
compensation is being sought, and persons convicted of a felony who are currently on
probation or parole. (Gov. Code, § 13956.)

Authorizes the board to reimburse for pecuniary loss for the following types of losses (Gov.
Code, § 13957, subd. (a)):

a) The amount of medical or medical-related expenses incurred by the victim, subject to
specified limitations.

b) The amount of out-patient psychiatric, psychological or other mental health counseling-
related expenses incurred by the victim, as specified, including peer counseling services
provided by a rape crisis center.

¢) The expenses of non-medical remedial care and treatment rendered in accordance with a
religious method of healing recognized by state law.

d) Compensation equal to the loss of income or loss of support, or both, that a victim or
derivative victim incurs as a direct result of the victim’s injury or the victim’s death,
subject to specified limitations.

¢) Cash payment to, or on behalf of, the victim for job retraining or similar employment-
oriented services.

f) The expense of installing or increasing residential security, not to exceed $1,000, with
respect to a crime that occurred in the victim’s residence, upon verification by law
enforcement to be necessary for the personal safety of the victim or by a mental health
treatment provider to be necessary for the emotional well-being of the victim.

g) The expense of renovating or retrofitting a victim’s residence or a vehicle to make them
accessible or operational, if it is medically necessary.

h) Expenses incurred in relocating, as specified, if the expenses are determined by law
enforcement to be necessary for the personal safety or by a mental health treatment
provider to be necessary for the emotional well-being of the victim.

Limits the total award to or on behalf of each victim to $35,000, except that this amount may
be increased to $70,000 if federal funds for that increase are available. (Gov. Code, § 13957,
subd. (b).)

Requires the board to approve or deny applications, based on recommendations by the board
staff, within an average of 90 calendar days and no later than 180 calendar days of
acceptance by the board. (Gov. Code, § 13958, subd. (a).)

Requires the board, if it fails to meet the 90-day average, to report to the Legislature on a
quarterly basis its progress and current average processing time. (Gov. Code, § 13958, subd.

(b).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown
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COMMENTS:

1

2)

3)

4)

Author's Statement: According to the author, "It should not be surprising that crime incurs
all kinds of costs on its victims. In 2004, a National Institute of Justice report estimated that
the nationwide costs of crime are $105 billion per year. When factoring in pain-and-suffering
and reduced quality of life, that figure jumps to $450 billion. Making sure that victims are
compensated by their victimizers is not only good economic policy, but morally sound.

"Providing justice and compensation to Californians who are the victims of crime are among
the paramount missions of our government. The intent of SB 519 is to improve the way that
the Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board provides compensation for crime
victims."

Background: The CalVCP provides compensation for victims of violent crime. Tt
reimburses eligible victims for many crime-related expenses, such as medical treatment,
mental health services, funeral expenses, home security, and relocation services. F unding for
the board comes from restitution fines and penalty assessments paid by criminal offenders, as
well as federal matching funds. (See CVGCB Website <http://www.veech.ca. gov/board>.)

Legislative Analyst's Office (LAO) Report: The LAO's March 2015 report, Improving
State Programs for Crime Victims, made several recommendations. The LAO agreed with
the Governor's proposal to restructure the VCGCB to focus solely on administering victim
programs, and shifting victim programs administered by other departments to the VCGCB.
The LAO also found that the board needs to develop a comprehensive strategy, which among
other things should assess the appropriate number, scope, and priority of the state's existing
programs, as well as conducting periodic program evaluations to see which victim programs
are most effective and should be expanded in the future. (Improving Stare Programs for
Crime Victims, supra, pp. 18-20, < http://www.lao.ca.gov/reports/2015/budget/crime-
victims/crime-victims-031815.pdf>.)

Bureau of State Audit Recommendations: In 2008, the Bureau of State Audits conducted
a review of the CalVCP. (Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board: It Has
Begun Improving the Victim Compensation Program, but More Remains to Be Done, (Dec.
2008), <http://www.bsa.ca.gov/pdfs/reports/2008-113.pdf>.) One of the areas the bureau
considered was how long it took the board to process applications. The bureau concluded
that, at times, applications were not processed in a timely manner:

State law related to eligibility determinations for the program requires the board
to approve or deny applications, based on the recommendation of board staff,
within an average of 90 calendar days, and no later than 180 calendar days after
the acceptance date for an individual application. For the 49 applications we
reviewed, the board’s average processing time was 76 days, which is well within
the statutory average. However, the board did not make a determination within
180 days in two instances. We also noted various instances in which the board
did not demonstrate that it approved or denied the applications as promptly as it
could have after receiving the information necessary to make the determination.
({d. at pp. 30-31.)
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6)
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For the 49 applications we reviewed from fiscal years 2003—04 through 200708,
we found that the board’s average processing time was 76 days, which is well
within the 90-day average required under state law. However, we noted that in 16
of the 49 applications we reviewed, the board took more than 90 days from
acceptance to notify the applicant of its recommended decision to approve or deny
the application. Although taking more than 90 days to approve or deny an
individual application is not a violation of state law, any unnecessary delays in
processing contribute to crime victims waiting longer than necessary to be
reimbursed for out-of-pocket expenses. Delays may also cause providers to
become frustrated and stop participating in the program, reducing services
available to crime victims and their families. (/d. at p. 31.)

Because the delay in disbursing payments has persisted, this bill requires the board to
approve or deny an application within 90 days, not within an average of 90 days.

Argument in Support: According to Californians for Safety and Justice, "Through our
outreach, time and again we have encountered victims and survivors of crime in need of
support opportunities to heal from trauma. The overwhelming impact of serious crime is
often exacerbated by the justice system process and crime victims often face challenges
finding the right supports for recovery. We often hear survivors talk about how support
services to heal from trauma are an ongoing unmet need. Our 2013 survey of crime victims
in California, the first of its kind, found that four of the five services available to crime
victims, including assistance accessing victims’ compensation and navigating the criminal
Justice process, were unknown to the majority of victims. SB 519 will begin to address these
barriers and help more crime victims get the support they need."

Related Legislation:

a) AB 1140 (Bonta) revises various rules governing the CalVCP. AB 1140 is pending
hearing in the Senate Public Safety Committee.

b) SB 556 (De Leon) defines "application processing time" for the approval or denial of a
victim's compensation claim. SB 556 is pending hearing in the Assembly Appropriations
Committee.

Prior Legislation:

a) AB 1911 (Patterson), of the 2013-2014 Legislative session, would have shortened the
time period in which the board must approve or deny an application to within 30 calendar
days of the date of acceptance, and also would have shortened the time period in which
the board must make disbursements of funds for emergency awards. AB 1911 was never
heard by this committee.

b) AB 2809 (Leno), Chapter 587, Statutes of 2008, allowed a minor who suffers emotional
injury as a direct result of witnessing a violent crime to be eligible for reimbursement for
the costs of outpatient mental health counseling if the minor was in close proximity to the
victim when he or she witnessed the crime.
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¢) AB 2869 (Leno), Chapter 582, Statutes of 2006, specified that the provisions authorizing
reimbursement for funeral and burial expenses apply without respect to any felon status

of the victim.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

San Francisco District Attorney (Sponsor)
California Catholic Conference of Bishops
California Department of Justice
Californians for Safety and Justice

City and County of San Francisco

Crime Victims United of California
Institute on Aging

Legal Services for Prisoners with Children
Santa Clara County District Attorney

Opposition

None

Analysis Prepared by: Sandy Uribe / PUB. S. / (916) 319-3744
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Rkt Amendments are in BOLD %% %% % %x

Mock-up based on Version Number 97 - Amended Senate 6/2/15
Submitted by: Sandy Uribe, Assembly Public Safety Committee

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. Section 13952 of the Government Code is amended to read:

13952. (a) An application for compensation shall be filed with the board in the manner
determined by the board.

(b) (1) The application for compensation shall be verified under penalty of perjury by the
individual who is seeking compensation, who may be the victim or derivative victim, or an
individual seeking reimbursement for burial, funeral, or crime scene cleanup expenses pursuant
to subdivision (a) of Section 13957. If the individual seeking compensation is a minor or is
incompetent, the application shall be verified under penalty of perjury or on information and
belief by the parent with legal custody, guardian, conservator, or relative caregiver of the victim
or derivative victim for whom the application is made. However, if a minor seeks compensation
only for expenses for medical, medical-related, psychiatric, psychological, or other mental health
counseling-related services and the minor is authorized by statute to consent to those services,
the minor may verify the application for compensation under penalty of perjury.

(2) For purposes of this subdivision, “relative caregiver” means a relative as defined in
subdivision (h) of Section 6550 of the Family Code, who assumed primary responsibility for the
child while the child was in the relative’s care and control, and who is not a biological or
adoptive parent.

(¢) (1) The board may require submission of additional information supporting the application
that is reasonably necessary to verify the application and determine eligibility for compensation.

(2) The staff of the board shall determine whether an application for compensation contains all of
the information required by the board. If the staff determines that an application does not contain
all of the required information, the staff shall communicate that determination to the applicant
with a brief statement of the additional information required. The applicant, within 30 calendar
days of being notified that the application is incomplete, may either supply the additional
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information or appeal the staff’s determination to the board, which shall review the application to
determine whether it is complete.

(3) The board shall not require an applicant to submit documentation from the Internal Revenue
Service, the Franchise Tax Board, the State Board of Equalization, the Social Security
Administration, or the Employment Development Department in order to determine eligibility
for compensation.

(d) (1) The board may recognize an authorized representative of the victim or derivative victim,
who shall represent the victim or derivative victim pursuant to rules adopted by the board.

(2) For purposes of this subdivision, “authorized representative” means any of the following:
(A) An attorney.

(B) If the victim or derivative victim is a minor or an incompetent adult, the legal guardian or
conservator, or an immediate family member, parent, or relative caregiver who is not the
perpetrator of the crime that gave rise to the claim.

(C) A victim assistance advocate certified pursuant to Section 13835.10 of the Penal Code.

(D) An immediate family member of the victim or derivative victim, who has written
authorization by the victim or derivative victim, and who is not the perpetrator of the crime that
gave rise to the claim.

(E) Other persons who shall represent the victim or derivative victim pursuant to rules adopted
by the board.

(F) A county social worker designated by a county department of social services to represent a
child abuse victim or an elder abuse victim if that victim is unable to file on his or her own
behalf.

(3) Except for attorney’s fees awarded under this chapter, no authorized representative described
in paragraph (2) shall charge, demand, receive, or collect any amount for services rendered under
this subdivision.

(e) All correspondence by the board to an applicant shall be written in English, Spanish, Chinese
(Mandarin and Cantonese), Vietnamese, Korean, East Armenian, Tagalog, Russian, Arabic,
Farsi, Mong, and Khmer.
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SEC. 2. Section 13956 of the Government Code is amended to read:

13956. Notwithstanding Section 13955, a person shall not be eligible for compensation under the
following conditions:

(a) An application shall be denied if the board finds that the victim or, if compensation is sought
by or on behalf of a derivative victim, either the victim or derivative victim, knowingly and
willingly participated in the commission of the crime that resulted in the pecuniary loss for
which compensation is being sought pursuant to this chapter. However, this subdivision shall not
apply if the injury or death occurred as a direct result of a crime committed in violation of
Section 261, 262, or 273.5 of, or a crime of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor committed
in violation of subdivision (d) of Section 261.5 of, the Penal Code.

(b) (1) An application shall be denied if the board finds that the victim or, if compensation is
sought by, or on behalf of, a derivative victim, either the victim or derivative victim failed to
cooperate reasonably with a law enforcement agency in the apprehension and conviction of a
criminal committing the crime. However, in determining whether cooperation has been
reasonable, the board shall consider the victim’s or derivative victim’s age, physical condition,
and psychological state, cultural or linguistic barriers, any compelling health and safety
concerns, including, but not limited to, a reasonable fear of retaliation or harm that would
Jjeopardize the well-being of the victim or the victim’s family or the derivative victim or the
derivative victim’s family, and giving due consideration to the degree of cooperation of which
the victim or derivative victim is capable in light of the presence of any of these factors. An
application for a claim shall not be denied pursuant to this paragraph in any case in which the
victim is eligible for compensation as a minor.

(2) An application for a claim based on domestic violence shall not be denied solely because no
police report was made by the victim. The board shall adopt guidelines that allow the board to
consider and approve applications for assistance based on domestic violence relying upon
evidence other than a police report to establish that a domestic violence crime has occurred.
Factors evidencing that a domestic violence crime has occurred may include, but are not limited
to, medical records documenting injuries consistent with allegations of domestic violence,
mental health records, or the fact that the victim has obtained a temporary or permanent
restraining order, or all of these.

(3) An application for a claim based on human trafficking as defined in Section 236.1 of the
Penal Code shall not be denied solely because no police report was made by the victim. The
board shall adopt guidelines that allow the board to consider and approve applications for
assistance based on human trafficking relying upon evidence other than a police report to
establish that a human trafficking crime as defined in Section 236.1 of the Penal Code has
occurred. That evidence may include any reliable corroborating information approved by the
board, including, but not limited to, the following:

Sandy Uribe
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(A) A Law Enforcement Agency Endorsement issued pursuant to Section 236.2 of the Penal
Code.

(B) A human trafficking caseworker, as identified in Section 1038.2 of the Evidence Code, has
attested by affidavit that the individual was a victim of human trafficking.

(4) (A) An application for a claim by a military personnel victim based on a sexual assault by
another military personnel shall not be denied solely because it was not reported to a superior
officer or law enforcement at the time of the crime.

(B) Factors that the board shall consider for purposes of determining if a claim qualifies for
compensation include, but are not limited to, the evidence of the following;:

(i) Restricted or unrestricted reports to a military victim advocate, sexual assault response
coordinator, chaplain, attorney, or other military personnel.

(ii) Medical or physical evidence consistent with sexual assault.

(i) A written or oral report from military law enforcement or a civilian law enforcement agency
concluding that a sexual assault crime was committed against the victim.

(iv) A letter or other written statement from a sexual assault counselor, as defined in Section
1035.2 of the Evidence Code, licensed therapist, or mental health counselor, stating that the
victim is seeking services related to the allegation of sexual assault.

(v) A credible witness to whom the victim disclosed the details that a sexual assault crime
occurred.

(vi) A restraining order from a military or civilian court against the perpetrator of the sexual
assault.

(vii) Other behavior by the victim consistent with sexual assault.

(C) For purposes of this subdivision, the sexual assault at issue shall have occurred during
military service, including deployment.

(D) For purposes of this subdivision, the sexual assault may have been committed off base.

(E) For purposes of this subdivision, a “perpetrator” means an individual who is any of the
following at the time of the sexual assault:

(1) An active duty military personnel from the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air
Force, or Coast Guard.
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(ii) A civilian employee of any military branch specified in clause (1), military base, or military
deployment.

(iif) A contractor or agent of a private military or private security company.
(iv) A member of the California National Guard.

(F) For purposes of this subdivision, “sexual assault” means an offense included in Section 261,
262, 264.1, 286, 288a, or 289 of the Penal Code, as of the date the act that added this paragraph
was enacted.

(¢) An application for compensation may be denied, in whole or in part, if the board finds that
denial is appropriate because of the nature of the victim’s or other applicant’s involvement in the
events leading to the crime or the involvement of the persons whose injury or death gives rise to
the application. In the case of a minor, the board shall consider the minor’s age, physical
condition, and psychological state, as well as any compelling health and safety concerns, in
determining whether the minor’s application should be denied pursuant to this section. The
application of a derivative victim of domestic violence under 18 years of age or a derivative
victim of trafficking under 18 years of age may not be denied on the basis of the denial of the
victim’s application under this subdivision.

(d) (1) Notwithstanding Section 13955, a person who is convicted of a felony shall not be
granted compensation until that person has been discharged from probation or has been released
from a correctional institution and has been discharged from parole, if any, unless the
compensation is solely used to fund mental health counseling. In no case shall compensation be
granted to an applicant pursuant to this chapter during any period of time the applicant is held in
a correctional institution.

(2) A person who has been convicted of a felony may apply for compensation pursuant to this
chapter at any time, but the award of that compensation may not be considered until the applicant
meets the requirements for compensation set forth in paragraph (1).

(3) Applications of victims who are not felons shall receive priority in the award of
compensation over an application submitted by a felon who has met the requirements for
compensation set forth in paragraph (1).

SEC. 3. Section 13957 of the Government Code is amended to read:

13957. (a) The board may grant for pecuniary loss, when the board determines it will best aid the
person seeking compensation, as follows:

(1) Subject to the limitations set forth in Section 13957.2, reimburse the amount of medical or
medical-related expenses incurred by the victim, including, but not limited to, eyeglasses,
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hearing aids, dentures, or any prosthetic device taken, lost, or destroyed during the commission
of the crime, or the use of which became necessary as a direct result of the crime.

(2) Subject to the limitations set forth in Section 13957.2, reimburse the amount of outpatient
psychiatric, psychological, or other mental health counseling-related expenses incurred by the
victim or derivative victim, including peer counseling services provided by a rape crisis center as
defined by Section 13837 of the Penal Code, and including family psychiatric, psychological, or
mental health counseling for the successful treatment of the victim provided to family members
of the victim in the presence of the victim, whether or not the family member relationship existed
at the time of the crime, that became necessary as a direct result of the crime, subject to the
following conditions:

(A) The following persons may be reimbursed for the expense of their outpatient mental health
counseling in an amount not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000):

(1) A victim.

(i) A derivative victim who is the surviving parent, sibling, child, spouse, fiancé, or fiancée of a
victim of a crime that directly resulted in the death of the victim.

(iii) A derivative victim, as described in paragraphs (1) to (4), inclusive, of subdivision (c) of
Section 13955, who is the primary caretaker of a minor victim whose claim is not denied or
reduced pursuant to Section 13956 in a total amount not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000)
for not more than two derivative victims.

(B) The following persons may be reimbursed for the expense of their outpatient mental health
counseling in an amount not to exceed five thousand dollars (85,000):

(i) A derivative victim not eligible for reimbursement pursuant to subparagraph (A), provided
that mental health counseling of a derivative victim described in paragraph (5) of subdivision (c)
of Section 13955, shall be reimbursed only if that counseling is necessary for the treatment of the
victim.

(ii) A victim of a crime of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor committed in violation of
subdivision (d) of Section 261.5 of the Penal Code. A derivative victim of a crime committed in
violation of subdivision (d) of Section 261.5 of the Penal Code shall not be eligible for
reimbursement of mental health counseling expenses.

(iii) A minor who suffers emotional injury as a direct result of witnessing a violent crime and
who is not eligible for reimbursement of the costs of outpatient mental health counseling under
any other provision of this chapter. To be eligible for reimbursement under this clause, the minor
must have been in close proximity to the victim when he or she witnessed the crime.

(C) The board may reimburse a victim or derivative victim for outpatient mental health
counseling in excess of that authorized by subparagraph (A) or (B) or for inpatient psychiatric,
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psychological, or other mental health counseling if the claim is based on dire or exceptional
circumstances that require more extensive treatment, as approved by the board.

(D) Expenses for psychiatric, psychological, or other mental health counseling-related services
may be reimbursed only if the services were provided by either of the following individuals:

(1) A person who would have been authorized to provide those services pursuant to former
Article 1 (commencing with Section 13959) as it read on J anuary 1, 2002,

(i1) A person who is licensed by the state to provide those services, or who is properly supervised
by a person who is so licensed, subject to the board’s approval and subject to the limitations and
restrictions the board may impose.

(3) Reimburse the expenses of nonmedical remedial care and treatment rendered in accordance
with a religious method of healing recognized by state law.

(4) Subject to the limitations set forth in Section 13957.5, authorize compensation equal to the
loss of income or loss of support, or both, that a victim or derivative victim incurs as a direct
result of the victim’s or derivative victim’s injury or the victim’s death. If the victim or
derivative victim requests that the board give priority to reimbursement of loss of income or
support, the board may not pay medical expenses, or mental health counseling expenses, except
upon the request of the victim or derivative victim or after determining that payment of these
expenses will not decrease the funds available for payment of loss of income or support.

(5) Authorize a cash payment to or on behalf of the victim for job retraining or similar
employment-oriented services.

(6) Reimburse the claimant for the expense of installing or increasing residential security, not to
exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000). Reimbursement shall be made either upon verification by
law enforcement that the security measures are necessary for the personal safety of the claimant
or verification by a mental health treatment provider that the security measures are necessary for
the emotional well-being of the claimant. For purposes of this paragraph, a claimant is the crime
victim, or, if the victim is deceased, a person who resided with the deceased at the time of the
crime. Installing or increasing residential security may include, but need not be limited to, both
of the following:

(A) Home security device or system.
(B) Replacing or increasing the number of locks.

(7) Reimburse the expense of renovating or retrofitting a victim’s residence or a vehicle, or both,
to make the residence, the vehicle, or both, accessible or the vehicle operational by a victim upon
verification that the expense is medically necessary for a victim who is permanently disabled as a
direct result of the crime, whether the disability is partial or total.
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(8) (A) Authorize a cash payment or reimbursement not to exceed two thousand dollars (5$2,000)
to a victim for expenses incurred in relocating, if the expenses are determined by law
enforcement to be necessary for the personal safety of the victim or by a mental health treatment
provider to be necessary for the emotional well-being of the victim.

(B) The cash payment or reimbursement made under this paragraph shall only be awarded to one
claimant per crime giving rise to the relocation. The board may authorize more than one
relocation per crime if necessary for the personal safety or emotional well-being of the claimant.
However, the total cash payment or reimbursement for all relocations due to the same crime shall
not exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000). For purposes of this paragraph a claimant is the crime
victim, or, if the victim is deceased, a person who resided with the deceased at the time of the
crime.

(C) The board may, under compelling circumstances, award a second cash payment or
reimbursement to a victim for another crime if both of the following conditions are met:

(1) The crime occurs more than three years from the date of the crime giving rise to the initial
relocation cash payment or reimbursement.

(i) The crime does not involve the same offender.

(D) When a relocation payment or reimbursement is provided to a victim of sexual assault or
domestic violence and the identity of the offender is known to the victim, the victim shall agree
not to inform the offender of the location of the victim’s new residence and not to allow the
offender on the premises at any time, or shall agree to seek a restraining order against the
offender.

(E) Notwithstanding subparagraphs (A) and (B), the board may increase the cash payment or
reimbursement for expenses incurred in relocating to an amount greater than two thousand
dollars ($2,000), if the board finds this amount is appropriate due to the unusual, dire, or
exceptional circumstances of a particular claim.

(9) When a victim dies as a result of a crime, the board may reimburse any individual who
voluntarily, and without anticipation of personal gain, pays or assumes the obligation to pay any
of the following expenses:

(A) The medical expenses incurred as a direct result of the crime in an amount not to exceed the
rates or limitations established by the board.

(B) The funeral and burial expenses incurred as a direct result of the crime not to exceed seven

thousand five hundred dolars ($7,500). TFhe-beardshall-consider granting-an-applicant-an-award
up-to—seven—thousand five hundred-dolars($7,500). Any regulation or policy by the board

creating a maximum amount of an award pursuant to this provision for less than seven thousand
five hundred dollars ($7,500) is prohibited.
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(10) When the crime occurs in a residence, the board may reimburse any individual who
voluntarily, and without anticipation of personal gain, pays or assumes the obligation to pay the
reasonable costs to clean the scene of the crime in an amount not to exceed one thousand dollars
($1,000). Services reimbursed pursuant to this subdivision shall be performed by persons
registered with the State Department of Public Health as trauma scene waste practitioners in
accordance with Chapter 9.5 (commencing with Section 118321) of Part 14 of Division 104 of
the Health and Safety Code.

(11) When the crime is a violation of Section 600.2 or 600.5 of the Penal Code, the board may
reimburse the expense of veterinary services, replacement costs, or other reasonable expenses, as
ordered by the court pursuant to Section 600.2 or 600.5 of the Penal Code, in an amount not to
exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

(b) The total award to or on behalf of each victim or derivative victim may not exceed thirty-five
thousand dollars ($35,000), except that this amount may be increased to seventy thousand dollars
(870,000 if federal funds for that increase are available.

SEC. 4. Section 13958 of the Government Code is amended to read:

13958. The board shall approve or deny applications, based on recommendations of the board
staff, within 90 calendar days of acceptance by the board or victim center.

(a) If the board does not meet the 90-day requirement prescribed in this subdivision, the board
shall, thereafter, report to the Legislature, on a quarterly basis, its progress and its current
average time of processing applications. These quarterly reports shall continue until the board
meets the 90-day requirement for two consecutive quarters.

(b) If the board fails to approve or deny an individual application within 90 days of the date it is
accepted, pursuant to this subdivision, the board shall advise the applicant and his or her
representative, in writing, of the reason for the failure to approve or deny the application.

SEC. 5. Section 13959 of the Government Code is amended to read:

13959. (a) The board shall grant a hearing to an applicant who believes he or she is entitled to
compensation pursuant to this chapter to contest a staff recommendation to deny compensation
in whole or in part.

(b) The board shall notify the applicant not less than 10 days prior to the date of the hearing.
Notwithstanding Section 11123, if the application that the board is considering involves either a
crime against a minor, a crime of sexual assault, or a crime of domestic violence, the board may
exclude from the hearing all persons other than board members and members of its staff, the
applicant for benefits, a minor applicant’s parents or guardians, the applicant’s representative,
witnesses, and other persons of the applicant’s choice to provide assistance to the applicant
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during the hearing. However, the board shall not exclude persons from the hearing if the
applicant or applicant’s representative requests that the hearing be open to the public.

(c) At the hearing, the person seeking compensation shall have the burden of establishing, by a
preponderance of the evidence, the elements for eligibility under Section 13955.

(d) Except as otherwise provided by law, in making determinations of eligibility for
compensation and in deciding upon the amount of compensation, the board shall apply the law in
effect as of the date an application was submitted.

(e) (1) The hearing shall be informal and need not be conducted according to the technical rules
relating to evidence and witnesses. The board may rely on any relevant evidence if it is the sort
of evidence on which responsible persons are accustomed to rely in the conduct of serious
affairs, regardless of the existence of a common law or statutory rule that might make improper
the admission of the evidence over objection in a civil action. The board may rely on written
reports prepared for the board, or other information received, from public agencies responsible
for investigating the crime. If the applicant or the applicant’s representative chooses not to
appear at the hearing, the board may act solely upon the application for compensation, the staff’s
report, and other evidence that appears in the record.

(2) The board shall allow a service animal to accompany and support a witness while testifying
at a hearing.

(f) Hearings shall be held in various locations with the frequency necessary to provide for the
speedy adjudication of the applications. If the applicant’s presence is required at the hearing, the
board shall schedule the applicant’s hearing in as convenient a location as possible.

(g) The board may delegate the hearing of applications to hearing officers.

(h) The decisions of the board shall be in writing. Copies of the decisions shall be delivered to
the applicant or to his or her representative personally or sent to him or her by mail.

(1) The board may order a reconsideration of all or part of a decision on written request of the
applicant. The board shall not grant more than one request for reconsideration with respect to any
one decision on an application for compensation. The board shall not consider any request for
reconsideration filed with the board more than 30 calendar days after the personal delivery or 60
calendar days after the mailing of the original decision.

(J) The board may order a reconsideration of all or part of a decision on its own motion, at its
discretion, at any time.
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SEG—7- SEC. 6 Section 1202.4 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

1202.4. (a) (1) It is the intent of the Legislature that a victim of crime who incurs an economic
loss as a result of the commission of a crime shall receive restitution directly from a defendant
convicted of that crime.

(2) Upon a person being convicted of a crime in the State of California, the court shall order the
defendant to pay a fine in the form of a penalty assessment in accordance with Section 1464,

(3) The court, in addition to any other penalty provided or imposed under the law, shall order the
defendant to pay both of the following:

(A) A restitution fine in accordance with subdivision (b).

(B) Restitution to the victim or victims, if any, in accordance with subdivision (f), which shall be
enforceable as if the order were a civil judgment.

(b) In every case where a person is convicted of a crime, the court shall impose a separate and
additional restitution fine, unless it finds compelling and extraordinary reasons for not doing so
and states those reasons on the record.

(1) The restitution fine shall be set at the discretion of the court and commensurate with the
seriousness of the offense. If the person is convicted of a felony, the fine shall not be less than
two hundred forty dollars ($240) starting on January 1, 2012, two hundred eighty dollars ($280)
starting on January 1, 2013, and three hundred dollars ($300) starting on January 1, 2014, and
not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000). If the person is convicted of a misdemeanor, the
fine shall not be less than one hundred twenty dollars ($120) starting on January 1, 2012, one
hundred forty dollars ($140) starting on January 1, 2013, and one hundred fifty dollars ($150)
starting on January 1, 2014, and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).

(2) In setting a felony restitution fine, the court may determine the amount of the fine as the
product of the minimum fine pursuant to paragraph (1) multiplied by the number of years of
imprisonment the defendant is ordered to serve, multiplied by the number of felony counts of
which the defendant is convicted.

(c) The court shall impose the restitution fine unless it finds compelling and extraordinary
reasons for not doing so and states those reasons on the record. A defendant’s inability to pay
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shall not be considered a compelling and extraordinary reason not to impose a restitution fine.
Inability to pay may be considered only in increasing the amount of the restitution fine in excess
of the minimum fine pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (b). The court may specify that
funds confiscated at the time of the defendant’s arrest, except for funds confiscated pursuant to
Section 11469 of the Health and Safety Code, be applied to the restitution fine if the funds are
not exempt for spousal or child support or subject to any other legal exemption.

(d) In setting the amount of the fine pursuant to subdivision (b) in excess of the minimum fine
pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (b), the court shall consider any relevant factors,
including, but not limited to, the defendant’s inability to pay, the seriousness and gravity of the
offense and the circumstances of its commission, any economic gain derived by the defendant as
a result of the crime, the extent to which any other person suffered losses as a result of the crime,
and the number of victims involved in the crime. Those losses may include pecuniary losses to
the victim or his or her dependents as well as intangible losses, such as psychological harm
caused by the crime. Consideration of a defendant’s inability to pay may include his or her future
earning capacity. A defendant shall bear the burden of demonstrating his or her inability to pay.
Express findings by the court as to the factors bearing on the amount of the fine shall not be
required. A separate hearing for the fine shall not be required.

() The restitution fine shall not be subject to penalty assessments authorized in Section 1464 or
Chapter 12 (commencing with Section 76000) of Title § of the Government Code, or the state
surcharge authorized in Section 1465.7, and shall be deposited in the Restitution Fund in the
State Treasury.

(f) Except as provided in subdivisions (q) and (r), in every case in which a victim has suffered
economic loss as a result of the defendant’s conduct, the court shall require that the defendant
make restitution to the victim or victims in an amount established by court order, based on the
amount of loss claimed by the victim or victims or any other showing to the court. If the amount
of loss cannot be ascertained at the time of sentencing, the restitution order shall include a
provision that the amount shall be determined at the direction of the court. The court shall order
full restitution unless.it finds compelling and extraordinary reasons for not doing so and states
them on the record. The court may specify that funds confiscated at the time of the defendant’s
arrest, except for funds confiscated pursuant to Section 11469 of the Health and Safety Code, be
applied to the restitution order if the funds are not exempt for spousal or child support or subject
to any other legal exemption.

(1) The defendant has the right to a hearing before a judge to dispute the determination of the
amount of restitution. The court may modify the amount, on its own motion or on the motion of
the district attorney, the victim or victims, or the defendant. If a motion is made for modification
of a restitution order, the victim shall be notified of that motion at least 10 days prior to the
proceeding held to decide the motion. A victim at a restitution hearing or modification hearing
described in this paragraph may testify by live, two-way audio and video transmission, if
testimony by live, two-way audio and video transmission is available at the court.
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(2) Determination of the amount of restitution ordered pursuant to this subdivision shall not be
affected by the indemnification or subrogation rights of a third party. Restitution ordered
pursuant to this subdivision shall be ordered to be deposited to the Restitution Fund to the extent
that the victim, as defined in subdivision (k), has received assistance from the California Victim
Compensation and Government Claims Board pursuant to Chapter 5 (commencing with Section
13950) of Part 4 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

(3) To the extent possible, the restitution order shall be prepared by the sentencing court, shall
identify each victim and each loss to which it pertains, and shall be of a dollar amount that is
sufficient to fully reimburse the victim or victims for every determined economic loss incurred as
the result of the defendant’s criminal conduct, including, but not limited to, all of the following:

(A) Full or partial payment for the value of stolen or damaged property. The value of stolen or
damaged property shall be the replacement cost of like property, or the actual cost of repairing
the property when repair is possible.

(B) Medical expenses.
(C) Mental health counseling expenses.

(D) Wages or profits lost due to injury incurred by the victim, and if the victim is a minor, wages
or profits lost by the minor’s parent, parents, guardian, or guardians, while caring for the injured
minor. Lost wages shall include commission income as well as base wages. Commission income
shall be established by evidence of commission income during the 12-month period prior to the
date of the crime for which restitution is being ordered, unless good cause for a shorter time
period is shown.

(E) Wages or profits lost by the victim, and if the victim is a minor, wages or profits lost by the
minor’s parent, parents, guardian, or guardians, due to time spent as a witness or in assisting the
police or prosecution. Lost wages shall include commission income as well as base wages.
Commission income shall be established by evidence of commission income during the 12-
month period prior to the date of the crime for which restitution is being ordered, unless good
cause for a shorter time period is shown.

(F) Noneconomic losses, including, but not limited to, psychological harm, for felony violations
of Section 288.

(G) Interest, at the rate of 10 percent per annum, that accrues as of the date of sentencing or loss,
as determined by the court.

(H) Actual and reasonable attorney’s fees and other costs of collection accrued by a private
entity on behalf of the victim.

(I) Expenses incurred by an adult victim in relocating away from the defendant, including, but
not limited to, deposits for utilities and telephone service, deposits for rental housing, temporary
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lodging and food expenses, clothing, and personal items. Expenses incurred pursuant to this
section shall be verified by law enforcement to be necessary for the personal safety of the victim
or by a mental health treatment provider to be necessary for the emotional well-being of the
victim,

(J) Expenses to install or increase residential security incurred related to a violent felony, as
defined in subdivision (c) of Section 667.5, including, but not limited to, a home security device
or system, or replacing or increasing the number of locks.

(K) Expenses to retrofit a residence or vehicle, or both, to make the residence accessible to or the
vehicle operational by the victim, if the victim is permanently disabled, whether the disability is
partial or total, as a direct result of the crime.

(L) Expenses for a period of time reasonably necessary to make the victim whole, for the costs to
monitor the credit report of, and for the costs to repair the credit of, a victim of identity theft, as
defined in Section 530.5.

(4) (A) If; as a result of the defendant’s conduct, the Restitution Fund has provided assistance to
or on behalf of a victim or derivative victim pursuant to Chapter 5 (commencing with Section
13950) of Part 4 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code, the amount of assistance
provided shall be presumed to be a direct result of the defendant’s criminal conduct and shall be
included in the amount of the restitution ordered.

(B) The amount of assistance provided by the Restitution Fund shall be established by copies of
bills submitted to the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board reflecting
the amount paid by the board and whether the services for which payment was made were for
medical or dental expenses, funeral or burial expenses, mental health counseling, wage or
support losses, or rehabilitation. Certified copies of these bills provided by the board and
redacted to protect the privacy and safety of the victim or any legal privilege, together with a
statement made under penalty of perjury by the custodian of records that those bills were
submitted to and were paid by the board, shall be sufficient to meet this requirement.

(C) If the defendant offers evidence to rebut the presumption established by this paragraph, the
court may release additional information contained in the records of the board to the defendant
only after reviewing that information in camera and finding that the information is necessary for
the defendant to dispute the amount of the restitution order.

(5) Except as provided in paragraph (6), in any case in which an order may be entered pursuant
to this subdivision, the defendant shall prepare and file a disclosure identifying all assets,
income, and liabilities in which the defendant held or controlled a present or future interest as of
the date of the defendant’s arrest for the crime for which restitution may be ordered. The
financial disclosure statements shall be made available to the victim and the board pursuant to
Section 1214. The disclosure shall be signed by the defendant upon a form approved or adopted
by the Judicial Council for the purpose of facilitating the disclosure. A defendant who willfully
states as true a material matter that he or she knows to be false on the disclosure required by this
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subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor, unless this conduct is punishable as perjury or another
provision of law provides for a greater penalty.

(6) A defendant who fails to file the financial disclosure required in paragraph (5), but who has
filed a financial affidavit or financial information pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 987,
shall be deemed to have waived the confidentiality of that affidavit or financial information as to
a victim in whose favor the order of restitution is entered pursuant to subdivision (). The
affidavit or information shall serve in lieu of the financial disclosure required in paragraph (5),
and paragraphs (7) to (10), inclusive, shall not apply.

(7) Except as provided in paragraph (6), the defendant shall file the disclosure with the clerk of
the court no later than the date set for the defendant’s sentencing, unless otherwise directed by
the court. The disclosure may be inspected or copied as provided by subdivision (b), (¢), or (d) of
Section 1203.05.

(8) In its discretion, the court may relieve the defendant of the duty under paragraph (7) of filing
with the clerk by requiring that the defendant’s disclosure be submitted as an attachment to, and
be available to, those authorized to receive the following:

(A) A report submitted pursuant to subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of
Section 1203 or subdivision (g) of Section 1203.

(B) A stipulation submitted pursuant to paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section 1203.

(C) A report by the probation officer, or information submitted by the defendant applying for a
conditional sentence pursuant to subdivision (d) of Section 1203.

(9) The court may consider a defendant’s unreasonable failure to make a complete disclosure
pursuant to paragraph (5) as any of the following:

(A) A circumstance in aggravation of the crime in imposing a term under subdivision (b) of
Section 1170.

(B) A factor indicating that the interests of justice would not be served by admitting the
defendant to probation under Section 1203.

(C) A factor indicating that the interests of justice would not be served by conditionally
sentencing the defendant under Section 1203.

(D) A factor indicating that the interests of justice would not be served by imposing less than the
maximum fine and sentence fixed by law for the case.

(10) A defendant’s failure or refusal to make the required disclosure pursuant to paragraph (5)
shall not delay entry of an order of restitution or pronouncement of sentence. In appropriate
cases, the court may do any of the following:
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(A) Require the defendant to be examined by the district attorney pursuant to subdivision (h).

(B) If sentencing the defendant under Section 1170, provide that the victim shall receive a copy
of the portion of the probation report filed pursuant to Section 1203.10 concerning the
defendant’s employment, occupation, finances, and liabilities,

(C) If sentencing the defendant under Section 1203, set a date and place for submission of the
disclosure required by paragraph (5) as a condition of probation or suspended sentence.

(11) If a defendant has any remaining unpaid balance on a restitution order or fine 120 days prior
to his or her scheduled release from probation or 120 days prior to his or her completion of a
conditional sentence, the defendant shall prepare and file a new and updated financial disclosure
identifying all assets, income, and liabilities in which the defendant holds or controls or has held
or controlled a present or future interest during the defendant’s period of probation or conditional
sentence. The financial disclosure shall be made available to the victim and the board pursuant to
Section 1214. The disclosure shall be signed and prepared by the defendant on the same form as
described in paragraph (5). A defendant who willfully states as true a material matter that he or
she knows to be false on the disclosure required by this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor,
unless this conduct is punishable as perjury or another provision of law provides for a greater
penalty. The financial disclosure required by this paragraph shall be filed with the clerk of the
court no later than 90 days prior to the defendant’s scheduled release from probation or
completion of the defendant’s conditional sentence.

(12) In cases where an employer is convicted of a crime against an employee, a payment to the
employee or the employee’s dependent that is made by the employer’s workers’ compensation
insurance carrier shall not be used to offset the amount of the restitution order unless the court
finds that the defendant substantially met the obligation to pay premiums for that insurance
coverage.

(8) The court shall order full restitution unless it finds compelling and extraordinary reasons for
not doing so and states those reasons on the record. A defendant’s inability to pay shall not be
considered a compelling and extraordinary reason not to impose a restitution order, nor shall
inability to pay be a consideration in determining the amount of a restitution order.

(h) The district attorney may request an order of examination pursuant to the procedures
specified in Article 2 (commencing with Section 708.110) of Chapter 6 of Division 2 of Title 9
of Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure, in order to determine the defendant’s financial assets
for purposes of collecting on the restitution order.

(1) A restitution order imposed pursuant to subdivision (f) shall be enforceable as if the order
were a civil judgment.

() The making of a restitution order pursuant to subdivision (f) shall not affect the right of a
victim to recovery from the Restitution Fund as otherwise provided by law, except to the extent
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that restitution is actually collected pursuant to the order. Restitution collected pursuant to this
subdivision shall be credited to any other judgments for the same losses obtained against the
defendant arising out of the crime for which the defendant was convicted.

(k) For purposes of this section, “victim” shall include all of the following:
(1) The immediate surviving family of the actual victim.

(2) A corporation, business trust, estate, trust, partnership, association, joint venture,
government, governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality, or any other legal or
commercial entity when that entity is a direct victim of a crime.

(3) A person who has sustained economic loss as the result of a crime and who satisfies any of
the following conditions:

(A) At the time of the crime was the parent, grandparent, sibling, spouse, child, or grandchild of
the victim.

(B) At the time of the crime was living in the household of the victim.

(C) At the time of the crime was a person who had previously lived in the household of the
victim for a period of not less than two years in a relationship substantially similar to a
relationship listed in subparagraph (A).

(D) Is another family member of the victim, including, but not limited to, the victim’s fiancé or
fiancée, and who witnessed the crime.

(E) Is the primary caretaker of a minor victim.

(4) A person who is eligible to receive assistance from the Restitution Fund pursuant to Chapter
5 (commencing with Section 13950) of Part 4 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

(5) A governmental entity that is responsible for repairing, replacing, or restoring public or
privately owned property that has been defaced with graffiti or other inscribed material, as
defined in subdivision (e) of Section 594, and that has sustained an economic loss as the result of
a violation of Section 594, 594.3, 594.4, 640.5, 640.6, or 640.7 of the Penal Code.

() At its discretion, the board of supervisors of a county may impose a fee to cover the actual
administrative cost of collecting the restitution fine, not to exceed 10 percent of the amount
ordered to be paid, to be added to the restitution fine and included in the order of the court, the
proceeds of which shall be deposited in the general fund of the county.

(m) In every case in which the defendant is granted probation, the court shall make the payment
of restitution fines and orders imposed pursuant to this section a condition of probation. Any
portion of a restitution order that remains unsatisfied after a defendant is no longer on probation
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shall continue to be enforceable by a victim pursuant to Section 1214 until the obligation is
satisfied.

(n) If the court finds and states on the record compelling and extraordinary reasons why a
restitution fine or full restitution order should not be required, the court shall order, as a
condition of probation, that the defendant perform specified community service, unless it finds
and states on the record compelling and extraordinary reasons not to require community service
in addition to the finding that restitution should not be required. Upon revocation of probation,
the court shall impose restitution pursuant to this section.

(0) The provisions of Section 13963 of the Government Code shall apply to restitution imposed
pursuant to this section.

(p) The court clerk shall notify the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims
Board within 90 days of an order of restitution being imposed if the defendant is ordered to pay
restitution to the board due to the victim receiving compensation from the Restitution Fund.
Notification shall be accomplished by mailing a copy of the court order to the board, which may
be done periodically by bulk mail or email.

(q) Upon conviction for a violation of Section 236.1, the court shall, in addition to any other
penalty or restitution, order the defendant to pay restitution to the victim in a case in which a
victim has suffered economic loss as a result of the defendant’s conduct. The court shall require
that the defendant make restitution to the victim or victims in an amount established by court
order, based on the amount of loss claimed by the victim or victims or another showing to the
court. In determining restitution pursuant to this section, the court shall base its order upon the
greater of the following: the gross value of the victim’s labor or services based upon the
comparable value of similar services in the labor market in which the offense occurred, or the
value of the victim’s labor as guaranteed under California law, or the actual income derived by
the defendant from the victim’s labor or services or any other appropriate means to provide
reparations to the victim.

(1) (1) In addition to any other penalty or fine, the court shall order a person who has been
convicted of a violation of Section 350, 653h, 653s, 653u, 653w, or 653aa that involves a
recording or audiovisual work to make restitution to an owner or lawful producer, or trade
association acting on behalf of the owner or lawful producer, of a phonograph record, disc, wire,
tape, film, or other device or article from which sounds or visual images are derived that suffered
economic loss resulting from the violation. The order of restitution shall be based on the
aggregate wholesale value of lawfully manufactured and authorized devices or articles from
which sounds or visual images are devised corresponiding to the number of nonconforming
devices or articles involved in the offense, unless a higher value can be proved in the case of (A)
an unreleased audio work, or (B) an audiovisual work that, at the time of unauthorized
distribution, has not been made available in copies for sale to the general public in the United
States on a digital versatile disc. For purposes of this subdivision, possession of nonconforming
devices or articles intended for sale constitutes actual economic loss to an owner or lawful
producer in the form of displaced legitimate wholesale purchases. The order of restitution shall
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also include reasonable costs incurred as a result of an investigation of the violation undertaken
by the owner, lawful producer, or trade association acting on behalf of the owner or lawful
producer. “Aggregate wholesale value” means the average wholesale value of lawfully
manufactured and authorized sound or audiovisual recordings. Proof of the specific wholesale
value of each nonconforming device or article is not required.

(2) As used in this subdivision, “audiovisual work” and “recording” shall have the same meaning
as in Section 653w.
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Date of Hearing: July 14, 2015
Counsel: David Billingsley

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Bill Quirk, Chair

SB 541 (Hill) — As Amended June 2, 2015
As Proposed to be Amended in Committee

SUMMARY: Codifies the State Auditor report’s recommendations on strengthening the
California Public Utilities Commission’s (CPUC) oversight of transportation-related activities.
Allows peace officers to impound buses and limousines of specified companies that carry
passengers when they lack the required permits or licensing. Specifically, this bill:

1)

2)

3)

Directs the CPUC to coordinate enforcement with peace officers, including:

a) Education outreach to ensure that those peace officers are aware of the transportation-
related services, as specified, and

b) Establishing lines of communications to ensure that the CPUC is notified if an action is
commenced so that CPUC can take appropriate action to enforce the fine and penalty
provisions.

Authorizes the Attorney General, a district attorney, or a city attorney to prosecute actions or
proceedings for the violation of any law committed in connection with a transaction
involving the transportation of household goods and personal effects.

Requires the CPUC to establish the following goals related to its existing authority to provide
oversight and regulation of transportation-related activities of household goods carriers and
Charter Party Carriers (CPC) and Passenger Stage Corporations (PSC):

a) Prioritize the timely processing of applications and hold “application workshops” for
potential applicants around the state;

b) Enable electronic filing of applications, reports, and fee payments;

c¢) Dedicate staff to answering telephone calls, mailings, and electronic inquiries from
carriers;

d) Prioritize the timely processing of consumer complaints:
e) Implement electronic case tracking of complaints and their disposition;
f) Implement a process for appropriate and timely enforcement against illegally operating

carriers, including by performing staff-driven investigations and performing enforcement
through sting operations and other forms of presence in the field;



4)

S)

6)

7)

SB 541
Page 2

g) Maintain relationships with, and implement outreach and education programs to local law
enforcement, district attorneys, and airports;

h) Meet with carrier trade associations at least annually; and,

i) Implement a consolidated case tracking system that integrates each of the transportation
program core functions and data collection, administrative compliance details,
complaints, and investigations.

Requires the CPUC to assess its capabilities to carry out the activities, specified in the goals,
and report to the Legislature with an analysis of current capabilities and deficiencies, and
recommendations to overcome any deficiencies identified by January 1, 2017.

Allows peace office to impound a bus or limousine of a CPC or PSC for 30 days if the officer
determines that any of the following violations occurred while the driver was operating the
vehicle of the charter-party carrier:

a) The driver was operating the bus or limousine of a CPC or PSC when the charter-party
carrier did not have a permit or certificate issued by the CPUC;

b) The driver was operating the bus or limousine of a CPC when the CPC or PSC was
operating with a suspended permit or certificate from the CPUC; or,

¢) The driver was operating the bus or limousine of a CPC or PSC without having a current
and valid driver’s license of the proper class.

Allows a peace officer to impound a bus or limousine of a CPC for 30 days if the officer
determines that the driver was operating the bus or limousine without a passenger vehicle
endorsement, or the required certificate.

Clarifies that impoundment provisions do not apply to privately owned, personal vehicles, or
to charter-party carriers that are not required to carry individual permits.

EXISTING LAW:

1y

2)

3)

4

Authorizes the CPUC to regulate PSCs, through the issuance of a certificate, require
insurance and workers compensation, and take appropriate enforcement actions and other
provisions, as specified. (Pub. Utilities Code, §§ 1031-1045.)

Specifies that "Passenger stage corporation” includes every corporation or person engaged as
a common carrier, for compensation, between fixed termini (airport shuttles) or over a
regular route (buses). (Pub. Utilities Code, § 226.)

Directs the CPUC to issue permits or certificates to CPCs, investigate complaints against
carriers, cancel, revoke, or suspend permits and certificates for specific violations. (Public
Utilities Code Section 5387.)

Defines “charter party carriers of passengers” as "every person engaged in the transportation
of person by motor vehicle for compensation, whether in common or contract carriage, over
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any public highway in the state." (Pub. Utilities Code, § 5360.)

5) Authorizes the CPUC to regulate private carriers of passengers, including requiring public
liability and property insurance, cargo insurance, knowledge of rates, documentation, timely
reporting of revenues and payment fees, and take appropriate enforcement actions and other
provisions, as specified. (Pub. Utilities Code, §§ 4000-4022.)

6) Defines “private carrier” as not-for-hire motor carriers that transports passengers and is
required to obtain a carrier identification number, as specified. (Pub. Utilities Code, § 4001.)

7) Authorizes the CPUC to regulate household goods carriers, including requiring public
liability and property insurance, cargo insurance, knowledge of rates, documentation, timely
reporting of revenues and payment fees, and take appropriate enforcement actions and other
provisions, as specified. (Pub. Utilities Code, §§ 5101-5335.)

8) Defines “household goods carrier” as "every corporation or person engaged in the
transportation for compensation by means of a motor vehicle being used in the transportation
of used household goods and personal effects over any public highway in the state.” (Pub.
Utilities Code, § 5109.)

9) States that if a peace officer arrests a person for operating a CPC without a valid permit or
certificate, the officer may impound the vehicle. (Pub. Utilities Code, § 5411.5, subd. (a).)

10) States that if a peace officer arrests a person for operating a CPC of passengers as a taxicab in
violation of an ordinance or resolution of a city, county, or city and county, the peace officer
may impound the vehicle. (Pub. Utilities Code, § 5411.5, subd. (b).)

11) Specifies that the operation of a motor vehicle used in the business of transporting household
goods and personal effects that does not possess a valid permit or operating authority may be
removed from the highway by a peace officer. The peace officer may impound the vehicle
for up to 72 hours at the request of the Public Utilities Commission, Attorney General,
district attorney, or county counsel. (Pub. Utilities Code, § 5133, subd. (c).)

12) Allows an officer of the Department of the California Highway Patrol (CHP) to impound a
bus of a charter-party carrier for 30 days if the officer determines that any of the following
violations occurred while the bus driver was operating the bus of a charter-party carrier:

a) The driver was operating the bus of a charter-party carrier when the charter-party carrier
did not have a permit or certificate issued by the Public Utilities Commission; (Veh.
Code, § 14602.9, subd. (a)(1), (Pub. Utilities Code, § 5387, subd. (d).).)

b) The driver was operating the bus of a charter-party carrier when the charter-party carrier
was operating the bus with a suspended permit or certificate from the Public Utilities
Commission; or(Veh. Code, § 14602.9, subd. (a)(2), (Pub. Utilities Code, § 5387, subd.

(d).))

¢) The driver was operating the bus of a charter-party carrier without having a current and
valid driver's license of the proper class, a passenger vehicle endorsement, or the required
certificate. (Veh. Code, § 14602.9, subd. (a)(3) (Pub. Utilities Code, § 5387, subd. (d).).)
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FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

3)

Author's Statement: According to the author, "SB 541 improves the functions of the
Transportation Enforcement Branch (“the branch”) at the California Public Utilities
Commission (CPUC) to improve customer service and enforcement against illegally
operating charter-party carriers, passenger stage corporations, and moving companies.

“In a 2014 report, the California State Auditor concluded that the CPUC Transportation
Enforcement Branch “does not provide sufficient oversight of charter-party carriers and
passenger Stage Corporation (passenger carriers) to ensure consumer safety.” The Auditor
found a multitude of problems including: the branch has not established written guidelines
for processing consumer complaints, it takes the branch an average of 238 days to complete
an investigation and the branch does not conduct proper investigations, the branch does not
know if revenue is aligned with program activities, and the branch was not aware of the
significant fund surplus it had accumulated, which at the time of the audit was over $9
million and has since grown to $14 million.

“In addition, many carriers experience long delays when they apply for carrier certificates
and permits. Limousine operators report that the CPUC frequently loses their permit
applications and no one answers the phone, nor responds promptly to inquiries. One carrier
told our office, ‘we tried calling the PUC on several occasion and at various times throughout
the working days in the months of June, July, and December 2014 and January 2015 but no
one answered. So we emailed the licensing [division] but never got replies.””

Background: California law regulates different modes of passenger transportation for
compensation, including taxi services, which are regulated by cities and/or counties, as well
as CPCs and PSCs, which are regulated by the CPUC. The division within the CPUC
responsible to ensure that services are delivered in a safe and reliable manner is the Safety
and Enforcement Division. The division is responsible for safety oversight in specific
industries, including electric, natural gas, and telecommunications infrastructure; railroads,
rail crossings, and light rail transit system; passenger carriers, ferries; and household goods
carriers.

The Division is funded through a fee assessed on various types of state-regulated vehicles,
including passenger carriers. The CPUC collects these fees from operators and deposits them
in the Transportation Reimbursement Account. The CPUC has set the fee for passenger
carriers that seat no more than 15 persons at 1/3 of 1 percent of their annual gross revenue,
plus a $10 quarterly fee or a $25 annual fee. The CPUC is allowed to maintain an
appropriate reserve in the account based on past and projected operating experiences.

Charter-Party Carriers (CPC): CPCs are services that charter a vehicle, on a prearranged
basis, for the exclusive use of an individual or group. Charges are based on the mileage or
time of use, or a combination of both. The CPUC does not regulate the level of charges for
CPCs. Types of CPCs include limos, tour buses, sightseeing services, and charter and party
buses.
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5)

6)

7

8)
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The CPUC requires CPCs to meet a number of requirements until an operating permit or
certificate is issued. These requirements include providing sufficient proof of financial
responsibility, maintain a preventative maintenance program for all vehicles, possessing a
safety education and training program, and regularly checking the driving records of all
persons operating vehicles used in transportation for compensation. Taxis are excluded from
the definition of CPCs and are regulated by cities or counties.

Passenger Stage Corporations (PSC): PSCs are services that provide transportation to the
general public on an individual fare basis, such as scheduled bus operators, which are buses
that operate on a fixed route and scheduled services, or airport shuttles, which operate on an
on-call door-to-door share the ride service.

Private Carriers of Passengers and Household Good Carriers: Private carriers of
passengers are not-for-hire motor carriers that do not receive any compensation for services
and are required to obtain a carrier identification number. Examples of private carriers of
passengers include vehicles used by employers to transport employees or vehicles used by an
organization to transport members to and from a location.

Household good carriers are often referred to as moving companies which transports used
household goods and personal effects for residential moves. They may also conduct office
moves if granted a permit by the CPUC.

State Auditor Report: In June 2014, the California State Auditor released a report
examining the CPUC’s Transportation Enforcement Branch, within the Safety and
Enforcement Division, efforts to regulate passenger carriers, as well as its use of fees
collected from carriers. The report found that the branch did not provide sufficient oversight
of CPCs and PSCs to ensure consumer safety.

The report made a number of recommendations to address problems identified by the
Auditor. This bill codifies these recommendations by requiring the CPUC to establish
specific goals and assess its capabilities to achieve such goals, and report to the Legislature
with an analysis of current capabilities and deficiencies, and recommendations to overcome
any deficiencies identified by January 1, 2017.

To improve enforcement of the branch, this bill authorizes peace officers to help in the
enforcement of transportation-related services. The CPUC would coordinate efforts with
peace officers through educational outreach and establishing lines of communication.

Proposed Committee Amendments: The proposed amendments clarify that law
enforcement can impound buses and limousines of CPC’s when they are operating without
required permits. The proposed amendments also allow law enforcement to impound buses
and limousines from PSC’s operating without required permits or licensing. The proposed
amendments specify that the language in this bill related to impoundment does not authorize
the impoundment of privately owned personal vehicles, or the impoundment of charter-party
carriers that are not required to carry individual permits.

Argument in Support: According to the California Moving and Storage Association, “SB
541 improves the functions of the transportation Enforcement branch at the California Public
Utilities Commission to improve customer service and enforcement against illegally
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operating moving companies, limousines and buses.

“In addition to regulating telecommunication companies and investor owned energy utility
companies, the CPUC has also regulated various transportation services, including moving
companies, limousines and buses since the 1960’s. The Transportation Enforcement Branch
is under the CPUC’s Safety and Enforcement Division and oversees the regulation of
transportation services with a staff of about 47.

“SB 41 helps implement audit recommendation and makes additional legislative changes to
improve the functions of the CPUC Transportation Enforcement Branch.

“The CMSA feels very strongly that the most critical threat to California consumers who are
moving is not coming from license, insured moving companies, but rather from a significant
amount of unlicensed, unregulated, illegal companies that do not follow California law and
jeopardize the protection of consumers. We urge the CPUC Transportation and Enforcement
Branch to take appropriate action against unlawful companies in California.”

9) Related Legislation:

a) SB 697 (Hill), requires CPC vehicles to display a distinctive identifying symbol,
showing their classification. SB 697 is pending hearing in the in Assembly
Appropriations Committee,

10) Prior Legislation:

a) AB 636 (Jones), Chapter 248, Statutes of 2009, requires the CPUC to permanently revoke
the authority of a charter-party carrier if the carrier knowingly employs a non-licensed or
inappropriately licensed driver, and allows a CHP officer to impound the bus if driven by
a non-licensed driver.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

California Moving and Storage Association
Greater California Livery Association

Opposition
None

Analysis Prepared by: David Billingsley / PUB. S./(916) 319-3744



Amendments Mock-up for 2015-2016 SB-541 (Hill ( S))

FrRERIIRNF Amendments are in BOLD****%%%%*

Mock-up based on Version Number 96 - Amended Senate 6/2/15
Submitted by: Staff Name, Office Name

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. (a) The Transportation Enforcement Branch of the Safety and Enforcement
Division of the state’s Public Utilities Commission has regulatory oversight of various for-hire
transportation carriers, including limousines, airport shuttles, charter buses, and moving
companies. The Transportation Enforcement Branch administers licensing, enforces state law,
and manages consumer complaints to ensure the reliable and safe transport of passengers and
goods within the state.

(b) The California State Auditor’s Report 2013-130 concluded that the Transportation
Enforcement Branch does not adequately ensure that passenger carriers operate safely. Among
the numerous problems cited by the California State Auditor are that the branch does not have
formal policies for dealing with complaints against carriers, it does not resolve complaints in a
timely manner, it does not have adequate investigatory techniques, and it fails to properly
account for fees paid by carriers. In addition, the California State Auditor concluded that without
major improvements to its management processes, the branch has little ability to resolve its
deficiencies.

(c) While the commission is undertaking an internal process to implement the California State
Auditor’s recommendations, it is in the public interest for the Legislature to further ensure that
the Transportation Enforcement Branch improves its performance to ensure passenger safety.

SEC. 2. Section 1046 is added to the Public Utilities Code, to read:

1046. =

David Billingsley
Assembly Public Safety
07/09/2015
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6) (a) A peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 ( commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of
Part 2 of the Penal Code, may, with respect to a passenger stage corporation, enforce and assist
in the enforcement of Sections 2110 and 2112, resulting from a violation of Section 1031, 1041,
or 1045, or more than one of those sections. A peace officer may additionally enforce and assist
in the enforcement of Sections 1034.5 and 2119. In any case in which an arrest authorized by this
subdivision is made for an offense declared to be a misdemeanor, and the person arrested does
not demand to be taken before a magistrate, the arresting peace officer may, instead of taking
such person before a magistrate, follow the procedure prescribed by Chapter SC (commencing
with Section 853.5) of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code. The provisions of that chapter shall
thereafter apply with reference to any proceeding based upon the issuance of a citation pursuant
to this authority.

ey (b) A peace officer may impound a vehiele bus or limousine operated by a passenger stage
corporation pursuant to Section 14602.9 of the Vehicle Code if the peace officer determines that
any of the following violations occurred while the driver was operating the vehicle:

(1) The driver was operating the vehiele bus or limousine when the passenger stage corporation
did not have a certificate of public convenience and necessity issued by the commission as
required pursuant to this article.

(2) The driver was operating the vehiele bus or limousine when the operating rights or
certificate of public convenience and necessity of a passenger stage corporation was suspended,
canceled, or revoked pursuant to Section 1033.5, 1033.7, or 1045.

(3) The driver was operating the vehiele bus or limousine without having a current and valid
driver’s license of the proper class.

) (¢) The commission shall coordinate enforcement of this section with those peace officers
described in subdivision (a), including undertaking both of the following:

(1) Educational outreach to ensure that those peace officers are aware of the requirements of
Sections 1031, 1034.5, 1041, 1045, 2110, 2112, and 2119.

(2) Establishing lines of communication to ensure that the commission is notified if an action is
commenced to enforce the requirements of those sections specified in subdivision (b), so that the

David Billingsley
Assembly Public Safety
07/09/2015
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commission may take appropriate action to enforce the fine and penalty provisions of Chapter 11
(commencing with Section 2100).

te) (d) The Legislature finds and declares that this section is intended to facilitate and enhance
the commission’s performance of its functions pursuant to Section 2101 and not diminish the
commission’s authority or responsibility pursuant to that section-

(e} This section shall not be construed to authorize the impoundment of privately owned
personal vehicles, nor the impoundment of charter-party carriers that are not required to
carry individual permits.

SEC. 3. Section 5102 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to read:

5102. (a) The use of the public highways for the transportation of used household goods and
personal effects for compensation is a business affected with a public interest. It is the purpose of
this chapter to preserve for the public the full benefit and use of public highways consistent with
the needs of commerce without unnecessary congestion or wear and tear upon those highways; to
secure to the people just, reasonable, and nondiscriminatory rates for transportation by carriers
operating upon the highways; to secure full and unrestricted flow of traffic by motor carriers
over the highways that will adequately meet reasonable public demands by providing for the
regulation of rates of all carriers so that adequate and dependable service by all necessary
carriers shall be maintained and the full use of the highways preserved to the public; and to
promote fair dealing and ethical conduct in the rendition of services involving or incident to the
transportation of household goods and personal effects.

(b) To achieve the purposes of subdivision (a) the commission shall do all of the following:

(1) Prioritize the timely processing of applications and hold “application workshops” for
potential applicants around the state.

(2) Enable electronic filing of applications, reports, and fee payments.

(3) Dedicate staft to answering telephone calls, mailings, and electronic inquiries from carriers.
(4) Prioritize the timely processing of consumer complaints.

(5) Implement electronic case tracking of complaints and their disposition.

(6) Implement a process for appropriate and timely enforcement against illegally operating
carriers, including by performing staff-driven investigations and performing enforcement
through sting operations and other forms of presence in the field.

(7) Maintain relationships with, and implement outreach and education programs to, local law
enforcement, district attorneys, and airports.

David Billingsley
Assembly Public Safety
07/09/2015
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(8) Meet with carrier trade associations at least annually.

(9) Implement a consolidated case tracking system that integrates each of the transportation
program core functions and data collection, administrative compliance details, complaints, and
investigations.

(¢) (1) The commission shall assess its capabilities to carry out the activities in subdivision (b)
and report to the Legislature no later than January 1, 2017. The report shall contain an analysis of
current capabilities and deficiencies, and recommendations to overcome any deficiencies
identified.

(2) The report shall be submitted in compliance with Section 9795 of the Government Code.

(3) Pursuant to Section 10231.5 of the Government Code, this subdivision is inoperative on
January 1, 2021.

SEC. 4. Section 5317.5 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to read:

5317.5. (a) The commission shall ensure that this chapter is enforced and obeyed, and that
violations thereof are promptly prosecuted and that penalty moneys due to the state are recovered
and collected, and to this end it may sue in the name of the people of the State of California.
Upon the request of the commission, the Attorney General or the district attorney of the proper
county or city and county may aid in any investigation, hearing, or trial had under this chapter.

te) (b) A peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of
Part 2 of the Penal Code, may enforce and assist in the enforcement of Sections 5311 and 53 12,
resulting from a violation of Section 5132, 5133, 5140, or 5286, or more than one of those
sections. A peace officer may additionally enforce and assist in the enforcement of Sections
5311.3 and 5314.5. In any case in which an arrest authorized by this subdivision is made for an
offense declared to be a misdemeanor, and the person arrested does not demand to be taken
before a magistrate, the arresting peace officer may, instead of taking such person before a
magistrate, follow the procedure prescribed by Chapter 5C (commencing with Section 853.5) of
Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code. The provisions of that chapter shall thereafter apply with
reference to any proceeding based upon the issuance of a citation pursuant to this authority.

David Billingsley
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€eh (¢) The commission shall coordinate enforcement of this section with those peace officers
described in subdivision (a), including undertaking both of the following:

(1) Educational outreach to ensure that those peace officers are aware of the requirements of
Sections 5132, 5133, 5140, 5286, 5311, 5311.3, 5312, and 5314.5.

(2) Establishing lines of communication to ensure that the commission is notified if an action is
commenced to enforce the requirements of those sections specified in subdivision (c), so that the
commission may take appropriate action to enforce the fine and penalty provisions of this article.

te) (d) The Attorney General, a district attorney of the proper county or city and county, or a city
attorney may institute and prosecute actions or proceedings for the violation of any law
committed in connection with, or arising from, a transaction involving the transportation of
household goods and personal effects.

SEC. 5. Section 5352 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to read:

3352. (a) The use of the public highways for the transportation of passengers for compensation is
a business affected with a public interest. It is the purpose of this chapter to preserve for the
public full benefit and use of public highways consistent with the needs of commerce without
unnecessary congestion or wear and tear upon the highways; to secure to the people adequate
and dependable transportation by carriers operating upon the highways; to secure full and
unrestricted flow of traffic by motor carriers over the highways which will adequately meet
reasonable public demands by providing for the regulation of all transportation agencies with
respect to accident indemmity so that adequate and dependable service by all necessary
transportation agencies shall be maintained and the full use of the highways preserved to the
public; and to promote carrier and public safety through its safety enforcement regulations.

(b) To achieve the purposes of subdivision (a) the commission shall do all of the following:

(1) Prioritize the timely processing of applications and hold “application workshops™ for
potential applicants around the state.

(2) Enable electronic filing of applications, reports, and fee payments.

(3) Dedicate staff to answering telephone calls, mailings, and electronic inquiries from carriers.
(4) Prioritize the timely processing of consumer complaints.

(5) Implement electronic case tracking of complaints and their disposition.

(6) Implement a process for appropriate and timely enforcement against illegally operating
carriers, including by performing staff-driven investigations and performing enforcement
through sting operations and other forms of presence in the field.

David Billingsley
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(7) Maintain relationships with, and implement outreach and education programs to, local law
enforcement, district attorneys, and airports.

(8) Meet with carrier trade associations at least annually.

(9) Implement a consolidated case tracking system that integrates each of the transportation
program core functions and data collection, administrative compliance details, complaints, and
investigations.

(¢) (1) The commission shall assess its capabilities to carry out the activities in subdivision (b)
and report to the Legislature no later than J anuary 1, 2017. The report shall contain an analysis of
current capabilities and deficiencies, and recommendations to overcome any deficiencies
identified.

(2) The report shall be submitted in compliance with Section 9795 of the Government Code.

(3) Pursuant to Section 10231.5 of the Government Code, this subdivision is inoperative on
January 1, 2021.

SEC. 6. Section 5387 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to read:

5387. (a) It is unlawful for the owner of a charter-party carrier of passengers to permit the
operation of a vehicle upon a public highway for compensation without (1) having obtained from
the commission a certificate or permit pursuant to this chapter, (2) having complied with the
vehicle identification requirements of Section 5385 or 5385.5, and (3) having complied with the
accident liability protection requirements of Section 5391.

(b) A person who drives a bus for a charter-party carrier without having a current and valid
driver’s license of the proper class, a passenger vehicle endorsement, or the required certificate
shall be suspended from driving a bus of any kind, including, but not limited to, a bus, schoolbus,
school pupil activity bus, or transit bus, with passengers for a period of five years pursuant to
Section 13369 of the Vehicle Code.

(¢) (1) A charter-party carrier shall have its authority to operate as a charter-party carrier
permanently revoked by the commission or be permanently barred from receiving a permit or
certificate from the commission if it commits any of the following acts:

(A) Operates a bus without having been issued a permit or certificate from the commission.

(B) Operates a bus with a permit that was suspended by the commission pursuant to Section
5378.5.

(C) Commits three or more liability insurance violations within a two-year period for which it
has been cited.

David Billingsley
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(D) Operates a bus with a permit that was suspended by the commission during a period that the
charter-party carrier’s liability insurance lapsed for which it has been cited.

(E) Knowingly employs a busdriver who does not have a current and valid driver’s license of the
proper class, a passenger vehicle endorsement, or the required certificate to drive a bus.

(F) Has one or more buses improperly registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles.

(2) The commission shall not issue a new permit or certificate to operate as a charter-party
carrier if any officer, director, or owner of that charter-party carrier was an officer, director, or
owner of a charter-party carrier that had its authority to operate as a charter-party carrier
permanently revoked by the commission or that was permanently barred from receiving a permit
or certificate from the commission pursuant to this subdivision.

(d) A peace officer, as defined in Seetion-5417.5 Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830)
of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code, may impound a vehiele bus or limousine of a charter-
party carrier of passengers for 30 days pursuant to Section 14602.9 of the Vehicle Code if the
peace officer determines that any of the following violations occurred while the driver was
operating the vehicle of a charter-party carrier:

(1) The driver was operating the wehicle bus or limousine of a charter-party carrier of
passengers when the charter-party carrier of passengers did not have a permit or certificate issued
by the commission.

(2) The driver was operating the wehiele bus or limousine of a charter-party carrier of
passengers when the charter-party carrier of passengers was operating with a suspended permit
or certificate from the commission.

(3) The driver was operating the wvehiele bus or limousine of a charter-party carrier of
passengers without having a current and valid driver’s license of the proper class, a passenger
vehicle endorsement, or the required certificate.

(e) This section_shall not be construed to authorize the impoundment of privatelv owned
personal vehicles, nor the impoundment of charter-party carriers that are not required to
carry individual permits.
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SEC-TSEC-S. SEC. 7. Section 5417.5 is added to the Public Utilities Code, to read:

5417.5. (a) The commission shall ensure that this chapter is enforced and obeyed, and that
violations thereof are promptly prosecuted and that penalty moneys due to the state are recovered
and collected, and to this end it may sue in the name of the people of the State of California.
Upon the request of the commission, the Attorney General or the district attorney of the proper
county or city and county may aid in any investigation, hearing, or trial under this chapter. The
Attorney General, a district attorney of the proper county or city and county, or a city attorney
may institute and prosecute actions or proceedings for the violation of any law committed in
connection with, or arising from, a transaction involving a charter-party carrier of passengers.
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€e) (b) A peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 ( commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of
Part 2 of the Penal Code, may enforce and assist in the enforcement of Sections 5411 and 5412
resulting from a violation of Section 5371, 5379, 5385, 5385.7, or 5387, or more than one of
those sections. A peace officer may additionally enforce and assist in the enforcement of
Sections 5411.3 and 5414.5. In any case in which an arrest authorized by this subdivision is
made for an offense declared to be a misdemeanor, and the person arrested does not demand to
be taken before a magistrate, the arresting peace officer may, instead of taking such person
before a magistrate, follow the procedure prescribed by Chapter 5C (commencing with Section
853.5) of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code. The provisions of that chapter shall thereafter apply
with reference to any proceeding based upon the issuance of a citation pursuant to this authority.

(&) (¢) The commission shall coordinate enforcement of this section with those peace officers
described in subdivision (b), including undertaking both of the following:

(1) Educational outreach to ensure that those peace officers are aware of the requirements of
Sections 5371, 5379, 5385, 5385.7, 5387, 5411, 5411.3, 5412, and 5414.5.

(2) Establishing lines of communication to ensure that the commission is notified if an action is
commenced to enforce the requirements of those sections specified in subdivision (c), so that the
commission may take appropriate action to enforce the fine and penalty provisions of this article.

€e) (d) The Attorney General, a district attorney of the proper county or city and county, or a city
attorney may institute and prosecute actions or proceedings for the violation of any law
committed in connection with, or arising from, a transaction involving the transportation of
passengers by a charter-party carrier of passengers.

SEGC8SEC9 SEC. 8. Section 14602.9 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read:

David Billingsley
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) (a) A peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of

Part 2 of the Penal Code, may impound a vehiele bus or limousine of a charter-party carrier
for 30 days if the officer determines that any of the following violations occurred while the
driver was operating the vehicle of the charter-party carrier:

(1) The driver was operating the vehiele bus or limousine of a charter-party carrier when the
charter-party carrier did not have a permit or certificate issued by the Public Utilities
Commission, pursuant to Section 5375 of the Public Utilities Code.

(2) The driver was operating the vehiele bus or limousine of a charter-party carrier when the
charter-party carrier was operating with a suspended permit or certificate from the Public
Utilities Commission.

(3) The driver was operating the vehiele bus or limousine of a charter-party carrier without
having a current and valid driver’s license of the proper class, a passenger vehicle endorsement,
or the required certificate.

€e) (b) A peace officer may impound a vehiele bus or limousine belonging to a passenger stage
corporation for 30 days if the officer determines any of the following violations occurred while
the driver was operating the vehicle:

(1) The driver was operating the vehiele bus or limousine when the passenger stage corporation
did not have a certificate of public convenience and necessity issued by the Public Utilities
Commission as required pursuant to Article 2 (commencing with Section 1031) of Chapter 5 of
Part 1 of Division 1 of the Public Utilities Code.

(2) The driver was operating the wehicle bus or limousine when the operating rights or
certificate of public convenience and necessity of a passenger stage corporation was suspended,
canceled, or revoked pursuant to Section 1033.5, 1033.7, or 1045 of the Public Utilities Code.

David Billingsley
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(3) The driver was operating the vehiele bus or limousine without having a current and valid
driver’s license of the proper class.

(d) Within two working days after impoundment, the impounding agency shall send a notice by
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the legal owner of the vehicle, at the address obtained
from the department, informing the owner that the vehicle has been impounded. Failure to notify
the legal owner within two working days shall prohibit the impounding agency from charging for
more than 15 day’s impoundment when the legal owner redeems the impounded vehicle. The
impounding agency shall maintain a published telephone number that provides information 24
hours a day regarding the impoundment of vehicles and the rights of a registered owner to
request a hearing,

(e) The registered and legal owner of a vehicle that is removed and seized under subdivision (b)
or (¢) or his or her agent shall be provided the opportunity for a storage hearing to determine the
validity of, or consider any mitigating circumstances attendant to, the storage, in accordance with
Section 22852.

(® (1) The impounding agency shall release the vehicle to the registered owner or his or her
agent prior to the end of the impoundment period under any of the following circumstances:

(A) When the vehicle is a stolen vehicle.

(B) When the vehicle is subject to bailment and is driven by an unlicensed employee of a
business establishment, including a parking service or repair garage.

(C) When, for a charter-party carrier of passengers, the driver of the vehicle is not the sole
registered owner of the vehicle and the vehicle is being released to another registered owner of
the vehicle who agrees not to allow the driver to use the vehicle until after the end of the
impoundment period and the charter-party carrier has been issued a valid permit from the Public
Utilities Commission, pursuant to Section 5375 of the Public Utilities Code.

(D) When, for a passenger stage corporation, the driver of the vehicle is not the sole registered
owner of the vehicle and the vehicle is being released to another registered owner of the vehicle
who agrees not to allow the driver to use the vehicle until after the end of the impoundment
period and the passenger stage corporation has been issued a valid certificate of public
convenience and necessity by the Public Utilities Commission, pursuant to Article 2
(commencing with Section 1031) of Chapter 5 of Part 1 of Division 1 of the Public Utilities
Code.

(2) A vehicle shall not be released pursuant to this subdivision without presentation of the
registered owner’s or agent’s currently valid driver’s license to operate the vehicle and proof of
current vehicle registration, or upon order of a court.

(g) The registered owner or his or her agent is responsible for all towing and storage charges
related to the impoundment, and any administrative charges authorized under Section 22850.5.

David Billingsley
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(h) A vehicle removed and seized under subdivision (b) or (c) shall be released to the legal
owner of the vehicle or the legal owner’s agent prior to the end of the impoundment period if all
of the following conditions are met:

(1) The legal owner is a motor vehicle dealer, bank, credit union, acceptance corporation, or
other licensed financial institution legally operating in this state, or is another person who is not
the registered owner and holds a security interest in the vehicle.

(2) The legal owner or the legal owner’s agent pays all towing and storage fees related to the
seizure of the vehicle. A lien sale processing fee shall not be charged to the legal owner who
redeems the vehicle prior to the 10th day of impoundment. The impounding authority or any
person having possession of the vehicle shall not collect from the legal owner of the type
specified in paragraph (1), or the legal owner’s agent, any administrative charges imposed
pursuant to Section 22850.5 unless the legal owner voluntarily requested a poststorage hearing.

(3) (A) The legal owner or the legal owner’s agent presents either lawful foreclosure documents
or an affidavit of repossession for the vehicle, and a security agreement or title showing proof of
legal ownership for the vehicle. All presented documents may be originals, photocopies, or
facsimile copies, or may be transmitted electronically. The impounding agency shall not require
a document to be notarized. The impounding agency may require the agent of the legal owner to
produce a photocopy or facsimile copy of its repossession agency license or registration issued
pursuant to Chapter 11 (commencing with Section 7500) of Division 3 of the Business and
Professions Code, or to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the impounding agency, that the agent
is exempt from licensure pursuant to Section 7500.2 or 7500.3 of the Business and Professions
Code.

(B) Administrative costs authorized under subdivision (a) of Section 22850.5 shall not be
charged to the legal owner of the type specified in paragraph (1), who redeems the vehicle unless
the legal owner voluntarily requests a poststorage hearing. A city, county, or state agency shall
not require a legal owner or a legal owner’s agent to request a poststorage hearing as a
requirement for release of the vehicle to the legal owner or the legal owner’s agent. The
impounding agency shall not require any documents other than those specified in this paragraph.
The impounding agency shall not require any documents to be notarized.

(C) As used in this paragraph, “foreclosure documents” means an “assignment” as that term is
defined in subdivision (0) of Section 7500.1 of the Business and Professions Code.

(1) (1) A legal owner or the legal owner’s agent who obtains release of the vehicle pursuant to
subdivision (h) may not release the vehicle to the registered owner of the vehicle or any agents of
the registered owner, unless the registered owner is a rental car agency, until after the
termination of the impoundment period.

(2) The legal owner or the legal owner’s agent shall not relinquish the vehicle to the registered
owner until the registered owner or that owner’s agent presents his or her valid driver’s license or

David Billingsley
Assembly Public Safety
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valid temporary driver’s license to the legal owner or the legal owner’s agent. The legal owner or
the legal owner’s agent shall make every reasonable effort to ensure that the license presented is
valid.

(3) Prior to relinquishing the vehicle, the legal owner may require the registered owner to pay all
towing and storage charges related to the impoundment and any administrative charges
authorized under Section 22850.5 that were incurred by the legal owner in connection with
obtaining custody of the vehicle.

() (1) A vehicle removed and seized under subdivision (b) or (c) shall be released to a rental
agency prior to the end of the impoundment period if the agency is either the legal owner or
registered owner of the vehicle and the agency pays all towing and storage fees related to the
seizure of the vehicle.

(2) The owner of a rental vehicle that was seized under this section may continue to rent the
vehicle upon recovery of the vehicle. However, the rental agency shall not rent another vehicle to
the driver of the vehicle that was seized until the impoundment period has expired.

(3) The rental agency may require the person to whom the vehicle was rented to pay all towing
and storage charges related to the impoundment and any administrative charges authorized under
Section 22850.5 that were incurred by the rental agency in connection with obtaining custody of
the vehicle.

(k) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the registered owner, and not the legal
owner, shall remain responsible for any towing and storage charges related to the impoundment,
any administrative charges authorized under Section 22850.5, and any parking fines, penalties,
and administrative fees incurred by the registered owner.

(1) The impounding agency is not liable to the registered owner for the improper release of the
vehicle to the legal owner or the legal owner’s agent provided the release complies with this
section.

(m) For the purposes of this section, a “charter-party carrier” means a charter-party carrier of
passengers as defined by Section 5360 of the Public Utilities Code.

(n) For purposes of this section, a “passenger stage corporation” means a passenger stage
corporation as defined by Section 226 of the Public Utilities Code.

(0) This section shall not be construed to authorize the impoundment of privately owned
personal vehicles, nor the impoundment of charter-party carriers that are not required to
carry individual permits.

David Billingsley
Assembly Public Safety
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Date of Hearing: July 14,2015
Chief Counsel: ~ Gregory Pagan

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Bill Quirk, Chair

SB 635 (Nielsen) — As Amended April 29, 2015

SUMMARY: Increases the compensation for innocent persons who were wrongly convicted
from $100 per day of wrongful incarceration to $140 per day, and requires that time spent in
custody in a county jail as part of the term of incarceration be included in the calculation of
compensation for the wrongful imprisonment.

EXISTING LAW:

)

2)

3)

4)

Provides that any person who, having been convicted of any crime against the state
amounting to a felony and imprisoned in the state prison for that conviction, is granted a
pardon by the Governor for the reason that the crime with which he or she was charged was
either not committed at all or, if committed, was not committed by him or her, or who, being
innocent of the crime with which he or she was charged for either of the foregoing reasons,
shall have served the term or any part thereof for which he or she was imprisoned, may, as
specified, present a claim against the state to the Victim Compensation and Government
Claims Board (VCGCB) for the pecuniary injury sustained by him or her through the
erroneous conviction and imprisonment. (Pen. Code, § 4900.)

Requires a claim to VCGCB to be presented within a period of two years after judgment of
acquittal or discharge given, or after pardon granted, or after release from imprisonment.
(Pen. Code, § 4901.)

Requires VCGCB to fix a time and place for the hearing of the claim and mail notice thereof
to the claimant and to the AG at least 15 days prior to the time fixed for the hearing. (Penal
Code Section 4902.)

States that at the hearing, the claimant shall introduce evidence in support of the claim, and
the Attorney General (AG) may introduce evidence in opposition thereto. The claimant must
prove the facts set forth in the statement constituting the claim, including the following:

a) The fact that the crime with which he or she was charged was either not committed at all,
or, if committed, was not committed by him or her;

b) The fact that he or she did not, by any act or omission on his or her part, intentionally
contribute to the bringing about of his or her arrest or conviction for the crime with which
he or she was charged; and,

¢) The pecuniary injury sustained by him or her through his or her erroneous conviction and
imprisonment. (Pen. Code, § 4903.)
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6)

7

8)
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States if the evidence proves all of the above, VCGCB shall report the facts of the case and
its conclusions to the Legislature, with a recommendation that an appropriation be made by
the Legislature for the purpose of indemnifying the claimant for the pecuniary injury. The
amount of the appropriation recommended shall be a sum equivalent to $100 per day of
incarceration served subsequent to the claimant's conviction and that appropriation shall not
be treated as gross income to the recipient under the Revenue and Taxation Code. (Pen.
Code, § 4904.)

States that every person who is unlawfully imprisoned or restrained of his liberty, under any
pretense whatever, to prosecute a writ of habeas corpus, to inquire into the cause of such
imprisonment or restraint. (Pen. Code, § 1473, subd. (a).)

Provides that a writ of habeas corpus may be prosecuted for, but not limited to, the following
reasons (Pen. Code, § 1473, subd. (b)):

a) False evidence that is substantially material or probative on the issue of guilt or
punishment was introduced against a person at any hearing or trial relating to his
incarceration; or,

b) False physical evidence, believed by a person to be factual, probative, or material on the
issue of guilt, which was known by the person at the time of entering a plea of guilty,
which was a material factor directly related to the plea of guilty by the person.

States that nothing in the provisions authorizing a writ of habeas corpus shall be construed as
limiting the grounds for which a writ of habeas corpus may be prosecuted or as precluding
the use of any other remedies. (Pen. Code, § 1473, subd. (d).)

Provides that the application for the writ is made by petition, signed either by the party for
whose relief it is intended, or by some person in his behalf, and must specify (Pen. Code, §
1474):

a) That the person in whose behalf the writ is applied for is imprisoned or restrained of his
liberty, the officer or person by whom he is so confined or restrained, and the place
where, naming all the parties, if they are known, or describing them, if they are not
known;

b) If the imprisonment is alleged to be illegal, the petition must also state in what the alleged
illegality consists; and,

¢) The petition must be verified by the oath or affirmation of the party making the
application.

10) States that the writ must be directed to the person having custody of or restraining the person

on whose behalf the application is made, and must command him to have the body of such
person before the Court or Judge before whom the writ is returnable, at a time and place
therein specified. (Pen. Code, § 1477.)
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11) Requires the person upon whom the writ is served must state in his return, plainly and
unequivocally (Pen. Code, § 1480):

a) Whether he has or has not the party in his custody, or under his power or restraint;

b) If he has the party in his custody or power, or under his restraint, he must state the
authority and cause of such imprisonment or restraint;

c) If the party is detained by virtue of any writ, warrant, or other written authority, a copy
thereof must be annexed to the return, and the original produced and exhibited to the
Court or Judge on the hearing of such return; and,

d) If the person upon whom the writ is served had the party in his power or custody, or
under his restraint, at any time prior or subsequent to the date of the writ of habeas
corpus, but has transferred such custody or restraint to another, the return must state
particularly to whom, at what time and place, for what cause, and by what authority such
transfer took place;

¢) The return must be signed by the person making the same, and, except when such person
is a sworn public officer, and makes such return in his official capacity, it must be
verified by his oath.

12) Requires the Court or Judge before whom the writ is returned, immediately after the return,
to proceed to hear and examine the return, and such other matters as may be properly
submitted to their hearing and consideration. (Pen. Code, § 1483.)

13) States that the party brought before the Court or Judge, on the return of the writ, may deny or
controvert any of the material facts or matters set forth in the return, or except to the
sufficiency thereof, or allege any fact to show either that his imprisonment or detention is
unlawful, or that he is entitled to his discharge. The Court or Judge must thereupon proceed
in a summary way to hear such proof as may be produced against such imprisonment or
detention, or in favor of the same, and to dispose of such party as the justice of the case may
require, and have full power and authority to require and compel the attendance of witnesses,
by process of subpoena and attachment, and to do and perform all other acts and things
necessary to a full and fair hearing and determination of the case. (Pen. Code, § 1484.)

14) States if no legal cause is shown for such imprisonment or restraint, or for the continuation
thereof, such Court or Judge must discharge such party from the custody or restraint under
which he is held. (Pen. Code, § 1485.)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown
COMMENTS:

1) Author's Statement: According to the author, " Senate Bill 635 is a long overdue effort to
help address perhaps the greatest nightmare that can occur in the American justice system:
the wrongful conviction and incarceration of an innocent person. This bill would modestly
increase the amount an exonerated person receives in restitution compensation, which has not
been adjusted for inflation in nearly two decades.
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"Following release, exonerees are faced with the overwhelming task of reintegrating back
into society. While even rightfully convicted parolees receive a nominal amount of cash and
counseling that facilitate their re-entry into the public, the fully exonerated are given very
limited resources.

"In 2000, the Legislature passed AB 1799 (Baugh) with overwhelming support. The bill
increased potential compensation for wrongful incarceration from a maximum of $10,000 to
a sum of $100 per day spent incarcerated. That level of compensation remains unchanged 15
years later.

"SB 635 increases the amount of compensation that an exoneree can receive following the
finding of his or her factual innocence. Recompense would be $140.00 per day spent
incarcerated. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this increase corresponds to
inflation,

"The fundamental rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness are enshrined in the
Declaration of Independence. Americans are recognized globally for their willingness to
defend their own freedoms and those of others. But sometimes that commitment to defend
freedom must be directed inward, when our own justice system erroneously takes those
precious rights from an individual. Taking moral responsibility for one’s own errors is a key
attribute of a truly just society.

"As a former Chairman of the Board of Prison Terms, I have seen many people who deserve
to spend the rest of their lives behind bars because of their vicious crimes against society,
However, in cases where an innocent person has been wrongly accused and incarcerated, we
as a society have the responsibility to acknowledge that our system is not perfect and they
deserve compensation to get their lives back in order”

Prior Legislation: AB 1799 (Baugh), Chapter 630, Statutes of 1999, removed the $10,000
limitation on the recommended appropriation for a person wrongly convicted, and made the
recommended compensation $100 for each day of incarceration.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

California Innocence Project (Co-sponsor)
Northern California Innocence Project (Co-sponsor)
American Civil Liberties Union

California Public Defenders Association

Legal Services for Prisoners with Children

Opposition

None

Analysis Prepared by: Gregory Pagan / PUB. S. / (916) 319-3744
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Counsel: Stella Choe

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Bill Quirk, Chair

SB 674 (De Le6n) — As Introduced February 27, 2015

SUMMARY: Requires agencies, upon the request of an immigrant victim of crime, to certify
victim helpfulness on the applicable form so that the victim may apply for a U-visa to
temporarily live and work in the United States. Specifically, this bill:

1)

2)

3)

4)

3)

6)

7

8)

Provides that upon the request of the victim or victim’s family member, a certifying official
from a certifying entity shall certify victim helpfulness on the Form I-918 Supplement B
certification, when the victim was a victim of a qualifying criminal activity and has been
helpful, is being helpful, or is likely to be helpful to the detection or investigation or
prosecution of that qualifying criminal activity.

States that in determining helpfulness, there is a rebuttable presumption that a victim is
helpful, has been helpful, or is likely to be helpful to the detection or investigation or
prosecution of that qualifying criminal activity, if the victim has not refused or failed to
provide information and assistance reasonably requested by law enforcement.

Requires a certifying official to fully complete and sign the Form 1-918 Supplement B
certification and, regarding victim helpfulness, include specific details about the nature of the
crime investigated or prosecuted and a detailed description of the victim’s helpfulness or
likely helpfulness to the detection or investigation or prosecution of the criminal activity.

States that a certifying entity shall process an 1-918 Supplement B certification within 90
days of request, unless the non-citizen is in removal proceedings, in which case the
certification shall be processed within 14 days of request.

Specifies that a current investigation, the filing of charges, and a prosecution or conviction
are not required for the victim to request and obtain the Form 1-918 Supplement B
certification from a certifying official.

Provides that a certifying official may only withdraw the certification if the victim refuses to
provide information and assistance when reasonably requested.

Prohibits a certifying entity from disclosing the immigration status of a victim or person
requesting the Form 1-918 Supplement B certification, except to comply with federal law or
legal process, or if authorized by the victim or person requesting the Form 1-918 Supplement
B certification.

Mandates a certifying entity that receives a request for a Form 1-918 Supplemental B
certification to report to the Legislature, on or before January 1, 2017, and annually
thereafter, the number of victims that requested Form 1-918 Form B certifications from the
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entity, the number of those certification forms that were signed, and the number that were
denied.

9) Defines a "certifying entity" to include any of the following:

a)
b)
c)
d)

e)

A state or local law enforcement agency;
A prosecutor;
A judge;

Any other authority that has responsibility for the detection or investigation or
prosecution of a qualifying crime or criminal activity; or

Agencies that have criminal detection or investigative jurisdiction in their respective
areas of expertise, including, but not limited to, child protective services, the Department
of Fair Employment and Housing, and the Department of Industrial Relations.

10) States that for purposes of this bill, a "certifying official” is any of the following:

a)
b)

©)
d)

The head of the certifying entity;

A person in a supervisory role who has been specifically designated by the head of the
certifying entity to issue Form [-918 Supplement B certifications on behalf of that
agency;

A judge; or

Any other certifying official as defined in federal regulations.

11) Provides the following list of "qualifying criminal activity": rape; torture; human trafficking;
incest; domestic violence; sexual assault; abusive sexual conduct; prostitution; sexual
exploitation; female genital mutilation; being held hostage; peonage; perjury; involuntary
servitude; slavery; kidnaping; abduction; unlawful criminal restraint; false imprisonment;
blackmail; extortion; manslaughter; murder; felonious assault; witness tampering; obstruction
of justice; fraud in foreign labor contracting; or stalking.

12) States that a "qualifying crime" includes criminal offenses for which the nature and elements
of the offenses are substantially similar to the criminal activity described in the list of
"qualifying criminal activity", and the attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit any of
those offenses.

EXISTING FEDERAL LAW:

1) Allows an immigrant who has been a victim of a crime to receive a U-visa if the Secretary of
Homeland Security determines the following:
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a) The petitioner has suffered substantial physical or mental abuse as a result of having been
a victim of criminal activity as described;

b) The petitioner, of if the petitioner is under 16 years of age, the petitioner's parent,
possesses information concerning the criminal activity;

¢) The petitioner, or if the petitioner is under 16 years of age, the petitioner's parent, has
been helpful, is being helpful, or is likely to be helpful to a Federal, State, or local law
enforcement official, to a Federal, State, or local prosecutor, to a Federal or State judge,
to the Service, or to other Federal, State, or local authorities investigating or prosecuting
criminal activity as described;

d) The criminal activity violated the laws of the United States or occurred in the United
States (including in Indian country and military installations) or the territories and
possessions of the United States; and,

¢) The criminal activity is that involving one or more of the following or any similar activity
in violation of Federal, State, or local criminal law: rape; torture; trafficking; incest;
domestic violence; sexual assault; abusive sexual contact; prostitution; sexual
exploitation; stalking; female genital mutilation; being held hostage; peonage;
involuntary servitude; slave trade; kidnapping; abduction; unlawful criminal restraint;
false imprisonment; blackmail; extortion; manslaughter; murder; felonious assault;
witness tampering; obstruction of justice; perjury; fraud in foreign labor contracting; or
attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit any of the above mentioned crimes. (8
U.S.C. § 1011(a)(15)(U).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown.
COMMENTS:

1) Author's Statement: According to the author, "The Victim of Crime Visa, also referred to
as the U-Visa, is available to immigrants who are victims of certain crimes committed in the
United States — rape, incest, sexual assault, torture, or domestic violence, for example. The
bearer of a U-Visa gets relief from deportation and permission to work in the United States.

"Federal immigration authorities make the determination of whether a victim of crime
qualifies for a U-Visa. However, the State and local governments play an important role in
this process.

"In order for the victim to apply to the federal government for the U-Visa, the victim must
receive a certification from law enforcement, a prosecutor, or a judicial officer. The
document certifies that the individual was a victim of a qualifying crime. And, the
certification must state that the victim was helpful or likely helpful to the prosecution or
investigation of the crime.

"There are some local law enforcement agencies that do an exemplary job granting
certifications. For example, the Oakland Police Department and L.A. Police Department.

"There are other law enforcement agencies — the Kern County Sheriff, for example — that



2)

SB 674
Page 4

systematically deny certifications on the basis of political views on immigration matters.
They are making the determination of whether one belongs in this county or not, irrespective
of the crime that has been committed against an immigrant and irrespective of whether that
victim was helpful to law enforcement.

"This bill makes clear that all entities that can certify victim helpfulness must certify victim
helpfulness if the victim was a victim of one of the qualifying crimes and the victim was
helpful or likely to be helpful to the prosecution or investigation of the crime.

"The Kern County Sheriff and other entities will no longer be permitted to subjectively make
immigration decisions. That is for the federal government to do.

"Whether you are a victim of crime in Kern County or Alameda County should not matter in
terms of whether you obtain a U-Visa. This bill brings equity to immigrant victims of
crime."

Background: "In 2000, Congress created the U-visa under the Violence Against Women Act
(VAWA) as a form of relief for immigrant victims of crimes. The intent of Congress was: (1)
to strengthen the ability of law enforcement agencies to detect, investigate and prosecute
cases of domestic violence, sexual assault, trafficking and other crimes; and (2) to offer
protection to victims of such crimes.! Congress recognized that a victim’s cooperation and
assistance are essential to the effective detection, investigation and prosecution of crimes.
However, where a victim fears deportation, s/he will be unlikely to come forward to
cooperate and assist in investigative efforts. Without this cooperation victims and entire
communities are less safe. Thus, Congress provided a specific avenue for immigrant crime
victims to obtain lawful immigration status and to create a shield of protection for immigrant
victims.

"To be eligible for a U-visa, the immigrant victim must meet four statutory requirements and
s/he must include a certification from a certifying official (such as a judge) or agency that
s/he aided in the detection, investigation or prosecution of a qualifying criminal activity.’

To meet the four statutory eligibility requirements for the U-visa, the applicant must: (1)
have suffered substantial physical or mental abuse as a result of having been a victim of
certain criminal activity; (2) possess information concerning such criminal activity; (3) have
been helpful, is being helpful, or is likely to be helpful in the investigation or prosecution of a
crime; and (4) have been the victim of a criminal activity that occurred in the United States
or violated the laws of the United States.?

"A U-visa application must include a signed certification form completed by a Federal, State

! New Classification for Victims of Criminal Activity; Eligibility for “U” Nonimmigrant Status, 72 Fed. Reg.
53,014. 53,015 (citing Battered Immigrant Women Protection Act (BIWPA) § 1513(a)(2)(A)).

2INA § 101(a)(15)U), 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(U) (outlines four statutory requirements for U-visa eligibility and
contains nonexhaustive list of qualifying activities); INA § 214(p)(1), 8 U.S.C. § 1184(p)(1) (details certification
requirement).

3INA § 101(a)(15)(U); 8 U.S.C. § 1101(2)(15)(U).
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or local quahfymg official (such as, but not limited to, a law enforcement officer, prosecutor,
or judge).* The certification must affirm the immigrant victim’s helpfulness in the detection,
investigation or prosecution of certain qualifying criminal activity.’ The certification does not
confer any immigration status upon the victim, but enables the victim to meet one of the
eligibility requirements as s/he submits the application to the Department of Homeland
Security (DHS). (U-visa Certification.: Information for Judges, Legal Momentum,
<http:/niwaplibrary.wel.american.edu/immigration/u-visa/tools/judges/U-Visa-Judge-Q-
A.pdf> (as of July 6, 2015).)

Uneven U-visa Certification Policies: According to an investigation by Reuters news, there
are wide disparities among jurisdictions in how likely law enforcement is to certify a victim.

"In some cities, police and prosecutors readily verify that an undocumented crime victim
cooperated; in others, they stonewall. From 2009 through May 2014, law enforcement in
New York City verified 1,151 crime victims, according to figures provided by federal
immigration authorities in response to public records requests by Reuters. Meanwhile, police
and prosecutors verified 4,585 crime victims in Los Angeles, a city with less than half of
New York’s population.

"Oakland, California, has less than 5 percent of New York’s population, yet law enforcement
there verified 2,992 immigrants during the same period - more than twice as many.
Sacramento, California, has a slightly higher population than Oakland, but verified just 300
crime victims.

"The federal data do not include the number of immigrants whose requests for verification
are ignored or denied by the police. Nor is it possible to determine how many of those would
have ultimately been rejected anyway because the applicant would not qualify under the
program. Victims of misdemeanor assault, for instance, do not qualify.

"But wide variations in the numbers of certifications among jurisdictions of similar size
suggest that thousands of victims of violent crimes who have embraced the offer of a U visa
haven’t got one.

""There is a significant portion of the country where law enforcement is not providing
certifications,' said Gail Pendleton, co-founder of ASISTA, which helps lawyers who work
with immigrant survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault. 'That means that you have
tens of thousands of victims of crimes like domestic violence and rape that are just not
getting help, and their perpetrators are not being held accountable.'

"In a nationwide survey of advocates and attorneys in 2013, researchers at the University of
North Carolina School of Law found that the U visa program 'is kind of like geography
roulette,' said Deborah Weissman, a UNC law professor.

“INA § 214(p)(1), 8 U.S.C. § 1184(p)(1); 8 C.F.R. § 214.14(a)(3)(ii).

*INA § 214(p)(1), 8 U.S.C. § 1184(p)(1).
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"Interviews with attorneys across the country reveal wide disparities in approaches to law
enforcement certification. Some agencies will only certify for open cases, others only for
cases that are closed. Others put further limits on the type of crime or rule out victims whose
injuries aren’t deemed severe enough.

"In some jurisdictions, law enforcement is split: Police may refuse to certify crime victims,
while prosecutors will sign off, meaning that only those victims whose cases result in arrest
and prosecution can apply for the visa, though that is not a requirement under the law.
(Levine and Cook, Special Report: U.S. visa program for crime victims is hit-or-miss
prospect (Oct. 21, 2014), Reuters <http.//www.reuters.com/article/2014/10/21/us-usa-
immigration-uvisa-specialreport-idlUSKCNOIA 1H420141021> (as of July 6, 2015).)

Argument in Support: According to the Immigrant Legal Resource Center, "Victims of
certain crimes may be eligible for legal status through a U-Visa. However, a victim of crime
cannot apply to the federal government for a U-Visa without a signed certification from law
enforcement confirming that the person was a victim of a qualifying crime and has been or is
likely to be helpful in the investigation or prosecution of that criminal activity. This
certification is called a Form 1-918 Supplement B certification. It is the federal immigration
authorities that determine whether the crime victim qualifies for the U-Visa. But, without a
completed certification, the application for the U-Visa is denied.

"A problem these victims are facing in California is that some entities that can certify victim
helpfulness refuse to even consider signing Form 1-918 Supplement B certifications. Others
place their own restrictions on which victims can receive the certification. These refusals
arbitrarily prevent these victims from seeking relief to stay in this country. This bill is
necessary to bring consistent treatment and equity to victims of crime and require that all
certifying entities certify victim helpfulness in a consistent and fair manner."

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

American Civil Liberties Union of California

American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME), AFL-CIO
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice

California Immigrant Policy Center

California Partnership to End Domestic Violence

Central American Resource Center

Immigrant Legal Resource Center

Kamala Harris, Attorney General of California

Los Angeles Center for Law and Justice

YWCA of Glendale

Opposition

None
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Date of Hearing: July 14, 2015
Counsel:; Gabriel Caswell

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Bill Quirk, Chair

SB 694 (Leno) — As Amended July 2, 2015

SUMMARY: Codifies a standard for habeas corpus petitions filed on the basis of new evidence.
Specifically, this bill:

1y

2)

3)

Permits a writ of habeas corpus to be prosecuted on the basis of new evidence which would
raise a reasonable probability of a different outcome if a new trial were granted.

Requires the Victims Compensation and Government Claims Board to recommend payment
for incarceration of a person if the court finds that the person is factually innocent.

Makes additional clarifying and technical changes.

EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

3)

4

5)

Provides that every person unlawfully imprisoned or restrained of his or her liberty, under
any pretense whatever, may prosecute a writ of habeas corpus to inquire into the cause of
such imprisonment or restraint. (Pen. Code, § 1473 subd. (a).)

States that a writ of habeas corpus may be prosecuted for, but not limited to, the following
reasons: (Pen. Code, § 1473 subd. (b).)

a) False evidence that is substantially material or probative on the issue of guilt, or
punishment was introduced against a person at any hearing or trial relating to his
incarceration;

b) False physical evidence believed by a person to be factual, material or probative on the
issue of guilt, which was known by the person at the time of entering a plea of guilty and
which was a material factor directly related to the plea of guilty by the person.

Provides that any allegation that the prosecution knew or should have known of the false
nature of the evidence is immaterial to the prosecution of a writ of habeas corpus. (Pen.
Code, § 1473 subd. (c).)

States that nothing in this section shall be construed as limiting the grounds for which a writ
of habeas corpus may be prosecuted or as precluding the use of any other remedies. (Pen.
Code, § 1473 subd. (d).)

Provides that in a contested proceeding, if a court grans a writ of habeas corpus concerning a
person who is unlawfully imprisoned or restrained, the court vacates a judgment on the basis
of new evidence concerning a person who is no longer unlawfully imprisoned or restrained
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and if the court finds that the new evidence on the petition points unerringly to innocence,
that finding shall be binding on the California Crime Victims Compensation and Government
Claims board for acclaim presented to the board, and upon application by the person, the

board shall, without a hearing, recommend to the legislation that an appropriation be made.
(Pen. Code, § 1485.55 subd. (a).)

Provides that “new evidence” means evidence that was not available or known at the time of
trial that completely undermines the prosecution case and points unerringly to innocence.

(Pen. Code, § 1485.55, subd. (b).)

Establishes the Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board (board). (Gov. Code, §
13950 et. seq.)

Provides than an application for compensation shall be filed with the board in the manner
determined by the board. (Gov. Code, § 13952, subd.(a).)

States that, except as provided by specified sections of the Government Code, a person shall
be eligible for compensation when all of the following requirements are met:

a) The person form whom compensation is being sought any of the following:
i) A victim,
ii) A derivative victim.

iii) A person who is entitled to reimbursement for funeral, burial or crime scene clean-up
expenses pursuant to specified sections of the Government Code.

b) Either of the following conditions is met:
i) The crime occurred within California, whether or not the victim is a resident of
California. This only applies when the VCGCB determines that there are federal

funds available to the state for the compensation of crime victims.

ii) Whether or not the crime occurred within the State of California, the victim was any
of the following:

(1) A California resident.
(2) A member of the military stationed in California.
(3) A family member living with a member of the military stationed in California.

¢) If compensation is being sought for derivative victim, the derivative victim is a resident
of California, or the resident of another state who is any of the following:

i) At the time of the crimes was the parent, grandparent, sibling, spouse, child or
grandchild of the victim.



d)

SB 694
Page 3

ii) At the time of the crime was living in the household of the victim.
iii) At the time of the crime was a person who had previously lived in the house of the
victim for a period of not less than two years in a relationship substantially similar to

a previously listed relationship.

iv) Another family member of the victim including, but not limited to the victim's fiancé
or flancée, and who witnessed the crime.

v) Is the primary caretaker of a minor victim, but was not the primary caretaker at the
time of the crime.

And other specified requirements. (Gov. Code, § 13955.)

10) States that an application shall be denied if the board finds that the victim failed to

reasonably cooperate with law enforcement in prosecution of the crime. (Gov. Code, §
13956, subd. (b)(1).)

11) Disqualifies certain individuals from eligibility, including a participant in the crime for which
compensation is being sought, and persons convicted of a felony who are currently on
probation or parole. (Gov. Code, § 13956.)

12) Authorizes the board to reimburse for pecuniary loss for the following types of losses (Gov.
Code, § 13957, subd. (a)):

a)

b)

The amount of medical or medical-related expenses incurred by the victim, subject to
specified limitations.

The amount of out-patient psychiatric, psychological or other mental health counseling-
related expenses incurred by the victim, as specified, including peer counseling services
provided by a rape crisis center.

The expenses of non-medical remedial care and treatment rendered in accordance with a
religious method of healing recognized by state law.

Compensation equal to the loss of income or loss of support, or both, that a victim or
derivative victim incurs as a direct result of the victim’s injury or the victim’s death,
subject to specified limitations.

Cash payment to, or on behalf of, the victim for job retraining or similar employment-
oriented services.

The expense of installing or increasing residential security, not to exceed $1,000, with
respect to a crime that occurred in the victim’s residence, upon verification by law
enforcement to be necessary for the personal safety of the victim or by a mental health
treatment provider to be necessary for the emotional well-being of the victim.
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g) The expense of renovating or retrofitting a victim’s residence or a vehicle to make them
accessible or operational, if it is medically necessary.

h) Expenses incurred in relocating, as specified, if the expenses are determined by law
enforcement to be necessary for the personal safety or by a mental health treatment
provider to be necessary for the emotional well-being of the victim.

13) Limits the total award to or on behalf of each victim to $35,000, except that this amount may

be increased to $70,000 if federal funds for that increase are available. (Gov. Code, § 13957,
subd. (b).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown.

COMMENTS:

1) Author's Statement: According to the author, "Under existing California law an inmate

2)

who has been convicted of committing a crime, but claims that they are factually innocent,
may file a petition for writ of habeas corpus, which, if a court agrees with their claim, could
potentially result in a new trial if warranted. The burden for proving one’s innocence in such
cases that are based on newly available evidence is not currently defined by statute, but has
evolved from appellate court opinions, and is practically impossible to achieve in California.

"In order to prevail on a new evidence claim under current law, an individual must
undermine the prosecution's entire case and 'point unerringly to innocence with evidence no
reasonable jury could reject. The California Supreme Court has acknowledged that this
standard is very high, much higher than the 'preponderance of the evidence' standard that
governs other habeas corpus claims, such as those based on ineffective assistance of counsel.
It is by far the most difficult standard to meet in the entire nation.

"As a legal and practical matter, current case law requires wrongfully incarcerated
individuals who have produced new evidence to conclusively and affirmatively prove their
innocence, often decades after the fact when witness memories have faded, other evidence
has disappeared, and re-litigating the original case is essentially impossible. Even when new
evidence shows that their conviction would have never occurred in the first place, an
individual is likely to remain wrongfully incarcerated under the status quo in California.

"This proposed standard in SB 694 simply brings claims of actual innocence based on new
evidence into alignment with other post-conviction remedies for various established
constitutional violations, such as claims of ineffective assistance of counsel, prosecutorial
misconduct, or false evidence, as well as bringing California in line with 39 other states.
Simply put, the wrongful incarceration of an innocent citizen, no matter how rare, is the
greatest injustice society can perpetrate. When it occurs it is our moral obligation to address
that shortcoming in our justice system, which is what SB 694 will accomplish for those
wrongfully behind bars."

Background: According to the background provided by the author, "under existing
California law, an inmate who has been convicted of committing a crime for which he or she
claims that s/he has new evidence pointing to innocence may file a petition for writ of habeas
corpus. The burden for proving that newly discovered evidence entitles an individual to a
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new trial is not currently defined by statute, but has evolved from appellate court opinions.
In order to prevail on a new evidence claim, a petitioner must undermine the prosecution's
entire case and 'point unerringly to innocence with evidence no reasonable jury could reject’
(Inre Lawley (2008) 42 Cal.4th 1231, 1239). The California Supreme Court has stated that
this standard is very high, much higher than the preponderance of the evidence standard that
governs other habeas claims. (Ibid.)

"This standard is nearly impossible to meet absent DNA evidence, which exists only in a tiny
portion of prosecutions and exonerations. For example, if a petitioner has newly discovered
evidence that completely undermines all evidence of guilt and shows that the original jury
would likely not have convicted, but the new evidence does not "point unerringly to
innocence" the petitioner will not have met the standard and will have no chance at a new
trial. Thus, someone who would likely never have been convicted if the newly discovered
evidence had been available in their original trial is almost guaranteed to remain in prison
under the status quo in California. The proposed new standard in SB 694 addresses this
anomaly. Our criminal justice system was built on the understanding that even innocent
people cannot always affirmatively prove innocence, which is why the burden is on the
prosecution to prove guilt when a charge is brought to trial, and absent evidence of guilt
beyond a reasonable doubt, innocence is presumed. The new standard contained in this bill
ensures that innocent men and women do not remain in prison even after new evidence
shows that a conviction never would have occurred had it been available.

"SB 694 seeks to bring California's innocence standard into line with the vast majority of
other states' standards, thirty-nine in total, and to make it consistent with other post-
conviction standards for relief in California such as ineffective assistance of counsel, or
prosecutorial misconduct. There is no justification for a different standard to govern these
types of claims, as opposed to those brought on the basis of newly discovered evidence. Our
laws must recognize that if evidence exists that a jury did not hear (regardless of whether it is
the fault of a mistaken or lying witness, an ineffective attorney, or the misconduct of law
enforcement) creates a reasonable probability of a different outcome, the conviction should
be reversed.

"As a result of the onerously high standard governing new evidence claims, individuals often
choose to re-package evidence of innocence into other types of claims, such as infective
assistance of counsel for example. The impact of this is not just a dearth in case law on new
evidence claims but it also means that some exonerees may never receive legal recognition of
their innocence. To illustrate, consider the case of Maurice Caldwell. Caldwell was convicted
of murder in 1991 based on the mistaken identification of a single eyewitness. It was later
established that it was scientifically impossible for the witness to have identified the
perpetrator from her vantage point, thus rendering his conviction invalid. It was not for the
fact that there was new evidence available, however, that the conviction was overturned. It
was a claim of ineffective assistance of counsel that ultimately ended Caldwell’s wrongful
incarceration. While Caldwell no longer suffers from the immediate harm of a wrongful
conviction he still has no legal recognition of his innocence, which may limit his ability to
continue to recover from the long-lasting and difficult burdens of a wrongful conviction. A
finding of innocence is a crucial component of recovery for many people who have been
wrongfully convicted in California and without justification for such a high standard, there is
no basis for requiring the victims of wrongful incarceration to meet it."
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Writ of Habeas Corpus Generally: Habeas corpus, also known as "the Great Writ", is a
process guaranteed by both the federal and state constitutions to obtain prompt judicial relief
from illegal restraint. The functions of the writ is set forth in Penal Code Section 1473(a):
"Every person unlawfully imprisoned or restrained of his or her liberty, under any pretense
whatever, may prosecute a writ of habeas corpus, to inquire into the cause of such
imprisonment or restraint.” Penal Code Section 1473(d) specifies that "nothing in this
section shall be construed as limiting the grounds for which a writ of habeas corpus may be
prosecuted.” A writ of habeas corpus may be prosecuted for, but not limited to, the following
reasons:

a) False evidence that is substantially material or probative on the issue of guilt, or
punishment was introduced against a person at any hearing or trial relating to his
incarceration;

b) False physical evidence believed by a person to be factual, material or probative on the
issue of guilt, which was known by the person at the time of entering a plea of guilty and
which was a material factor directly related to the plea of guilty by the person; and,

¢) Any allegation that the prosecution knew or should have known of the false nature of the
evidence is immaterial to the prosecution of a writ of habeas corpus. (Pen. Code, § 1473,
subd. (b).)

A habeas corpus claim of false testimony requires proof that false evidence was introduced
against the petitioner at his or her trial and that such evidence was material or probative on
the issue of his or her guilt. (In re Bell (2007) 42 Cal.4th 630.) False evidence introduced at
trial against a defendant is substantially material or probative if there is a reasonable
probability that, had the false evidence not been introduced, the result would have been
different. (In re Roberts (2003) 29 Cal.4th 726.) A reasonable probability that the result
would have been different if false evidence had not been introduced against defendant is a
chance great enough, under the totality of circumstances, to undermine the court's confidence
in the outcome. (/bid.) A habeas claim of false testimony does not require a showing of
perjury or other knowledge of impropriety. (In re Hall (1981) 30 Cal.3d 308.)

A writ of habeas corpus may also be prosecuted based on newly discovered evidence, and
shall be granted only if the new evidence undermines the entire prosecution case and point
unerringly to innocence or reduced culpability. (In re Clark (1993) 5 Cal.4th 750, 766.)

Reasonable Probability Standard: In California, there is no codified standard of proof for
a writ of habeas corpus brought on the basis of new evidence. The current standard is based
on case law. In re Lawley (2008) 42 Cal. 4™ 1231, 1239 found that newly discovered
evidence “must undermine the entire prosecution case and point unerringly to innocence or
reduced culpability;” and “if ‘a reasonable jury could have rejected’ the evidence presented, a
petition has not satisfied this burden.” This bill would instead set the standard for the
granting of a writ of habeas corpus as “new evidence exists which would raise a reasonable
probability of a different outcome if a new trial were granted. The reasonable probability
standard is the same standard that is used in most other states, and in California is used for
cases of: ineffective assistance of counsel; false evidence; and, prosecutorial misconduct. In
support the ACLU notes that: "SB 694 would incorporate into California law a standard of
proof that is in alignment with almost all other states. SB 694 will allow a wrongfully



S)

6)

SB 694
Page 7

convicted person to receive a new trial if he or she presents the reviewing court with
evidence that is of such a decisive value and force that there is a reasonable probability of a
different outcome if a new trial were granted. This standard brings the actual innocence claim
into alignment with other post-conviction remedies for established constitutional violations,
including claims of ineffective assistance of counsel, prosecutorial misconduct, and false
evidence."

This bill also makes conforming changes, making it clear the standard is a finding of factual
innocence by a court in the section requiring the Victim Compensation and Government
Claims Board to make a recommendation for an appropriation when the court has granted a
writ of habeas corpus on the basis of new evidence.

Argument in Support: According to The California Innocence Project, "The burden for
proving one's actual innocence with new evidence of innocence is not defined by statute in
California. Rather, California case law from more than sixty years ago requires a wrongfully
convicted person seeking relief from their conviction to meet a very high burden.
Specifically, they must present evidence no reasonable jury would reject, evidence which
undermines the prosecution's entire case and points unerringly to innocence. Even the
California Supreme Court has recognized this standard as much higher than other standards
for relief which govern other habeas claims.

"The inordinately high burden currently in place in California means individuals who are
actually innocent often cannot get relief through new evidence shows their convictions
should be reversed. The case of William Richards demonstrates this tragic scenario.
Richards was convicted in 1999 of the murder of his wife, Pamela Richards. After the
conviction, the California Innocence Project discovered DNA evidence on the murder
weapon and under the victim's fingernails. Experts testified this male DNA profile, which
did not match Richards, belonged to the perpetrator. The DNA evidence, in combination
with other evidence, completely undermined the prosecution case, establishing that Richards
was not the killer. Unfortunately, however, the court reasoned the DNA, even in
combination with the other evidence, did not point unerringly to innocence, partially because
the DNA profile did not match any known perpetrator in the DNA database.

"SB 694 would amend the existing California statute to incorporate a standard of proof that is
in alignment with most all other jurisdictions—38 states and the District of Columbia—and
create a standard which is at once practical, achievable, and effective. Specifically, SB 694
will allow a wrongfully convicted person to receive a new trial if he or she presents evidence
demonstrating there is a reasonable probability of a different outcome if a new trial were
granted. This standard brings the actual innocence claim into alignment with other post-
conviction remedies for established constitutional violations, including claims of ineffective
assistance of counsel, prosecutorial misconduct, and false evidence."”

Argument in Opposition: According to The Judicial Council of California, "While
recognizing that establishing the standard of review for writs of habeas corpus as
contemplated by SB 694 is within the purview of the Legislature, the council regretfully
opposes SB 694 for significant procedural reasons that impact the administration of justice
and because the council has significant concerns about the potential workload and costs
associated with the bill would it be signed into law.
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"Currently there is no codified standard of proof for a writ of habeas corpus brought on the
basis of new evidence and the current standard is based on case law. The Supreme Court, in
In re Lawley, held that for newly discovered evidence to be used to overturn a conviction it
'must undermine the entire prosecution case and point unerringly to innocence or reduced
culpability;' ((2008) 42 Cal. 4™ 1231, 1239). Further the court stated 'if a reasonable jury
could have rejected the evidence presented, a petitioner has not satisfied his burden.; (/d.)
SB 694 would lower the current judicially established standard of review for a writ of habeas
corpus based on new evidence from 'undermines the prosecution of the case and points
unerringly to innocence' to a standard of 'raises a reasonable probability of a different
outcome if a new trial were granted.’

"The council believes that changing the standard of review for writs of habeas corpus in this
manner will substantially increase the workload of trial courts and appellate courts, including
the Supreme Court, in at least three instances. First, the council believes that SB 694's
standard of review would substantially increase the number of writs of habeas corpus filed in
trial courts and appellate courts. Second, the council believes that the standard will
substantially increase the number of evidentiary hearings and new trials. Third, under certain
circumstances, including writs of habeas corpus in capital cases, the costs of appointed
council for petitioners are paid by the courts. An increase in habeas petitions will therefore
lead to an increase in costs to the courts. Additionally, the council is concerned that the new
lower standard undermines the conviction process as it has the appearance of questioning the
integrity of trial court proceedings. As a result, numerous subsequent writs could be filed
based on newly discovered evidence."

Prior Legislation:

a) SB 1058 (Leno), Chapter 623, Statutes of 2014, allowed a writ of habeas corpus when
evidence given at trial has subsequently been repudiated by the expert that testified or
undermined by later scientific research or technological advances.

b) SB 618 (Leno), Chapter 800, Statutes of 2013, streamlined the process for compensating
persons who have been exonerated after being wrongfully convicted and imprisoned.

¢) AB 1593 (Ma), Chapter 809, Statutes of 2012, allows a writ of habeas corpus to be
prosecuted if expert testimony relating to intimate partner battering and its effects was
received into evidence but was limited at the frial court proceedings relating to a
prisoner’s incarceration for the commission of a violent felony committed prior to August
29, 1996, and there is a reasonable probability, sufficient to undermine confidence in the
judgment of conviction, that if the testimony had not been limited, the result of the
proceedings would have been different.

d) SB 1471 (Runner), of the 2007-08 Legislative Session, would have required habeas
petitions in death penalty cases to be filed within one year and change the standards for
competent counsel. SB 1471 failed passage in Senate Public Safety.
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SB 707 (Wolk) — As Amended July 2, 2015

SUMMARY: Specifies that persons who possess a concealed weapons permit may not possess
that firearm on school grounds as specified. Specifically, this bill:

1)

2)

3)

Deletes the exemption that allows a person holding a valid license to carry a concealed
firearm to possess a firearm on the campus of a university or college.

Permits a person holding a valid license to carry a concealed firearm to carry a firearm in an
area that is within 1,000 feet of, but not on the grounds of, a public or private school
providing instruction in kindergarten or grades 1 to 12.

Specifies further exceptions to the prohibition on carrying ammunition on school grounds:

a) Exempts specified active and honorably retired peace officers from the prohibition;

b) Exempts persons carrying ammunition onto school ground that is in a motor vehicle
which is in a locked container within the trunk of the vehicle; and,

¢) Deletes an existing exemption permitting persons who possess a concealed weapons
permit.

EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

3)

Creates the Gun-Free School Zone Act of 1995. (Pen. Code, § 626.9 subd. (a).)

Defines a “school zone” to means an area in, or on the grounds of, a public or private school
providing instruction in kindergarten or grades 1 to 12, or within a distance of 1,000 feet
from the grounds of the public or private school. (Pen. Code, § 626.9, subd. (¢).)

Provides that any person who possesses a firearm in a place that the person knows, or
reasonably should know, is a school zone, unless it is with the written permission of the
school district superintendent, or equivalent school authority, is punished as follows: (Pen.
Code, § 626.9, subds. (f)-(i).)

a) Any person who possesses a firearm in, or on the grounds of, a public or private school
providing instruction in kindergarten or grades 1 to 12, is subject to imprisonment for
two, three, or five years.
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b) Any person who possesses a firearm within a distance of 1,000 feet from a public or

d)

2)

h)

private school providing instruction in kindergarten or grades 1 to 12, is subject to:

i) Imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year or by imprisonment for two,
three, or five years; or,

ii) Imprisonment for two, three, or five years, if any of the following circumstances
apply:

(1) If the person previously has been convicted of any felony, or of any specified
crime.

(2) If the person is within a class of persons prohibited from possessing or acquiring a
firearm, as specified.

(3) If the firearm is any pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed
upon the person and the offense is punished as a felony, as specified.

Any person who, with reckless disregard for the safety of another, discharges, or attempts
to discharge, a firearm in a school zone shall be punished by imprisonment for three, five,
Or seven years.

Every person convicted under this section for a misdemeanor violation who has been
convicted previously of a misdemeanor offense, as specified, must be imprisoned in a
county jail for not less than three months.

Every person convicted under this section of a felony violation who has been convicted
previously of a misdemeanor offense as specified, if probation is granted or if the
execution of sentence is suspended, he or she must be imprisoned in a county jail for not
less than three months.

Every person convicted under this section for a felony violation who has been convicted
previously of any felony, as specified, if probation is granted or if the execution or
imposition of sentence is suspended, he or she must be imprisoned in a county jail for not
less than three months.

Any person who brings or possesses a loaded firearm upon the grounds of a campus of,
or buildings owned or operated for student housing, teaching, research, or administration
by, a public or private university or college, without the written permission of the
university or college president, his or her designee, or equivalent university or college
authority, must be punished by imprisonment for two, three, or four years.

Any person who brings or possesses a firearm upon the grounds of a campus of, or
buildings owned or operated for student housing, teaching, research, or administration by,
a public or private university or college, without the written permission of the university
or college president, his or her designee, or equivalent university or college authority,
must be punished by imprisonment for one, two, or three years.
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4) States that the Gun-Free School Zone Act of 1995 does not apply to possession of a firearm

5)

6)

under any of the following circumstances: (Pen. Code, § 626.9, subd. (©).)

a) Within a place of residence or place of business or on private property, if the place of
residence, place of business, or private property is not part of the school grounds and the
possession of the firearm is otherwise lawful.

b) When the firearm is an unloaded pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being
concealed on the person and is in a locked container or within the locked trunk of a motor

vehicle.

¢) The lawful transportation of any other firearm, other than a pistol, revolver, or other
firearm capable of being concealed on the person, in accordance with state law.

d) When the person possessing the firearm reasonably believes that he or she is in grave
danger because of circumstances forming the basis of a current restraining order issued
by a court against another person or persons who has or have been found to pose a threat
to his or her life or safety, as specified.

¢) When the person is exempt from the prohibition against carrying a concealed firearm, as
specified.

States that the Gun-Free School Zone Act of 1995 does not apply to: (Pen. Code, § 626.9,
subd. (1).)

a) A duly appointed peace officer;

b) A full-time paid peace officer of another state or the federal government who is carrying
out official duties while in California;

¢) Any person summoned by any of these officers to assist in making arrests or preserving
the peace while he or she is actually engaged in assisting the officer;

d) A member of the military forces of this state or of the United States who is engaged in the
performance of his or her duties;

€) A person holding a valid license to carry a concealed firearm;

f) An armored vehicle guard, engaged in the performance of his or her duties, as specified;
g) A security guard authorized to carry a loaded firearm;

h) An honorably retired peace officer authorized to carry a concealed or loaded firearm; or,
1) An existing shooting range at a public or private school or university or college campus.
Specifies that unless it is with the written permission of the school district superintendent, the

superintendent's designee, or equivalent school authority, no person shall carry ammunition
or relJoaded ammunition onto school grounds, except sworn law enforcement officers acting
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within the scope of their duties or persons exempted under specified peace officer exceptions
to concealed weapons prohibitions. Exempts the following persons:

a) A duly appointed peace officer as defined.

b) A full-time paid peace officer of another state or the federal government who is carrying
out official duties while in California.

¢) Any person summoned by any of these officers to assist in making an arrest or preserving
the peace while that person is actually engaged in assisting the officer.

d) A member of the military forces of this state or of the United States who is engaged in the
performance of that person's duties.

e) A person holding a valid license to carry the firearm.

f) An armored vehicle guard, who is engaged in the performance of that person's duties.

FISCAL EFFECT:

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

Author's Statement: According to the author, "The California Gun Free School Act
prohibits bringing a firearm on any school, college, or university campus, but exempts those
who carry a concealed weapons permit. SB 707 repeals this exemption, yet retains the
authority of campus officials to allow firearms, including concealed ones, on campus as they
see deem appropriate. Closing the CCW school grounds exemption in California is consistent
with efforts to maintain school and college campuses as safe, gun free, environments. SB 707
will ensure that students and parents who expect a campus to be safe and 'gun free' can be
confident that their expectation is being met and that school officials are fully in charge of
who is allowed to bring a firearm on their campus."

Gun-Free School Zone Act of 1995: Enacted by AB 645 (Allen), Chapter 1015, Statutes of
1994, the Gun-Free School Zone Act, hereafter referred to as the "Act,” generally provides
that any person who possesses, discharges, or attempts to discharge a firearm, in a place that
the person knows, or reasonably should know, is a within a distance of 1,000 feet from the
grounds of any public or private school, kindergarten or Grades 1 to 12, (a "school zone"),
without written permission, may be found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor and is subject

to a term in county jail or state prison.

The Act does not require that notices be posted regarding prohibited conduct under the Act;
therefore, it is incumbent on the individual possessing the firearm to be knowledgeable of
and adhere to the Act.

A "school zone" is defined as an area in, or on the grounds of, a public or private school
providing instruction in kindergarten or Grades 1 to 12, inclusive, and within a distance of
1,000 feet from the grounds of the public or private school. The Act also provides specific
definitions of a "loaded" firearm and a "locked container" for securing firearms.
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3) Effect of this Bill and the Honorably Retired Peace Officer Amendments: Honorably

4)

retired peace officers authorized to carry a concealed or loaded firearm and individuals who
possess a valid concealed carry permit, are currently allowed to carry a firearm on school
campuses, including grade schools, high schools and college campuses. This legislation
would, instead, prohibit CCW permit holders form carrying firearms on school grounds, but
would allow them to carry firearms within 1,000 feet of a school. The bill as originally
drafted also prohibited honorably retired peace officers from carrying firearms of school
campuses. The July 2, 2015 amendments to the bill exempt honorably retired peace officers
from the prohibition.

Opposition groups argue that because the bill now exempts honorably retired peace officers,
the bill is not in violation of the Equal Protection Clause of the 14™ Amendment. The
Firearms Policy Coalition cites Silveira v. Lockyer (9" Cir. 2002) 312 F.3d 1052; which
struck down a provision exempting retired peace officers from the prohibitions of the
California Assault Weapons Control Act on Equal Protection grounds, holding that there was
no rational basis to treat retired officers differently from similarly situated members of the
general public. The constitutional question for this bill would be whether there is a rational
basis for exempting honorably retired peace officers from the prohibitions of the Gun-Free
School Zone Act of 1995.

Argument in Support: According to The California Chapters of the Brady Campaign to
Prevent Gun Violence, "Existing law prohibits a person from possessing a firearm in a school
zone without the written permission of certain school district officials. A school zone
includes school grounds and a distance within 1,000 feet of a public or private K-12 school.
Additionally, existing law prohibits a person from possessing a firearm upon the grounds of a
public or private university or college campus without the written permission of specified
university or college officials. Persons holding a valid license to carry a concealed and
loaded weapon (CCW) and retired peace officers authorized to carry concealed and loaded
firearms are exempt from the school zone and university or college prohibitions. SB 707
would allow persons holding a CCW license to carry a concealed firearm within 1,000 feet
but not on the grounds of a K-12 school and not on the campus of a university or college.
Firearms, including concealed, loaded handguns, could still be allowed on school grounds or
campuses with the permission of school officials.

"The Brady Campaign strongly believes that the discretion to allow hidden, loaded guns on a
school grounds and college or university campuses must lie with school authorities, who bear
the responsibility for the wellbeing and safety of their students. Under existing law, county
sheriffs issue CCW permits and thereby determine who may carry a concealed, loaded gun
on school grounds or campuses. This creates the opportunity for a 21 year old from a rural
county to obtain a CCW permit and carry a loaded, hidden handgun in a dormitory on an
urban campus.

"This is one area of firearm law in which California lags behind many other states.
According to the Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence, which tracks state fircarm laws, 39
states and the District of Columbia prohibit those with CCW permits from possessing
concealed firearms within school zones and 23 states specify that CCW permit holders may
not carry concealed firearms on college and university campuses. California is not one of
these states.
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"The national trend on this issue is disturbing as legislation has been introduced in at least 16
states that would force guns onto college and university campuses. Proponents are even
suggesting that more guns on campuses would stop student rape. Additionally, legislation is
being pushed in 20 states to allow people to carry hidden, loaded handguns in public without
a permit. Moreover, federal reciprocity legislation (H.R. 402 and S. 498) has been
introduced that would require states to recognize CCW permits from other states, including
those with reprehensibly low standards. States that use law enforcement discretion, such as
California, would be forced to recognize CCW permits from other states, even if the permit
holder would not pass a background check in the state where they are carrying. The threat of
national CCW reciprocity heightens the importance of SB 707 and the need to remove the
exemption that allows CCW license holders to carry guns on school grounds and campuses in
California.

"In Peruta v. County of San Diego, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals found, in February
2014, that California’s CCW standard, which requires the applicant to show good cause and
gives discretion to local law enforcement, was unconstitutional. After the ruling, several
counties in California began to issue more CCW permits. Although the 9™ Circuit vacated
and reheard Peruta en banc in June, the recent increase in CCW permits allows for more
guns to be carried in school zones and college and university campuses.

"College aged students may engage in risky or impulsive behavior, be under the influence of
alcohol or drugs, or suffer from pressure or depression and be at risk of suicide. Allowing a
student CCW license holder to carry guns on college and university campuses means that
more students will have access to firearms. Furthermore, the Violence Policy Center has
documented homicides, suicides, accidental shootings and at least 29 mass shootings (since
May 2007) committed by CCW license holders.

"Under SB 707, the number of hidden, loaded firearms legally brought onto school grounds
and college campuses will be reduced and the safety of students and others will increase.
The California Brady Campaign Chapters urge your AYE vote on this important measure."

Argument in Opposition: According to the National Rifle Association of America, "This
bill was introduced in the wake of an incident involving vice principal Kent Williams of
Tevis Junior High School, who was arrested in 2014 for bringing a firearm onto school
property despite possessing a valid CCW license. All criminal charges against him were
dropped, and he is now suing the city and police department for wrongful arrest. Williams v.
Bakersfield, No. 14-01955 (E.D.Cal. filed Dec. 8, 2014).

"Senate Bill 707 would effectively prohibit CCW holders from possessing firearms on any
properties that make up the grounds of a K-12 school or university, including many parking
lots, common areas that may not be readily identifiable as school grounds, and student
apartment buildings. Due to imprecise language used in current penal code section 626.9, SB
707 will further promote inadvertent violations and unjust prosecutions of otherwise law-
abiding firearm owners. This legislation raises significant concerns under the Second
Amendment by further infringing the rights of law-abiding—and properly licensed and
trained individuals—to possess a firearm for self-defense. From a practical perspective, SB
707 improperly expands prohibitions on the possession of firearms by persons who pose no
threat to public safety. In doing so, this legislation would leave these individuals, and all
other persons on California campuses, defenseless against violent criminals that target
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California schools and universities without regard for these restrictions, barring what a
majority of law enforcement officers believe to be the most effective line of defense against
mass shootings."

6) Prior Legislation:

a) AB 2609 (Lampert), Chapter 115, Statutes of 1998, clarified the Gun Free School Zone
Act (Act) to forbid the bringing or possession of any firearm on the grounds of, or in any
buildings owned or operated by a public or private university or college used for the
purpose of student housing, teaching, research or administration, that are contiguous or
are clearly marked university property. Exempts specified law enforcement and security
personnel.

b) AB 624 (Allen), Chapter 659, Statutes of 1995, passed the Gun-Free School Zone Act of
1995.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

California College and University Police Chiefs Association (Sponsor)
Association for California School Administrators
Association for Los Angeles Deputy Sheriffs

California Association of Code Enforcement Officers
California Chapters of the Brady Campaign

California Correctional Supervisors Organization
California Narcotic Officers Association

California Police Chiefs Association

California School Boards Association

California School Employees Association

California State PTA

California State University System

Courage Campaign

Davis College Democrats

Davis Joint Unified School District

Fraternal Order of Police

L.A. County Probation Officers Union

Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence

Long Beach Police Officers Association

Los Angeles County Democratic Party

Los Angeles County Professional Peace Officers Association
Los Angeles Police Protective League

Los Angeles Unified School District

Peace Officers Research Association of California
Physicians for Social Responsibility, Sacramento Chapter
Retired and Disabled Police of America

Riverside Sheriffs' Association

Sacramento Deputy Sheriffs' Association



Santa Ana Police Officers Association

South County Citizens Against Gun Violence
Violence Prevention Coalition

Women Against Gun Violence

Youth Alive

1 private individual
Opposition

California Association of Licensed Investigators
California Rifle and Pistol Association

Firearms Policy Coalition

Gun Owners of California

National Rifle Association of America
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Date of Hearing: July 14, 2015
Counsel: Stella Choe

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Bill Quirk, Chair

SB 722 (Bates) — As Amended May 5, 2015

SUMMARY: Creates a new state prison felony for any person who willfully disables an
electronic, global positioning system (GPS) if the device was affixed as a condition of parole,
postrelease community supervision (PRCS), or probation as a result of a conviction for a
specified sex offense. Specifically, this bill:

1)

2)

3)

4

5)

Requires that the person must have intended to evade supervision and either does not
surrender, or is not apprehended, within one week of the issuance of a warrant for
absconding.

States that there shall be a rebuttable presumption that the person intended to evade
supervision.

Makes the violation of this provision a felony, punishable by imprisonment in the state prison
for 16 months, or two or three years.

Exempts the removal or disabling of a monitoring device by a physician, emergency medical
services technician, or by any other emergency response or medical personnel when doing so
is necessary during the course of medical treatment of the person subject to the device.

Requires the terms of probation or parole of a person who has committed a violation of these
provisions to include participation and completion of a sex offender management program.

EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

3)

Authorizes the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) to utilize
continuous electronic monitoring, including GPS, to electronically monitor the whereabouts
of persons on parole as specified. (Pen. Code, § 3010.)

Provides that every inmate who has been convicted for any felony violation of a registerable
sex offense or any attempt to commit any of those offenses and who was committed to prison
and released on parole shall be monitored by GPS for the term of his or her parole, or for the
duration or any remaining part thereof, whichever period of time is less. (Pen. Code, §
3000.07, subd. (a).)

Provides, as enacted by Proposition 83 of 2006, that every inmate who has been convicted
for any felony violation of a registerable sex offense, or any attempt to commit one of those
sex offenses, and who is committed to prison and released on parole shall be monitored by
GPS for life. (Pen. Code, § 3004, subd. (b).)
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4) Provides that whenever a parole officer supervising an individual has reasonable cause to

3)

6)

7

8)

9

believe that the individual is not complying with the rules or conditions set forth for the use
of continuous electronic monitoring as a supervision tool, the officer supervising the

individual may, without a warrant of arrest, take the individual into custody for a violation of
parole. (Pen. Code, § 3010.7.)

Authorizes the court, upon revocation of parole, to do any of the following:

a) Reinstate parole with modification of conditions, if appropriate, including a period of
incarceration;

b) Revoke parole and order the parolee to serve time in the county jail; or,

¢) Refer the parolee to a reentry program or other evidence-based program. (Pen. Code
Section 3000.08, subd. (f).)

Limits confinement in the county jail for up to 180 days of incarceration per revocation.
(Pen. Code Section 3000.08, subd. (g).)

Provides that parolees who are registered sex offenders and are required to have a GPS
device as a condition of parole shall be subject to parole revocation and incarcerated in a
county jail for 180 days if they remove or otherwise disable the device, as specified. (Pen.
Code, § 3010.10.)

Establishes an enhanced sentencing structure that applies to crimes of rape, oral copulation,
sodomy, and sexual penetration committed by force, duress or threats; lewd conduct with a
child under the age of 14 and continuous sexual abuse of a child which, depending on the
number and kinds of aggravating factors attendant to the crime, require a term of 15- or 25-
years-to-life, or life without parole for specified crimes against a minor. (Pen. Code, §
667.61.)

Requires persons placed on parole or formal probation for an offense that requires the person
to register as a sex offender to complete a sex offender management program. (Pen. Code,
§§ 1203.067, subd. (b) and 3008, subd. (d).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown.

COMMENTS:

1)

Author's Statement: According to the author, "SB 722 focuses upon high risk predatory sex
offenders by limiting its application to the offenses deemed most egregious by the legislature
when it approved the 'One Strike Rape' law. These offenses are: rape, spousal rape, foreign
object rape, lewd or lascivious acts against children, sodomy, oral copulation, and continuous
sexual abuse of a child. The premise behind 'One Strike Rape' is that one victim is enough.

"The circumstances of some sex offenses are so aggravated that the state imposes a life
sentence to avoid the potential of another victim. When a rapist or child molester cuts off his
GPS device and evades the law the state has been put on notice that others are at great risk.
SB 722 is needed because in the cases of Gordon and Cano the state simply waited for
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another victim."

Due Process Concerns: The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment denies
States the power to deprive the accused of liberty unless the prosecution proves beyond a
reasonable doubt every element of the charged offense. (U.S. Const., 14th Amend.; In re
Winship (1970) 397 U.S. 358, 364.) Where intent of the accused is an element of the crime,
its existence is a question of fact to be determined by the jury. (Morissette v. United States
(1952) 342 U.S. 246, 274.) A presumption on one of the required elements of a crime,
regardless of whether it is rebuttable, relieves the prosecution of the affirmative burden of
persuasion by instructing the jury that it must find the presumed element unless the defendant
persuades the jury not to make such a finding. (Francis v. Franklin (1985) 471 U.S. 307,
317.) Such shifting of the burden of persuasion onto the defendant is impermissible under
the Due Process Clause. (/bid., citing Patterson v. New York (1977) 432 U.S. 197, 215.)

In Francis v. Franklin, supra, defendant, an escapee from prison, had fled to a nearby home
and demanded the resident's car keys. The resident slammed the door and the defendant's gun
went off. The bullet traveled through the wooden door and into the resident's chest killing
him. The defendant was charged with murder which requires proof of the intent to kill. At
trial the jury was instructed as follows on the issue of intent: "The acts of a person of sound
mind and discretion are presumed to be the product of the person's will, but the presumption
may be rebutted. A person of sound mind and discretion is presumed to intend the natural
and probable consequences of his acts, but the presumption may be rebutted. . . ." (Francis v.
Franklin, supra, 471 U.S. at p. 311.) Defendant was found guilty of murder. Defendant
appealed and ultimately had his conviction overturned by the United States Supreme Court.

The Court held that the jury instruction contained a mandatory presumption that violated the
Due Process Clause. The Court's inquiry involved ascertaining whether the challenged
portion of the instruction creates a mandatory presumption or merely a permissive inference.
A mandatory presumption requires the jury to come to a certain conclusion, while a
permissive inference suggests a possible conclusion but does not require it. The Court found
that the instruction in Francis was a mandatory presumption because it "directs the jury to
presume an essential element of the offense — intent to kill — upon proof of other elements of
the offense — the act of slaying another. In this way the instructions 'undermine the
factfinder's responsibility at trial, based on evidence adduced by the State, to find the
ultimate facts beyond a reasonable doubt." (/d. at p. 316, citing County Court v. Allen
(1979) 442 U.S. 140, 152.) Even though the jury instructions allowed the presumption to be
rebutted, the presumption was still found to be unconstitutional because it shifted the burden
of persuasion on the crucial element of intent from the prosecution to the defense. (/d. at p.
325.)

This bill contains a mandatory presumption that is rebuttable. This relieves the prosecution of
its burden of persuasion on an element of the offense created by this bill. Specifically, this
bill requires that a person disabled or removed a GPS device with the "intent to evade
supervision." The defendant's intent is an element of the offense, and unless it is proven by
the prosecution beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant intended to evade supervision,
the defendant cannot be found guilty. However, this bill further provides that "there shall be
a rebuttable presumption that the person intended to evade supervision." Thus, similar to
Francis, supra, this bill creates a mandatory presumption that the jury must find to be true,
unless the defendant persuades them otherwise. As stated in Francis, the Due Process Clause
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"prohibits the State from using evidentiary presumptions in a jury charge that have the effect
of relieving the State of its burden of persuasion beyond a reasonable doubt of every essential
element of a crime." (Francis v. Franklin, supra, 471 U.S. at p. 3 13.) The presumption in
this bill improperly shifts the burden of persuasion from the prosecution to the defendant and
therefore violates the defendant's constitutional right to due process.

State Prison Overcrowding Considerations: In January 2010, a three-judge panel issued a
ruling ordering the State of California to reduce its prison population to 137.5% of design
capacity because overcrowding was the primary reason that CDCR was unable to provide
inmates with constitutionally adequate healthcare. (Coleman/Plata vs. Schwarzenegger
(2010) No. Civ S-90-0520 LKK JFM P/NO. C01-1351 THE.) The United State Supreme
Court upheld the decision, declaring that "without a reduction in overcrowding, there will be
no efficacious remedy for the unconstitutional care of the sick and mentally ill" inmates in
California’s prisons. (Brown v. Plata (2011) 131 S.Ct. 1910, 1939; 179 L.Ed.2d 969, 999.)

After continued litigation, on February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to
reduce its in-state adult institution population to 137.5% of design capacity by F ebruary 28,
2016, as follows:

* 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014;
¢ 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and,
¢ 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.

In its most recent status report to the court (June 2015), the administration reported that as
"of June 10, 2015, 111,370 inmates were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which
amounts to 134.7% of design bed capacity, and 7,726 inmates were housed in out-of-state
facilities. The current population is 2,352 inmates below the final court-ordered population
benchmark of 137.5% of design bed capacity, and has been under that benchmark since
February 2015." (Defendants' June 2015 Status Report In Response To February 10, 2014
Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, Three-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown
(fn. omitted).

The state now must stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that
California has in place the "durable solution" to prison overcrowding "consistently
demanded" by the court. (Opinion Re: Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part
Defendants' Request For Extension of December 31, 2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK
DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (2-10-14).)

Moreover, there are still approximately 6,262 prisoners being housed in private prisons. (See
the latest CDCR monthly population report, as of June 24, 2015:
<http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Reports_Research/Offender Information Services Branch/Weekly
Wed/TPOP1A/TPOP1Ad150624.pdf>.)

This bill creates a new state prison felony for any person who disables or removes a GPS
device affixed as a condition of parole, probation, or PRCS as a result of a conviction for
specified sex offenses. According to CDCR's most recent statistics, from January 2014
through March 20135, there were a total of 2,584 warrants issued for sex offenders who
absconded from parole. Of those absconders, 1,261 were apprehended after 7 days, which is
the amount of time specified under this bill. Under the newly enacted Penal Code Section
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3010.10 (SB 57 (Lieu), Chapter 776, Statutes of 2013), which created a new parole violation
for sex offenders who disable or remove a GPS device, there were a total of 1,675 violations
from January 1, 2014 through March 2015. These numbers can be used to approximate the
frequency of the type of violation this bill seeks to address. This bill could potentially send
hundreds, if not thousands, of people to state prison, who would otherwise serve their time in
county jail.

Although the state is currently in compliance with the court-ordered population cap (not
counting the prisoners housed in out-of-state or private prisons), creating new state prison
felonies will reverse the progress made in reducing the state prison population. This is
contrary to the court's order for a durable solution to prison overcrowding.

Changes to Parole As a Result of Criminal Justice Realignment: Prior to realignment,
individuals released from prison were placed on parole and supervised in the community by
parole agents of CDCR. If it was alleged that a parolee had violated a condition of parole, he
or she would have a revocation proceeding before the Board of Parole Hearings (BPH). If
parole was revoked, the offender would be returned to state prison for violating parole.

Realignment shifted the supervision of some released prison inmates from CDCR parole
agents to local probation departments. Parole under the jurisdiction of CDCR for inmates
released from prison on or after October 1, 2011 is limited to those defendants whose term
was for a serious or violent felony; were serving a Three-Strikes sentence; are classified as
high-risk sex offenders; who are required to undergo treatment as mentally disordered
offenders; or who, while on certain paroles, commit new offenses. (Pen. Code, §§ 3000.08,
subds. (a) and (c), and 3451, subd. (b).) All other inmates released from prison are subject to
up to three years of PRCS under local supervision. (Pen. Code, § 3000.08, subd. (b) and
3451, subd. (a).)

Realignment also changed the process for revocation hearings, which was implemented in
phases. Until July 1, 2013, individuals supervised on parole by state agents continue to have
revocation hearings before BPH. After July 1, 2013, the trial courts will assume
responsibility for holding all revocation hearings for those individuals who remain under the
jurisdiction of CDCR. In contrast, since the inception of realignment, individuals placed on
PRCS stopped appearing before the BPH for revocation hearings. Their revocation hearings
are handled by the trial court.

Additionally, realignment changed where an offender is incarcerated for violating parole or
PRCS. Most individuals can no longer be returned to state prison for violating a term of
supervision; offenders serve their revocation term in county jail. (Pen. Code, §§ 3056, subd.
(a) and 3458.) The only offenders who may be returned to state prison if parole is revoked
are those with life terms. (Pen. Code, § 3000.1.) Generally, there is a 180-day limit to
incarceration on a parole or PRCS violation. (Pen. Code, §§ 3056, subd. (a) and 3455, subd.

(c).)

SB 57 (Lieu), Chapter 776, Statutes of 2013, carved out a mandatory 180-day term in county
jail for sex offenders who violate parole by removing or disabling a GPS or other monitoring
device. This bill creates a new felony offense for certain sex offenders who remove or
disable a GPS device and states that the offense is punishable by imprisonment in the state
prison for 16 months, or two or three years. Assuming that a person convicted pursuant to
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the provisions of this bill receives the mid-term sentence of two years, and that the person
would be eligible for worktime credits (day-for-day) because the new offense is not a
"violent" felony or punishable under the three strikes law, the time actually served would be
one year in state prison. If the person received the lower term of 16 months, the time actually
served would be 8 months. Any days that the person spent in county jail awaiting disposition
on his or her case would also reduce the term. Considering that under current law, this
offense would receive a mandatory 180 days in county jail, does this bill create any
deterrence for someone who would be facing minimally increased time in state prison?

Effectiveness of GPS Devices: In October 2014, the Office of the Inspector General (OIG),
at the request of the Senate Rules Committee pursuant to subdivision (b) of Penal Code
section 6126, conducted a review and assessment of electronic monitoring of sex offenders
on parole. According to the report:

"There exists little objective evidence to determine to what extent, if any, GPS tracking is
a crime deterrent, although a small 2012 study funded by the National Institute of Justice
of 516 high-risk sex offenders found that offenders who were not subjected to GPS
monitoring had nearly three times more sex-related parole violations than those who were
monitored by GPS technology. Despite the rarity of studies defending GPS as a crime
deterrent, the OIG’s interviews with parole agents and local law enforcement personnel
found that they value GPS technology as a tool for its ability to locate parolees, track
their movements, and provide valuable information in solving crimes."

(Office of the Inspector General, Special Review: Assessment of Electronic Monitoring of Sex

Offenders on Parole and the Impact of Residency Restrictions (Oct. 2014), available at

<http://www.oig.ca.gov/media/reports/Reports/Reviews/OIG Special Review Electronic M

onitoring_of Sex Offenders_on Parole and Impact of Residency Restrictions November
2014.pdf> (as of July 7, 2015), pg. 2.)

While anecdotally, GPS is an effective monitoring tool allowing parole agents to track the
movement and locate parolees more quickly than is the case when supervising non-GPS
parolees, the report found that GPS technology adds to a parole agent's workload in certain
aspects, including reviewing GPS tracks for each working day for all GPS-monitored
offenders, logging their tracking reviews daily, and responding to after-hours alerts from the
GPS monitoring center.

"Parole administrators told the OIG that a typical parole agent spends approximately two
hours reviewing a parolee’s GPS tracks for a single-day period. During the course of a
GPS track review, a parole agent is expected to thoroughly investigate all points of
interest and alerts, using the various viewing capabilities of the department’s GPS
system. These capabilities include point-by-point playback, where the parole agent views
each individual GPS track collected by the GPS system; point-pattern analysis, where the
agent views groups of GPS points to identify and assess the parolee’s patterns; zoom
levels, which allow the parole agent to adjust the view of the GPS points; and mapping
tools, which allow parole agents to superimpose the GPS tracks on a map.

"Department policy requires parole agents to document the completion of their GPS
review in parole supervision records. The parole agent documents the date and time range
of the tracks reviewed as well as the findings observed and any further investigation
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needed as a result of the review. If the parole agent discovers during the review that a
parolee violated the conditions of parole—such as travelling outside of his or her
residence during curfew hours—the parole agent would document the violation and take
the appropriate enforcement actions.

"Parole agents assigned to GPS duties also receive and respond to alerts generated by the
GPS system. The department’s GPS vendor monitors the information generated by the
GPS devices and notifies the parole agent when the system identifies a condition that
requires review. Less urgent alerts (such as low-battery notices) are communicated to the
parole agent by email, while more urgent alerts (such as notices regarding tampering with
or removing GPS devices) are sent by text message or telephone call. Department policy
requires parole agents to resolve all alerts within six business days and to document in the
GPS system their actions taken, in addition to making appropriate entries into the
parolee’s report of supervision."

(/d. atpg. 8.)

Additionally, the report found that a majority of parole agents carried caseloads exceeding
department policy limits:

"Department policy states that a GPS caseload will consist of 20 high-risk or 40 non-
high-risk cases, or an equitable combination of both. Accordingly, the department
included in its policy the following matrix for its managers to follow in assigning
caseloads of high-risk and non-high-risk sex offenders.

"However, when comparing actual parole agent caseloads with the department’s caseload
matrix, the OIG found that 145 of its 231 parole agents (63 percent) carried caseloads
exceeding the matrix limits. Although the average caseload size for the 231 parole agents
was just over 30 parolees per agent, when the OIG factored in the mix of high-risk and
non-high-risk parolees in the caseloads, most parole agents exceeded the matrix limits."

(1d. at pg. 10.)

As illustrated by the case of Franc Cano and Steven Gordon, two registered sex offenders
who were being monitored by GPS when they allegedly raped and killed four women in
Orange County over the period of 5 months, high caseloads can prevent the ability of parole
agents to effectively monitor the whereabouts of those being tracked.

As reported by the Los Angeles Times, "In the two months before the first victim
disappeared, the agent supervising Cano and Gordon went at least three weeks with 15 to 17
high-risk parolees on his watch, along with another 21 to 25 sex offenders. State rules should
have limited him to six to 10 additional parolees. The agent exceeded the allowed ratios
again in October, as did three other agents assigned to supervise either Cano or Gordon
between August and February. Ondre Henry, president of the Parole Agents Assn. of
California, said caseloads consistently exceed 40 parolees, and almost all agents have more
than 20 cases. The workload, he said, hampers the ability to oversee sex offenders and fully
investigate their whereabouts tracked on GPS devices. 'In the case of Gordon and Cano ...
yes, you can review the tracks. It's a very useful tool. But unless you can actually do the
investigative work ... it kind of defeats the purpose,' Henry said. "'When you have caseload
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sizes that are so big, it's hard to drill into those specific factors." (St. John and Esquivel,
California not following recommendation on parole agent caseloads, 1.A. Times (Aug. 10,
2014) <http://Www.Iatimes.com/local/la-me-ff—serial-killer-parole-20140804-story.html>.)

Argument in Support: According to the Orange County Sheriff's Department, "The
management of sex offenders continues to be a complex challenge for the law enforcement
community. Once a sex offender serves his time in custody, a GPS device is the best tool
available to ensure that these types of offenders are complying with state law. Due to the fact
that these devices are so integral to the management of this population, offenders must know
that there will be serious consequences for device tampering. Creating this added level of
deterrence is a necessary addition to the penal code."

Argument in Opposition: According to the California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
(CACJ), "Current law allows for parole revocation and incarceration in county jail for 180
days for the disabling or removing of a GPS device. This law, as a result of SB 57 (2013),
went into effect on January 1, 2014. In addition, AB 2121 (2014) requires a person who is
required to register as a sex offender as a condition of parole to report to his or her parole
officer within one working day following the release from custody for the purpose of affixing
the GPS device. The law also allows a certain amount of discretion in deciding whether
certain individuals should be incarcerated for such violations.

"In the last two legislative sessions, our laws have been changed to provide certain oversight
on tracked sex offenders. However, there has been insufficient time to evaluate whether the
implementation of this new law has proven to be effective at deterring persons from disabling
or removing their GPS devices. Notwithstanding these laws, sending a person back to prison
for a minor offense does not address the root issues of persons being ill-prepared to reenter
their communities upon release. The enormous cost of incarceration and parole revocations
for even minor offenders continue to contribute to budget constraints and fuel public cries for
fiscal reform.

"This legislation is premature and unnecessary considering Penal Code section 3010.10 was
recently amended in the prior legislative session. There are no statistics or research proving
current law is insufficient or incarceration time must be extended. For these reasons, CACJ
must regretfully oppose SB 722."

Prior Legislation:

a) AB 2121 (Gray), Chapter 603, Statutes of 2014, requires sex offender parolees to report
to their parole officers within one working day following release from prison, or as
instructed by a parole officer, to be fitted with a GPS tracking device.

b) SB 57 (Lieu), Chapter 776, Statutes of 2013, created a new parole violation for a sex
offender to remove or disable an electronic GPS or other monitoring device affixed as a
condition of parole and required the person to be incarcerated in county jail for 180 days.

c) AB 63 (Patterson), of the 2013-14 Legislative Session, created an alternative
felony/misdemeanor offense for removal of a GPS monitoring device affixed as a
condition of post-release community supervision or parole. AB 63 failed passage in this
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Committee.

d) SB 722 (Nielson), of the 2013-14 Legislative Session, would have created new penalties
for any person to willfully remove or disable an electronic monitoring or supervising
device affixed to his or her person or the person of another, knowing that the device was
affixed as part of a criminal sentence or juvenile court disposition, as a condition of
parole or probation, or otherwise pursuant to law. SB 742 failed passage in Senate Public
Safety.

e) AB 2016 (Gorell), of the 2011-12 Legislative Session, would have prohibited a person
from willfully removing or disabling an electronic, GPS or other monitoring device
affixed to his or her person or the person of another, knowing that the device was affixed
as a condition of a criminal sentence, juvenile court disposition, parole, probation, post-
release community supervision or mandatory supervision. AB 2016 was not heard by
this Committee.

f) AB 179 (Gorell), of the 2011-12 Legislative Session, was substantially similar to AB
2016. AB 179 failed passage in this Committee.

g) SB 566 (Hollingsworth), of the 2009-10 Legislative Session, would have established a
penalty scheme for persons who have been lawfully ordered to submit to a GPS or
electronic monitoring device, and willfully interfered with the device, with penalties
ranging from misdemeanors to felonies depending upon the offense underlying the GPS
sanction. SB 566 failed passage in the Senate Public Safety Committee.

h) SB 619 (Speier), Chapter 484, Statutes of 2005, authorized the use of GPS technology to
supervise persons on probation and parole.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

California Against Slavery

California Association of Code Enforcement Officers
California College and University Police Chiefs Association
California District Attorneys Association

California Narcotic Officers Association

California State Lodge, Fraternal Order of Police

California State Sheriffs' Association

Crime Victims United of California

Long Beach County Police Officers Association

Los Angeles County Professional Peace Officers Association
Orange County Board of Supervisors

Orange County District Attorney's Office

Orange County Sheriff's Department

Sacramento County Deputy Sheriffs' Association

San Diego County Sheriff's Department

San Diego County District Attorney's Office
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Opposition

American Civil Liberties Union of California
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
California Public Defenders Association
Legal Services for Prisoners with Children

Analysis Prepared by: Stella Choe / PUB. S. / (916) 319-3744
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Date of Hearing: July 14, 2015
Chief Counsel:  Gregory Pagan

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Bill Quirk, Chair

SB 795 (Committee on Public Safety) — As Amended June 29, 2015
As Proposed to be Amended in Committee

SUMMARY: Makes technical and corrective changes, as well as non-controversial substantive
changes, to various code sections relating to criminal justice. Specifically, this bill:

1)

2)

3)

4)

Exempts a person from the requirement that they be taken in front of a magistrate without
unreasonable delay, if the person is arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or
drugs and the person is delivered to a hospital for medical treatment that prohibits immediate
delivery to a magistrate.

Deletes the January 1, 2016 repeal date on the provisions of the interstate compact and would
thereby extend the operation of the provisions indefinitely.

Clarifies that a person who violates the rules and regulations relating to damage to state park
property, and state vehicle recreation areas and trail system is guilty of an alternate

misdemeanor/infraction.

Makes other additional non-substantive technical changes.

EXISTING LAW:

1y

2)

3)

Requires that when a person is arrested without a warrant, they must be taken without
unnecessary delay before the nearest or most accessible magistrate in the county in which the
offense is triable with certain specific exceptions. (Pen. Code, § 849.)

Establishes the Interstate Compact for Juveniles, which is an interstate commission
comprised of the compacting states to, among other things, oversee, supervise, and
coordinate the interstate movement of juveniles. These provisions sunsets on January 1,
2016. (Welf. & Institutions Code, § 1403.)

Requires the Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) to protect the state park system, the
state vehicle recreations area and trail system from damage and to preserve the peace therein,
and a person who violates the rules and regulations of the DPR is guilty of a misdemeanor,
and upon conviction, shall be punished by imprisonment not to exceed 90 days, except that at
the time a particular action is commenced, the judge may considering the recommendation of
the district attorney, reduce the charged offense from a misdemeanor to an infraction
punishable by a fine not less than $10 nor more than $1,000. (Pub. Resources Code, § 5008.)
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FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

1) Author's Statement: According to the author, " This is the annual public safety omnibus
bill. The omnibus bill is introduced by all members of the Senate Public Safety Committee,
and it is similar to other public safety omnibus bills, introduced in the past, in that:

o The bill's provisions make only technical or minor changes to the law; and,

e There is no opposition by any member of the Legislature, or recognized group to the
proposal.

This procedure has allowed for the introduction of fewer minor bills and has saved the
Legislature time and expense over the years."

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

California District Attorneys Association
Opposition

None

Analysis Prepared by: Gregory Pagan / PUB. S./(916) 319-3744



Amendments Mock-up for 2015-2016 SB-795 (Committee on Public Safety (S)
- (Senators Hancock (Chair), Anderson, Leno, Liu, McGuire, Monning, and

Stone))

FERrFRFEET* Amendments are in BOLD*%#*%%&%x%

Mock-up based on Version Number 96 - Amended Assembly 6/29/15
Submitted by: Gregory Pagan, Committee on Public Safety

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. Section 1031 of the Government Code is amended to read:

1031. Each class of public officers or employees declared by law to be peace officers shall meet
all of the following minimum standards:

(a) Be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien who is eligible for and has
applied for citizenship, except as provided in Section 2267 of the Vehicle Code.

(b) Be at least 18 years of age.

(c) Be fingerprinted for purposes of search of local, state, and national fingerprint files to
disclose a criminal record.

(d) Be of good moral character, as determined by a thorough background investigation.

(e) Be a high school graduate, pass the General Education Development Test or other high
school equivalency test approved by the State Department of Education that indicates high
school graduation level, pass the California High School Proficiency Examination, or have
attained a two-year, four-year, or advanced degree from an accredited college or university. The
high school shall be either a United States public school, an accredited United States Department
of Defense high school, or an accredited or approved public or nonpublic high school. Any
accreditation or approval required by this subdivision shall be from a state or local government
educational agency using local or state government approved accreditation, licensing,
registration, or other approval standards, a regional accrediting association, an accrediting
association recognized by the Secretary of the United States Department of Education, an
accrediting association holding full membership in the National Council for Private School
Accreditation (NCPSA), an organization holding full membership in AdvancED, an organization
holding full membership in the Council for American Private Education (CAPE), or an
Gregory Pagan
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accrediting association recognized by the National Federation of Nonpublic School State
Accrediting Associations (NFNSSAA).

(f) Be found to be free from any physical, emotional, or mental condition that might adversely
affect the exercise of the powers of a peace officer.

(1) Physical condition shall be evaluated by a licensed physician and surgeon.
(2) Emotional and mental condition shall be evaluated by either of the following:

(A) A physician and surgeon who holds a valid California license to practice medicine, has
successfully completed a postgraduate medical residency education program in psychiatry
accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, and has at least the
equivalent of five full-time years of experience in the diagnosis and treatment of emotional and
mental disorders, including the equivalent of three full-time years accrued after completion of the
psychiatric residency program.

(B) A psychologist licensed by the California Board of Psychology who has at least the
equivalent of five full-time years of experience in the diagnosis and treatment of emotional and
mental disorders, including the equivalent of three full-time years accrued postdoctorate.

The physician and surgeon or psychologist shall also have met any applicable education and
training procedures set forth by the California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and
Training designed for the conduct of preemployment psychological screening of peace officers.

(g) This section shall not be construed to preclude the adoption of additional or higher standards,
including age.

SEC. 2. Section 384a of the Penal Code is amended to read:

384a. (a) (1) A person shall not willfully or negligently cut, destroy, mutilate, or remove plant
material that is growing upon state or county highway rights-of-way.

(2) A person shall not willfully or negligently cut, destroy, mutilate, or remove plant material
that is growing upon public land or upon land that is not his or hers without a written permit
from the owner of the land, signed by the owner of the land or the owner’s authorized agent, as
provided in subdivision (c).

(3) A person shall not knowingly sell, offer or expose for sale, or transport for sale plant material
that is cut or removed in violation of this subdivision.

(b) For purposes of this section, “plant material” means a tree, shrub, fern, herb, bulb, cactus,
flower, huckleberry, or redwood green, or a portion of any of those, or the leaf mold on those
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plants. “Plant material” does not include a tree, shrub, fern, herb, bulb, cactus, flower, or greens
declared by law to be a public nuisance.

(c¢) (1) The written permit required by paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) shall be signed by the
landowner, or the landowner’s authorized agent, and acknowledged before a notary public, or
other person authorized by law to take acknowledgments. The permit shall contain the number
and species of trees and amount of plant material, and shall contain the legal description of the
real property as usually found in deeds and conveyances of the land on which cutting or removal
shall take place. One copy of the permit shall be filed in the office of the sheriff of the county in
which the land described in the permit is located. The permit shall be filed prior to the
commencement of cutting or removal of plant material authorized by the permit.

(2) The permit required by this section need not be notarized or filed with the sheriff when five
or less pounds of shrubs or boughs are to be cut or removed.

(d) A county or state fire warden; personnel of the Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, as
designated by the Director of Forestry and Fire Protection; personnel of the United States Forest
Service, as designated by the Regional Forester, Region 5, of the United States Forest Service; or
a peace officer of the State of California, may enforce the provisions of this section and may
confiscate any and all plant material unlawfully cut or removed or knowingly sold, offered, or
exposed or transported for sale as provided in this section.

(e) This section does not apply to any of the following:

(1) An employee of the state or of a political subdivision of the state who is engaged in work
upon a state, county, or public road or highway while performing work under the supervision of
the state or a political subdivision of the state.

(2) A person engaged in the necessary cutting or trimming of plant material for the purpose of
protecting or maintaining an electric powerline, telephone line, or other property of a public
utility.

(3) A person engaged in logging operations or fire suppression.

(f) A violation of this section shall be a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than one
thousand dollars ($1,000), by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than six months, or by
both that fine and imprisonment.

SEC. 3. Section 849 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

849. (a) When an arrest is made without a warrant by a peace officer or private person, the
person arrested, if not otherwise released, shall, without unnecessary delay, be taken before the
nearest or most accessible magistrate in the county in which the offense is triable, and a
complaint stating the charge against the arrested person shall be laid before the magistrate.
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(b) A peace officer may release from custody, instead of taking the person before a magistrate, a
person arrested without a warrant in the following circumstances:

(1) The officer is satisfied that there are insufficient grounds for making a criminal complaint
against the person arrested.

(2) The person arrested was arrested for intoxication only, and no further proceedings are
desirable.

(3) The person was arrested only for being under the influence of a controlled substance or drug
and the person is delivered to a facility or hospital for treatment and no further proceedings are
desirable.

(4) The person was arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs and the person is
delivered to a hospital for medical treatment that prohibits immediate delivery before a
magistrate,

(c) The record of arrest of a person released pursuant to paragraphs (1) and (3) of subdivision (b)
shall include a record of release. Thereafter, the arrest shall not be deemed an arrest, but a
detention only.
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SEC.5: 4. Section 4131.5 of the Penal Code is amended and renumbered to read:

243.15. Every person confined in, sentenced to, or serving a sentence in, a city or county jail,
industrial farm, or industrial road camp in this state, who commits a battery upon the person of
any individual who is not himself or herself a person confined or sentenced therein, is guilty of a
public offense and is subject to punishment by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of
Section 1170, or in a county jail for not more than one year.

SEC. 6- 5. Section 4504 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

4504. For purposes of this chapter:

(a) A person is deemed confined in a “state prison” if he or she is confined in any of the prisons
and institutions specified in Section 5003 by order made pursuant to law, including, but not
limited to, commitments to the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation or the Department
of Corrections and Rehabilitation, Division of Juvenile Justice, regardless of the purpose of the
confinement and regardless of the validity of the order directing the confinement, until a
judgment of a competent court setting aside the order becomes final.

(b) A person is deemed “confined in” a prison although, at the time of the offense, he or she is
temporarily outside its walls or bounds for the purpose of serving on a work detail, for the
purpose of confinement in a local correctional institution pending trial, or for any other purpose
for which a prisoner may be allowed temporarily outside the walls or bounds of the prison. A
prisoner who has been released on parole is not deemed “confined in” a prison for purposes of
this chapter.

SEC. % 6. Section 5008 of the Public Resources Code is amended to read:

5008. (a) The department shall protect the state park system and the state vehicular recreation
area and trail system from damage and preserve the peace therein.

(b) The director may designate any officer or employee of the department as a peace officer. The
primary duties of the peace officer shall be the enforcement of this division, Sections 4442 and
4442.5, the rules and regulations of the department, Chapter S (commencing with Section 650) of
Division 3 of the Harbors and Navigation Code, the rules and regulations of the-Department
Division of Boating and-Waterways; Waterways within the department, Chapter 2 (commencing
with Section 9850) of Division 3.5 of the Vehicle Code, and Division 16.5 (commencing with
Section 38000) of the Vehicle Code and to arrest persons for the commission of public offenses
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within the property under its jurisdiction. The authority and powers of the peace officer shall be
limited to those conferred by law upon peace officers listed in Section 830.2 of the Penal Code.

(¢) The department shall protect property included in the California recreational trail system and
the property included in the recreational trail system under Section 6 of Chapter 1234 of the
Statutes of 1980 from damage and preserve the peace therein. The primary duties of any officer
or employee designated a peace officer under this sect1on shall 1nclude enforcement of the rules
and re gulatlons estabhshed by the department - : ' =
and the arrest of persons for the commission of public offenses W1th1n the
property included in the recreational trail system under Section 6 of Chapter 1234 of the Statutes
of 1980.

(d) Any person who violates the rules and regulations established by the department is guilty of-a

m@éemeaﬁer—aﬂd—upen—eem%on—shaﬂ—be—pumsheé either a misdemeanor, punishable by

imprisonment in the county jail not exceedmg 90 days, or by a ﬁne not exceedlng one thousand
dollars ($l OOO) or by both that ﬁne and , > Hime

imprisonment, or an infraction pumshable by a f ine of not more than one thousand dollars
($1,000).

SEC7SEC 8- 7 Section 1403 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is repealed.
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