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Date of Hearing: April 11, 2023
Counsel: Andrew Ironside

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 28 (Gabriel) — As Amended March 23, 2023

SUMMARY: Establishes an excise tax on licensed firearms dealers, firearms manufacturers,
and ammunition vendors to fund programs that address the causes and harms of gun violence.
Specifically, this bill:

1) Establishes the Gun Violence Prevention, Healing, and Recovery Fund within the State
Treasury, which will be funded by an excise tax on licensed firearms dealers, firearms
manufacturers, and ammunition vendors, as specified.

2)

3)

4)

Requires all moneys in the fund, including interest or dividends earned by the fund to be
distributed according to the specified allocation formula.

Requires the dollar amounts specified in the allocation formula to be annually adjusted to
account for changes in the California Consumer Price Index.

Requires moneys in the fund, upon appropriation by the legislature, to be annually allocated
in the following order:

a)

b)

d)

The first $75,000,000 available in the fund, or as much of that amount as is available,
shall be annually allocated to the Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC), or
other successor agency designated by law as the administering agency for the California
Violence Intervention and Prevention (CalVIP) Grant Program, to fund CalVIP Grants
and administration and evaluations of CalVIP-supported programs.

The next $3,000,000 available in the fund, or as much of that amount as is available, if
any, shall be annually allocated to the University of California, Davis, California Firearm
Violence Research Center, if those funds are accepted by the Regents of the University of
California, for gun violence research and initiatives to educate health care providers and
other stakeholders about clinical tools and other interventions for preventing firearm
suicide and injury.

The next $15,000,000 available in the fund, or as much of that amount as is available, if
any, shall be annually allocated to the State Department of Education to fund school
mental health and behavioral services and school safety measures.

The next $2,500,000 available in the fund, or as much of that amount as is available, if
any, shall be annually allocated to the Department of Justice (DOJ) to support activities
to inform firearm and ammunition purchasers and firearm owners about gun safety laws
and responsibilities, such as safe firearm storage, and to promote implementation and
cocrdination of gun violence prevention efforts through activities such as technical
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assistance, training, capacity building, and local gun violence data and problem analysis
support for local governments, law enforcement agencies, community-based service
providers, and other stakeholders.

€) The next $12,500,000 available in the fund, or as much of that amount as is available, if
any, shall be annually allocated to the Judicial Council to support a court-based firearm
relinquishment grant program to ensure the consistent and safe removal of firearms from
individuals who become prohibited from owning or possessing firearms and ammunition
pursuant to court order, including, but not limited to, domestic violence restraining
orders, gun violence restraining orders, civil harassment restraining orders, and
workplace violence restraining orders.

f) The next $7,000,000 available in the fund, or as much of that amount as is available, if
any, shall be annually allocated to the Office of Emergency Services (OES) to provide
counseling and trauma-informed support services to direct and secondary victims of mass
shootings and other gun homicides and to individuals who have experienced chronic
exposure to community gun violence.

g) The next $15,000,000 available in the fund, or as much of that amount as is available, if
any, shall be annually allocated to DOJ for a justice for victims of gun violence program
to support evidence-based activities to equitably improve investigations and clearance
rates in firearm homicide and firearm assault investigations in communities
disproportionately impacted by firearm homicides and firearm assaults.

h) Any remaining moneys available in the fund each year after the allocations shall be
allocated to fund and support activities and programs focused on preventing gun
violence, supporting victims of gun violence, and otherwise remediating the harmful
effects of gun violence.

Imposes, commencing on July 1, 2024, an excise tax on licensed firearm dealers, firarms
manufacturers, and ammunition venders at the rate of 11% of the gross receipts from the
retail sale of any firearm, firearm precursor part, or ammunition.

Exempts from the excise tax the gross receipts from the retail sale of any firearm, firearm
precursor part, or ammunition to a peace officer or any law enforcement agency employing
that peace officer, for use in the normal course of employment.

Exempts from the excise tax the gross receipts of any licensed firearms dealer, firearms
manufacturer, or ammunition vendor in any quarterly period in which the total gross receipts
from the retail sales of firearms, firearm precursor parts, or ammunition by that licensed
firearms dealer, firearms manufacturer, or ammunition vendor is less than $5,000.

Requires the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) to administer
and collect the excise tax.

Authorizes CDTFA to prescribe, adopt, and enforce rules and regulations, including
emergency regulations as necessary, relating to the administration and enforcement of this
part, including, but not limited to, collections, reporting, refunds, and appeals.
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10) Provides that the excise taxes are due and payable to the CDTFA quarterly on or before the
last day of the month next succeeding each quarterly period of three months.

11) Requires, on or before the last day of the month following each quarterly period, a return for
the preceding quarterly period to be filed with the CDTFA using electronic media.

12) Requires returns to be authenticated in a form or pursuant to methods as may be prescribed
by the CDTFA.

13) Requires all amounts required to be paid, as prescribed, to be paid to CDTFA in the form of
remittances.

14) Requires revenues, net of refunds, and costs of administration, to be deposited in the Gun
Violence Prevention, Healing, and Recovery Fund, as prescribed.

15) Provides that the excise tax does not preclude or preempt a local ordinance that imposes any
additional requirements, fee, or surtax on the sale of firearms, ammunition, or fircarm
precursor parts.

16) Provides that the excise tax is in addition to any other tax or fee imposed by the state, or a
city, county, or city and county.

17) Authorizes CDTA, if any provision of this act or its application is held invalid, to issue
guidance or adopt regulations necessary to address the invalidity and to promote the purposes
of this act, as specified.

18) Requires CDTA, if any provision of this act or its application is held invalid, to seek to
ensure minimal disruption to funding and operations of programs and initiatives supported by
the fund.

19) Provides that, if any section, subsection, sentence, or clause of this act is for any reason
declared unconstitutional, invalid, or unenforceable by any court of competent jurisdiction,
such decision shall not affect the constitutionality, validity, or enforceability of the remaining
portions of this act or any part thereof, and declares that the Legislature would have adopted
this act notwithstanding the unconstitutionality, invalidity, or unenforceability of any one or
more of its sections, subsections, sentences, or clauses.

20) Requires the Director of Finance to transfer, as a loan, $2,400,000 from the General Fund to
the CDTA to implement the excise tax.

21) Requires any loan made to the fund to be repaid with moneys collected by the excise tax and
prior to making any expenditures or appropriations to specified entities and programs.

EXISTING FEDERAL LAW:

1) States that the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed. (U.S. Const.,
2nd Amend.)
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2) Establishes the Pittman-Robertson Act, which imposes an 11% levy on firearms, ammunition
and archery equipment and distributes the proceeds to state governments for wildlife-related
projects. (26 U.S.C. § 4181.)

EXISTING STATE LAW:

1)

2)

3)

4)

3)

Declares legislative intent to be the following:

a) To develop community violence prevention and conflict resolution programs, in the state,
based upon the recommendations of the California Commission on Crime Control and
Violence Prevention, that would present a balanced, comprehensive educational,
intellectual, and experiential approach toward eradicating violence in our society; and,

b) That these programs shall be regulated, and funded pursuant to contracts with the OES.
(Pen. Code, § 14112.)

States that first priority shall be given to programs that provide community education,
outreach, and coordination, and include creative and effective ways to translate the
recommendations of the California Commission on Crime Control and Violence Prevention
into practical use in one or more of the following subject areas:

a) Parenting, birthing, early childhood development, self-esteem, and family violence, to
include child, spousal, and elderly abuse;

b) Economic factors and institutional racism;

¢) Schools and educational factors;

d) Alcohol, diet, drugs, and other biochemical and biological factors;
e) Conflict resolution; and,

f) The media. (Pen. Code, § 14114, subd. (a).)

States that first priority programs may additionally provide specific direct services or contract
for those services in one or more of the program areas as necessary to carry out the
recommendations of the commission when those services are not otherwise available in the
community and existing agencies do not furnish them. (Pen. Code, § 14115.)

States that second priority shall be given to programs that conform to the same requirements
as first priority programs, except that the educational component shall not be mandatory in
each subject area, but shall be provided in at least three of those areas, and the programs shall

provide specific direct services or contract for services in one or more program areas. (Pen.
Code, § 14116.)

States that each program shall have a governing board or an interagency coordinating team,
or both, of at least nine members representing a cross section of existing and recipient,
community-based, public and private persons, programs, agencies, organizations, and
institutions. Specifies the duties of the governing board or coordinating team. (Pen. Code, §
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14117.)

Requires the OES to prepare and issue written program, fiscal, and administrative guidelines
for the contracted programs that are consistent with this title, including guidelines for
identifying recipient programs, agencies, organizations, and institutions, and organizing the
coordinating teams. (Pen. Code, § 14118, subd. (a).)

Requires OES to promote, organize, and conduct a series of one-day crime and violence
prevention training workshops around the state, as specified. (Pen. Code, § 14119.)

States that programs will be funded, depending on the availability of funds for a period of
two years, with OES required to provide 50%of the program costs, to a maximum amount of
$50,000 per program per year. The recipient shall provide the remaining 50% with other
resources which may include in-kind contributions and services. (Pen. Code, § 14120.)

Imposes an $0.18 tax on each gallon of fuel sold in the state. (Rev. & Tax. Code, § 7360.)

10) Imposes taxes on cigarettes. (Rev. & Tax. Code, §§ 30101, et. seq.)

11) Imposes taxes on cannabis. (Rev. & Tax. Code, §§ 34010, et. seq.)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

Author's Statement: According to the author, “Californians are counting on us to do
everything possible to keep them safe from mass shootings and gun violence. AB 28 is a
common-sense measure that will fund school safety measures and gun violence prevention
programs that have proven to be some of the most effective ways of stopping gun violence. A
modest tax will provide us with a permanent, sustainable funding source for these essential
programs and help protect communities across our state.”

Brief Overview of Gun Violence in California: The amount of gun violence in California is
relatively low compared to other states. In 2020, California’s firearm mortality rate was 8.5
deaths per 100,000 people, the seventh lowest in the nation. (Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, Firearm Mortality by State
<https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/pressroom/sosmap/firearm_mortality/firearm.htm> [last viewed
Apr. 21, 2022].) When accounting for both shooting deaths and non-fatal shootings,
California has the 37th-highest rate of gun violence in the county. (Everytown, Gun Violence
in California (Jan. 2021) <https://maps.everytownresearch.org/wp-
content/uploads/2021/02/Gun-Violence-in-California-2.9.2021.pdf> [last visited Apr. 21
20221.)

Nevertheless, gun violence in California is increasing, with communities across the state
seeing shooting deaths reaching levels not seen in more than a decade. (See Lofstrom, Gun
Deaths Drive California’s Largest-Ever Rise in Homicides, PPIC (July 12, 2021)
<https://www.ppic.org/blog/gun-deaths-drive-californias-largest-ever-rise-in-homicides/>
[last viewed Apr. 21, 2022].) Oakland, for example, saw more gun violence in 2021 than in
any year since 2006, and Los Angeles saw more gun violence in 2021 than in any year since
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2007. (DeBolt, 2021 is Oakland’s deadliest year since 2006, The Oaklandside (Dec. 23,
2021) <https://oaklandside.org/2021/12/23/2021-o0akland-deadliest-year-since-2006-
homicides-shootings-gun-violence/> [last viewed Apr. 21, 2022]; Rector, Gun Violence hits
I5-year high in L.A., taking lives and erasing hard-fought gains, L.A. Times (Dec. 31, 2021)
<https://www.latimes.com/california/story/2021-12-31/gun-violence-los-angles-15-year-
high> [Apr. 21, 2022].)

Moreover, a spate of recent mass shootings have drawn attention to the destruction gun
violence reaps on families and communities. (See e.g.,Salahieh, Half Moon Bay suspect is
charged with 7 murder counts as US tallies more mass shootings than days so far in 2023
(Jan. 26, 2023) <https://www.cnn.com/2023/01/26/us/us-shootings-half-moon-bay-monterey-
park-yakima/index.html > [last visited Jan. 26, 2023]; I dead, 3 hospitalized in Easter
shooting in Sacramento, sheriff says, KCRA (Apr. 17, 2022)
<https://www.kcra.com/article/sacramento-county-fatal-shooting/39744613> [last viewed
Mar. 31, 2023]; Hutchinson, 6 killed, at least 12 injured in mass shooting in Sacramento,
California: Police, ABCNews (Apr. 4, 2022) <https://abcnews.go.com/US/multiple-people-
shot-downtown-sacramento-california-police/story?id=83843793> [last viewed Mar. 31,
2023]..)

This bill would establish the Gun Violence Prevention, Healing, and Recovery Fund—
funded by an excise tax on licensed firearms dealers, firearms manufacturers, and
ammunition vendors—to distribute money to programs addressing gun violence and its effect
on the state and its citizens.

Excise Taxes in California and Effect of This Bill: An excise tax is a tax imposed on a
specific good or activity, and generally related to the manufacture, sale or consumption of
specific commodities, or licenses to pursue certain occupations. A subset of excise taxes are
known as “sin” or “vice” taxes, and are levied on specific goods believed to be harmful to
society and individuals, such as alcohol, tobacco and gambling, among other things. Sin
taxes are generally intended to lower demand for the targeted good by increasing its price.
California imposes excise taxes — many of which may be considered “sin” taxes — on several
types of goods including gasoline, cigarettes, cellphones and cannabis. Even though excise
taxes are collected from businesses, virtually all California merchants pass on the excise tax
to the customer through higher prices for the taxed goods. This bill imposes a new excise tax
on licensed vendors of firearms, ammunition and precursor parts, at a rate of either 10% or
11% depending on the item sold.

Based on the findings and declarations included in the bill, it is evident that this tax is not
intended to operate as a sin tax, discouraging the sale and purchase of firearms, ammunition
and precursor parts: “The modest tax proposed in this measure mirrors the Pittman-Robertson
federal excise tax on other firearm and ammunition industry participants, is similarly
dedicated to funding programs to remediate the harmful externalities of firearm industry
commerce, and is similarly unlikely to discourage lawful sales and commerce in firearms or
ammunition.” The provision establishing this finding also cites research suggesting that
moderate tax increases on guns or ammunition would do little to disrupt hunting or
recreational gun use. (https://www.rand.org/research/gun-policy/analysis/essays/firearm-and-
ammunition-taxes.html)

Rather, this tax more closely resembles what is known as a Pigovian tax, or one intended to
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correct for the negative externalities caused by a specific market activity — in this case,
societal costs related to the sale of firearms, ammunition and precursor parts. Generally,
Pigovian taxes are calculated by assessing the marginal costs of these negative externalities,
which, in the case of firearms, would be equal to losses — like injury, death, and lost wages —
resulting from crimes, accidents, and suicides. This bill, however, takes a different approach
and sets the rate of the tax imposed on firearm sales to resemble an existing federal tax on
firearm and ammunition. That tax, established by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act
of 1937 (also known as the Pittman-Robertson Act), imposes an 11% levy on firearms,
ammunition and archery equipment and distributes the proceeds to state governments for
wildlife-related projects. (26 U.S.C. § 4181) Proceeds from that tax generate tens of millions
of dollars annually for conservation efforts across California.

Opponents of this bill observe that, “[t]his year alone, the California Department of Fish and
Wildlife will be allocated well over $30 million in federal [Pittman-Robertson] dollars.” By
comparison, the cost of gun violence in California is estimated to be roughly $18 billion
dollars per year—or a little under $500 per resident. (Giffords Law Center, The State of Gun
Violence in California <https://giffords.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/Giffords-Law-
Center-State-of-Gun-Violence-in-California-2020.pdf> [last visited Mar. 29, 2023].)

Unlike the Pittman-Robertson Act, this bill seeks to establish a tighter nexus between the tax
it imposes and the target of the proceeds it generates. Specifically, the proceeds of the tax
imposed under this bill would be directed exclusively toward gun violence prevention
programs, education, and research. The bill, however, specifies no further details regarding
these objectives.

Existing Fees Related to Firearm, Ammunition and Precursor Part Purchases:
California currently imposes several fees related to the purchase of a new firearm in the state.
The total state fee for a firearm purchase is $37.19, the bulk of which consists of the Dealer
Record of Sale (DROS) fee, which covers the costs of the required background check prior to
purchase. The DROS fee also funds several fircarm-related responsibilities of the DOJ,
including enforcement efforts and management of the Armed Prohibited Persons System.
The balance of the state fee consists of a $1.00 Firearms Safety Act Fee and a $5.00 Safety
and Enforcement Fee. These fees are imposed on the vendors but are generally paid by the
purchasers. Additionally, in the event of a private party transfer, a firearms dealer may
charge an additional fee of up to $10.00 per firearm. (https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/pubfags)

The Post-Bruen Second Amendment: The Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution
provides, “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right
of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.” Recently, the United States
Supreme Court issued an opinion striking down New York’s proper cause requirements for
applicants wishing to obtain a CCW license. (V.Y. State Rifle & Pistol Assn., Inc. v. Bruen,
(2022) 597 U.S. ___.) The Court stated that New York’s Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW)
issuance regime is similar to California’s. (/d. at 5-6.) As the opinion is quite new, it is
difficult to determine how the lower courts will interpret it. However, the Supreme Court
reiterated “that the standard for applying the Second Amendment is as follows: When the
Second Amendment’s plain text covers an individual’s conduct, the Constitution
presumptively protects that conduct. The government must then justify its regulation by
demonstrating that it is consistent with the Nation’s historical tradition of firearm
regulation.” (Id. at 15; see also id. at 8 {*“To justify its regulation, the government may not
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simply posit that the regulation promotes an important interest.”].) Under Bruen, “how and
why the regulations burden a law-abiding citizen’s right to armed self-defense” matters. (/d.
at p. 2132.)The Court said, “whether modern and historical regulations impose a comparable
burden on the right of armed self-defense and whether that burden is comparably justified are
‘central’ considerations when engaging in an analogical inquiry.” (/d. at p. 2133.)

Regarding taxes, generally, while the Supreme Court usually “declines to closely examine
the regulatory motive or effect of revenue-raising measures,” they have noted a point at
which a tax becomes “a mere penalty with the characteristics of regulation and punishment.”
(Nat’l Fed’n of Indep. Bus. v. Sebelius (2012)567 U.S. 519, 573; Bailey v. Drexel Furniture
Co. (1922) 259 U.S. 20, 38.) In the context of firearms, the Pittman-Robertson Act has
evaded or withstood legal challenge for over 100 years, which pre-Bruen would have
strongly suggested that firearm taxes do not run afoul the Second Amendment, provided they
do not make firearm ownership so infeasible as to burden the rights that the amendment
protects. Whether excise taxes on firearms will survive in the post-Bruen world is an open
question.

Multiple Attempts to Impose an Excise Tax on Firearms: This bill is substantially similar
to three previous bills attempting to impose an excise tax on firearms and ammunition. AB
1227 (Levine), of the 2021-2022 Legislative Session, as amended on May 5, 2022, included
provisions related to an excise tax on firearms. The author introduced substantially similar
measures in 2021 (AB 1223) and in 2019 (AB 18). AB 18 was held on suspense in the
Assembly Appropriations Committee. AB 1223 made it to the Assembly floor and AB 1227
made it to the Senate floor. However, both contained urgency clauses, requiring a two-thirds
vote to pass. Despite receiving majority support, the bills failed to receive the required two-
thirds vote.

Unlike AB 1223 and AB 1227, this bill does not contain an urgency clause.

Argument in Support: According to the Family Violence Law Center, “As part of our
mission to support survivors of domestic violence it is imperative to acknowledge the
intersection of gun violence and domestic violence and the impacts it has on survivors. When
guns are present in a home where domestic violence has occurred a survivor is five times
more likely to be killed. In over half of the domestic violence homicides nationwide a firearm
was used to harm the victim. At Family Violence Law Center we believe it is imperative for
our team to advance for survivor safety by supporting policy initiatives that educate survivors
and youth on the harms of gun violence and how to seck safety. It is for this reason that the
Family Violence Law Center seeks to educate survivors on various pathways to seeking
safety including the use of legal avenues such as gun violence restraining orders and
domestic violence restraining orders. AB 28 would allow the state of California to continue
investing in this very urgent and important matter.

“As you know, gun violence is a public health, safety, and equity crisis. Since the start of the
pandemic, our nation has seen record-setting gun and ammunition sales, alongside record
nationwide increases in shootings, homicides, and related traumas. This has been a time of
record profits for some and brutal pain and loss for too many others. This national gun
violence crisis has also imposed an enormously unequal toll on communities of color in our
state, where over 84% of youth homicide victims are Black or Latino, and where gun
violence was already, prior to recent spikes in violence, by far the leading cause of death for
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young Black men and boys. This violence also imposes enormous burdens on those who are
not direct victims too: experts at the National Institute of Justice have noted that “youth
living in inner cities show a higher prevalence of post-traumatic stress disorder than soldiers”
in our wartime military.

“In addition to its brutal human toll, gun violence also causes enormous economic harm and
imposes enormous fiscal burdens on state and local governments and taxpayers. A report
from the National Institute for Criminal Justice Reform in 2020 determined that each firearm
homicide in Stockton, California cost taxpayers at least $2.5 million in direct government
costs such as medical, law enforcement, court expenses, and lost tax revenue; nonfatal
shootings with a single suspect were also estimated to directly cost taxpayers nearly $1
million on average. A 2021 report by Everytown for Gun Safety found that gun deaths and
injuries cost California $22.6 billion annually, of which $1.2 billion is paid directly by
taxpayers every year. Gun violence also imposes broader indirect costs in the form of
reduced home values and reduced profitability for local businesses. A report by the Urban
Institute found that each additional homicide in a census tract in Oakland, California, was
‘significantly associated with five fewer job opportunities among contracting businesses
(businesses losing employees) the next year.’

“To promote community safety and mitigate the enormous collateral harms that flow from
firearm industry commerce, California has in recent years acted to invest in violence
intervention initiatives that work to interrupt entrenched cycles of shootings, trauma, and
retaliation. These programs support and heal victims of firearm violence, and provide
targeted intervention services to other individuals identified as at highest risk of being shot or
involved in cycles of violence in the near future. The state’s investment in these programs,
primarily through the California Violence Intervention and Prevention (CalVIP) grant
program, has provided a critical lifeline to temporarily sustain and expand programs
employing frontline violence intervention workers and saving lives today.

“However, these investments have thus far relied on short-term General Fund commitments.
Sustained reductions in gun violence will require sustained investments in prevention and
intervention efforts and longer-term planning to entrench virtuous cycles of trauma recovery,
retaliation prevention, peace-building, and safety. That is why it has been a top priority for
our organizations to establish a dedicated revenue stream to sustain this lifesaving work
through the California Violence Intervention and Prevention program and related efforts.

“This bill is analogous to other firearm and ammunition industry tax measures that have been
repeatedly upheld by the courts. Similar firearm, ammunition, and related industry excise
taxes have also been in place at the federal level for over a century, and the gun industry has
supported them. Since 1919, federal law has placed a 10 to 11% excise tax on the sale of
guns, ammunition, and related products by licensed manufacturers, producers, and importers.
Revenues from this excise tax have been used to fund wildlife conservation efforts that
remediate the effects that guns and ammunition have on wildlife populations through
hunting, particularly through grants to state wildlife agencies and for conservation-related
research. The NRA has referred to this federal Firearms and Ammunition Excise tax as a
‘legislative model’ and ‘friend of the hunter.

“Just as the federal tax on firearm industry manufacturers reasonably generates revenue to
remediate the harmful effects that firearm industry commerce can have on wildiife, AB 28
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would place an identical tax on retail sellers profiting from the sale of the same products in
order to fund programs that effectively remediate the devastating human toll these products
take on families and communities across the state. This tax is a modest and reasonable excise
tax on sellers whose lawful and legitimate commercial activity still imposes enormous
harmful externalities on California’s families, communities, and taxpayers.

“This bill is not intended to penalize firearm sellers or otherwise discourage lawful firearm
sales and commerce whatsoever, but would reasonably generate revenue to sustain programs
that are targeted and effective at mitigating the harms that firearms and related products too
often cause. It would stop shootings, save lives, and make California a better, safer place.”

Argument in Oppeosition: According to the California Rifle & Pistol Association, “All of
California’s law-abiding citizens benefit from efforts to implement programs which
remediate the impacts of illegal gun violence upon our public, and all should equally help to
fund their implementation. Yet, AB 28 would unjustifiably place the entire burden of funding
efforts to address illegal gun violence on the backs of law-abiding citizens who legally
purchase and lawfully use firearms and ammunition.

“Additionally, by substantially raising the cost of purchasing a firearm and ammunition in
California, AB 28 would disproportionately impact the ability of economically disadvantaged
communities and individuals to legally purchase a firearm and ammunition to protect
themselves and their loved ones. Further, AB 28 would impede their equitable access to
hunting and shooting sports — at a time when the Administration and the Legislature are
seeking to increase participation in outdoor recreation and access for all Californians.

“Firearms and ammunition are already taxed at the federal level pursuant to the federal
Pittman-Robertson Act (PR). But those dollars are allocated back to states to fund beneficial
programs — including wildlife habitat projects that benefit game and non-game species. This
year alone, the California Department of Fish and Wildlife will be allocated well over $30
million in federal PR dollars — monies which will fund a substantial portion of our state’s
wildlife management, conservation, and research efforts. By doubling the excise tax law-
abiding hunters and shooters already pay on all firearms and ammunition, AB 28 would
effectively raise the total tax rate on these items to nearly 30% — notably reducing their sales
and, in turn, the associated federal PR funding allocated back to California for critical
wildlife conservation and management efforts.

“All of California’s citizens support and benefit from efforts intended to address the negative
impact the criminal use of firearms has upon our law-abiding public. Yet, AB 28 would
wrongly place the entire burden of funding initiatives intended to mitigate the harms caused
by illegal gun violence on a small segment of our law-abiding public. AB 28 would do
nothing to reduce criminal use of firearms but would inequitably impact the ability of the
disadvantaged communities and economically challenged individuals to protect themselves
and their families, and unjustly affect California’s lawful hunters, shooters, and our wildlife
and their habitats.”

Related Legislation:

a) AB 724 (Fong), would require DOJ to develop firearm safety certificate materials and
tests in other specified languages besides English and Spanish. AB 724 is pending
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hearing in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

b) AB 1252 (Wicks), would establish the Office of Gun Violence Prevention within DOJ
that, contingent upon sufficient state or private funding, must convene a Commission to
End Gun Violence. AB 1252 is pending hearing in this committee.

¢) AB 1598 (Berman), would require DOJ to prepare a firearm safety certificate study
guide, in English and in Spanish, that explains the information covered on the firearms
safety test. AB 1598 is pending hearing in this committee.

d) SB 243 (Seyarto), would exempt from sale and use taxes the gross receipt from the sale
of, and the storage, use, or other consumption of, a gun safety system. SB 243 is pending
hearing in the Senate Governance and Finance Committee.

¢) SB 637 (Min), would prohibit a state agency from entering into a contract with,
depositing state funds with, or receiving a loan from a financial institution that invests in
or makes loans to a company that manufactures firearms or ammunition. SB 637 is
pending hearing in Senate Governmental Organization Committee.

10) Prior Legislation:

a) AB 1227 (Levine), of the 2021-2022 Legislative Session, was substantially similar to this
bill. AB 1227 failed passage in the Senate.

b) AB 1223 (Levine), of the 2021-2022 Legislative Session, was substantially similar to this
bill. AB 1223 failed passage in the Assembly.

c) AB 2253 (Bonta), of the 2021-2022 Legislative Session, would have established the
Office of Gun Violence Prevention within DOJ to address gun violence as a public health
crisis and develop a strategy for incorporating a public health approach to address gun
violence. AB 2253 was held on suspense in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

d) AB 18 (Levine), of the 2019-2020 Legislative Session, would have codified the CalVIP
Grant Program and imposed a $25 excise tax on the sale of a new firearm, the proceeds of
which would be deposited into the CalVIP firearm Tax Fund, which the bill also created.
AB 18 was held on suspense in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

e) AB 1669 (Bonta), Chapter 736, Statutes of 2019, among other things, raised the DROS
fee associated with the purchase of a firearm from $14 to $32.19.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

Alameda Health System

California Partnership for Safe Communities

City of Oakland - Department of Violence Prevention
Equal Justice USA



Everytown for Gun Safety Action Fund

Family Violence Law Center

Giffords

Greater Sacramento Urban League

Jewish Community Relations Council of Silicon Valley
Jewish Public Affairs Committee

Johns Hopkins Center for Gun Violence Solutions
Juma Ventures

Lakeshore Avenue Baptist Church

Los Angeles County Hospital-based Violence Intervention Consortium
March for Our Lives Action Fund

Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America
Movement 4 Life

National Institute for Criminal Justice Reform
Prosecutors Alliance California

San Diegans for Gun Violence Prevention

Shaphat Outreach

Soledad Enrichment Action, INC.

Southern California Crossroads

Students Demand Action for Gun Sense in America
The Health Alliance for Violence Intervention
Toberman Neighborhood Center

Urban Peace Institute

Women Against Gun Violence

Youth Alive!

382 Private Individuals
Opposition

Arcadia Police Officers' Association

Black Brant Group, the

Burbank Police Officers' Association

Cal-ore Wetlands and Waterfowl Council
California Bowmen Hunters/state Archery Association
California Chapter Wild Sheep Foundation
California Coalition of School Safety Professionals
California Deer Association

California Hawking Club

California Houndsmen for Conservation

California Rifle and Pistol Association, INC.
California Waterfowl Association

Claremont Police Officers Association
Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation

Corona Police Officers Association

Culver City Police Officers' Association

Deputy Sheriffs' Association of Monterey County
Ducks Unlimited

Fullerton Police Officers' Association
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Golden Gate Chapter - Safari Club International
Gun Owners of California, INC.

Los Angeles School Police Officers Association
Murrieta Police Officers' Association

National Rifle Association - Institute for Legislative Action
Newport Beach Police Association

Nor-cal Guides and Sportsmen's Association
Palos Verdes Police Officers Association

Placer County Deputy Sheriffs' Association
Pomona Police Officers' Association

Riverside Police Officers Association

Riverside Sheriffs' Association

Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation

Sacramento Chapter - Safari Club International
Safari Club International - California Chapters
San Diego County Wildlife Federation

San Francisco Bay Area Chapter - Safari Club International
Santa Ana Police Officers Association

Suisun Resource Conservation District

Tulare Basin Wetlands Association

Upland Police Officers Association

Analysis Prepared by: Andrew Ironside / PUB. S./(916) 319-3744
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Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 79 (Weber) — As Amended March 9, 2023

PULLED BY AUTHOR

Analysis Prepared by: Andrew Ironside / PUB. S./ (916) 319-3744



AB 574
Page 1

Date of Hearing: April 11, 2023
Counsel; Mureed Rasool

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 574 (Jones-Sawyer) — As Amended March 9, 2023

SUMMARY: Requires individuals in the process of purchasing a firearm, to verify on the dealer
record of sale whether they have, within the past 30 days, checked and confirmed possession of
all firearms they currently own or possess.

EXISTING LAW:

D

2)

3)

4)

3)

6)

7

8

Requires every person owning or possessing a firearm to report the loss or theft of the
firearm, including the serial number of the firearm, to a local law enforcement agency within
five days of when they know, or reasonably should have known, that the firearm had been
stolen or lost. (Pen. Code, §§ 25250 & 25270.)

Requires licensed firearms dealers to post a sign in a conspicuous place that informs persons
of the requirement to report a lost or stolen firearm to law enforcement within five days of
knowing, or reasonably should have known, it was lost or stolen. (Pen. Code, § 26835, subd.

@)(9).)

Requires law enforcement officials to submit a description of a reported lost or stolen firearm
into the Department of Justice (DOJ) Automated Firearms System. (Pen. Code, § 25260.)

Prohibits the sale, lease, or transfer of firearms unless the firearm dealer has been issued a
license by the DOJ, and establishes various exceptions to this prohibition. (Pen. Code, §§
26500-26625.)

Requires firearms dealers to keep a register or record of electronic or telephonic transfer of
firearms, unless certain specified circumstances apply. Makes a failure to comply a
misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, § 28100.)

Defines a “firearm” for purposes of records of transfer of firearms, as including the frame or
receiver, or a firearm precursor part; excludes the provision governing the reporting of lost or
stolen firearms. (Pen. Code, §16520, subd. (b)(15).)

States that the DOJ may conduct onsite inspections of firearm dealer locations to determine
compliance with firearms laws, including the keeping of registers or records of electronic or
telephonic firearms transfers, and authorizes the DOJ to remove a firearm dealer’s license for
noncompliance of such recordkeeping requirements. (Pen. Code, §§ 26700; 26715, subd.
(b)(1); 26720; 16575, subd. (a)(20).)

States that the register required to be kept by firearms dealers must be prepared and obtained
from the State Printer. In the case of electronic transfer of applicant information, the DOJ
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must develop standards for all appropriate electronic equipment. (Pen. Code, § 28105.)

9) Provides that the DOJ must prescribe the form of the register and the record of electronic
transfer. (Pen. Code, § 28155.)

10) Requires the firearm register or record of electronic transfers to include the following
information, among other things:

a) Date and time of sale;

b) Make of firearm;

¢) Serial number or any assigned identification number or mark;
d) Caliber;

e) Type of firearm;

f) Barrel length;

g) Full name, date of birth, and purchaser’s address;

h) Purchaser’s phone number;

i) Purchaser’s gender;

j) All of the purchaser’s legal names or aliases;

k) Yes or no answer to questions inquiring whether the purchaser is prohibited from
possessing a firearm;

1) Signature of purchaser;

m) Right thumbprint of the purchaser; and,

n) A statement of the penalties for signing a fictitious name or address, knowingly
furnishing any incorrect information, or knowingly omitting any information required to

be provided for the register. (Pen. Code, § 28160.)

11) States that on or after January 1, 2003, all firearm purchaser information shall be made
exclusively by electronic transfer, subject to limitations. (Pen. Code, § 28205.)

12) Provides that the dealer or salesperson must ensure all required information has been
obtained and be informed that incomplete information will delay sales. (Pen. Code, § 28175.)

13) Makes it a misdemeanor for a person to furnish a fictitious name or address, or knowingly

furnish incorrect information, or knowingly omit any information on the register or electronic
transfer forms. (Pen. Code, § 28250, subd. (a).)
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14) Makes it a felony for a prohibited person to knowingly furnish a fictitious name, address,

incorrect information, or to omit any information on the register or electronic transfer forms.
(Pen. Code, § 28250, subd. (b).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

Author's Statement: According to the author, “There are too many examples in our
country’s recent history that show what a firearm can do in the hands of the wrong people.
There must be commonsense accountability and safety measures for those who utilize their
rights to own and bear arms. In an effort to promote responsible firearm ownership and
safety, AB 574 creates a process that ensures gun owners know where their guns are located
before they buy a new one.”

Significance of Tracing Lost or Stolen Firearms: According to the US Bureau of Alcohol,
Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), “Lost and stolen firecarms pose a substantial threat
to public safety and to law enforcement. Those that steal firearms commit violent crimes with
stolen guns, transfer stolen firearms to others who commit crimes, and create an unregulated
secondary market for firearms, including a market for those who are prohibited by law from
possessing a gun... Lost firearms pose a similar threat. Like stolen firearms, they are most
often bought and sold in an unregulated secondary market where law enforcement is unable
to trace transactions.” (US Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, (2013).
2012 Summary. Firearms Reported Lost and Stolen. <https://www.atf.gov/resource-
center/docs/2012-firearms-reported-lost-and-stolenpdf-1/download> [as of Mar. 30, 2023].)

Such lost or stolen firearms may become “crime guns” which are defined as, “any firearm
used in a crime or suspected to have been used in a crime. This may include fircarms
abandoned or otherwise taken into law enforcement custody that are either suspected to have
been used in a crime or whose proper disposition can be facilitated through a firearms trace.”
Upon recovery of a crime gun, law enforcement officers “trace” it, which involves
systematically tracking the movement of a recovered firearm back to its importation into, or
manufacture in, the United States through the distribution chain and to the point of its first
retail sale. (ATF. (2011). Firearms Tracing Guide: Tracing Firearms to Reduce Violent
Crime. <https://www.atf.gov/file/58631/download> [Mar. 30, 2023].)

From a general perspective, tracing a crime gun back to its origins can help law enforcement
identify patterns in the supply of gun trafficking by locating, and investigating, the
circumstances surrounding a gun that leaves the legal marketplace and enters the illicit
secondary market. (Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence. The Sources of Crime Guns:
How City Officials Can Reduce Gun Deaths & Injuries in Their Communities.) For
individual cases, tracing can help develop potential witnesses, prove ownership, and can
generate investigative leads. (ATF. (2011). Firearms Tracing Guide: Tracing Firearms to
Reduce Violent Crime. <https://www.atf.gov/file/58631/download> [Mar. 30, 2023].)

From 2017 to 2021, law enforcement agencies submitted 1,922,577 crime guns to the ATF
for tracing purposes. (ATF. National Firearms Commerce and Trafficking Assessment
(NFCTA): Crime Guns — Volume Two. Part III: Crime Guns Recovered and Traced Within
the United States and Its Territories. (Jan. 11, 2023) <https://www.atf gov/firearms/national-
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firearms-commerce-and-trafficking-assessment-nfcta-crime-guns-volume-two> [as of Apr. 2,
2023] at p. 1.) The ATF was able to trace 77% of the firearms to a purchaser. (/d. at 2.) Of

the firearms that were successfully traced back to a purchaser, 58% of them were possessed
by someone other than the purchaser, 29% were recovered without a known possessor, and
only 12% had the same purchaser and possessor. (Id. at 26.)

At the federal level, there is no requirement for private citizens or law enforcement agencies
to report lost or stolen firearms; only federal firearm licensees (FFLs) are required to report
within 48 hours of discovery. (US Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.
(2013). 2012 Summary. Firearms Reported Lost and Stolen. <https://www.atf.gov/resource-
center/docs/2012-firearms-reported-lost-and-stolenpdf-1/download> [Mar. 30, 2023]; 27
C.F.R. § 478.39a (a) (1).) According to Everytown For Gun Safety, there are only fifteen
states that do have a reporting requirement. (Everytown. Which states require reporting of
lost or stolen guns? (Last updated Jan. 12, 2023)

<https://everytownresearch.org/rankings/law/lost-and-stolen-reporting/> [as of Mar. 30,
2023].)

Because there is no reporting requirements for private citizens at the federal level, there is
significant underreporting; with some estimates indicating only 75% of private gun thefts are
reported to law enforcement. (ATF. National Firearms Commerce and Trafficking
Assessment (NFCTA): Crime Guns — Volume Two. Part V: Firearm Thefis. (Jan. 11, 2023)
<https://www.atf.gov/firearms/national-firearms-commerce-and-trafficking-assessment-
nfcta-crime-guns-volume-two> [as of Apr. 2, 2023] at p. 1.) This is concerning considering
the fact that thefts from private citizens account for nearly 96% of all firearms reported stolen
from 2017 to 2021. (/d. at 23.)

Under existing law, California gun owners are already required to report a lost or stolen
firearm within five days of when they knew, or reasonably should have known, that the
firearm was lost. (Pen. Code, § 25250.) According to one study, crime guns originating in
states with lost/stolen reporting requirements were 30% less likely to end up in another state,
indicating the reporting requirements help reduce interstate gun trafficking. (Bloomberg et al.
“Preventing the Diversion of Guns to Criminals Through Effective Firearm Sales Laws,” in
Reducing Gun Violence in America: Informing Policy with Evidence and Analysis (2013)
<https://muse.jhu.edu/pub/1/0a_monograph/chapter/757454> [as of Apr. 2, 2023] at p. 117;
Giffords. Reporting Lost & Stolen Guns. <https.//giffords.org/lawcenter/gun-laws/policy-
areas/owner-responsibilities/reporting-lost-stolen-guns/#footnote_8 5611> [as of Apr. 2,
2023])

This bill would expand on California’s current reporting law by requiring firearm owners
who are seeking to purchase a new firearm to affirm that they have checked and confirmed,
within the past 30 days, that they are still in possession of any firearm they currently own or
possess. By doing so, this bill will help encourage firearm owners to check where their
firearms are before they purchase additional firearms. This may also help facilitate the
reporting of a lost or stolen firearm, which could result in the firearm being traced by law
enforcement before it is used in a crime.
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4
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Argument in Support: None received.

Argument in Opposition: According to the Gun Owners of California, “New gun buyers or
transferees will be signing this record under penalty of perjury. This is a wholly unreasonable
requirement that serves no purpose except to force gun buyers to check all their firearms 30
days before they buy a new gun. Many lawful gun owners have very large collections and
often times, they are not kept at the same location and sometimes out of state. This bill
requires everyone, with no exceptions, who buys or transfers a firearm to comply with this
mandate. That is the same as requiring someone who buys or transfers a new knife to sign
under penalty of perjury that they have checked and confirmed the possession of all of their
knives, kitchen, hunting, camping, work related and everyday cutlery. After all, more people
in California are killed or assaulted with knives than guns.

There is no apparent purpose for this legislation other than to create yet another hurdle that
Californians must overcome in order to legally purchase a firearm.

Our organization has a 40-year history of fighting for effective crime control and opposing
ineffective gun control. The safety of Californians is at the very foundation of our mission,
and it has been our consistent goal to work toward common sense solutions regarding the
issue of crime and firearm ownership; this can be done, however, without sacrificing our
Constitutional rights and the ability of the law abiding to protect their families.”

Related Legislation:

a) SB 2 (Portantino), would, among other provisions, disqualify an individual from the
ability to obtain a concealed carry (CCW) permit if they failed to report the loss of their
firearm as required by any local, state, or federal law. SB 2 is currently pending hearing
in the Senate Appropriations Committee.

b) SB 8 (Blakespear), would hold any firearm owner civilly liable for incidences of property
damage or bodily injury that results from use of their firearm unless they previously
reported their firearm lost or stolen. SB 8 is currently set to be heard in the Senate
Insurance Committee on April 26.

¢) AB 725 (Lowenthal) would require that firearm frames, receivers, and precursor parts be
defined as a “firearm” for purposes of reporting a lost or stolen firearm, and makes the
failure to do so punishable as an infraction. AB 725 is pending in the Assembly
Appropriations Committee.

Prior Legislation:

a) AB 1621 (Gipson) Chapter 76, Statutes of 2022, required, in part, that firearm precursor
parts be defined as firearms for various purposes.

b) AB 2222 (Quirk) Chapter 864, Statutes of 2018, among other things, shortened the
timeline for all law enforcement agencies to report to the DOJ of a recovered lost or
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stolen firearm to 7 days.

¢) Proposition 63 of the November 2016 general election, required, in part, that every
person owning or possessing a firearm report its theft or loss to law enforcement within
five days of when they reasonably should have known it was lost or stolen.

d) AB 1060 (Liu), Chapter 715, Statutes of 2005, required every sheriff or police chief
executive to enter information about certain firearms into the Automated Firearms
System and required such information to remain in the system until the reported firearm

was found, recovered, no longer under observation, or was determined to be entered
erroneously.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

None received.

Oppose

Gun Owners of California, INC.

Analysis Prepared by: Mureed Rasool / PUB. S. / (916) 319-3744
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ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 642 (Ting) — As Amended April 4, 2023

SUMMARY: Sets minimum standards for use of facial recognition technology (FRT) by law
enforcement, including requiring law enforcement agencies to have a written policy for FRT use,
allowing for FRT use when a peace officer has reasonable suspicion that an individual has
committed a felony, and providing that an FRT-generated match of an individual may not be the

sole basis for probable cause for an arrest, search, or affidavit for a warrant. Specifically, this
bill:

D

2)

3)

4)

Defines “facial recognition technology” or “FRT” as a system that compares a probe image
of an unidentified human face against a reference photograph database, and, based on
biometric data, generates possible matches to aid in identifying the person in the probe
image.

Provides that FRT includes any surveillance system that actively uses FRT to identify
persons in a surveilled area in real time.

Authorizes a peace officer to use or request the use of FRT for any of the following reasons:

a) To assist in identifying a person that officer has reasonable suspicion to believe has
committed a felony;

b) To assist in identifying a person who is deceased or who has been reported missing, as
specified;

¢) To assist in identifying any person who has been lawfully arrested, during the process of
booking or during that person’s custodial detention; or,

d) To assist in identifying any person if a peace officer determines that an emergency
situation exists that involves immediate danger of death or serious physical injury to any

person and the identification of that person is necessary to prevent that death or injury.

Requires, if a peace of uses or requests the use of FRT, to document all of the following
information:

a) The identity of the peace officer using or requesting the use of FRT, and, if applicable,
the officer authorizing the use or request;

b) A detailed description, as available, of the person being identified;
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¢) Any photograph or video being used as a probe image; and,

d) Any details regarding other investigative measures taken to identify the person and an
explanation of why those measures failed or are reasonably unlikely to succeed.

Requires the custodian of any arrest photograph database being used in conjunction with
FRT, beginning on July 1, 2024 and every six months thereafter, to remove from the database
any of the following images:

a) Any photograph of a person under 18 years of age;

b) Any photograph of an arrested or detained person who has been released without being
charged with an offense, or whose charges have been dismissed;

¢) Any photograph of an arrested or detained person who has subsequently been acquitted
of the charged offense; or,

d) Any photograph of a person whose conviction has been expunged, has been exonerated
of the crime, or who has had their conviction reversed on appeal.

Provides that the image removal requirement applies only to the use of a reference
photograph database for the use of FRT and shall not be construed to prohibit a peace officer
from using any other investigative database including a fingerprint database.

Requires any agency that maintains and operates an arrest photograph database to establish
procedures to ensure compliance with the image removal requirement.

Prohibits a peace officer using or requesting the use of FRT from doing any of the following:

a) Using FRT to identify any person solely on the basis that the person is exercising rights
guaranteed by the United States Constitution, including free assembly, association, and
speech;

b) Relying on actual or perceived race, ethnicity, national origin, religion, disability, gender,
gender identity, or sexual orientation in selecting a person to identify using FRT, except
when there is trustworthy information, relevant to the locality and timeframe, in the
context of a particular area and for a particular period of time, that links a person with a
particular characteristic described to an identified criminal incident or scheme;

¢) Sharing FRT data with any state or federal agency for the purpose of enforcing federal
immigration law;

d) Providing the results of, or information derived from, the use of FRT to any individual or
to any agency or department in another state regarding the provision of lawful gender-
affirming health care or gender-affirming mental health care performed in this state;

e) Providing the results of, or information derived from the use of FRT to any individual or
agency or department in another state regarding the provision of abortion services in this
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state;

Using an FRT match as the sole basis upon which probable cause is established for a
search, arrest, or affidavit for a warrant, and provides that any peace officer using
information obtained from the use of FRT shall examine results with care and consider
the possibility that matches could be inaccurate; and,

Using FRT in conjunction with any reference photograph databse that contains
information, including images, obtained by any of the following means:

1) Ina manner that violates federal or state law;

ii) In a manner that violates a service agreement between a provider of an electronic
communication service to the public or a provider of a remote computing service and
customers or subscribers of that provider;

iii) In a manner that is inconsistent with the privacy policy of a provider, as specified;

iv) By deceiving a person whose information was obtained;

v) Through the unauthorized access of an electronic device or online account;

vi) In violation of a contract, court settlement, or other binding legal agreement; or,

vii) From unlawful or unconstitutional practices by any governmental official or entity.

9) Provides that, for the purpose of prohibiting sharing FRT results regarding persons receiving
abortion servicers or gender-affirming health care and gender-affirming mental health care,
“information derived from the use of FRT” means information that would not have been
discovered or obtained but for the use of FRT, regardless of any claim that the information
would inevitably have been discovered or obtained through other means.

10) Requires each law enforcement agency using FRT or requesting the use of FRT of another
agency, by no later than January 31, 2025, and annually thereafter, to prepare and submit a
report to the California State Auditor containing only the following information regarding the
use of FRT, as applicable:

a)

b)

c)

d)

The information a peace officer is required to document when using or requesting the use
of FRT;

Whether modifications were made to any probe images and what those modifications
were;

The arrests that FRT results contributed to, and the offenses for which the arrests were
made, disaggregated by race, ethnicity, gender, and age;

A description of the reference photograph database that was used;
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¢) A description of the FRT system that was used;
f) The total number of searches performed;

g) The total number of times FRT results were shared with another law enforcement agency,
an outside agency, or a third party; and,

h) The actions taken to comply with requirement that a law enforcement agency remove
certain images from a reference photograph database, as specified.

11) Requires each district attorney’s office, city prosecutor’s office, and the Attorney General, by
no later than January 31, 2025 and annually thereafter, to report to the California State
Auditor the following information regarding information obtained from FRT:

a) The number of convictions that FRT results contributed to and the offenses for which the
convictions were obtained, disaggregated by race, ethnicity, gender, and age; and

b) The number of motion to suppress made related to FRT results, and the number granted
or denied.

12) Requires the State Auditor, on or before July 1 of each year, to release to the public, post
online, and transmit to the Legislature a full and complete report concerning the use of FRT
by law enforcement agencies and prosecutors, including any violations identified.

13) Requires any law enforcement agency using FRT to keep and maintain FRT activity logs or
other required records, as specified.

14) Prohibits a law enforcement agency from operating an FRT system that has not been
evaluated under the National Institute of Standards and Technology Face recognition Vendor
Testing Program and achieved an accuracy score of 98 percent true positives within two or
more datasets relevant to investigative applications on a program report.

15) Prohibits a peace officer from using FRT in any manner that reduces the program’s
competency score below 98 percent.

16) Requires a law enforcement agency that uses FRT to have a written policy that includes,
without limitation, all of the following:

a) A requirement that FRT use be limited to specifically authorized personnel who have
received certified training in the use of FRT by the Commission of Peace Officer
Standards and Training;

b) A requirement that a manger authorized to use FRT be assigned to oversee the FRT
program;

¢) A policy that describes the parameters of acceptable inputs to be used as probe images
and that prohibits the use of sketches or other manually produced images; and,
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d) An acceptable use policy that includes specific allowances and restrictions on use.

17) Requires each law enforcement agency using FRT, by no later than July 1, 2024, to post the
required written policy on its website.

18) Prohibits a law enforcement agency or peace officer from requesting or entering into an
agreement with another law enforcement agency or other third party to perform FRT search
on behalf of the requesting officer or agency if the program operated by the other agency or
party does not meet the specified accuracy requirements.

19) Requires a law enforcement agency, if the State Auditor identifies any violations by that
agency, to cease using FRT until all violations have been corrected.

20) Requires the law enforcement agency to notify the public if its use of FRT is suspended for
violations, as specified.

21) Requires a law enforcement agency that uses FRT to attempt to identify an individual who is
arrested to provide the individual with both of the following;:

a) A notice of the name of the law enforcement agency that operated the FRT system used,
and the name of the database, if any, the was used to identify the individual; and

b) A copy of the required accuracy or bias report, each probe image that was used by the
agency, any modifications made to the probe image, the candidate list, in rank order,
produced by the facial recognition system, and any other documentation related to the use
of FRT in the law investigation.

22) Requires the notice provided by the law enforcement agency to the individual arrested to be
an appropriate language for the person if they are not fluent or literate in English.

23) Provides that, if a court or law enforcement agency determines that a peace officer has used
FRT in violation of the law, and the court or agency finds that the circumstances surrounding
the violation raise serious questions about whether or not the officer acted intentionally with
respect to the violation, the agency shall promptly initiate a proceeding to determine whether
disciplinary action against the officer is warranted.

24) Provides that, notwithstanding any other law, a violation of this title is not punishable as a
crime.

25) Authorizes a person who is subject to identification or attempted identification through FRT
in violation of the law to bring a civil action against the peace officer or law enforcement
agency responsible for the violation.

26) Provides that a person who is the subject of disparate treatment or adverse impact on the
basis of race, ethnicity, gender, or age, whether individually or as a member of a class of
individuals, due to use of FRT or any technological element, criteria, method, or design
feature thereof, by a law enforcement agency, may bring a cause of action against the peace
officer, law enforcement agency, or maker of the facial recognition or face surveillance



AB 642
Page 6

technology responsible for the violation.

27) Provides that the following relief may be recovered or obtained in a civil action for an FRT
use violation:

a) Any actual damages sustained by that person as a result of the violation;
b) The greater of either of the following:

1) Statutory damages of $50,000 per violation; or

ii) Profits earned as a result of each violation.
¢) Exemplary damages, as specified;

d) Injunctive, equitable, or declaratory relief as may be appropriate, including preliminary
injunctive relief; and,

¢) Costs of the cation, together with reasonable attorney’s fees.

28) Provides that a good faith reliance on a statutory authorization, or a good faith determination
that the conduct complained of is permitted, is a complete defense against a civil action.

29) Prohibits a civil action from commencing later than two years after the date upon which the
claimant discovered or first had a reasonable opportunity to discover the violation.

30) Defines “arrest photograph database” as a database populated primarily by booking or arrest
photographs or other photographs of persons with law enforcement contacts.

31) Defines “probe image” as an image of a person that is searched against a database of known,
identified persons or an unsolved photograph file.

32) Defines “reference photograph database” as a database populated with photographs of
individuals that have been identified, including databases composed of driver’s licenses or
other documents made or issued by or under the authority of the state, a political subdivision
thereof, databases operated by third parties, and arrest photograph databases.

33) Provides that FRT does not include any access control system used by a law enforcement
agency that uses biometric inputs to confirm the identity of employees or other approved
persons for the purpose of controlling access to any secured place, device, or system.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Declares that it is the intent of the Legislature to establish policies and procedures to address
issues related to the downloading and storage data recorded by a body-worn camera worn by

a peace officer; these policies and procedures shall be based on best practices. (Pen. Code, §
832.18, subd. (a).)
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2) Encourages agencies to consider best practices in establishing when data should be
downloaded to ensure the data is entered into the system in a timely manner, the cameras are

properly maintained and ready for the next use, and for purposes of tagging and categorizing
the data. (Pen. Code, § 832.18, subd. (b).)

3) Encourages agencies to consider best practices in establishing specific measures to prevent
data tampering, deleting, and copying, including prohibiting the unauthorized use,
duplication, or distribution of body-worn camera data. (Pen. Code, § 832.18, subd. (b)(3).)

4) Encourages agencies to consider best practices in establishing the length of time that
recorded data is to be stored. States that nonevidentiary data including video and audio
recorded by a body-worn camera should be retained for a minimum of 60 days, after which it
may be erased, destroyed, or recycled. Provides that an agency may keep data for more than

60 days to have it available in case of a civilian complaint and to preserve transparency. (Pen.
Code, § 832.18, subd. (b)(5)(A).)

5) States that evidentiary data including video and audio recorded by a body-worn camera
should be retained for a minimum of two years under any of the following circumstances:

a) The recording is of an incident involving the use of force by a peace officer or an officer-
involved shooting;

b) The recording is of an incident that leads to the detention or arrest of an individual; or,

¢) The recording is relevant to a formal or informal complaint against a law enforcement
officer or a law enforcement agency. (Pen. Code, § 832.18, subd. (b)(5)(B).)

6) States that the recording should be retained for additional time as required by law for other
evidence that may be relevant to a criminal prosecution. (Pen. Code, § 832.18, subd.

(®)3)(©).)

7) Instructs law enforcement agencies to work with legal counsel to determine a retention
schedule to ensure that storage policies and practices are in compliance with all relevant laws
and adequately preserve evidentiary chains of custody. (Pen. Code, § 832.18, subd.

(B)X5)D).)

8) Encourages agencies to adopt a policy that records or logs of access and deletion of data from
body-worn cameras should be retained permanently. (Pen. Code, § 832.18, subd. (b)(5)(E).)

9) Encourages agencies to include in a policy information about where the body-worn camera
data will be stored, including, for example, an in-house server which is managed internally,
or an online cloud database which is managed by a third-party vendor. (Pen. Code, § 832.18,
subd. (b)(6).)

10) Instructs a law enforcement agency using a third-party vendor to manage the data storage
system, to consider the following factors to protect the security and integrity of the data:
Using an experienced and reputable third-party vendor; entering into contracts that govern
the vendor relationship and protect the agency’s data; using a system that has a built-in audit
trail to prevent data tampering and unauthorized access; using a system that has a reliabie
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method for automatically backing up data for storage; consulting with internal legal counsel
to ensure the method of data storage meets legal requirements for chain-of-custody concerns;
and using a system that includes technical assistance capabilities. (Pen. Code, § 832.18, subd.

(b)(7).)

11) Encourages agencies to include in a policy a requirement that all recorded data from body-

worn cameras are property of their respective law enforcement agency and shall not be
accessed or released for any unauthorized purpose. Encourages a policy that explicitly
prohibits agency personnel from accessing recorded data for personal use and from uploading
recorded data onto public and social media Internet websites, and include sanctions for
violations of this prohibition. (Pen. Code, § 832.18, subd. (b)(8).)

12) Requires that a public agency that operates or intends to operate an Automatic License Plate

Recognition (ALPR) system to provide an opportunity for public comment at a public
meeting of the agency's governing body before implementing the program. (Civil Code, §
1798.90.55.)

13) Prohibits a local agency from acquiring cellular communications interception technology

unless approved by its legislative body. (Gov. Code, § 53166, subd. (c)(1).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

)

2)

Author's Statement: According to the author, “I authored AB 1215 in 2019 which banned
the use of biometric surveillance through police body cameras. The bill only passed with a
three year moratorium that expired January 1, 2023. Consequently, current law has
absolutely no parameters set regarding law enforcement’s use of facial recognition
technology. It is critical that we ensure there are safeguards in place in order to avoid another
year of unregulated use. We can’t go another year with no protections. AB 642 is a response
to a battle that we cannot afford to risk losing. The bill includes critical safeguards such as
codifying an accuracy level, oversight and reporting, and prohibits law enforcement from
using a match alone to arrest someone, to request a warrant, to violate someone’s
constitutional rights, and to discriminate against protected characteristics. Most importantly,
this bill does not prohibit nor deter local governments from choosing to ban the use of facial
recognition technology.”

Facial Recognition Technology: Facial recognition technology is capable of identifying an
individual by comparing a digital image of the person’s face to a database of known faces,
typically by measuring distinct facial features and characteristics. Early versions of the
technology were pioneered in the 1960s and 1970s, but true facial recognition technology as
we understand it today did not come about until the early 1990s. In 1993, the United States
military developed the Facial Recognition Technology (FERET) program, which aimed to
create a database of faces and recognition algorithms to assist in intelligence gathering,
security, and law enforcement. (“Facial Recognition Technology (FERET).”) The National
Institute of Standards and Technology, United States Department of Commerce.
https://www.nist.gov/programs-projects/face-recognition-technology-feret).) Since that time,
advances in computer technology and machine learning have led to faster and more accurate
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recognition software, including real-time face detection in video footage and emotional
recognition.

Today, facial recognition technology is used in a variety of applications. It is often a
prominent feature in social media platforms, such as Facebook, Snapchat and TikTok. For
instance, DeepFace, a “deep learning” facial recognition system created by Facebook, helps
the platform identify photos of users so they can review or share the content. (See Heilweil,
Facebook is backing away from facial recognition. Meta isn’t. Vox.com (Nov. 3, 2021)
https://www.vox.com/recode/22761598/facebook-facial-recognition-meta> [last visited Apr.
5,2023].) Snapchat employs similar technology to allow users to share content augmented by
“filters,” which can add features or alter an image of the user’s face. Facial recognition
technology has also seen increasing use as a method of ID verification, such as with Apple’s
Face ID and Google’s Android “Ice Cream Sandwich” systems.

As facial recognition technology has become more widespread, so have concerns about its
shortcomings and potential for misuse. Many critics highlight that the use of facial
recognition systems result in serious privacy violations, and that mechanisms to protect
against the unwanted sale or dissemination of personal biometric data are insufficient.
(Schwartz, Resisting the Menace of Face Recognition, Electronic Frontier Foundation (Oct.
26, 2021) <https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2021/10/resisting-menace-face-recognition> [last
visited Apr. 5, 2023] Others suggest that the technology is still too inaccurate and unreliable
to be used in such a broad array of applications. For instance, facial recognition technology
may not be less accurate when identifying transgender people, women, or persons with
darker complexions. (See e.g., Facial Recognition Sofiware Has a Gender Problem, National
Science Foundation (Nov. 1, 2019)
<https://www.nsf.gov/discoveries/disc_summ.jsp?cntn_id=299486>[last visited Apr. 5,
2023]; Buolamwini et al., Gender Shades: Intersectional Accuracy Disparities in
Commercial Gender Classification PMLR 81:77-91, 2018
<http://proceedings.mlr.press/v81/buolamwinil 8a/buolamwinil8a.pdf>[last visited Apr. 5,
2023] (Najibi, Racial Discrimination in Face Recognition Technology, Harvard University
Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Blog (Oct. 24, 2020)
<https://sitn.hms.harvard.edu/flash/2020/racial-discrimination-in-face-recognition-
technology/> [last visited Apr. S, 2023].)

Law Enforcement Uses of Facial Recognition Systems: Despite growing concerns, law
enforcement agencies at the federal, state and local level continue to use facial recognition
programs. A Government Accountability Office report revealed that 20 federal agencies
employ such programs, 10 of which intend to expand them over the coming years. (Facial
Recognition Technology: Federal Law Enforcement Agencies Should Better Assess Privacy
and Other Risks, United States Government Accountability Office. (June 3, 2021)
<https://www.gao.gov/products/gao-21-518> [last visited Apr. 5, 2023].) One study found
that one in four law enforcement agencies across the country can access some form of FRT,
and that half of American adults — more than 117 million people — are in a law enforcement
face recognition network. (Garvie et al., The Perpetual Line-Up: Unregulated Police Face
Recognition in America, Georgetown Law Center on Privacy and Technology (Oct. 18,
2016) <https://www.perpetuallineup.org/> [last visited Apr. 5, 2023].) Very few of these
agencies have a formal facial recognition policy, but one such agency, the New York Police
Department, defines the scope of its policy as follows: “Facial recognition technology
enhances the ability to investigate criminal activity and increases public safety. The facial
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recognition process does not by itself establish probable cause to arrest or obtain a search
warrant, but it may generate investigative leads through a combination of automated
biometric comparisons and human analysis.” (Facial Recognition Technology Patrol Guide,
City of New York Police Department (Mar. 12, 2020)
<https://wwwl.nyc.gov/assets/nypd/downloads/pdf/nypd-facial-recognition-patrol-
guide.pdf> [last visited Apr. 5, 2023].) Proponents of facial recognition technology see it as a
useful tool in helping identify criminals. It was reportedly utilized to identify the man
charged in the deadly shooting at The Capital Gazette’s newsroom in Annapolis, Maryland in
2018. (Singer, Amazon’s Facial Recognition Wrongly Identifies 28 Lawmakers, A.C.L.U.
Says, New York Times, (July 26, 2018)
<https://www.nytimes.com/2018/07/26/technology/amazon-aclu-facial-recognition-
congress.html?login=facebook> [last visited Apr. 5, 2023].)

The inaccuracy, biases, and potential privacy intrusions inherent in many facial recognition
systems used by law enforcement have led to criticism from civil rights advocates, especially
in California. In March 2020, the ACLU, on behalf of a group of California residents, filed a
class action lawsuit against Clearview Al, claiming that the company illegally collected
biometric data from social media and other websites, and applied facial recognition software
to the databases for sale to law enforcement and other companies. (Clearview Al class-action
may further test CCPA’s private right of action, JD Supra (Mar. 12, 2020)
<https://www.jdsupra.com/legalnews/clearview-ai-class-action-may-further-14597/> [last
visited Apr. 5, 2023].) An investigation by Buzzfeed in 2021 found that 140 state and local
law enforcement agencies in California had used or tried Clearview AI’s system. (Mac et al.,
Your Local Police Department Might Have Used This Facial Recognition Tool To Surveil
You. Find Out Here. Buzzfeed News, (Apr. 6, 2021)
<https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/ryanmac/facial-recognition-local-police-clearview-
ai-table> [last visited Apr. 5, 2023].)

The controversy surrounding law enforcement use of facial recognition has led many
California cities to ban the technology, including San Francisco, Oakland, Berkeley, Santa
Cruz and Alameda. Despite the ban in San Francisco, officers there may have skirted the
city’s ban by outsourcing an FRT search to another law enforcement agency. (Cassidy,
Facial recognition tech used to build SFPD gun case, despite city ban, San Francisco
Chronicle (Sept. 24, 2020) < https://www.sfchronicle.com/bayarea/article/Facial-recognition-
tech-used-to-build-SFPD-gun-15595796.php> [last visited Mar. 23, 2023].)

In September 2021, the Los Angeles Times reported that the Los Angeles Police Department
had used facial recognition software nearly 30,000 times since 2009, despite years of “vague
and contradictory information” from the department “about how and whether it uses the
technology.” According to the Times, “The LAPD has consistently denied having records
related to facial recognition, and at times denied using the technology at all.” Responding to
the report, the LAPD claimed that the denials were just mistakes, and that it was no secret
that the department used such technology. Although the department could not determine how
many leads from the system developed into arrests, it asserted that “the technology helped
identify suspects in gang crimes where witnesses were too fearful to come forward and in
crimes where no witnesses existed.” (Rector et al., Despite past denials, LAPD has used
Jacial recognition sofiware 30,000 times in last decade, records show, Los Angeles Times,
(Sept. 21, 2020) https://www.latimes.com/california/story/2020-09-21/lapd-controversial-
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facial-recognition-software.)

Facial Recognition Technology Legislation in California: In 2019, the Legislature passed
Assembly Bill 1215 (Ting), Chapter 579, Statutes of 2019, which banned the use of facial
recognition technology and other biometric surveillance systems in connection with cameras
worn or carried by law enforcement, including body-worn cameras (BWC), for the purpose
of identifying individuals using biometric data. This ban covered both the direct use of
biometric surveillance by a law enforcement officer or agency, as well as a request or
agreement by an officer or agency that another officer or agency, or a third party, use a
biometric surveillance system on behalf of the requesting party. The ban also included
narrow exceptions for processes that redact a recording prior to disclosure in order to protect
the privacy of a subject, and the use of a mobile fingerprint-scanning device to identify
someone without proof of identification during a lawful detention, as long as neither of these
functions result in the retention of biometric data or surveillance information. AB 1215
included a sunset date of January 1, 2023.

SB 1038 (Bradford), of the 2021-2022 Legislature, would have extended the ban on
biometric surveillance and facial recognition systems in connection with cameras worn or
carried by officers indefinitely. At its core, the question involved balancing the purported
investigatory benefits of facial recognition technology against its demonstrated privacy risks,
technical flaws and racial and gender biases. Committee staff did not identify or receive any
evidence demonstrating that the ban on facial recognition technology used in connection with
BWC had significantly hampered law enforcement efforts in the two years since it became
operative. (Sen. Com. on Public Saf., com. on Sen. Bill No. 1038 (2021-2022 Reg. Sess.).)
SB 1038 failed passage in the Senate.

This year, the Legislature is asked once again to determine whether the investigatory benefits
of facial recognition technology outweigh the risk to the communities served by law
enforcement. This bill would set minimum standards for use of FRT by law enforcement,
including requiring law enforcement agencies to have a written policy for FRT use, allowing
for FRT use when a peace officer has reasonable suspicion that an individual has committed
a felony, and providing that an FRT-generated match of an individual may not be the sole
basis for probable cause for an arrest, search, or affidavit for a warrant. It does not include
any limitation on the source of the input image submitted for comparison against the database
of persons. Police could use traffic cameras, CCTV, and images from BWCs or dashcams.

In contrast, AB 1034 (Wilson) would prohibit a law enforcement officer or agency from
installing, activating, or using a biometric surveillance system solely in connection with a
law enforcement agency’s body-worn camera or any other camera. This bill would allow for
input images from more sources than AB 1034 would ban—the two bills are reconcilable.

Reasonable Suspicion to Use FRT: This bill provides that law enforcement may use FRT
when they have reasonable suspicion to believe that the person either has committed or is
committing a crime. Reasonable suspicion exists “when the detaining officer can point to
specific articulable facts that, considered in light of the totality of the circumstances, provide
some objective manifestation that the person detained may be involved in criminal activity.”
(People v. Souza (1994) 9 Cal.4th 224, 231, citing U.S. v. Cortez (1981) 449 U.S. 411, 417-
418.) If, during the detention, a reasonable person would believe that the individual is armed
and cangerous, the officer may also conduct a brief patdown (or “frisk™) of an individual’s
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outer clothing for weapons. (Terry v. Ohio (1968) 392 U.S. 1, 21.). A brief detention based
on reasonable suspicion, and the possible subsequent patdown for weapons, is known as a
Terry stop.

The U.S. Supreme Court has not yet decided whether law enforcement may require an
individual produce identification during a Terry stop. Law enforcement may request that a
person stopped based on reasonable suspicion disclose their name during the stop. (See
Hiibel v. Sixth Judicial Dist. Court (2004) 542 U.S. 177, 185.) However, a suspect is not
required to provide identification to law enforcement during a Terry stop as a matter of law.
In California, the authority to require a suspect to produce identification is limited. (See
Lawson v. Kolender (9th Cir. 1981) 658 F.2d 1362; Martinelli v. Beaumont (9th Cir. 1987)
820 F.2d 1491, 1494; People v. Garcia (2006) 145 Cal. App.4th 782, 788.) This bill would
circumvent those limitations by allowing for FRT whenever a peace officer has reasonable
suspicion that a person has committed a felony.

Moreover, there is little question about which communities are most likely to be subject to
FRT use by law enforcement based on reasonable suspicion. According to a recent report,
“Relative to other racial/ethnic groups, Black individuals had the highest proportion of their
stops reported as reasonable suspicion.” (Racial and Identity Profiling Advisory Board
(RIPA), Annual Report 2023 (Jan. 1, 2023) p. 8 <https://oag.ca.gov/system/files/media/ripa-
board-report-2023.pdf> [last visited Mar. 23, 2023].) Both transgender men/boys and
transgender women/girls reported substantially higher proportions of stops as reasonable
suspicion—ranging from 42.9% to 45.4% of the total reported stops, respectively—than
cisgender and gender nonconforming individuals (Id. at p. 40.) RIPA further found,
“Individuals perceived to be LGBT had...a higher proportion of their stops reported as
reasonable suspicion...than individual who officers did not perceive to be LGBT.” (Id. at p.
41.)

Given existing limitations on requiring identification based on reasonable suspicion and the
disproportionate application of reasonable suspicion against marginalized communities,
would requiring a higher standard (e.g. probable cause) to justify the use of FRT by law
enforcement be more appropriate?

Argument in Support: According to the League of California Cities, “Facial recognition
technology is one of many tools utilized in identifying an individual by comparing a digital
image of the person’s face to a database of known faces, typically by measuring distinct
facial features and characteristics. This technology does not by itself result in ultimate
identification, but it may generate investigative leads necessary for combatting crime within
our communities. Technology assists our law enforcement partners in doing their jobs more
efficiently and ultimately improves public safety.

“Cal Cities supports accountability on the part of law enforcement agencies concerning
police technology and policies, as well as related oversight by local governing bodies.
However, we do not support policies that restrict law enforcement agencies from utilizing
technologies that would otherwise enhance their ability to prevent criminal activity in the
communities they serve.”

Argument in Opposition: According to ACLU California Action, “AB 642 Places Often-
Targeted Communities at Risk
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“If AB 642 becomes law, California will see an explosion of the sensitive databases containing
face prints and biometric information that are part and parcel of FRT. These databases are
routinely and disproportionately populated with millions of mugshots of Black and Brown
victims of the War on Drugs and other discriminatory laws. As a result, Black and Brown people
may be more likely to be identified by systems running on this technology, profiled, stopped,
detained, and entered into these databases, magnifying a cycle of racially biased policing and
incarceration. Unfortunately, recent amendments to AB 642 make this problem worse,
sanctioning the expansion of mugshot databases while explicitly permitting police to make use of
unaccountable for-profit databases sold by data brokers and other private companies.

“The amendments to AB 642 fail to meaningfully limit the dangerous sharing of information
with other agencies, risking serious consequences for women and LGBTQI people. The national
attacks on abortion rights, bodily autonomy, and trans people demand that California provide a
haven for those seeking reproductive or gender-affirming care. Amendments to AB 642 merely
limit police from sharing info about the literal ‘the provision’ of these services, preserving wide
latitude for police to share information about people who plan to seek care or have already done
so and are travelling within California. AB 642 incentivizes uses of FRT that could be exploited
to identify and prosecute people who travel to our state to visit a doctor’s office or a Planned
Parenthood clinic.

“AB 642 Places Communities in Danger and Unjustifiably Erodes Civil Rights

“AB 642 threatens more than our privacy. It is also foreseeable that out-of-state and federal
agencies will demand access to and exploit the biometric databases ushered in by AB 642,
placing dangerous pressure on our state’s sanctuary laws. ICE has already been caught tapping
into and demanding access to facial recognition databases in other states. Amendments to AB 642
do nothing to address the inherent vulnerability of biometric databases to outside demands.
California has chosen not to proactively use state resources for immigration enforcement, and it
should continue to protect immigrants.

“By allowing police to scan and identify people with few limitations, AB 642 will also increase
unnecessary interactions with innocent residents. With regularity, we are learning stories about
Black men like Robert Williams. Mr. Williams was wrongfully arrested in his driveway with his
wife and daughter watching; he was jailed because police misused facial recognition. In Mr.
Williams’ case, police ignored warnings like those contained in AB 642, so we know this bill
will not prevent egregious mistakes. Indeed, recent amendments would actually prevent people
like Mr. Williams from bringing a lawsuit and seeking justice wherever police claim they were
acting in good faith. By legally sanctioning the widespread use of FRT, AB 642 will magnify the
bias and over-policing already disproportionately harming communities of color, immigrants, and
other minority groups. Too often we have seen that police labeling results in unjustified
interactions that have the potential to easily escalate into fatal encounters. This will remain true
regardless of how accurate FRT becomes. Thus, AB 642 also puts lives at risk.

“AB 642 Ignores the Evidence

“FRT is an inherently dangerous form of surveillance that gives governments the power to
automatically identify us without our consent and track where we go, who we know, and even
how we feel, and there is no way to prevent this encroachment on personal privacy. Rather than
meaningfully constrain this power, amendments to AB 642 explicitly specify that police may use
FRT for ‘real time’ surveillance of entire areas, exposing entire communities to the scanning of
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their faces and identities by police cameras mounted on streetlights, buildings, and attached
to officers. Simply put, this is how authoritarian states use this technology to track, target,
and control their populations and marginalized communities.

“As aresult, the face surveillance systems permitted by AB 642 will chill the exercise of
important civil rights, including at protests, places of worship, and political gatherings. There
are no acceptable standards under which law enforcement can use face surveillance. Rather
than aligning with the civil rights community and national consensus, AB 642 grants law
enforcement agencies sweeping statutory authority to use face recognition technology to
identify and track people across the state.

“There is a strong and growing public consensus that FRT is simply too dangerous and
corrosive to our rights to be used by law enforcement. Companies like Amazon, Microsoft,
and IBM refuse to sell FRT to police, as has Axon, the most prominent police body camera
maker. At least 20 U.S. cities, including your hometown of San Francisco, have banned the
government use of face recognition technology. Progressive leadership in the United States
Congress recently introduced a bill that would prohibit the government’s use of facial
recognition and condition funding to localities on their adopting the same. These local laws
and federal bill recognize that the most responsible standard for FRT is a ban on its use by
governments. Prohibitions on the government use of facial recognition protect our privacy,
reduce dangerous encounters and wrongful detentions, safeguard our freedom of speech, and
impede the creation of dangerous biometric databases.”

Related Legislation:

a) AB 1034 (Wilson), would prohibit a law enforcement officer or agency from installing,
activating, or using a biometric surveillance system in connection with a law enforcement
agency’s body-worn camera or any other officer camera. AB 1034 is pending hearing in
the Assembly Committee on Privacy and Consumer Protection.

b) AB 79 (Weber), would prohibit a peace officer from using deadly force against or
intending to injure, intimidate, or disorient a person by utilizing any unmanned, remotely
piloted, powered ground or flying equipment except under specified circumstances. AB
79 is pending hearing in this committee.

¢) AB 793 (Bonta), would provide that a government entity may not seek, from any court, a
compulsory process to enforce a reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword demand,
as defined. AB 793 is pending hearing in this committee.

d) AB 742 (Jackson), would prohibit the use of canines by peace officers for arrest and
apprehension, or in any circumstances to bite a person, but permits their use of canines
for search and rescue, explosives detection, and narcotics detection. AB 742 is pending
hearing in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

Prior Legislation:
a) SB 1038 (Bradford), would have deleted the January 1, 2023 sunset date on provisions of

law that prohibit a law enforcement officer from installing, activating or using a
biometric surveillance system in connection with a body-worn camera or data coilected
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by a body-worn camera. SB 1038 died on the inactive file in the Senate.

b) AB 1281 (Chau), Chapter 268, Statutes of 2020, would require a business in California
that uses facial recognition technology to disclose that usage in a physical sign that is
clear and conspicuous at the entrance of every location that uses facial recognition
technology.

c) AB 1215 (Ting), Chapter 579, Statutes of 2019, prohibited a law enforcement officer or
agency from installing, activating, or using a biometric surveillance system in connection
with a law enforcement agency’s body-worn camera or any other camera.

d) SB 21 (Hill), of the 2017-2018 Legislative Session, would have required local law
enforcement agencies to have a policy, approved by the local governing body, in place
before using surveillance technology. SB 21 was held in the Assembly Appropriations
Committee.

e) AB 69 (Rodriguez) Chapter 461, Statutes of 2015, requires law enforcement agencies to
follow specified best practices when establishing policies and procedures for
downloading and storing data from body-worn cameras.

f) SB 34 (Hill) Chapter 532, Statutes of 2015, imposed a variety of security, privacy and
public hearing requirements on the use of automated license plate recognition systems, as
well as a private right of action and provisions for remedies.
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Date of Hearing: April 11, 2023
Counsel: Liah Burnley

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 709 (McKinnor) — As Introduced February 13, 2023

SUMMARY: Allows a prosecutor to provide an unofficial copy of a transcript that contains

1)

2)

exculpatory or impeaching material involving a peace officer-witness to a defendant during
informal discovery. Specifically, this bill:

Permits a prosecutor with actual possession of a transcript that contains potentially
exculpatory or impeaching material involving a peace officer-witness to provide an unofficial
copy of the transcript, or a relevant portion thereof, to defense counsel or defendants
appearing in propia persona during informal discovery.

Provides that the defendant may reproduce a copy of the transcript, or portion thereof, as an
exhibit pursuant to court order or rule, or for internal use, but shall not otherwise provide or
sell copies to any other party or person.

EXISTING LAW:

1

2)

3)

Provides that any court, party, or person who has purchased a transcript prepared by a court
reporter may, without paying a further fee to the reporter, reproduce a copy or portion thereof
as an exhibit, or for internal use, but shall not otherwise provide or sell a copy or copies to
any other party or person. (Gov. Code, § 69954.)

Requires the prosecuting attorney to disclose to the defendant or their attorney all of the
specified materials and information, if it is in the possession of the prosecuting attorney or if
the prosecuting attorney knows it to be in the possession of the investigating agencies,
including among other things, all relevant real evidence seized or obtained as a part of the
investigation of the offenses charged; any exculpatory evidence; and relevant written or
recorded statements of witnesses whom the prosecutor intends to call at the trial. (Evid.
Code, § 1054.1.)

Provides that a prosecutor who intentionally withholds relevant, exculpatory information is
guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for 16 months, or 2, or 3 years.
(Pen. Code, § 141, subd. (c).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

1))

Author's Statement: According to the author, “AB 709 would allow for a narrowly-tailored
exception to allow disclosure only when an individual prosecutor has a transcript containing
Brady or potential Brady information. This makes it easier for DA’s to comply with their
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discovery obligations while allowing defense counsels to properly defend their client.”

The Prosecutor’s Duty to Provide Exculpatory Evidence to the Defense: In Brady v.
Maryland (1963) 373 U.S. 83, 87, the United States Supreme Court held that federal
constitutional due process creates an obligation on the part of the prosecution to disclose all
evidence within its possession that is favorable to the defendant and material on the issue of
guilt or punishment. Brady evidence includes evidence that impeaches prosecution witnesses,
even if it is not inherently exculpatory. (Giglio v. United States (1972) 405 U.S. 150, 153-
155.) Further, the prosecution’s disclosure obligation under Brady extends to evidence
collected or known by other members of the prosecution team, including law enforcement, in
connection with the investigation of the case. (/n re Steele (2004) 32 Cal.4th 682, 696-697,
citing Kyles v. Whitley (1995) 514 U.S. 419, 437.) In order to comply with Brady, “the
individual prosecutor has a duty to learn of any favorable evidence known to the others
acting on the government's behalf in the case, including the police.” (Kyles, supra, 514 U.S.
at p. 437; accord, In re Brown (1998) 17 Cal.4th 873, 879.)

Evidence is material under Brady if there is a reasonable probability that the result of the
proceeding would have been different had the information been disclosed. (United States v.
Bagley (1985) 473 U.S. 667, 682.) The prosecution’s duty to disclose exists whether or not
the defendant specifically requests the information. (United States v. Agurs (1976) 427 U.S.
97, 107.) Failure to disclose evidence favorable to the accused violates due process
irrespective of the good or bad faith of the prosecution. (Brady, supra, 373 U.S. at p. 87.)

California’s Criminal Discovery Statute, as codified in Penal Code Section 1054 et seq.
contains additional discovery requirements. Section 1054.1 requires the prosecuting attorney
to disclose to the defendant materials and information known to the prosecution, including
among other things, all relevant real evidence seized or obtained as a part of the investigation
of the offenses charged; any exculpatory evidence; and relevant written or recorded
statements of witnesses whom the prosecutor intends to call at the trial. (Evid. Code, §
1054.1.)

Additionally, Rule 3.8 (Special Responsibilities of a Prosecutor) of the California Rules of
Professional Conduct requires that prosecutors timely disclose all evidence or information

that tends to negate the guilt of the accused, mitigate the offense, or mitigate the sentence,

except when relieved of this responsibility by a protective order of the court.

Moreover, if the favorable material evidence is contained in the files of an agency connected
to the investigation of the case, the prosecutor is in constructive possession of it, and has a
duty to disclose it. (See People v. Lucas (2014) 60 Cal.4th 153,274.)

Prosecutors often encounter Brady information after trial, post-conviction. The obligation to
disclose Brady information continues after trial. (See Imbler v. Pachtman (1976) 424 U.S.
409, 427 n. 25 [stating that “at trial” a prosecutor’s duty to disclose evidence comes from the
Due Process Clause, while “after a conviction the prosecutor also is bound by the ethics of
his office to inform the appropriate authority of after-acquired or other information that casts
doubt upon the correctness of the conviction.”].)

Prosecutors often encounter Brady information contained in court transcripts. Under
Government Code section 69954, a prosecutor wiio has purchased a transcript may, without
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paying a further fee to the reporter, reproduce a copy or portion thereof as an exhibit pursuant
to court order or rule, or for internal use, but cannot not otherwise provide or sell a copy or
copies to any other party or person, including the defendant. There is no exception for
transcripts that contain Brady material. Thus, under current law, a prosecutor who has a
transcript which contains Brady information may use the transcript internally within the
prosecutor’s office, but cannot actually disclose the transcript directly to defense counsel to
satisfy their constitutional discovery obligations.

This bill would allow the prosecutor to provide an unofficial copy of the transcript, or a
relevant portion thereof, to the defense, during informal discovery. This exception would
only apply in limited circumstances in which a prosecutor has evidence of potentially
exculpatory or impeaching material involving a peace-officer witness. This bill would further
allow defense to reproduce a portion of the transcript as an exhibit, pursuant to a court order
or rule, or to use the transcript for internal use, but does not allow the defense to otherwise
provide or sell copies of the transcript to any other person.

Argument in Support: According to the California District Attorneys Association (CDAA),
“This bill facilitates the discovery process by helping to avoid disputes over the costs of
providing such transcripts.”

Related Legislation: SB 441 (Bradford), would require prosecutors to disclose to the
defense, among other things, exculpatory evidence, before or at the preliminary hearing. SB
441 is pending in the Senate Public Safety Committee.

Prior Legislation: AB 788 (Wagner), of the 2013-2014 Legislative Session, would have
authorized, transcripts to be reproduced for internal use or in response to a request for
discovery, without paying a further fee to the reporter, as specified. AB 788 was never heard
in the Senate Judiciary Committee.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Los Angeles County District Attorney's Office (Co-Sponsor)
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
California District Attorneys Association

Opposition

None.

Analysis Prepared by: Liah Burnley / PUB. S./(916) 319-3744
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Date of Hearing: April 11, 2023
Counsel: Liah Burnley

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 750 (Rodriguez) — As Amended April 6, 2023

SUMMARY: Clarifies that an authorized media representative, as specified, cannot facilitate the
entry of a person into, or facilitate the transport of a person within an area closed due to a
menace to the public safety or health, if that person is not also an authorized media
representative, unless for the purposes of safety of the person.

EXISTING FEDERAL LAW: Secures the right to freedom of speech, of the press, and the
right of the people peaceably to assemble. (U.S. Const., 1st Amend.)

EXISTING STATE LAW:

D

2)

3)

4

3)

6)

7

Provides that a law may not restrain or abridge liberty of speech or press. (Cal. Const., art. I,

§2)

States that, whenever a menace to the public health or safety is created by a calamity
including a flood, storm, fire, earthquake, explosion, accident, or other disaster, specified
peace officers and public safety officials may close the area where the menace exists for the
duration of the menace by means of ropes, markers, or guards to any and all persons not
authorized to enter or remain within the enclosed area. If the calamity creates an immediate
menace to the public health, the local health officer may close the area where the menace
exists. (Pen. Code, § 409.5, subd. (a).)

Provides that specified public safety officials may close the immediate area surrounding any
emergency field command post or any other command post activated for the purpose of
abating any calamity or any riot or other civil disturbance to any and all unauthorized
persons. (Pen. Code, § 409.5, subd. (b).)

Allows a duly authorized representative of a news service, newspaper, or radio or television
station or network to enter the closed areas. (Pen. Code, § 409.5, subd. (d).)

Provides that an unauthorized person who willfully and knowingly enters a closed area and
who willfully remains within the area after receiving notice to evacuate or leave shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, § 409.5, subd. (c).)

Provides that a person who, after receiving notice to evacuate or leave, willfully and
knowingly directs an employee to remain in, or enter, a closed area shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor. (Lab Code, § 6311.5.)

Makes it a misdemeanor for a person who willfully resists, delays, or obstructs any public
officer, peace officer, or an emergency medical technician, as defined, in the discharge or
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attempt to discharge any duty of their office or employment. (Pen. Code, § 148, subd. (a).)

8) Provides that any peace officer who has reasonable cause to believe that the person to be
arrested has committed a public offense may use reasonable force to effect the arrest, to
prevent escape or to overcome resistance. (Pen. Code, § 835a.)

9) Provides that every person who participates in any riot or unlawful assembly is guilty of a
misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, § 408.)

10) Makes it a misdemeanor for any person to remain present at the place of any riot or unlawful
assembly, after being lawfully warned to disperse. (Pen. Code, § 409.)

11) Provides that, if two or more persons assemble for the purpose of disturbing the public peace, or
committing any unlawful act, and do not disperse on being desired or commanded so to do by a
public officer, the persons so offending are severally guilty of a misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, § 416.)

12) Provides that every person who goes to the scene of an emergency, or stops at the scene of an
emergency, for the purpose of viewing the scene or the activities of emergency personnel,
and thereby impedes emergency personnel, in the performance of their duties in coping with
the emergency, is guilty of a misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, 402.)

13) Provides that every person who willfully commits a trespass, as specified, is guilty of a
misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, § 602.)

14) Provides that it is trespass to drive any vehicle upon real property belonging to another and
known not to be open to the general public, without the consent of the person in lawful
possession. (Pen. Code, § 602, subd. (n).)

15) Provides that it is trespass to refuse or to fail to leave any property belonging to another and
not open to the general public upon being requested to leave by a peace officer, as specified.
(Pen. Code, § 602, subd. (0).)

16) Provides that it is trespass to enter any land declared closed because of a hazard, as specified,
if the closed areas have been posed with notices declaring the closure. (Pen. Code, § 602,
subd. (p).)

17) Provides that any person concerned in the commission of a crime, whether it be felony or
misdemeanor, and whether they directly commit the act constituting the offense, or aid and
abet in its commission, or, have advised and encouraged its commission, or who, by threats,
menaces, command, or coercion, compel another to commit any crime, are principals in any
crime so committed. A person who aids and abets a crime faces the same punishment as the
one who directly commits the crime. (Pen. Code, § 31.)

18) Provides that when two or more people conspire to commit any crime they are guilty of a
felony. (Pen. Code, § 182.)

19) Provides that a duly authorized representative of any news service, online news service,
newspaper, or radio or television station or network may enter any area closed by public safety
officers or peace officers where individuals are engaged in protected first amendment activity,
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including a demonstration, march, protests or rally. (Pen. Code, § 409.7.)

FISCAL EFFECT; Unknown

COMMENTS:

)

2)

Author's Statement: According to the author, “Under current law, peace officers may close
an arca where a calamity, including a flood, storm, fire, earthquake, explosion, accident, or
disaster, creates a menace to public health or safety. Any unauthorized persons who willfully
and knowingly enter a closed area and remain in the area after being notified to evacuate or
leave are guilty of a misdemeanor. Last year, there were reports of media personnel
transporting non-authorized persons into closed areas. For example, the Siskiyou County
Sheriff’s Office reported they were investigating reports that the media brought civilians into
evacuation zones during the McKinney Fire in 2022,

“While members of the press are critical to evaluating emergencies and informing the public
on the events impacting our communities, transporting individuals into closed areas places
residents in unnecessary risk. AB 750 would clarify that a representative of a press
organization shall not transport a civilian into a closed area. This bill would allow press
members to continue their duty of keeping the public informed while keeping the public
safe.”

Contours of Penal Code Section 409.5: Under Penal Code section 409.5, law enforcement
officers and other designated officials may cordon off and close a disaster area to the general
public where the disaster has created “a menace to the public health or safety.” A person is
guilty of a misdemeanor if they willfully and knowingly enter a closed area and willfully
remain within the area after receiving notice to evacuate. (Pen. Code, § 405, subd. (c).)
However, law enforcement may not prevent “duly authorized” newspersons from entering an
area otherwise closed to the general public. (Pen. Code, § 405, subd. (d).)

The phrase “duly authorized” refers to the news station, newspaper, or radio or television
station or network having “duly authorized” the individual to be its representative at the site.
The “duly authorized” news media exception does not refer to someone authorized to be in
the area by the law enforcement officer. Otherwise, the entire exception would be
superfluous. (66 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. (1983) 497, 498-499.)

The exception does not prevent law enforcement officers from taking appropriate action to
prevent the news media representatives at a disaster site from violating any specific laws.
(See e.g. Pen. Code, §§ 402, 409; 66 Ops.Cal. Atty.Gen. 497, supra, 499, fn. 2.) For example,
press representatives access may be restricted if police personnel at the scene reasonably
determine that their unrestricted access will interfere with emergency operations. (See, e.g.,
Los Angeles Free Press, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles (1970) 9 Cal.App.3d 448, 456.) If such a
determination is made, the restrictions on media access may be imposed for only so long and
only to such an extent as is necessary to prevent actual interference. (/bid.)

However, officers cannot exclude the press on the sole basis of there being a safety hazard.
The power to exclude the general public from a disaster site only arises where the disaster
creates "a menace to the public health or safety.” Thus, the press access exception “assumes
the existence of an already-determined safety hazard. Notwithstanding such a safety hazard,
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the Legislature has concluded that the public’s right to know is more important.” (Leiserson
v. City of San Diego (1986) 184 Cal.App.3d 41, 50-51 [legislative goal that the maximum
possible press access be provided].)

Impetus for this Bill: According to background materials provided by the Author, the
Siskiyou County Sheriff’s Office reported they were investigating incidents in which the the
media brought civilians into evacuation zones during the McKinney Fire in 2022. (Record
Searchlight, Siskiyou sheriff investigating media conduct during McKinney Fire (Aug. 8,
2022) <https://www.redding.com/story/news/local/2022/08/08/siskiyou-sheriff-investieating-
media-conduct-during-mckinney-fire/10268419002/> [as of March 30, 2023].) While
members of the press are critical to evaluating emergencies and informing the public,
transporting individuals into closed areas could pose an unnecessary safety risk. This bill
would clarify that an authorized representative of a press organization cannot transport a
civilian into a closed area.

Freedom of the Press: The First Amendment explicitly protects the freedom of the press.
(U.S. Const. st Amend.) “That the First Amendment speaks separately of freedom of speech
and freedom of the press is no constitutional accident, but an acknowledgment of the critical
role played by the press in American society. The Constitution requires sensitivity to that
role, and to the special needs of the press in performing it effectively.” (Houchins v. KQED
(1978) 438 U.S. 1, 17.) However, “it has generally been held that the First Amendment does
not guarantee the press a constitutional right of special access to information not available to
the public generally.” (Pell v. Procunier (1974) 417 U.S. 817, 833.) As the U.S. Supreme
Court observed: “newsmen have no constitutional right of access to the scenes of crime or
disaster when the general public is excluded.” (Branzburg v. Hayes (1971) 408 U.S. 664,
684-685.)

The First Amendment does not give the media a right of access to the scenes of crimes and
disasters superior to that of the general public. (Los Angeles Free Press, Inc. v. City of Los
Angeles (1970) 9 Cal.App.3d 448, 455.) “Restrictions on the right of access to particular
places at particular times are consistent with other reasonable restrictions on liberty based
upon the police power, and these restrictions remain valid even though the ability of the press

to gather news and express views on a particular subject may be incidentally hampered.”
(Ibid.)

A special statutory right of access, however, may be given by state legislatures to news
media representatives. (Branzburg v. Hayes (1971) 408 U.S. 664, 706.) This is precisely
what the Legislature has done in Section 409.5. “The statute represents the Legislature’s
considered judgment that members of the news media must be afforded special access to
disaster sites in order that they may properly perform their function of informing the public.
(Leiserson v. City of San Diego (1986) 184 Cal.App.3d 41, 51.) This right of special access,
however, does not-give members of the press the ability to lure unauthorized individuals into
potentially dangerous disaster areas. Thus, consistent with the First Amendment, this bill
would clarify that an authorized media representative cannot facilitate the entry of a person
into a closed emergency area if that person is not also an authorized media representative.

Argument in Support: According to California State Sheriffs’ Association (CSSA), “While
bona fide members of the press have access to closed areas, this access does not extend to
transporting non-press civilians into or within areas that have been deemed dangerous and
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subsequently closed. Existing law is less than clear though, as failing to leave upon being
instructed to do so is prohibited but the act of facilitating the entry or movement of a person
who is not a member of the press into or within a closed area is not clearly forbidden.

“This bill would retain the media’s ability to access closed areas as appropriate but clarifies
that this access is not transferable to people who are not bona fide members of the press.”

Prior Legislation:

a)

b)

SB 98 (McGuire) Chapter 759, Statutes of 2021, authorized members of the press to enter
areas that have been closed by law enforcement due to a demonstration, march, protest,
or rally and prohibits officers from citing members of the press for failure to disperse, a
violation of a curfew, or a violation of resisting, delaying, or obstructing, as specified.

AB 2658 (Burke), Chapter 288, Statutes of 2020, provided that a person who, after
receiving notice to evacuate or leave, willfully and knowingly directs an employee to
remain in, or enter, an area closed due to a menace to the public health or safety shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor.

AB 3212 (Beaver) Chapter 1402, Statutes of 1957, authorized police to close off an area
due to a public health or safety calamity, created a misdemeanor for trespassing, and
authorized press members to come into the closed area.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

California State Sheriffs’ Association (Sponsor)

Opposition

None.

Analysis Prepared by: Liah Burnley / PUB. S./(916) 319-3744
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Consultant: Elizabeth Potter

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 762 (Wicks) — As Amended March 9, 2023

PULLED BY AUTHOR

Analysis Prepared by: Elizabeth Potter / PUB. S./ (916) 319-3744
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ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 793 (Bonta) — As Amended March 16, 2023

SUMMARY: Prohibits a government entity from secking or obtaining information from a
reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword demand, and prohibits any person or government
entity from complying with a reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword demand.
Specifically, this bill:

D

2)

3)

4)

3)

6)

7

Defines “reverse-keyword demand” as any action by any government entity seeking or
obtaining records or information capable of identifying persons who electronically searched
or queried for a particular word or words, phrase or phrases, character string or strings, or
website or websites, or who visited a particular website through a link returned in response to
such a search or query, regardless of whether the request is limited to a specific geographic
area or timeframe.

Provides that “reverse-keyword demand” includes any compulsory process, as defined,
seeking such records or information and any action seeking to obtain such records or
information in exchange for valuable consideration.

Defines “reverse-location demand” as any action by a government entity seeking records or
information pertaining to the location of unspecified electronic devices or their unspecified
users or owners, whose scope extends to the electronic devices present in a given geographic
area at a given time, whether such device location is measured via global positioning system
coordinates, cell tower connectivity, Wi-Fi positioning, or any other form of location
detection.

Provides that “reverse-location demand” includes any compulsory process seeking such
records or information and any action seeking to obtain such records or information in
exchange for valuable consideration.

Prohibits a government entity from making a reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword
demand.

Prohibits a government entity from seeking, from any court, a compulsory process to enforce
a reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword demand.

Prohibits a government entity from seeking, securing, obtaining, borrowing, purchasing,
using, or reviewing any information or data obtained through a reverse-location demand or a
reverse-keyword demand.
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8) Prohibits a court subject to the laws of this state from enforcing, including through a
compulsory process, a reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword demand.

9) Provides that a person in this state or a California entity shall not be obligated to comply with
a reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword demand issued by the State, or a political
subdivision thereof, or any other state or political subdivision thereof.

10) Provides that a person or entity shall not be obligated to comply with a reverse-location
demand issued by the State of California or a political subdivision thereof or any other state
or a political subdivision thereof, when the reverse-location demand seeks information about
a location within the State of California or a reverse-keyword demand where the search or
query that the recipient of the demand has reason to know pertains to a location in the State
of California.

11) Provides that a court or government entity of the State of California, or a political subdivision
thereof, shall not support, assist, or enforce a reverse-location demand or reverse-keyword
demand issued by the State of California or a political subdivision thereof, or any other state
or a political subdivision thereof, including the domestication of any such demand.

12) Provides that a government entity shall not seek the assistance of a nongovernmental entity,
an agency of the federal government, or an agency of the government of another state or
subdivision thereof in obtaining information or data from a reverse-location demand or
reverse-keyword demand if the government entity would be barred from directly seeking that
information.

13) Allows a person in a trial, hearing, or proceeding claiming that information was obtained or
retained in violation of the California or United States Constitutions or these provisions to
file a motion to suppress.

14) Requires any information obtained or retained in violation of the California and United States
Constitutions or these provision to be suppressed.

15) Authorizes the Attorney General to commence a civil action to compel a government entity
to comply with these provisions.

16) Authorizes an individual whose information is disclosed in a manner that is inconsistent with
these provisions or the California or United States Constitutions, or a service provider or any
other recipient of the reverse-location demand or reverse-keyword demand, to file a petition
to void or modify the reverse-location demand or reverse-keyword demand, or to order the
destruction of any information obtained.

17) Requires that a person whose information was obtained by a government entity in violation
of these provision be immediately notified of the violation and of the legal recourse
available to that person, as specified.

18) Authorizes a person whose information was unlawfully obtained by a government entity to
institute a civil action against the government entity for one or any combination of any of the
foliowing:
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a) $1,000 per violation or actual damages, whichever is greater;
b) Punitive damages;

c) Injunctive or declaratory relief; and/or,

d) Any other relief that the court deems proper.

19) Requires a court to consider all of the following in assessing the amount of punitive
damages:

a) The number of people whose information was disclosed;

b) Whether the violation directly or indirectly targeted persons engaged in exercises of
activities protected by the California or United States Constitutions; and,

¢) The persistence of violations by the particular government entity.

20) Requires the court to award reasonable attorney’s fees to a prevailing plaintiff in any
successful action brought for a violation of the prohibition on reverse location demands or
reverse keyword demands.

21) Defines “government entity” as a department or agency of the state or a political subdivision
thereof, or an individual acting for or on behalf of the state or a political subdivision thereof.

22) Defines “California entity” as a California corporation or a corporation whose principal
executive offices are located in California.

23) Defines “compulsory process™ as any court order, including a search warrant, a subpoena or
administrative subpoena, or any other legal process seeking to compel the disclosure of
records or information.

24) Provides that the provision of this act are severable. If any provision or its application is held
invalid, that invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications that can be given
effect without the invalid provision or application.

25) Includes legislative findings and declarations.

EXISTING FEDERAL LAW: Provides that the right of the people to be secure in their
persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be
violated, and no warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation,

and particularly describing the place to be searched and the persons or things to be seized. (U.S.
Const., 4th Amend.)
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EXISTING STATE LAW:

1))

2)

3)

4)

3)

6)

7

8)

Provides that all people are by nature free and independent and have inalienable rights,
including privacy. (Cal. Const., art. [, § 1.)

Provides that the right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects
against unreasonable seizures and searches may not be violated; and a warrant may not issue
except on probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation, particularly describing the place
to be searched and the persons and things to be seized. (Cal. Const., art. I, § 13.)

Prohibits exclusion of relevant evidence in a criminal proceeding on the ground that the
evidence was obtained unlawfully, unless the relevant evidence must be excluded because it
was obtained in violation of the federal Constitution's Fourth Amendment. (Cal. Const., art.
L, § 28, subd. (), par. (2) .)

Defines a "search warrant" as a written order in the name of the people, signed by a
magistrate and directed to a peace officer, commanding them to search for a person or
persons, a thing or things, or personal property, and in the case of a thing or things or
personal property, bring the same before the magistrate. (Pen. Code, § 1523.)

Provides the specific grounds upon which a search warrant may be issued, including when
the property or things to be seized consist of any item or constitute any evidence that tends to
show a felony has been committed, or tends to show that a particular person has committed a
felony. (Pen. Code, § 1524.)

Provides that a search warrant cannot be issued but upon probable cause, supported by
affidavit, naming or describing the person to be searched or searched for, and particularly
describing the property, thing, or things and the place to be searched. (Pen. Code, § 1525.)
Requires a magistrate to issue a search warrant if they are satisfied of the existence of the
grounds of the application, or that there is probable cause to believe their existence. (Pen.
Code, § 1528, subd. (a).)

Provides that a defendant may move to suppress as evidence any tangible or intangible thing
obtained a result of a search or seizure on either of the following grounds:

a) The search or seizure without a warrant was unreasonable; or

b) The search or seizure with a warrant was unreasonable because of any of the following:
i) The warrant is insufficient on its face;
ii) The property or evidence obtained is not that described in the warrant;
i) There was not probable cause for the issuance of the warrant;

iv) The method of execution of the warranted violated federal or state constitutional
standards; or,
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v) There was any other violation of federal or state constitutional grounds. (Pen. Code, §
1538.5, subs. (a)(1).)

9) Requires a provider of electronic communication services or remote computing services to
disclose to a governmental prosecuting or investigating agency the name, address, local and
long distance telephone toll billing records, telephone number or other subscriber number or
identity, and length of service of a subscriber to or customer of that service, and the types of
services the subscriber or customer utilized, when the governmental entity is granted a search
warrant. (Pen. Code, § 1524.3, subd. (a).)

10) States that a governmental entity receiving subscriber records or information is not required
to provide notice of the warrant to a subscriber or customer. (Pen. Code, § 1524.3, subd. (b).)

11) Authorizes a court issuing a search warrant, on a motion made promptly by the service
provider, to quash or modify the warrant if the information or records requested are
unusually voluminous in nature or compliance with the warrant otherwise would cause an
undue burden on the provider. (Pen. Code, § 1524.3, subd. (c).)

12) Requires a provider of wire or electronic communication services or a remote computing
service, upon the request of a peace officer, to take all necessary steps to preserve records
and other evidence in its possession pending the issuance of a search warrant or a request in
writing and an affidavit declaring an intent to file a warrant to the provider. Records shall be
retained for a period of 90 days, which shall be extended for an additional 90-day period
upon a renewed request by the peace officer. (Pen. Code, § 1524.3, subd. (d).)

13) Specifies that no cause of action shall be brought against any provider, its officers,
employees, or agents for providing information, facilities, or assistance in good faith
compliance with a search warrant. (Pen. Code, § 1524.3, subd. (e).)

14) Provides for a process for a search warrant for records that are in the actual or constructive
possession of a foreign corporation that provides electronic communication services or
remote computing services to the general public, where the records would reveal the identity
of the customers using those services, data stored by, or on behalf of, the customer, the
customer’s usage of those services, the recipient or destination of communications sent or
from those customers, or the content of those communications. (Pen. Code, § 1524.2.)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown
COMMENTS:

1) Author's Statement: According to the author, “In the face of a growing slate of anti-
abortion and anti-trans laws in states across the country, California must remain a safe haven
for those seeking reproductive and gender-affirming care. To do that, we must say ‘no’ to
invasive surveillance that would target people seeking needed healthcare here in California
and beyond. AB 793 would preserve our right to safely seek reproductive and gender-
affirming care in the digital age and protect us from invasive and harmful, ‘reverse warrants’
that reveal our highly personal information without sufficient legal process.



2)

3)

AB 793
Page 6

“Reverse geofence and keyword warrants request the disclosure of multiple people’s private
information simply because they were at a particular location during a specific time frame, or
entered certain keywords into a search engine. Reverse warrants can place hundreds or
thousands of unsuspecting and innocent people in the crosshairs of law enforcement,
threatening their Fourth Amendment rights to be free from unreasonable government
searches.

“As a worldwide leader in technology and innovation, we are uniquely positioned to divest
from digital surveillance that would target people for having an abortion or seeking
reproductive and gender-affirming care here in California and beyond. In order to truly
protect our right to abortion, reproductive health care, and gender-affirming care, we must
build on existing law and unequivocally reject the use of reverse warrants. By prohibiting
reverse warrants, AB 793 puts a stop to this kind of indiscriminate government surveillance —
preserving our digital privacy and protecting Californians’ right to live life on our own
terms.”

Search Warrant Requirement: The Fourth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution and
Article I, Section 13 of the California Constitution provide safeguards against unreasonable
search and seizures. Generally, a “search” is a governmental intrusion upon, or invasion of a
person’s security in an area in which they have a reasonable expectation of privacy. (People
v. Mayberry (1982) 13 Cal.3d 35, 341.) These constitutional provisions both generally
require the police to secure a warrant before conducting a search, and specify that the warrant
must be issued “upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched.”

Penal Code section 1523 defines a “search warrant” as an order, in writing, signed by a
magistrate, commanding a peace officer to search for personal property and bring it before a
magistrate. Section 1524 outlines the statutory grounds for issuance of search warrants and
mandates that they be supported by probable cause. The standard for probable cause to issue
a search warrant is “whether, given all the circumstances set forth in the affidavit, there is a
fair probability that contraband or evidence of a crime will be found in a particular place.”
(Illinois v. Gates (1983) 462 U.S. 213, 238.)

The search warrant requirement is subject to some exceptions, such as warrantless vehicle
searches, searches to preserve life or property, searches of probationers and parolees,
temporary searches incident to detention and arrests, and school searches. Consent searches
are also an exception to the warrant requirement of the Fourth Amendment.

Geofence Warrants: This bill would prohibit a government entity from seeking, or a court
from enforcing, a reverse location demand, commonly known as a “geofence warrant.” A
recent article examining the use of geofence warrants by law enforcement describes how they
work:

Geofence warrants “work in reverse” from traditional warrants. Instead of law
enforcement requesting that a third-party provider produce the location history of a
particular suspect’s device, geofence warrants proceed first by giving investigators access
to data for all cellular devices that were present near a crime scene around the time when
the crime occurred. Through a series of iterative steps between the provider and law
enforcement—without the further involvement of a magisirate judge—ithe provider
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produces additional location data with the goal of (1) helping law enforcement figure out
which devices could have been those of the perpetrators; and (2) ultimately revealing the
identities of the suspects.

(Note, Against Geofences (2022) 74 Stan. L.Rev. 385, 388.)

Geofence warrants can cover large geographical areas over long periods of time, causing user
data from many users to be disclosed to law enforcement without any indication that the
users have committed, or have participated in the commission of, a crime. As one article
observes, “Such sweeping searches can unearth the location history of a startling number of
users. One 2019 geofence warrant authorized a geofence covering a total of 29,387 square
meters (or 7.4 acres—about the size of five and a half American football fields) over a period
of nine hours. In response, the provider returned to law enforcement the location data of
1,494 cell phones.” (Note, Against Geofences (2022) 74 Stan. L.Rev. 385, 389.)

Law enforcement has sought increasing numbers of geofence warrants in recent years, and
Google has received the largest share of those warrants.

According to data released by Google, geofence warrants recently constituted more than
25% of all U.S. warrants received by the company. Good disclosed that it received 982
geofence-warrant requests in 2018. This figure, Google explained in a court document
represented over a 1,500% increase in the number of geofence requests as compared to
2017. In 2019, the number of geofence warrants received by Google increased by further
755% over the previous year to 8,396. In 202, the last year for which specific statistics
are publicly available at the time of writing, Google received 11,554 geofence warrants.
California law enforcement represents the most frequent geofence-warrant requester,
having submitted 3,655 of the 20,932 requests logged by Google over the three-year
period.

(Against Geofences, supra, at 390-391.)

Google developed a three-step process for geofence warrants. First, when law enforcement
requests location information for all devices in a given place at a given time, Google
responds with anonymized list of devices, including the device ID, timestamps, estimated
coordinates, and the data source. (/d. at 399-400; see generally U.S. v. Chatrie (E.D.Va 2022)
590 F.Supp.3d 901.) Because the location coordinates are not always precise, “law
enforcement may obtain data for users outside of the warrant’s geographic parameters.”
(Against Geofences, supra, at p. 401-402.) Second, law enforcement reviews the data from
Google, and requests more location history for devices on the list. The subsequent request
might not be reviewed by a magistrate and may exceed the geographic and temporal ranges
of the original request. (/d. at 404) Finally, after reviewing this subsequent data, law
enforcement requests from Google subscriber information, such as the name of the person on
the account, their address, and their email address. (Id. at 405-406.)

Reverse keyword demands work in much the same way as reverse location demands, but law
enforcement requests information for all devices from which a search was conducted using a

certain keyword of phrase.

This bill would prohibit a government entity from seeking, or any court subject to the laws of



AB 793
Page 8

California from enforcing, a reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword demand in this
state.

Geofence Warrants and the Fourth Amendment: The U.S. Supreme Court has not yet
decided whether geofence warrants violate the Fourth Amendment as a matter of law. The
Court has applied Fourth Amendment principles to evolving technologies and law
enforcement tools. (See e.g. Katz v. U.S. (1967) 389 U.S. 347 [recording devices in public
telephone booths]; Kyllo v. U.S. (2001) 533 U.S. 27 [thermal-imaging equipment].) For
example, the Court recently held that law enforcement conducts a search under the Fourth
Amendment when it obtains cell-site location data from wireless carriers, holding that “the
Government must generally obtain a warrant supported by probable cause before acquiring
such records.” (Carpenter v. U.S. (2018) 138 S.Ct. 2206, 2221.)

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and the California Supreme Court have not yet weighed
in on the issue either. Indeed, there is limited case law on the constitutionality of such
warrants. In U.S. v. Chatrie, a Virginia district court found that the geofence warrant in that
case “plainly violat[ed]” the Fourth Amendment. (E.D.Va 2022) 590 F.Supp.3d 901, 905.)
That case involved a defendant who was charged with the armed robbery of a local bank. (/d.
at 906.) During the course of its investigation, local police reviewed security footage of the
defendant entering the bank while speaking on a cell phone. (Id. at 917.) With few other
leads in the case, local police sought and obtained a warrant that “drew a geofence with a
150-meter radius—with a diameter of 300 meters, longer than three football fields—in an
urban environment...encompass[ing] 17.5 acres.” (Id. at 918.) “The Warrant sought location

data for every device present within the geofence™ for the hour during which the robbery
occurred. (/d. at 919.)

The court ruled that the geofence warrant lacked sufficient probable cause to satisty the
Fourth Amendment. According to the court, “[T]he warrant simply did not include any facts
to establish probable cause to collect such broad and intrusive data from each one of these
individuals.” (/d. at 929.) The court observed, “To be sure, a fair probability may have
existed that the Geofence Warrant would generate the suspect’s location information.
However, the warrant, on its face, also swept in unrestricted location data for private citizens
who had no reason to incur Government scrutiny.” (Id. at 929-930 [emphasis in original].)
The court concluded:

At bottom however, particularized probable cause cannot be undercut or avoided by
simply pointing to the fact that coincidentally there exists probable cause to search or
seize another or to search the premises where the person may happen to be. The Court
finds unpersuasive the United States’ inverted probable cause argument—that law
enforcement may seek information based on probable cause that some unknown person
committed an offense, and therefore search every person present nearby. In essence, the
Government’s argument rests on precisely the same “mere propinquity to others”
rationale the Supreme Court has already rejected as appropriate basis for a warrant. This
warrant therefore cannot stand.

(/d. at 933 [internal citations omitted]; but see U.S. v. Rhine (D.D.C. Jan.24, 2023, Crim. A.
No. 21-0687) 2023 U.S.Dist. Lexis 12308 [a geofence warrant is constitutionally permissible
when it precludes “disclosure of deanonymized device information except after separate
order of the court based on a supplemental affidavit”].) Recently, the San Francisco superior
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court granted a defendant’s motion to quash a geofence warrant and suppressed geolocation
evidence obtained as a result. (https.//www.eff.org/document/people-v-dawes-order-granting-
motion-quash-geofence-warrant-california)

Rather than wait for the courts to sort out the constitutional issues, this bill would prohibit a
government entity from seeking, or any court subject to the laws of California from
enforcing, a reverse-location demand or a reverse-keyword demand.

The Exclusionary Rule and Proposition 8: The exclusionary rule requires suppression of
evidence seized during an unreasonable search or seizure in violation of the Fourth
Amendment. (U.S. Const., amend. IV, XIV; Wong Sun v. United States (1963) 371 U.S. 471,
484-487.) Penal Code section 1538.5 requires courts to suppress evidence that was obtained
in a way that violates the California Constitution or the U.S. Constitution.

In 1982, the California voters passed Proposition 8. Proposition 8 enacted article 1, section 28
of the California Constitution, which provides in relevant part: “Right to Truth-in-Evidence.
Except as provided by statute hereafter enacted by a two-thirds vote of the membership in
each house of the Legislature, relevant evidence shall not be excluded in any criminal
proceeding, including pretrial and post-conviction motions and hearings.” (Cal. Const., art. I,
§ 28, subd. (f); People v. Lazlo (2012) 206 Cal.App.4th 1063, 1069.) The “Truth-in-
Evidence” provision of Section 28 “was intended to permit exclusion of relevant, but
unlawfully obtained evidence, only if exclusion is required by the United States
Constitution.” (I re Lance W. (1985) 37 Cal.3d 873, 890 (Lance W.).) Thus, Section 28
federalized California’s search and seizure law. A trial court may exclude evidence under
Penal Code section 1538.5 only if exclusion is mandated by the federal Constitution. (Lance
W., supra, 37 Cal.3d at p. 896.)

This bill would require suppression of evidence obtained through a reverse location demand
or a reverse keyword demand, even if the violation did not require exclusion under the
federal Constitution. Accordingly, this bill may implicate Proposition 8.

Argument in Support: According to the California Women’s Law Center, “The legislature
has recognized the threat that faces these communities, passing A.B. 2091 (Bonta, 2022),
A.B. 1242 (Bauer-Kahan, 2022), and S.B. 107 (Wiener, 2022). Those bills were a good first
step, but more must be done. Unfortunately, police can skirt the protections in last year’s
laws if, for example, they don't say specifically why they want the data. By taking some of
the most invasive surveillance warrants off the table, A.B. 793 would continue to solidify
California’s status as a sanctuary for those seeking reproductive or gender-affirming care.

“The bill specifically addresses the problem of ‘reverse demands’ and would put a stop to
them. Normal warrants seek information about a particular person police have probable cause
to believe merits investigation. A reverse warrant seeks the opposite: the identity of all the
people who were present at a particular location (geofence demands) or who looked up a
particular term in a search engine (keyword demands) simply because of where they were or
what they searched for. Reverse demands have the same practical effect as unconstitutional
general warrants, and courts have found geofence demands unconstitutional.

“These demands, already used to target protestors, can be used to conduct broad fishing
expeditions for those who are seeking needed heaithcare. A police investigator could ask for
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everyone who was outside an unrelated business across the street from a reproductive health
clinic, for example, and get information about who has been near that clinic’s entrance—
along with anyone who happened to be in the area at that moment — while skirting around the
reproductive privacy protections enacted last year.

“Thousands or even millions of people can be included in a single, overbroad request without
any probable cause at all. For example, a single warrant issued in Los Angeles County sought
to identify all devices within a total geographic area equivalent to about 24 football fields
during five morning commute hours on a Friday. The area included several of the most
densely populated cities in the greater Los Angeles area, including Lynwood, with a
population of 13,894 people per square mile and Paramount, with a population of 11,367
people per square mile. In this way, rather than help law enforcement find a needle in a
haystack, reverse warrants give law enforcement a haystack to search through without any
guarantee the needle they want is anywhere inside. Someone might have left their cellphone
at home and so not be included in a geofence warrant, for example, or they could have used
one of dozens of search engines to avoid inclusion in a keyword search warrant to a
particular search engine company.

“Reverse demands have the same practical effect as unconstitutional general warrants.
General warrants are expansive and invasive searches by the government that fail to identify
specific persons, devices, or places to be searched with evidence of probable cause. They
date back to pre-Revolutionary War times when the King used ‘writs of assistance’ to
authorize his agents to ‘carry out wideranging searches of anyone, anywhere, and anytime
regardless of whether they were suspected of a crime. These ‘hated writs® spurred colonists
toward revolution and directly motivated James Madison’s crafting of the Fourth
Amendment.” Since our Nation’s founding, general warrants have been deemed a significant
threat to personal freedom, privacy, and liberty, and the Supreme Court has repeatedly held
that the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution prohibits the use of these
general warrants. It is not surprising then that courts have found reverse-location demands
unconstitutional.

“The use of reverse demands poses a unique threat to those who are seeking reproductive or
genderaffirming care, particularly if they are coming to California from other states. These
mass surveillance demands are dangerous because they allow local law enforcement in states
across the country to request the names and identities of people whose digital data trail shows
they’ve visited California abortion or gender-affirming care providers. They could also
indicate if people searched for revealing particular keywords online such as ‘mifepristone,”’
‘abortion drugs,” ‘top surgery,’ or for care options in California.

“Taking reverse warrants off the table would solidify California’s place as a protector of
those who are merely seeking healthcare. It would also provide needed clarity for companies
that receive these warrants, which have often spoken out against such requests because of the
lack of scrutiny applied before they are issued.” (footnotes omitted)

7) Argument in Opposition: None submitted.

8) Related Legislation:
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AB 642 (Ting), would set minimum standards for use of facial recognition technology
(FRT) by law enforcement, including requiring law enforcement agencies to have a
written policy for FRT use, allowing for FRT use to identify both individuals who are
suspects in a crime and those that are not, and providing that an FRT-generated match of
an individual may not be the sole basis for probable cause for an arrest, search, or
affidavit for a warrant. AB 642 will be heard today in this committee.

AB 79 (Weber), would prohibit a peace officer from using deadly force against or
intending to injure, intimidate, or disorient a person by utilizing any unmanned, remotely
piloted, powered ground or flying equipment except under specified circumstances. AB
79 is pending hearing in this committee.

AB 1034 (Wilson), would prohibit a law enforcement officer or agency from installing,
activating, or using a biometric surveillance system in connection with a law enforcement
agency’s body-worn camera or any other officer camera. AB 1034 is pending hearing in
the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

AB 742 (Jackson), would prohibit the use of canines by peace officers for arrest and
apprehension, or in any circumstances to bite a person, but permits their use of canines
for search and rescue, explosives detection, and narcotics detection. AB 742 is pending
hearing in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

Prior Legislation:

a)

b)

d)

AB 1242 (Bauer-Kahan), Chapter 627, Statutes of 2022, prohibits the issuance of, among
other things, an ex parte order authorizing interception of wire or other electronic
communication or a trap and trace devise for purpose of investigating or recovering
evidence arising out of the lawful abortion services.

SB 1038 (Bradford), of the 2021-2022 Legislative Session, would have deleted the
January 1, 2023 sunset date on the prohibition on law enforcement from installing,
activating or using a biometric surveillance system in connection with a body-worn
camera or data collected by a body-worn camera. SB 1038 failed passage in the Senate.

AB 1215 (Ting), Chapter 579, Statutes of 2019, prohibits a law enforcement officer or
agency from installing, activating, or using a biometric surveillance system in connection
with a law enforcement agency’s body-worn camera or any other camera.

SB 21 (Hill), of the 2017-2018 Legislative Session, would have required local law
enforcement agencies to have a policy, approved by the local governing body, in place
before using surveillance technology. SB 21 was held in the Assembly Appropriations
Committee.

SB 178 (Leno), Chapter 651, Statutes of 2015, prohibits a government entity from
compelling the production of, or access to, electronic-communication information or
electronic-device information without a search warrant or wiretap order, except under
specified emergency situations.
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) SB 34 (Hill) Chapter 532, Statutes of 2015, imposes a variety of security, privacy and
public hearing requirements on the use of automated license plate recognition systems, as
well as a private right of action and provisions for remedies.

g) SB 467 (Leno) of the 2013-2014 Legislative Session, was similar to SB 178. The
Governor vetoed SB 467.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

Access Reproductive Justice

ACLU California Action
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All Family Legal

American Atheists

Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Asian Law Caucus
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California Nurse Midwives Association (CNMA)
California Public Defenders Association
California Women's Law Center

Citizens for Choice
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Date of Hearing: April 11, 2023
Chief Counsel:  Sandy Uribe

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 798 (Weber) — As Amended April 4, 2023

As Proposed to be Amended in Committee

SUMMARY: Redefines female genital mutilation (FGM) and prevents an individual from using
religion, custom, or consent as a defense for crimes arising from the practice of FGM.
Specifically, this bill:

)

2)

3)

4)

5)

Redefines FGM to mean “any procedure that involves partial or total removal of the external
female genitalia, or other injury to the female genital organs for non-medical purposes.”

Provides that it is not a defense to a FGM enhancement or to any crime arising from the
commission of a FGM, including child abuse and mayhem, that the conduct is required as a
matter of religion, custom, ritual, or standard practice, or that the individual on whom it is
performed, or the individual’s parent or guardian, consented to the procedure.

States that evidence that a person removes, causes, permits, or facilitates the removal of a
minor from this state can be used as circumstantial evidence to establish a violation, or an
attempt, of child abuse, the FGM enhancement, mayhem, aggravated mayhem, torture, or any
other crime arising from the commission of female genital mutilation.

Specifies, for purposes of the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act, that FGM is a crime,
and that it is not a defense to the crime that the procedure was performed with consent of the
parent’s minor or because of religious or cultural reasons.

Requires the State Department of Public Health to establish and implement, on or before
January 1, 2027, appropriate education, prevention, and outreach activities, focusing on new
immigrant populations that traditionally practice FGM, for purposes of informing members
of those communities of the prohibition and of the criminal penalties.

EXISTING STATE LAW:

1y

2)

Provides that any person who, under circumstances or conditions likely to produce great
bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any child to suffer, or inflicts unjustifiable
physical pain or mental suffering, or having the care or custody of a child, willfully causes or
permits that child to be injured, or willfully causes or permits that child to be placed in a
situation where their person or health is endangered, shall be punished by imprisonment in a
county jail not exceeding one year, or in the state prison for two, four, or six years. (Pen.
Code, § 273a.)

States that if a conviction for felony child abuse was based on the commission of female
genital mutilation the defendant shall be punished by an additional consecutive term of
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imprisonment in the state prison for one year. (Pen. Code, § 273.4, subd. (a).)

Defines “female genital mutilation” as “the excision or infibulation of the labia majora, labia
minora, clitoris, or vulva, performed for nonmedical purposes.” (Pen. Code, § 273.4, subd.

(b).)

Provides that every person who unlawfully and maliciously deprives a human being of a
member of their body, or disables, disfigures, or renders it useless, or cuts or disables the
tongue, or puts out an eye, or slits the nose, ear, or lip, is guilty of mayhem. Mayhem is
punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for two, four, or eight years. (Pen. Code, §§
203 & 204.)

Provides that every person who unlawfully, under circumstances manifesting extreme
indifference to the physical or psychological well-being of another person, intentionally
causes permanent disability or disfigurement of another or deprives them of a limb, organ, or
member of their body is guilty of aggravated mayhem. Aggravated mayhem is punishable by
imprisonment in the state prison for life with the possibility of parole. (Pen. Code, § 205.)

Provides that every person who, with the intent to cause cruel or extreme pain and suffering
for the purpose of revenge, extortion, persuasion, or for any sadistic purpose, inflicts great
bodily injury upon another, is guilty of torture, Torture is punishable by imprisonment in the
state prison for a term of life. (Pen. Code, §§ 206 & 206.1.)

Provides that every person who attempts to commit any crime, but fails, or is prevented or
intercepted in its perpetration, shall generally be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison or in a county jail, respectively, for one-half the term of imprisonment prescribed upon
a conviction of the offense attempted. (Pen. Code, § 664.)

Establishes the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act. (Pen. Code, § 11164.)

Lists the categories of individuals who are mandated reporters. (Pen. Code, § 11165.7.)

10) Requires a mandated reporter to make a report whenever, in their professional capacity or

within the scope of their employment, they have knowledge of or observe a child whom they
know or reasonably suspect has been the victim of child abuse or neglect. (Pen. Code, §
11166.)

EXISTING FEDERAL LAW:

1)

Makes it a crime punishable by up to 10 years in prison to knowingly:

a) Performs, attempts to perform, or conspires to perform female genital mutilation on
another person who has not attained the age of 18 years;

b) Being the parent, guardian, or caretaker of a person who has not attained the age of 18
years facilitates or consents to the female genital mutilation of such person; or,
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¢) Transports a person who has not attained the age of 18 years for the purpose of the
performance of female genital mutilation on such person. (18 U.S.C.S §116, subd. (a).)

) States that it is not a defense to prosecution that female genital mutilation is required as a

matter of religion, custom, tradition, ritual, or standard practice. (18 U.S.C.S §116, subd.
(c).)

Provides that “transport” includes, among other things, the fact that the defendant or victim
traveled in interstate or foreign commerce, or traveled using a means, channel, facility, or
instrumentality of interstate or foreign commerce, in furtherance of or in connection with the
female genital mutilation. (18 U.S.C.S §116, subd. (d)(1).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

1y

2)

Author's Statement: According to the author, “FGM is a practice that can cause serious
lifelong health problems. It is a practice that has no medical benefits. While it is a challenge
to know the exact number of women and girls who are at risk of FGM in the U.S., the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention estimates more than 500,000 are at risk or have
already undergone FGM in the U.S. AB 798 will hold anyone who takes a minor to another
country to undergo FGM accountable for that action. It also will prevent religion or culture to
be a criminal defense for FGM under state law. This bill sends a strong message that FGM is
not tolerated in California.”

FGM: The World Health Organization defines FGM as “all procedures that involve partial
or total removal of the external female genitalia, or other injury to the female genital organs
for non-medical reasons.” (See World Health Organization FGM Fact Sheet, January 31,
2023, https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/female-genital-mutilation [as of
April 5, 2023].) “FGM has no health benefits, and it harms girls and women in many ways. It
involves removing and damaging healthy and normal female genital tissue, and it interferes
with the natural functions of girls' and women's bodies.” (Ibid.) It is also associated with
health complications ranging from infection, to urinary problems, cysts, complications in
childbirth and increased risk of newborn deaths. (/bid.)

“FGM is recognized internationally as a violation of the human rights of girls and women. It
reflects deep-rooted inequality between the sexes and constitutes an extreme form of
discrimination against girls and women.” (WHO Fact Sheet, supra.) More than 200 million
girls and women alive today have been subjected to FGM in 30 countries in Africa, the
Middle East and Asia where FGM is practiced. (Ibid.)

The World Health Organization classifies FGM into four types:
Type 1: The partial or total removal of the clitoral glans, and/or the prepuce/clitoral hood.

Type 2: The partial or total removal of the clitoral glans and the labia minora, with or without
removal of the labia majora.
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Type 3: Infibulation, which is the narrowing of the vaginal opening through the creation of a
covering seal. The seal is formed by cutting and repositioning the labia minora, or labia
majora, sometimes through stitching, with or without removal of the clitoral prepuce/clitoral
hood and glans.

Type 4: This includes all other harmful procedures to the female genitalia for non-medical
purposes, such as pricking, piercing, incising, scraping and cauterizing the genital area.
(WHO Fact Sheet, supra.)

California’s definition of FGM differs from that of the World Health Organization. Under
California law, FGM is defined as “the excision or infibulation of the labia majora, labia
minora, clitoris, or vulva, performed for nonmedical purposes.” (Pen. Code, § 273.4, subd.
(b).) This definition excludes certain forms of Type 1 FGM (such as cutting of the clitoral
hood) or Type 4 FGM which includes all other harmful procedures to the female genitalia for
non-medical purposes.

This bill would conform California’s definition of FGM with that of the World Health
Organization such that all forms of FGM are specifically prohibited under the law.

Criminalizing FGM: Forty states, including California, and the federal government have
laws prohibiting FGM. (See US Laws Against FGM - State by State - Equality Now [as of
April 6, 2023].)

California generally considers FGM prosecutable under the child abuse statute (Pen. Code, §
273a) and has an additional sentencing enhancement of one year in state prison specifically
required if the child abuse conviction was based on a FGM. (Pen. Code, § 273.4.) Felony
child abuse is punishable by two, four, or six years in state prison (Pen. Code, § 273a), so
with the additional mandatory and consecutive one-year enhancement, the maximum
sentence is seven years in state prison.

However, there are other statutes under which a FGM can be charged. Specifically, an FGM
can be charged under the mayhem or aggravated mayhem statutes, Penal Code sections 203
and 205. To prove that a person is guilty of mayhem, the prosecution must prove, in
pertinent part, that the defendant unlawfully and maliciously: removed a part of someone’s
body, or disabled or made useless a part of someone’s body and the disability was more than
slight or temporary, or permanently disfigured someone. (CALCRIM 801.) A disfiguring
injury may be permanent even if it can be repaired by medical procedures. (Ibid.) A
defendant acts maliciously when they do a wrongful act or when they act with the unlawful
intent to annoy or injure someone else. (/bid.) Mayhem is punishable by two, four, or eight
years in prison. (Pen. Code, § 204.)

To prove that a person is guilty of aggravated mayhem, the prosecution must prove that: (1)
the defendant unlawfully and maliciously disabled or disfigured someone permanently, or
deprived someone else of a limb, organ, or part of their body; (2) when the defendant acted,
they intended to permanently disable or disfigure the other person, or deprive the other
person of part of their body; and, (3) under the circumstances, the defendant’s act showed
extreme indifference to the physical or psychological well-being of the other person.
(CALCRIM 809.) Aggravated mayhem is punishable by life with the possibility of parole.
(Pen. Code, § 205.)
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This bill would declare that it is not a defense to the above crimes, or to any crime arising out
of the commission of a FGM, that the procedure was done for religious, ritual, or customary
reasons and/or that the minor or the minor’s parents consented.

In addition, this bill would specify that evidence that a person removes, causes, permits, or
facilitates the removal of a minor from this state can be used as circumstantial evidence to
establish the commission, or attempted commission, of any crime arising from a FGM.

Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting: The Child Abuse Neglect and Reporting Act (Pen.
Code, §§ 11164 et seq.) provides “a comprehensive reporting scheme aimed toward
increasing the likelihood that child abuse victims [will] be identified.” (Ferraro v. Chadwick
(1990) 221 Cal.App.3d 86, 90.) “The Act requires persons in positions where abuse is likely
to be detected to report promptly all suspected and known instances of child abuse to
authorities for follow-up investigation.” (Ibid.; accord, James W. v. Superior Court (1993) 17
Cal.App.4th 246, 253-254.)

The Act identifies over 40 separate categories of mandated reporters. (Pen. Code, § 11165.7,
subd. (a)(1)-(49).) A mandated reporter must report known or reasonably suspected child
abuse or neglect to a designated agency, specifically “any police or sheriff's department, not
including a school district police or security department, county probation department, if
designated by the county to receive such reports, or county welfare department.” (Pen. Code,
§ 11166, subd. (a).) Failure to make the required report is a misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, §
11166, subd. (¢).)

This bill would specify for purposes of the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act that FGM
is a crime and that it is not a defense to any crime arising out of the commission of a FGM
that the procedure was done because of a religious, cultural, or customary ritual, and that it is
also not a defense that the parent minor, or the minor consented.

Argument in Support: According to the American College of Obstetricians and
Gynecologists (ACOG) District IX, “FGM, sometimes annotated as female genital cutting or
female circumcision, is described by the World Health Organization (WHO) as comprising
"all procedures that involve partial or total removal of the external female genitals, or other
injury to the female genital organs for non-medical reasons." Although these procedures are
more commonly performed in Africa, the Middle East, and Asia, it is estimated that more
than 513,000 girls and women in the U.S. have experienced or are at risk of FGM. People
may arrive in the U.S. having already had the procedure performed, but there are reports of
these procedures being performed in immigrant populations by traditional practitioners, or
children being sent to the family's home country to have the procedures performed.

“Female genital mutilation is internationally recognized as a human rights violation and is
considered an extreme form of discrimination against women. ACOG condemns the practice
of FGM and supports all efforts to eliminate the practice of FGM in the U.S. as well as
internationally.”

Prior Legislation: AB 2125 (Figueroa), Chapter 790, Statutes of 1996, provides that a
person who commits feiony child abuse by an act of female genital mutilation shall be
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punished by an additional term of imprisonment in the state prison for one year.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists District IX
California Catholic Conference

California District Attorneys Association

Equality Now

Nile Sisters Development Initiative

Racial and Ethnic Mental Health Disparities Coalition

SWF International

Opposition
None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Sandy Uribe / PUB. S./(916) 319-3744
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Mock-up based on Version Number 98 - Amended Assembly 4/4/23
Submitted by: Sandy Uribe, Assembly Public Safety Committee

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. Section 124170 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to read:

124170. The State Department of Public Health shall, on or before January 1, 2027, establish and
implement appropriate education, preventative, and outreach activities, focusing on the new
immigrant populations that traditionally practice female genital mutilation, for the purpose of
informing members of those communities of the health risks and emotional trauma inflicted by
this practice and informing those communities and the medical community of the prohibition and
ramifications of Section 273.4 of the Penal Code.

SEC3: Section 273.4 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

273.4. (a) If the act constituting a felony violation of subdivision (a) of Section 273a was female
genital mutilation, as defined in subdivision (c), the defendant shall be punished by an additional
term of imprisonment in the state prison for one year, in addition and consecutive to the
punishment prescribed by Section 273a.

Sandy Uribe

Assembly Public Safety Committee
04/07/2023
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te) “Female genital mutilation” means any procedure that involves partial or total removal of the
external female genitalia, or other injury to the female genital organs for nonmedical reasons.

(c) Evidence that a person removes, causes, permits, or facilitates the removal of a minor
from this state can be used as circumstantial evidence to establish a violation, or an attempt,
under this section, Section 273a, 205, 205, 206, or any other crime arising from the
commission of female genital mutilation.

(d) Nothing in this section shall preclude prosecution under Section 203, 205, or 206 or any other
provision of law.

(e) It is not a defense to this section, Section 273a, 205, 205, 206, or any other crime arising
from the commission of female genital mutilation that the conduct is required as a matter of
religion, custom, ritual, or standard practice, or that the minor on whom it is performed, or
the minor’s parent or guardian, consented to the procedure.

SEC. 3. Section 11165.16 is added to the Penal Code, to read:

For purposes of this article, female genital mutilation is child abuse pursuant to Section
2734. “Female genital mutilation” means any procedure that involves partial or total
removal of the external female genitalia, or other injury to the female genital organs for
nonmedical reasons. It is not a defense to female genital mutilation that the conduct is
required as a matter of religion, custom, ritual, or standard practice, or that the minor on
whom it is performed, or the minor’s parent or guardian, consented to the procedure.

SEC. 4. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B of the
California Constitution because the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school
district will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction, eliminates a ctime or
infraction, or changes the penalty for a crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556
of the Government Code, or changes the definition of a crime within the meaning of Section 6 of
Article XIII B of the California Constitution.

Sandy Uribe

Assembly Public Safety Committee
04/07/2023
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Date of Hearing: April 11, 2023
Counsel: Cheryl Anderson

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 808 (Mathis) — As Amended March 30, 2023

SUMMARY: Provides that rape of a developmentally disabled person shall be punished by the
same prison sentences that apply to rape of a minor accomplished by force, duress, or threats.
Specifically, this bill:

1)

2)

3)

4)

3)

Makes the penalty for the crime of rape of a person who is under 14 years of age, who has a
developmental disability which is known, or reasonably should be known, to the perpetrator,
imprisonment in the state prison for 9, 11, or 13 years.

Requires, however, that if the developmentally disabled minor is 10 years of age or younger
than the perpetrator, the perpetrator be prosecuted under the law pertaining to sex acts with a
child 10 years of age or younger.

Makes the penalty for the crime of rape of a person who is 14 years of age or older, who has
a developmental disability which is known, or reasonably should be known, to the
perpetrator, imprisonment in the state prison for 7, 9, or 11 years.

Provides this does not preclude prosecution under any other provision of law, including
aggravated sexual assault of a child which is punishable by 15-years-to-life in state prison.

Defines “developmental disability” to mean a disability that originates before an individual
attains 18 years of age, continues, or can be expected to continue, indefinitely, and
constitutes a substantial disability for that individual, and for which a regional center finds
eligibility for services under the Lanterman Developmental Disabilities Services Act. The
term includes intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism, and disabling conditions
found to be closely related to intellectual disability or to require treatment similar to that
required for individuals with an intellectual disability.

EXISTING LAW:

1y

2)

Includes within the definition of rape an act of sexual intercourse with a person other than a
spouse, who is incapable, because of a mental disorder or developmental or physical
disability, of giving legal consent, and this is known or reasonably should be known to the
person committing the act. (Pen. Code, § 261, subd. (a)(1).)

Provides that a person who commits an act of rape against a victim who is incapable of
giving legal consent due to a mental disorder or developmental or physical disability, shall be

punished by imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years. (Pen. Code, §
264.)
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Provides that all rape is a serious felony subject to increased penalties, including under the
Three Strikes Law. (Pen. Code, § 1192.7, subd. (¢)(3).)

Provides that a person who commits rape upon a child who is under 14 years of age, when
the act is accomplished against the victim’s will by means of force, violence, duress, menace,
or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the person or another, shall be punished
by imprisonment in the state prison for 9, 11, or 13 years. When the victim is 14 years of age
or older, the punishment is imprisonment in the state prison for 7, 9, or 11 years. (Pen. Code,
§ 264, subd. (c)(1) & (¢)(2).)

Defines unlawful sexual intercourse as an act of sexual intercourse accomplished with a
person who is not the spouse of the perpetrator, if the person under 18 years of age. (Pen.
Code, § 261.5, subd. (a).)

Provides that a person who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor
who is not more than three years older or three years younger than the perpetrator, is guilty of
a misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, § 261.5, subd. (b).)

Provides that a person who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor
who is more than three years younger than the perpetrator is guilty of either a misdemeanor
or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year,
or by imprisonment in the county jail for 16 months, two or three years under realignment.
(Pen. Code, § 261.5, subd. (c).)

Provides that a person 21 years of age or older who engages in an act of unlawful sexual
intercourse with a minor who is under 16 years of age is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a
felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by

imprisonment in a county jail for two, three, or four years under realignment. (Pen. Code, §
261.5, subd. (d).)

Provides that a person 18 years of age or older who engages in sexual intercourse or sodomy
with a child who is 10 years of age or younger shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for a term of 25 years to life. (Pen. Code, § 288.7, subd. (a).)

10) Provides that a person 18 years of age or older who engages in oral copulation or sexual

penetration with a child who is 10 years of age or younger is guilty of a felony and shall be

punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a term of 15 years to life. (Pen. Code, §
288.7, subd. (b).)

11) Provides that a person who commits an act of sexual penetration by foreign object or sodomy

against a victim who is incapable of giving legal consent due to a mental disorder or
developmental or physical disability shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for a period of three, six, or eight years. If both the defendant and victim are confined in the
state hospital or a treatment facility of the mentally disordered, the offense is punishable by
16 months, two, or three years in state prison, or up to one year in the county jail. (Pen. Code,
§§ 286, subds. (g) & (h), 289, subds. (b) & (c).)

12) Defines “sexual penetration” as “the act of causing the penetration, however slight, of the

genital or anal opening of any person or causing another person to so penetrate the
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defendant’s or another person’s genital or anal opening for the purpose of sexual arousal,

gratification, or abuse by any foreign object, substance, instrument, or device, or by any
unknown object.

13) Provides that a person who commits an act of sexual penetration upon a child who is under
14 years of age, when the act is accomplished against the victim’s will by means of force,
violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or
another person, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 8, 10, or 12 years.
(Pen. Code, § 289, subd. (a)(1)(B).)

14) Provides that a person who commits an act of sexual penetration upon a minor who is 14
years of age or older, when the act is accomplished against the victim’s will by means of
force, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the
victim or another person, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 6, 8, or 10
years. (Pen. Code, § 289, subd. (a)(1)(C).)

15) Provides an additional punishment of one year when the defendant knows or reasonably
should know that the victim of an enumerated offense, including rape or sexual penetration
accomplished by force, duress or threats, is 65 years of age or older, blind, deaf,
developmentally disabled, a paraplegic, a quadriplegic, or under 14 years old. (Pen. Code, §
667.9, subd. (a).)

16) Provides an additional punishment of two years when the defendant knows or reasonably
should know that the victim of an enumerated offense is 65 years of age or older, blind, deaf,
developmentally disabled, a paraplegic, a quadriplegic, or under 14 years old, and where the
defendant also has a prior conviction for one of those crimes. (Pen. Code, § 667.9, subd. (b).)

17) Defines "developmentally disabled" for purposes of the vulnerable victim enhancement as "a
severe, chronic disability of a person, which is all of the following:

a) Attributable to a mental or physical impairment or a combination of mental and physical
impairments;

b) Likely to continue indefinitely; and,

¢) Results in substantial functional limitation in three or more of the following areas of life
activity:

i) Self-care;
ii) Receptive and expressive language;
iii) Learning;
iv) Mobility;

v) Self-direction;
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vi) Capacity for independent living; or,
vii) Economic self-sufficiency." (Pen. Code, § 667.9, subd. (d).)

18) Provides that a person who commits an enumerated offense, including rape or sexual
penetration accomplished by force, duress or threats, upon a child who is under 14 years of
age and seven or more years younger than the person is guilty of aggravated sexual assault of
a child. (Pen. Code, § 269, subd. (a).)

19) Makes aggravated sexual assault of a child punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for
15 years to life and requires the court to impose a consecutive sentence for each offense that
results in a conviction under this provision if the crimes involve separate victims or involve
the same victim on separate occasions. (Pen. Code, § 269, subds. (b) & (c).)

20) Provides that a person who commits any lewd or lascivious act upon or with the body of a
child who is under the age of 14 years, with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying
the lust, passions, or sexual desires of that person or the child, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years. (Pen. Code, § 288, subd. (2).)

21) Defines lewd and lascivious acts upon a child under the age of 14 years as a serious and
violent felony subject to increased penalties, including under the Three Strikes Law. (Pen.
Code, §§ 667.5, subd. (c)(6), 1192.7, subd. (c)(6).)

22) Provides that a person who commits a lewd or lascivious act, and the victim is a child of 14
or 15 years, and that person is at least 10 years older than the child, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for one, two, or three years, or by imprisonment in a county
jail for not more than one year. (Pen. Code, § 288, subd. (¢c)(1).)

23) Defines “developmental disability” to mean a disability that originates before an individual
attains 18 years of age, continues, or can be expected to continue, indefinitely, and
constitutes a substantial disability for that individual. The term includes intellectual
disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism, and disabling conditions found to be closely
related to intellectual disability or to require treatment similar to that required for individuals
with an intellectual disability. (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 4512, subd. (a).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown
COMMENTS:

1) Author's Statement: According to the author, “Ensuring the rights of our most vulnerable is
a bipartisan issue. This bill isn’t being pushed to promote one ideological agenda on crime or
another. It’s being introduced to solve a problem that is disproportionately affecting disabled
children. AB 808 is compassionate. It is the type of law government was formed to pass.
Those who sincerely care about equity and protecting the marginalized will recognize that[.]”

2) Current Penalties: An act of sexual intercourse committed with a mentally disordered,
developmentally disabled, or physically disabled person who is unable to give legal consent
is rape and punishable by up to eight years in prison. (Pen. Code, §§ 261, subd. (a)(1); 264,
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subd. (a).) The penalties are increased where any victim of rape is a minor and the act was
accomplished by force, duress or threats. If the minor victim was under 14 years of age, the
offense is punishable by 9, 11, or 13 years in state prison. If the minor victim was 14 years of
age or older, the offense is punishable by 7, 9, or 11 years in state prison. (Pen. Code, § 264,
subd. (¢).)

Moreover under current law, it is always illegal to have sexual intercourse with a person
under 18 years of age who is not your spouse. (Pen. Code, § 261.5, subd. (a).) The law deems
minors incapable of giving legal consent to have sex. Depending on the circumstances, the
act may be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. Age difference is a significant factor
regarding penalties. For example, if the defendant is 21 years of age or older, and the minor
is under the age of 16, the penalty is a term of up to four years. (Pen. Code, § 261.5, subd.
(d).) If the person 18 years of age or older and the minor is 10 years of age or younger, the
punishment is 25-years-to-life in state prison. (Pen. Code, § 288.7, subd. (a).)

Lewd or lascivious acts upon a child under 14 years of age is punishable by three, six, or
eight years in prison. (Pen. Code, § 261.5, subd. (a).) If the child is 14 or 15 years of age, and
the perpetrator is at least 10 years older, the act is punishable by a term up to three years.
(Pen. Code, § 261.5, subd. (a).)

This bill would make the rape of a developmentally disabled person punishable by the same
prison sentences that apply to rape of minor that is accomplished by force, duress or threats.
Where the victim is under 14 years of age, the punishment would be 9, 11, or 13 years in
state prison. Where the victim is 14 years of age or older, the punishment would be 7, 9, or
11 years in state prison. These increased penalties would apply irrespective of whether the
perpetrator themselves was a minor, including a minor with developmental disabilities
themselves.

As a practical matter, as introduced this bill was directed at minor victims. As amended, the
increased penalties in this bill would now also apply to adult victims with a developmental
disability. Importantly, an act of sexual intercourse with a developmentally disabled adult
falls under the rape statute and is punishable by up to eight years in prison, where the
developmentally disabled person cannot give legal consent. The inability to legally consent
due to a developmental disability is what makes the sexual act rape and, in particular, in the
case of an adult victim. (A minor can never legally consent to sexual acts). The enhanced
penalty under this bill would apply to an adult victim. Yet there are no distinguishing
circumstances that would trigger the enhanced punishment where the victim is an adult.

Increased Penalties and Lack of Deterrent Effect: According the U.S. Department of
Justice, “Laws and policies designed to deter crime by focusing mainly on increasing the
severity of punishment are ineffective partly because criminals know little about the
sanctions for specific crimes. More severe punishments do not ‘chasten’ individuals
convicted of crimes, and prisons may exacerbate recidivism.” (National Institute of Justice,
U.S. Department of Justice, Five Things About Deterrence (June 5, 2016)
https://nij.ojp.gov/topics/articles/five-things-about-deterrence.) Rather than penalty increases,
the N1J, advocates for polices that “increase the perception that criminals will be caught and

punished” because such perception is a vastly more powerful deterrent than increasing the
punishment. (/bid.)
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In a 2014 report, the Little Hoover Commission also addressed the disconnect between
science and sentencing — that is, putting away offenders for increasingly longer periods of
time, with no evidence that lengthy incarceration, for many, brings any additional public
safety benefit. (Little Hoover Commission, Sensible Sentencing for a Safer California (2014)
at p. 4 https://lIhc.ca.gov/sites/lhc.ca.gov/files/Reports/219/Report219.pdf.)

Background: In 2010, Disability Rights California (DRC) “issued an advisory to every law
enforcement agency in the state, reminding them about the increased risk of sexual assault
for individuals with disabilities and challenging the bias that people with developmental
disabilities and cognitive impairments are not reliable reporters of abuse. DRC called for law
enforcement agencies to follow Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training
(POST) guidelines for sexual assault investigations. Children with disabilities, in particular,
are three times more likely to be victims of sexual abuse than children without them.”
(https://www.disabilityrightsca.org/post/sexual-assault-awareness-month.) DRC has pushed
for reforms ensuring that assaults are promptly reported and investigated. (Zbid.)

According to a study in the Journal of Law and Human Behavior, “Children and adolescents
with intellectual disabilities are especially likely to be sexually abused. Even so, their claims
are not likely to be heard in court, possibly because people assume that jurors will not believe
them.” (https:/link.springer.com/article/10.1023/A:1022551314668.)

According to the California Coalition against Sexual Assault (CALCASA), “Research has
shown that programs that address the root causes of sexual violence, by modifying risk
factors and/or enhancing protective factors, can prevent sexual violence perpetration (DeGue
et al., 2014).”(https://www.calcasa.org/wp-
content/uploads/2018/02/CALCASA_CCofSV_FINALSpreads_2018.pdf at p. 3.)
“Prevention programs would lead to substantial cost savings: every prevented rape of an
adult could save up to $163,800, and every prevented rape or sexual assault of a child could
save up to $227,700. Preventing future incidents of sexual violence, while maintaining and
improving services, would reduce costs to victims, governments and society. (/bid.)

This bill is not directed at ensuring these assaults are promptly reported and investigated nor
is it directed at prevention programs. Rather, it would increase the penalty for rape of a
developmentally disabled person.

Argument in Support: According to the California District Attorneys Association, “Minors
are already vulnerable to sexual predators because of their age. That vulnerability is
compounded when a child suffers from a mental disorder, a developmental disability, or a
physical disability. AB 808 will hold child rapists properly accountable for their crimes.”

Argument in Opposition: According to the California Public Defenders Association, “AB
808 is confusing and unnecessary. The bill takes a law, Penal Code section 261(a)(1), that is
intended to protect adults who are unable to consent to sexual intercourse due to a
mental/physical disorder or developmental disability and extends it to minors. This is
problematic for two reasons. Case law about whether a particular adult’s disability rises to
the level of the inability to consent to sexual intercourse has been a fact specific inquiry on a
case by case basis. (Capacity to Consent to Sexual Activity Among those with
Developmental Disabilities, Stanford Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Law and
Policy Project avaiiable online at https://law.stanford.edu/publications/capacity-to-consent-
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to-sexual-activity-among-those-with-developmental-disabilities/ ) Contrast, existing law
already prohibits sexual intercourse with a minor, regardless of whether or not the minor
consented. A minor can never “consent” to sexual intercourse with an adult; it is always
illegal. Children are already protected from sexual intercourse and consent is never an issue.

“Further, the law already has harsh penalties for anyone who has sexual intercourse with a
minor, particularly a younger minor. For instance, the penalty for sexual intercourse with a
minor who is 10 years or younger is already 25 years to life much more than the 9, 11 or 13
years proposed by AB 808. Any sexual contact with a child under 14 years old, including
touching with a lewd or lascivious intent, is already punishable by 3, 6, or § years.”

Prior Legislation:

a)

b)

d)

AB 1335 (Maienschein), of the 2013-2014 legislative session, would have made specified
sex crimes committed against developmentally disabled victims, as defined, qualifying
crimes under the One Strike life-term sentencing scheme and the vulnerable victim
sentence enhancement, as specified. AB 1335 was held in the Senate Appropriations
Committee.

SB 922 (Knight), of the 2013-2014 legislative session, would have provided that a sex
crime against a mentally disordered, developmentally disabled, or physically disabled
person by force, duress or threats shall be punished by the same prison sentences that
apply to sex crimes accomplished by force, duress or threats against a child under the age
of 14. SB 922 was not heard in this committee at the author’s request.

AB 1844 (Fletcher), Chapter 219, Statutes of 2010, enacted "Chelsea's Law", which
increased the punishment for rape, sodomy, oral copulation, or sexual penetration upon a
child who is under 14 years of age to imprisonment in state prison for 9, 11, or 13 years,
and if committed upon a minor who is 14 years of age or older, to imprisonment in state
prison for 7, 9, or 11 years.

AB 313 (Zettel), Chapter 569, Statutes of 1999, added deaf and developmentally disabled
persons as qualifying victims to the existing enhancement statute for serious crimes
committed against the elderly, children under age 14, and persons who are either blind, a
paraplegic, or quadriplegic.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Arcadia Police Officers' Association

Association of Regional Center Agencies

Burbank Police Officers' Association

California Coalition of School Safety Professionals
California District Attorneys Association
California State Sheriffs' Association

Claremont Police Officers Association

Corona Police Officers Association



Crime Victims Alliance

Culver City Police Officers' Association

Deputy Sheriffs' Association of Monterey County
Fullerton Police Officers' Association

Los Angeles School Police Officers Association
Newport Beach Police Association

Palos Verdes Police Officers Association

Peace Officers Research Association of California (PORAC)
Placer County Deputy Sheriffs' Association
Pomona Police Officers' Association

Riverside Police Officers Association

Riverside Sheriffs' Association

Santa Ana Police Officers Association

Upland Police Officers Association

Opposition
California Public Defenders Association (CPDA)
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Date of Hearing: April 11, 2023
Counsel; Mureed Rasool

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 856 (Stephanie Nguyen) — As Amended March 9, 2023

SUMMARY: Creates the Statewide Active Shooter and Student Rescue Training Facility, which
will be developed and administered by the Sacramento County Sheriff’s Department to train law
enforcement, first responders, school educators, and other personnel on active school shooter
situations. Specifically, this bill:

D

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7

Establishes the Statewide Active Shooter and Student Rescue Training Facility for the

purposes of training law enforcement agencies, emergency medical and fire personnel,
school educators, and other personnel across the state for preparedness in active school
shooter situations.

States that the training facility for the active shooter program will be located at the
Sacramento County Sheriff Department’s (SCSD) shooting range in Elk Grove, California.

Provides that training at the facility will be conducted by law enforcement officers employed
or under contract with the SCSD and other experts that have a memorandum of
understanding with the SCSD.

Requires that the training facility provide simulations for neutralizing active shooters and
rescuing individuals located on campus grounds.

Provides that the training be consist with SCSD policies and training standards developed by
the California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST).

States that training may be provided on:

a) Less than lethal force application;

b) Critical incident communication and negotiations;

¢) Intelligence-gathering equipment such as drones;

d) Emergency medical response and care;

e) School staff awareness and policy for lockdowns and escape plans; and,
f) Live scenario training and classroom instruction.

Mandates that the training facility also be used for purposes of human trafficking-related
incidents and provide simulation training on rescuing victims of human trafficking.
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EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

3)

4

S)

6)

7

8)

9)

Establishes POST and requires POST to set minimum standards for the recruitment and
training of peace officers, develop training courses and curriculum, and establish a
professional certificate program that awards different levels of certification based on training,
education, experience, and other specified criteria. (Pen. Code, §§ 13500 et seq.)

Requires POST, when establishing standards for training, to permit the training to be
obtained at institutions approved by POST. (Pen. Code, § 13511.)

Requires POST to consult with the Department of Justice and other knowledgeable
individuals about active shooter incidences and develop a training that addresses current
theory, terminology, historical issues, and procedures necessary to appropriately respond to
and effectively mitigate the effects of such incidences. (Pen. Code, § 13519.12, subds. (a) &

(e).)

Requires POST to develop guidelines for law enforcement response to human trafficking in
consultation with appropriate experts. The guidelines must stress the dynamics and
manifestations of human trafficking, identifying and communicating with victims, and
protection of the victim, among other things. (Pen. Code, § 13519.14.)

States that POST administers the Course Certification Program to provide needed and quality
training to law enforcement personnel and that references to a course being “POST-certified”
means that POST has approved presentation of the course in accordance with specified POST
regulations. (11 C.C.R. § 1051.)

Outlines the minimum training standards for instructors of POST-certified specialized
training. (11 C.C.R., § 1070.)

Requires school safety plans to include procedures for conducting tactical responses to
criminal incidents such as active shooters, among other things. (Ed. Code, § 32282.)

Creates the Peace Officers’ Training Fund, renames it the State Penalty Fund, and states that

any city, county, or other district desiring to receive state aid from the fund must apply to the
commission for aid. (Pen. Code, §§ 13520, 13522.)

States that POST may not allocate monies from the State Penalty Fund to any city, county, or
other jurisdiction that is not adhering to the standards established by POST. (Pen. Code, §
13523.)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

1

Author's Statement: According to the author, “AB 856 will create a first of its kind
statewide active shooter and student rescue training facility regionally located in Sacramento
County. The location is important as it is centrally locaied in the middle of the state and is
easily accessible. The facility would serve as a training center for Sheriff’s Departinents,



2)
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Municipal Police Departments, School Law Enforcement Agencies (LEA’S), Statewide
LEA’S, Municipal Emergency Medical and Fire Personnel, school educators/personnel from
across the state to prepare and train for active shooter situations at school facilities.

“The training facility would provide simulations for neutralizing active shooters, rescuing
students, personnel and extraction of students in all k-12 schools, higher education sites and
facilities used for educational related events. At this facility, training would be provided on:

Less lethal force application

Communications and Critical Incident Negotiations

Intelligence gathering equipment such as indoor drones

Emergency medical response and care

School staff awareness and policy/procedures for lockdowns, escape plans for
student and other staff safety

o Live scenario training as well as classroom instruction

c O O 0O O

“Furthermore, the training facility would have a secondary component and would serve as a
training facility for the purposes of human trafficking related incidents and would provide
simulation training to LEA’s on the Rescue and extraction of victims of human trafficking
from structures used to illegally house and transport victims of human trafficking.”

Active Shooter Training: Active shooter situations have been on the rise nationwide.
According to a 2017 California State Auditor (State Auditor) Report, which examined FBI
data between 2000 and 2015, school campuses have been the second most common location
for active shooter incidences to occur. (State Auditor. School Violence Prevention. (Aug.
2017) <https://www.auditor.ca.gov/pdfs/reports/2016-136.pdf> [as of Apr. 3, 2023] atp. 1.)
Currently, California is the state with the most school shootings having at least one victim
injury or death since 2012. (U.S. News. States With the Most School Shootings. (Mar. 31,
2023) <https://www.usnews.com/news/best-states/articles/2022-05-27/states-with-the-most-
school-shootings™> [as of Apr. 6, 2023].)

Indeed, the most recent active shooter incident garnering national headlines occurred at The
Covenant School in Nashville, where an assailant murdered three children and three school
employees before officers gunned the assailant down. (Associated Press. Nashville police:
School shooter planned attack for months. <https://apnews.com/article/nashville-school-
shooting-covenant-5233141e86bd91f1289a1989¢c3e54bfd> [as of Apr. 3, 2023].) The active
shooter training received by officers in Nashville, and the outcome in comparison with that in
Uvalde, highlighted to many the importance of such training, although others have pointed
out potential key situational differences that may have altered the results. (N.Y. Times. How
Nashville Prepared for the Day it Never Wanted to Face. (Apr. 2, 2023)
<https://www.nytimes.com/2023/04/02/us/nashville-uvalde-shooting-preparation.htmI> [as
of Apr. 3,2023]; N.Y. Times. The Nashville shooting response draws comparisons to
Uvalde, but there are key differences. (Mar. 28, 2023)
<https://www.nytimes.com/2023/03/28/us/nashville-uvalde-school-shooting-response.html>
[as of Apr. 3, 2023].) In Uvalde, only 20% of the deputies at the Uvalde County Sheriff’s
Office had received any active-shooter training at all. (ABC News. Uvalde county report
reveals lack of active shooter training within sheriff’s department. (Dec. 12, 2022)
<https://abenews.go.com/US/uvalde-county-report-reveals-lack-active-shooter-
training/story?id=95095874> [as of Apr. 6, 2023].) In Nashvilie, the city heid repeated
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trainings for rank-and-file officers and senior staff members, and some of the active training
sessions actually took place in a local middle school building. (N.Y. Times. How Nashville
Prepared for the Day It Never Wanted to Face. (Updated Apr. 4, 2023)
<https://www.nytimes.com/2023/04/02/us/nashville-uvalde-shooting-preparation.html> [as
of Apr. 6, 2023].)

In California, AB 1598 (Rodriguez), Chapter 668, Statutes of 2014, among other things,
required POST to establish training standards and develop a course of instruction relating to
active shooter incidences. According to information provided by POST, there are currently
16 courses that are either active shooter centric or cover active shooter situations as a
component. Since 2020, 56 agencies or organizations have completed over 1,300
presentations that cover active shooter situations. The California Highway Patrol (CHP) has
conducted the highest number of such presentations, followed by San Jose PD and the State
Threat Assessment Center.

This bill, among other things, would require that an active shooter course be established
specifically within a SCSD range facility, and be run by the SCSD in accordance with POST
and SCSD standards. While the author says Sacramento is centrally located, what
differentiates this facility from the CHP Academy? Moreover, would it be a better idea to
explore the feasibility of conducting trainings at local schools? As mentioned above, at least
some of the training conducted in Nashville occurred in a middle school building. Although
part of this bill states that any training must be in accordance with POST standards, another
part states that it must also be in accordance with SCSD standards. If a POST training
standard did not cover a certain aspect of an active shooter situation, would SCSD be
authorized to fill in the blank with any policy they deem fit?

Moreover, is there some aspect of the current process that is currently deficient? As
mentioned above, POST already certifies active shooter trainings, and there is already an
outlined process as to how such trainings get certified. Furthermore, POST has issued
regulations that require a POST-certified course to be recertified at specified biennial
intervals. (11 C.C.R § 1056.) This bill would not require the SCSD course to be certified at
all, which, unlike certified trainings, would leave open who decides whether or not SCSD is
complying with POST training standards. This bill specifically states that training could be
provided on less than lethal force application, intelligence-gathering equipment such as
drones, live scenario training, and classroom instruction. Would this lead to a state-created
program without a state body overseeing it? To be sure, an agency could create noncertified
training on their own that deals with active shooter incidences, however, this leads back to
questions regarding the necessity of this bill.

Lastly, this bill would require that the training facility also serve as a training facility for
human trafficking-related incidents and training on the rescue and extraction of human
trafficking victims from structures used to illegally house them. This portion of the bill
seemingly faces the same questions posed above.

Argument in Support: According to the Sacramento County Sheriff’s Office, “Like many
of these incidents, the Uvalde shooting demonstrated many failures that, if corrected, could
save lives. The shortcomings in response to that incident show that 1) better training for law
enforcement, fire, emergency medical services (EMS), and school staff is needed, 2) a
coordinated response to these events is critical, and 3) mistakes continue to be made at a
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response level from management decisions to operations on the ground.

“The crisis of school shootings is not decreasing; it is increasing. 2022 was the deadliest
year, recording 51 school-related shootings, a 69% increase. In almost all of these incidents,
there were things that law enforcement, fire, EMS, and educators could have done better.
Many of which would have saved the lives of students and staff,

“The crime of human trafficking has become a growing national concern and is on a steep
rise. Two thousand one hundred ninety-eight persons were referred to U.S. Attorneys for
human trafficking offenses in the fiscal year 2020, a 62% increase from 2011. The number of
person prosecuted for human trafficking increased from 729 in 2011 to 1,343 in 2020, an
84% increase. California consistently has the highest human trafficking rates in the United
States, with 1,507 cases reported in 2019. Most of the sex trafficking victims in California
are held in facilities that operate illicit massage and spa businesses and hotels or motels.

“Crimes of mass school shootings and human trafficking are two of the top issues facing law
enforcement today. This is why a state-of-the-art regional training center that co-trains law
enforcement, fire, EMS, and educators are critical.

“The funding for this project will be used to construct a regional training facility. The
primary focus will be active school shooters, including a human trafficking rescue. It will be
a one-of-a-kind facility not replicated anywhere in the region or State.

“The facility will provide simulations for neutralizing active shooters and extracting and
rescuing students and staff during these events. To include less-than-lethal force application;
communication and critical incident negotiations; Intelligence gathering operations;
emergency medical response and care; school staff awareness and policy and procedures for
lockdowns and escape plans for student and staff safety; live scenario and classroom
instruction, and; human trafficking operations to include victim extraction and care. The
facility will include life like strategies and classroom instruction in which law enforcement,
fire, EMS, and educators can coordinate an effective training response and rescue plan.”

Argument in Opposition: None received.

Related Legislation: SB 553 (Cortese), would require employers to, among other things,
include in their workplace violence prevention plans a response strategy for active shooter
situations. SB 553 is set to be heard in the Senate Committee on Labor, Public Employment,
and Retirement on April 12.

Prior Legislation:

a) AB 1888 (Flora), of the 2021-2022 Legislative Session, would have required the City of
Fresno and the Fresno Unified School District to collaborate with the California College
and University Police Chiefs Association to establish an active shooter and mass
emergency coordinated response program for local education agencies, as outlined. AB
1888 was never heard in the Assembly Education Committee.

b) AB 229 (Holden), Chapter 697, Statutes of 2021, required certain private investigators,
security guards, and other specified individuals to undergo training, that among other
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things, covers active shooter situations.

AB 1499 (Flora), of the 2019-2020 Legislative Session, would have required a grant
program to be administered by the Office of Emergency Services for a pilot program
establishing radio and media interoperability between schools and local fire agencies. AB
1499 was held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

AB 3168 (Quirk-Silva), of the 2019-2020 Legislative Session, would have required
school safety plans to include, among other things, active shooter plans, active shooter
drills, and required notice to be given to guardians of pupils informing them of such
active shooter safety activities. AB 3168 was held in the Assembly Education Committee.

AB 1747 (Rodriguez), Chapter 806, Statutes of 2018, required comprehensive school
safety plans to include procedures for conducting tactical responses to active shooters.

AB 767 (Santiago), Chapter 83, Statutes of 2015, required community colleges to
consider developing a response plan for active shooters on campus.

AB 1598 (Rodriguez), Chapter 668, Statutes of 2014, among other things, required POST
to establish training standards and develop a course of instruction on active shooter
incidences.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Sacramento County Sheriff Jim Cooper

Opposition

None.

Analysis Prepared by: Mureed Rasool / PUB. S./(916) 319-3744
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Counsel: Cheryl Anderson

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

AB 945 (Reyes) — As Amended March 16, 2023

SUMMARY:: Requires courts to report specified data to the Department of Justice (DOJ)
regarding petitions for expungement relief filed on the basis of having successfully participated
as an incarcerated fire camp member or at an institutional firehouse. Specifically, this bill:

1) Provides that on or before May 1, 2024, and on or before May 1 of every other year
thereafter, each superior court shall report the following information to the DOJ regarding
petitions filed for expungement relief on the basis of having successfully participated in the
California Conservation Camp program, or a county incarcerated individual hand crew, or an
institutional firehouse:

a) The number of petitions filed requesting relief;,
b) The date a petition was filed;

c) The date a decision was issued for the petition;
d) The number of petitions granted;

¢) The number of petitions denied;

f) The number of pending petitions at the time of the report to the DOJ; and,

g) Whether the petition was filed by a public defender’s office, defense counsel, nonprofit
organization, or a self-represented defendant.

2) Requires that on or before June 1, 2024, and on or before June 1 of every other year
thereafter, the DOJ shall compile the data received from each superior court and submit a
report to the Legislature containing the statewide data for each of the categories of
information requested.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Provides that the following defendants, after having been released from custody, are eligible
to petition for expungement relief:

a) A defendant who successfully participated in the California Conservation Camp program
as an incarcerated individual hand crew member, as determined by the Secretary of the
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR);
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b) A defendant who successfully participated as a member of a county incarcerated
individual hand crew, as determined by the appropriate county authority; or,

¢} A defendant who participated at an institutional firehouse, as determined by the Secretary
of CDCR. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (a)(1).)

Makes incarcerated individuals who have been convicted of any of the following crimes
ineligible for expungement relief:

a) Murder;

b) Kidnapping.

¢) Rape by force or threats of retaliation;

d) Lewd acts on a child under 14 years of age;

e) Any felony punishable by death or imprisonment in the state prison for life;
f) Any sex offense requiring registration;

g) Escape from a secure perimeter within the previous 10 years; or

h) Arson. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (a)(1).)

Provides that any denial of relief pursuant to this section shall be without prejudice. (Pen.
Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (a)(2).)

States that successful participation in a conservation camp program or a program at an
institutional firehouse and successful participation as a member of a county incarcerated
individual hand crew, as determined by the appropriate county authority, means the
incarcerated individual adequately performed their duties without any conduct that warranted
removal from the program. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (a)(3).)

Provides that the defendant may file a petition for relief with the court in the county where
the defendant was sentenced. The court shall provide a copy of the petition to the secretary,
or, in the case of a county incarcerated individual hand crew member, the appropriate county
authority. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (b)(1).)

States that if the secretary or appropriate county authority certifies to the court that the
formerly incarcerated individual successfully participated in the conservation camp program,
or institutional firehouse, or successfully participated as a member of a county incarcerated
individual hand crew, as determined by the appropriate county authority, as specified, and
has been released from custody, the court, in its discretion and in the interests of justice, may
issue an order for relief, as specified. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (b)(2).)

Provides that to be eligible for relief, the defendant is not required to complete the term of
their probation, parole, or supervised release. Notwithstanding any other law, the court, in
providing relief, shall order early termination of probation, parole, or supervised release if the
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court determines that the defendant has not violated any terms or conditions of probation,
parole, or supervised release prior to, and during the pendency of, the petition for relief. (Pen.
Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (b)(3).)

Provides that all convictions for which the defendant is serving a sentence at the time the

defendant successfully participates in a program are subject to relief. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b,
subd. (b)(4).)

States that a defendant who is granted an order of relief shall not be required to disclose the
conviction on an application for licensure by any state or local agency. Specifies this does not
apply to an application for licensure by the Commission on Teacher Credentialing, a position
as a peace officer, public office, or for contracting with the California State Lottery
Commission. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (b)(5).)

10) Provides that if the requirements of this provision are met, the court, in its discretion and in

the interest of justice, may permit the defendant to withdraw the plea of guilty or plea of nolo
contendere and enter a plea of not guilty, or, if the defendant has been convicted after a plea
of not guilty, the court shall set aside the verdict of guilty, and, in either case, the court shall
thereupon dismiss the accusations or information against the defendant and the defendant
shall thereafter be released from all penalties and disabilities resulting from the offense of
which the defendant has been convicted, except revocation or suspension of the privilege to
drive a vehicle. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (c)(1).)

11) Prohibits relief if the defendant is currently charged with the commission of any other

offense. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (c)(2).)

12) Allows the defendant to make the application and change of plea in person or by attorney.

(Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (c)(3).)

13) Provides that relief granted is subject to the following conditions:

a) Inany subsequent prosecution for any other offense, the prior conviction may be pleaded
and proved and shall have the same effect as if it had not been dismissed;

b) That the order does not relieve the defendant of the obligation to disclose the conviction
in response to any direct question contained in any questionnaire or application for
licensure by the Commission on Teacher Credentialing, a peace officer, public office, or
for contracting with the California State Lottery Commission;

c¢) That dismissal does not permit a person to own, possess, or have in the person’s custody
or control any firearm or prevent their conviction for being a prohibited person in
possession of a firearm;

d) That dismissal does not permit a person prohibited from holding public office as a result
of that conviction to hold public office; and,

e¢) That dismissal does not release the defendant from the terms and conditions of any
unexpited criminal protective order that has been issued by the court, as specified. These
protective orders shall remain in full effect until expiration or until any further order by
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the court modifying or terminating the order, despite the dismissal of the underlying
accusation or information. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (d).)

14} Prohibits granting relief unless the prosecuting attorney has been given 15 days’ notice of the

petition for relief. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (e)(1).)

15) Presumes that the prosecuting attorney has received notice if proof of service is filed with the

court. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (¢)(2).)

16) States that if, after receiving notice, the prosecuting attorney fails to appear and object to a

petition for dismissal, the prosecuting attorney may not move to set aside or otherwise appeal
the grant of that petition. (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b, subd. (e)(2).)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

Author's Statement: According to the author, “AB 945 will require a report be submitted to
the legislature detailing the rate of expungements granted to individuals who successfully
participated in the California Conservation Camp program as an incarcerated hand crew
member. In 2020, AB 2147 was signed into law to provide individuals with the opportunity
to apply for an expungement once they were released from custody and had participated in
the Conservation Camp Program. AB 2147 was a step in the right direction in providing
individuals with a pathway towards rehabilitation and integration. Since its passage, the
opportunity for meaningful employment has been granted, now it is time to review the data
of the rate of the expungements granted. AB 945 will require the collection of data and help
ensure that there is appropriate follow-through on the effectiveness of previous legislation.”

Expungement Relief for Successful Participation as a Member of an Incarcerated Fire
Camp or at an Institutional Firehouse: Under Penal Code section 1203.4b, a person who
successfully participated in a fire camp or at an institutionalized firehouse is eligible to
petition the court for expungement upon release from incarceration. Penal Code section
1203.4b excludes people convicted of: murder; kidnapping; rape by force or threats; lewd
acts on a child under 14 years of age; any felony punishable by death or imprisonment in the
state prison for life; any sex offense requiring registration; escape from a secure perimeter
within the previous 10 years; and arson. Any of these convictions disqualifies a person from
participating in a fire camp. The Secretary of CDCR or the appropriate county agency is
responsible for certifying to the court that the petitioner has successfully participated in such
a program. It is within the court’s discretion and in the interests of justice to grant the
petition. If the petitioner is still subject to some form of supervised release, and if the court
determines that the defendant has not violated any terms of probation, parole or supervised
release prior to, and during the pendency of, the petition for expungement, the court shall
order early termination of supervision. Expungement relief pursuant to this section has the
same limitations that exist in other expungement sections: (1) the conviction may be used in
a subsequent prosecution to prove a prior conviction; (2) the conviction must be disclosed in
an application for a peace officer, public officer, licensure by the Commission on Teacher
Credentialing, or contracting with the California State Lottery Commission; (3) firearm
prohibitions remain; (4) does not permit holding public office if the conviction would
otherwise prohibit it; and does not relieve the person of the terms and conditions of specified
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unexpired criminal protective orders.

The benefits of expungement and its impacts on public safety have been studied and
evaluated. One study, in particular, found that people who get their records expunged tend to
have lower recidivism rates than the general population. (Prescott and Starr, The Case for
Expunging Criminal Records: A new study shows the benefits of giving people a clean slate,
New York Times (Mar. 20, 2019); Prescott et al. Expungement of Criminal Convictions: An
Empirical Study (2019) Harv. L. Rev. 133 <
https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/20/opinion/expunge-criminal-records.html.>)

This bill would require courts to report specified data regarding petitions for expungement
relief for incarcerated firefighters to the DOJ. The DOJ would, in turn, be required to provide
a report to the Legislature to facilitate evaluating the implementation of this relief.

Argument in Support: According to the Anti-Recidivism Coalition, “The California
Conservation Camp Program was initiated by the California Department of Corrections and
Rehabilitation (CDCR) to provide incarcerated individuals the opportunity to work on
meaningful projects throughout the state. These projects include clearing fire breaks,
restoring historical structures, maintaining parks, sand bagging and flood protection,
reforestation and clearing fallen trees and debris.

“However, despite their time providing critical services to the state of California, many who
participated struggled to find permanent and stable employment once released from custody.
This was in part due to the significant barriers in place for individuals with prior convictions.

“In response, AB 2147 (Reyes, 2020) was introduced and signed into law which allowed an
individual who successfully participated as an incarcerated hand crew member under the
California Conservation Camp Program to apply for an expungement upon release from
custody. AB 2147 set a pathway for many individuals who served our state as hand crew
members to seek meaningful employment, reintegration, and true rehabilitation.

“ARC is a partner in the Ventura Training Camp (VTC), which trains and develops
participants for careers in firefighting, providing emergency response, and resource
conservation while enhancing rehabilitative efforts in the State of California. ARC has
helped 53 of our participants apply and at least 14 members have been granted expungement
under AB 2147. With roughly 35 people still awaiting decisions, we have seen a broad range
of interpretations to the law.

“Two years since this this landmark piece of legislation, the rate of expungements granted to
these individuals is unclear. Without this information, the Legislature cannot determine the
effectiveness of the intent of AB 2147 or the opportunities being provided to our previously
incarcerated hand crew members.

“AB 2147 was a step in the right direction in providing individuals with a pathway towards
rehabilitation and integration. Since its passage, the opportunity for meaningful employment
has been granted, now it is time to review the data of the rate of the expungements granted.
AB 945 will require the collection of data and help ensure that there is appropriate follow-
through on the effectiveness of previous legisiation.”
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4) Argument in Opposition: None on file.

5) Related Legislation: AB 1746 (Hoover), provides that a person convicted of specific child
endangerment or abuse crimes resulting in death of the child ineligible to earn enhanced
credits for participation as an inmate firefighter or after completing inmate firefighting
training. AB 1746 is pending hearing in this committee today.

6)

Prior Legislation:

a)

b)

d)

AB 160 (Budget Committee), Chapter 771, Statutes of 2022, clarified that incarcerated
individuals who successfully participate in an institutional firehouse program may
petition to have their pleading dismissed, consistent with existing policy for incarcerated
individuals who participate as hand crew members in conservation camps.

AB 1281 (B. Rubio), Chapter 209, Statutes of 2021, provided that expungement of a
criminal conviction does not release the defendant from specified, unexpired criminal
protective orders issued by the court in the underlying case.

AB 2147 (Reyes), Chapter 60, Statutes of 2020, allowed a defendant who successfully
participated in the California Conservation Camp Program (Fire Camp) or a county
inmate hand crew to petition for a dismissal of their conviction.

AB 2808 (Cervantes), of the 2019 - 2020 Legislative Session, would have provided that
expungement of a criminal conviction does not release the defendant from any unexpired
criminal protective order. AB 2808 was not heard in the Senate Public Safety
Committee.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Anti Recidivism Coalition

Opposition

None on file

Analysis Prepared by: Cheryl Anderson/PUB. S./(916) 319-3744
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Date of Hearing: April 11, 2023
Counsel: Liah Burnley

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair
AB 1090 (Jones-Sawyer) — As Amended April 4, 2023
As Proposed to Be Amended In Committee

SUMMARY: Authorizes the board of supervisors of a county to remove a sheriff from office for
cause. Specifically, this bill:

1) Provides that the board of supervisors may remove a sheriff from office for cause, by a four-
fifths vote, after both of the following have occurred:

a) The sheriff is served with a written statement of the alleged grounds for removal; and,

b) The sheriff is provided a reasonable opportunity to be heard regarding an explanation or
defense at a removal proceeding.

2) Defines “cause” as:
a) Violation of any law related to the performance of a sheriff’s duties;
b) Flagrant or repeated neglect of a sheriff’s duties;

¢) Misappropriation of public funds or properties committed by a sheriff or their direct
reports in the course and scope of their duties;

d) Willful falsification of a relevant official statement or document committed by a sheriff
in the course and scope of their duties; or,

e) Obstruction of an investigation into the sheriff or a sheriff’s department.

3) States that the board of supervisors may establish procedures for a removal proceeding held
pursuant to these provisions.

4) Provides that these provisions shall not be applied in a manner that interferes with the
constitutional functions of a sheriff.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Requires the Legislature to provide for county powers, elected sheriffs, district attorneys,
assessors, and the governing bodies in each county. (Cal. Const., art. XI, § 1, subd. (b).)

Z) Provides that the Legislature may provide for the recall of local officers, including sheriffs.
(Cal. Const., art I1, § 19.)



AB 1090
Page 2

3) Requires charters of charter counties to provide for the appointment, compensation, terms
and removal of elected sheriffs. (Cal. Const., art. IX, § 4.)

4) Provides that a sheriff is an officer of a county. (Gov. Code, § 24000.)

5) States that the county officers to be elected by the people include the sheriff, among others.
(Gov. Code, § 24009, subd. (a).)

6) Provides that elected county officers shall hold their office until their successors are elected
or appointed and qualified. (Gov. Code, § 24201.)

7) Sets forth the duties of sheriffs. (Gov. Code, §§ 26600 et seq; Pen. Code, §§ 4000 et seq.)

8) Requires each county to have a board of supervisors consisting of five members. (Gov. Code,
§ 25000.)

9) Requires each county board of supervisors to publish notices of proceedings to the public and
requires that all meetings of a legislative body, including county board of supervisors, be
open and public, pursuant to the Ralph M. Brown Act, as specified. (Gov. Code, §§ 25150,
25151, & 54950 et seq.)

10) Authorizes county boards of supervisors to do and perform all acts and things required by
law to the full discharge of the duties of the legislative authority of the county government.
(Gov. Code, § 25207.)

11) Provides that the board of supervisors shall supervise the official conduct of all county
officers, particularly insofar as the functions and duties of such county officers relate to the
assessing, collecting, safekeeping, management, or disbursement of public funds. It shall see
that they faithfully perform their duties. (Gov. Code, § 25303.)

12) States that the board of supervisors shall not obstruct the investigative function of the sheriff.
(Gov. Code, § 25303.)

13) Allows counties to create a sheriff oversight board, comprised of civilians to assist the board
of supervisors with its duties that relate to the sheriff. (Gov. Code, § 25303.7.)

14) Allows counties to establish an office of the inspector general, appointed by the boards of
supervisors, to assist the board of supervisors with its duties that relate to the sheriff. (Gov.
Code, § 25303.7.)

15) Allows an accusation to be brought by a grand jury for the removal of any officer of a
county, including a sheriff, for willful or corrupt misconduct in office. The trial shall be by a
jury, and conducted in all respects in the same manner as the trial of an indictment. Upon a
conviction the officer shall be defendant be removed from office. (Gov. Code, §§ 3060, et

seq.)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown
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COMMENTS:

D

2)

3)

Author's Statement: According to the author, “No government official should have
unchecked power. Regardless of the office or role, public officials take an oath to support
and respect the rights of their constituents and represent the common good. But when a
Sheriff abuses their power, our tools for meaningful accountability are tragically far and few.
As such, AB 1090 ensures government accountability by authorizing a county board of
supervisors to remove a sheriff from office for cause.”

Removal Must Be For Cause: This bill would provide that a board of supervisors may
remove a sheriff from office for cause, by a four-fifths vote. Consequently, this bill would
not allow a county board of supervisors to vote to remove a sheriff at their will, for any
reason whatsoever.

This bill would define “for cause™ as a violation of any law related to the performance of a
sheriff’s duties, flagrant or repeated neglect of duties, misappropriation of public funds,
willful falsification of a official statement or document, or, obstruction of a investigation into
the conduct of a sheriff. This bill would further provide that authority to remove cannot be
applied to interfere with the constitutionally designated function of a sheriff. Therefore, a
sheriff could not be removed for performing law enforcement functions. In addition,
Government Code section 25303 expressly bars the local governing body from obstructing
the sheriff’s investigative functions.

Due Process Afforded to Sheriffs: The due process right, established by the Fourteenth
Amendment, guarantees that the government cannot take a person’s basic rights to “life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law.” The right is designed to protect citizens
from actions taken by state government, counties, towns, and cities. At a minimum, due
process means that a citizen who will be affected by a government decision must be given
advance notice and an opportunity to be heard. (Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust
Co. (1950) 339 U.S. 306, 314.)

The provisions of this bill affords sheriff’s such procedures prior to their removal.
Specifically, a sheriff cannot be removed unless (1) the removal is for cause only; (2) there is
a supermajority (four-fifths) vote by the county board of supervisors to remove the sheriff:
(3) the sheriff is served with a written statement of the alleged grounds for removal; (4) the
sheriff is provided a reasonable opportunity to be heard and present an explanation or defense
at a removal proceeding; and, (5) the county supervisors may establish additional procedures
for a the removal proceedings. In addition, under existing law, the public must be given
notice, all meetings and meetings of the board of supervisors must generally be held in public
and pursuant to the Ralph M. Brown Act. (Gov. Code, §§ 25150, 25151, & 54950 et seq.)

Thus, it is likely that this bill comports with the requirements of due process in that sheriffs
may only be removed from office after the board has provided reasonable notice, to both the
officer and the general public, and only after the sheriff has had an opportunity to be heard.
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4) Similar Local Measures: Relying on their powers as charter counties', Los Angeles and San
Bernardino Counties have adopted local measures that would authorize them to remove an
elected sheriff for cause. This bill would provide the statutory authority for all counties to
remove their sheriff for cause. This bill would further set minimum guidelines across all
county boards of supervisors for the sheriff’s removal.

a)

b)

Los Angeles County - Measure A “Charter Amendment — Providing Authority to
Remove an Elected Sheriff for Cause” (November 8, 2022): In the November 2022
Elections, Los Angeles County Measure A was on the ballot and was approved by
71.84% of the vote. (Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, L4 County
FElection Results <https://results.lavote.gov/#year=2022&election=4300> [as of April 3.
2023].) Measure A amended the Los Angeles County Charter to authorize the Los
Angeles County Board of Supervisors to remove the sheriff from office for cause, by a
four-fifths vote. (/bid.)

This bill is substantially similar to Measure A.

San Bernardino County - Ordinance No. 3875 (2002): In 2002, the San Bernardino
County Board of Supervisors adopted Ordinance No. 3875, (involving the removal of
county officers, including the sheriff. (San Bernardino County Code § 13.0404.) The
ordinance provides, in part, that removal for cause may be accomplished by a four-fifths
vote of the board: “Any County officer other than supervisor may be removed from office
in the manner provided by law; also any such officer may be removed by a four-fifths
vote of the Board of Supervisors, for cause, after first serving upon such officer a written
statement of alleged grounds for such removal, and giving him a reasonable opportunity
to be heard in the way of explanation or defense.” (/bid.) The ordinance also clarified that
it could “not be applied to interfere with the independent and constitutionally and
statutorily designated investigative and prosecutorial functions of the sheriff and the
district attorney.” (Ibid.)

In response to the ordinance, the San Bernardino District Attorney sought an opinion
from the California Attorney General, of whether a county may “grant the board of
supervisors the authority to remove for cause by a four-fifths vote the sheriff [...] upon
due notice and opportunity to be heard.” (84 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 88 (2001).) In response,
the Attorney General found “that the removal of county officers is a subject that may be
contained in a county charter” and “the Constitution has not expressly provided
otherwise. (/hid.)

The San Bernardino County Sheriff also filed a civil complaint, contending that the
ordinance is unconstitutional. The California Court of Appeal rejected the Sheriff’s
challenges and held that the ordinance is facially constitutional and valid. (Penrod v.
County of San Bernardino (2005) 126 Cal.App.4th 185, 188.) The court determined that
the ordinance is specifically authorized by the California Constitution, and is consistent

! The Legislature provides for the recall of local officer in general law counties. (Cal. Const. art I, § 19.) The
charter of charter counties provide for the “compensation, terms and removal” of the sheriff.” (Cal. Const., art. X1, §

4.)
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with the Government Code. (/bid.)

5) Other Existing Options for Removing Sheriffs:

a)

b)

d)

Grand Jury Accusation and Trial: An accusation against any officer of a district,
county, or city, including a sheriff, for willful or corrupt misconduct in office, may be
presented by the grand jury of the county for, or in, which the officer accused is elected
or appointed. (Gov. Code, §§ 3060 et seq.) These grand jury accusations are usually
initiated by the district attorney who is statutorily authorized to present evidence of crime
or official misconduct to the grand jury. The district attorney will have had the offense
investigated and will have marshalled the evidence relevant thereto prior to its
presentation to the grand jury. The grand jury then evaluates the evidence in secret
deliberations and decides by vote whether to issue an accusation. An accusation can be
found only with the concurrence of 12 grand jurors (8 for 11 member grand juries and 14
for 23 member grand juries.) (/bid.)

Quo Warranto Removal: Quo warranto (Latin for “by what authority™) is a legal action
most typically brought to resolve disputes concerning the right to hold public office.
(Code Civ. Proc., §§ 803 et seq.) In California, a Quo warranto proceeding may be
brought by the Attorney General to determine whether holders of a public officer are
legally entitled to hold that office or exercise those powers. The court may not hear the
action unless it is brought or authorized by the Attorney General. (Cooper v. Leslie Salt
Co. (1969) 70 Cal.2d 627, 633.) Quo warranto tries fitle to public office, i.e. the right to
hold public office; it may not be used to remove an incumbent for misconduct in office.
(Wheeler v. Donnell (1896) 110 Cal. 655.)

Vacancies for Reasons other than Misconduct: Death, resignation, mental or physical
incapacity, relocating, and other such situations that may create vacancies in the office of
an elected sheriff law. Courts have ruled that vacancies for reasons other than removal
may be filled without any sort of hearing or proceeding. (Klose v. Superior Court in & for
San Mateo County (1950) 96 Cal.App.2d 913, 917; People ex rel. Tracy v. Brite (1880)
55 Cal. 79.)

Recall by Voters: A county sheriff can be recalled by the voters under the terms set forth
in the Election Code. Article II, section 19 of the California Constitution requires the
Legislature to “provide for recall of local officers.”” Accordingly, the Legislature
established a statutory recall procedure for recalling sheriffs and other general law county
officers. (Elec. Code, § 11000, et seq.)

Nothing in this bill limits any of these existing options for the removal of a sheriff.
However, this bill would extend to circumstances in which a board of supervisors may

% General law counties possess only those powers expressly conferred upon them by the California Constitution and
the Legislature, and therefore they cannot create their own recall or removal procedures absent statutory
authorization. (Younger v. Board of Supervisors (1979) 93 Cal.App.3d 864, 870.) A charter county, on the other
hand, has authority to adopt its own procedure to recall its sheriff. (Cal. Const., art. X1, § 4.) When presented with a
county charter contains no recall procedure, the California Supreme Court held that “in such a situation the recall
proceedings must conform to the general law” as set forth in statute. (Muehleisen v. Forward (1935) 4 Cal2d 17,

19.)
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need to act expeditiously to remove a county sheriff, rather than wait for a grand jury to
convene or a recall election to be held.

6) Argument in Support: According to Oakland Privacy, “In recent years, many county
sheriffs have taken actions and run their departments in ways that have caused friction in the
community and distress on elected county boards of supervisors. Prominent examples include
Alameda County, where for a number of years the former Sheriff Gregory Ahern continued
to voluntarily detain inmates on behalf of ICE despite Board of Supervisor resolutions and
strong community sentiments to end the practice, and Los Angeles where former sheriff Alex
Villanueva obstructed an investigation into an in-custody death and threatened criminal
charges against a reporter, before walking that back. In addition, some sheriffs throughout the
state declined to enforce public health mandates put into place by county health officers and
SUpervisors.

“According to current law, the remedy for such situations is an electoral one, with voters
having the power to administer a rebuke to a current sheriff by voting for another candidate
for the position in the next election, which can be as long as four years into the future. In the
cases cited above, voters did exactly that by replacing Sheriff Gregory Ahern with Sheriff
Yesenia Sanchez and replacing Sheriff Alex Villanueva with Sheriff Robert Luna.

“However, such remedies are not always available to the voters, especially in the smaller
counties of California. The majority of sheriff elections are uncontested, meaning there is
only one candidate, and voters can only vote yes or abstain. California’s rural and small
counties deserve an equal level of accountability to that of California’s larger counties, and it
is far from guaranteed that in all cases, even large and urban counties will have a regular
voter referendum on their sheriff. In Alameda County, prior to 2022, the then-incumbent
sheriff Ahern faced no opposition for four consecutive election cycles, a period of sixteen
years beginning in 2006.

“The current accountability measures in place, apart from clections, derive from the Board of
Supervisor’s power of the purse in setting a sheriff’s department budget. This is not an
insignificant source of leverage, but it risks distorting the budget process to address issues of
policy and accountability that are not primarily financial in nature. We would argue that good
governance dictates not shoving misconduct issues into the budgetary process.

“There is no doubt that is a sobering thing to allow one elected body to potentially remove an
elected officer. Nonetheless, our State and Federal governments permit such through the
process of impeachment - with a 2/3rds vote. AB 1090 is simply a recognition that an elected
sheriff, unlike an elected body of more than one person, has no collegial process to address
issues of misconduct that are addressed by a removal process on a board, council or
commission, or by impeachment at the State and Federal levels, and that the electoral remedy
is often not practicably available to the voters.

“In essence, AB 1090 asks what is misconduct by a sheriff, and if and when it occurs, where
is the remedy that is available in a timely and consistent manner? Under current law, there
really isn’t one. Here in Alameda County, the former sheriff’s declaration that policy
mandates from the Board of Supervisors and overwhelming public sentiment would not
impact the conduct of the sheriff’s office with regard to ICE became a long-term public
wound. It did enormous damage to the faith of the county’s voters in the sheriff’s department
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and in the efficacy of the Board of Supervisors. After a decade of no available remedy, the
damage had already been done and the new sheriff has a big job to restore trust and
relationships.

“We would argue that the democratic process i.e. what the voters wanted, was delayed for an
unforgivably long time due to the limitations of current law and held hostage to the “personal
beliefs” of the former sheriff and the difficulty of finding candidates willing to run against a
powerful incumbent.

“Unlike sheriffs, it is a rare occasion, although not unheard of, that a county supervisor
position is elected in an uncontested election. The voter “check and balance” is more
consistent and AB 1090 allows for a county board of supervisors to develop a due process
procedure that can include additional steps to protect against an ideologically-based removal
process. We encourage making that process as robust as possible, but given the limitations in
current law, *a* process beyond waiting for the next election should be implemented.”

Argument in Opposition: According to the California Statewide Law Enforcement
Association (CSLEA), “Sheriffs, like county boards of supervisors are elected and held
accountable by the voters.

“Shifting power and accountability from the voters to the Board risks injecting politics and
petty disagreements into the removal of a Sheriff, overriding the will of the voters.

“By nullifying the will of the voters, the Board of Supervisors will become the judge, jury,
and executioner for the Office of the Sheriff. We believe these decisions are best left to the
voters.”

Related Legislation: AB 797 (Weber), would require the governing body of each city and
county to, by January 15, 2025, create an independent community-based commission on law
enforcement officer practices.

Prior Legislation: AB 1185 (McCarty), Chapter 342, Statutes of 2020, authorized counties
to create a sheriff’s oversight board and an office of inspector general.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Black Lives Matter — Los Angeles
Initiate Justice

Oakland Privacy

Secure Justice

Opposition

Association of Orange County Deputy Sheriffs
California Fraternal Order of Police

California State Sheriffs' Association

California Statewide Law Enforcement Association



AB 1090
Page 8

Deputy Sheriffs Association of San Diego County

Long Beach Police Officers Association

Sacramento County Deputy Sheriffs' Association

San Bernardino County Sheriff's Employees' Benefit Association

Analysis Prepared by: Liah Burnley / PUB. S./(916) 319-3744



Amended Mock-up for 2023-2024 AB-1090 (Jones-Sawver (A))

Mock-up based on Version Number 98 - Amended Assembly 4/4/23
Submitted by: Liah Burnley, Assembly Public Safety Committee

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:
SECTION 1. Section 25303.8 is added to the Government Code, to read:

25303.8. (a) The board of supervisors may remove a sheriff from office for cause, by a four-fifths
vote, after both of the following have occurred:

(1) The sheriff is served with a written statement of the alleged grounds for removal.

(2) The sheriff is provided a reasonable opportunity to be heard regarding an explanation or
defense at a removal proceeding.

(b) The board of supervisors may establish procedures for a removal proceeding held pursuant to
this section.

(¢) This section shall not be applied in a manner that interferes with the constitutional functions of
a sheriff.

(d) For the purposes of this Section, “cause” means:
(1) Violation of a law related to the performance of a sheriff’s duties;
(2) Flagrant or repeated neglect of a sheriff’s duties;

(3) Misappropriation of public funds or properties committed by a sheriff in the course and
scope of their duties;

(4) Willful falsification of relevant official statements or documents committed by a sheriff
in the course and scope of their duties; or,

(5) Obstruction of an investigation into the conduct of a sheriff or a sheriff’s department by
a government agency, office, or commission with jurisdiction to conduct an investigation.

Liah Burnley

Assembly Public Safety
04/07/2023
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