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ANIMAL ABUSE 
 
 
Animal Fighting Exhibitions  
 
Cockfighting is an unacceptable form of animal cruelty that is widely practiced even though it is 
illegal in almost all jurisdictions.  Cockfighting is illegal in 48 states; in 31 of those states and the 
District of Columbia, cockfighting is a felony crime.   
 
In 2003, the Legislature passed legislation that increased the penalties for engaging in this cruel 
and inhumane activity; however California's anti-cockfighting law still lags behind neighboring 
states.  Arizona, Nevada and Oregon have established felony-level penalties for cockfighting, 
making California with its simple misdemeanor-level cockfighting penalties a regional refuge for 
illegal cockfighting activity. 
 
There is an undeniable connection between cockfighting and other significant issues such as 
illegal gambling; drug trafficking; violence toward people; and, as evidenced by the outbreak of 
Exotic Newcastle Disease in 2002, the spread of deadly and devastating diseases.  Moreover, 
officials with the World Health Organization believe that cockfighting has contributed to the 
spread of the deadly H5N1 Avian Influenza throughout Southeast Asia. 
 

SB 1349 (Soto), Chapter 430, increases the penalties for the fighting of animals.  
Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Increases the penalty for causing any animal to fight with another animal, permitting 

the same to be done on any property under his or her control, or aiding or abetting the 
fighting of any animal from up to six months in the county jail, by a fine not to 
exceed $1,000, or both to up to one year in the county jail, by a fine not to exceed 
$5,000, or both.  
 

• Increases the penalty for a second or subsequent offense of fighting animals or cocks 
from a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in the county jail; by a fine not to 
exceed $25,000; or both to an alternate felony/misdemeanor, punishable by up to one 
year in the county jail or by imprisonment in state prison for 16 months, 2 or 3 years; 
by a fine not to exceed $25,000; or both, except in unusual circumstances in which 
the interests of justice would be better served by the imposition of a lesser penalty. 
 

• Consolidates almost identical code sections relating to the training of birds or animals 
for the purpose of fighting into one code section. 
 

• Re-organizes provisions of law relating to spectators at an exhibition of animal 
fighting without increasing the existing penalty. 

 
• Make numerous legislative findings and declarations regarding cockfighting and the 

spread of disease. 
 



Animal Abuse:  Unattended Animals 
 
Summer can be dangerous time for pets, especially those left inside of hot cars.  Every year, 
countless dogs die after being locked in cars while their owners work, visit, shop, or run other 
errands.  These deaths are entirely preventable.  
 
Many pet owners are not aware that even moderately warm temperatures outside can quickly 
lead to deadly temperatures inside a closed car.  For example, within one hour, an outside 
temperature of 72-degrees Fahrenheit can cause conditions inside a vehicle that adversely affects 
the health, safety, or well-being of an animal.   
 
Even with the windows left slightly open, an 85-degree outside temperature can cause a 
temperature of 102 degrees inside a vehicle in 10 minutes and that temperature is reached in just 
one-half hour.  A healthy dog, whose normal body temperature ranges from 101 to 102.5 
degrees, can withstand a body temperature of 107 to 108 degrees for only a short time before 
suffering brain damage or death. 
 
Numerous organizations, businesses and individuals have worked to educate pet owners of the 
dangers of leaving animals unattended in vehicles in the heat.  However, animal control 
organizations found that educational approaches by themselves have not significantly improved 
behavior.  To be truly effective, these educational approaches must be integrated with 
enforcement activities. 
 

SB 1806 (Figueroa), Chapter 431, creates criminal penalties for leaving an animal in an 
unattended motor vehicle under conditions that endanger the health or well-being of the 
animal.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Provides that no person shall leave or confine an animal in any unattended motor 

vehicle under conditions that endanger the health or well-being of an animal due to 
heat; cold; lack of adequate ventilation, food, or water; or other circumstances that 
could reasonably be expected to cause suffering, disability or death to the animal. 
 

• Makes a first conviction, unless the animal suffers great bodily injury (GBI), 
punishable by a fine not to exceed $100 per animal.  If the animal suffers GBI, the 
offense is punishable by up to six months in a county jail, a fine not to exceed $500, 
or by both a fine and imprisonment. 
 

• Makes a subsequent violation, regardless of injury to the animal, punishable by up to 
six months in a county jail, a fine not to exceed $500, or by both a fine and 
imprisonment. 
 

• Provides that nothing in this section shall prevent a peace officer, humane officer, or 
animal control officer from removing an animal from a motor vehicle if the animal's 
safety appears to be in immediate danger from heat; cold; lack of adequate 
ventilation, food, or water; or other circumstances that could reasonably be expected 



to cause suffering, disability, or death to the animal. 
 

• Requires a peace officer, humane officer, or animal control officer who removes an 
animal from a vehicle to take it to an animal shelter; other place of safekeeping; or, if 
the officer deems necessary, to a veterinary hospital for treatment. 
 

• Authorizes a peace officer, humane officer, or animal control officer to take all steps 
reasonably necessary for the removal of an animal from a motor vehicle including, 
but not limited to, breaking into the motor vehicle after a reasonable effort to locate 
the owner or other person responsible. 
 

• Requires a peace officer, humane officer, or animal control officer who removes an 
animal from a motor vehicle to, in a secure and conspicuous location on or within the 
motor vehicle, leave the address of the location where the animal can be claimed.  
The animal can be claimed only after payment of all charges that have accrued for the 
maintenance, care, medical treatment, or impoundment of the animal. 
 

• Provides that nothing in this section shall be deemed to prohibit the transportation of 
horses, cattle, pigs, sheep, poultry or other such agricultural animals in motor vehicles 
designed to transport such animals for agricultural purposes. 
 

• States that nothing in this new law shall affect existing liabilities or immunities in 
current law. 
 

• Makes numerous legislative findings and declarations regarding the dangers of 
leaving an animal unattended in a motor vehicle. 

 

BACKGROUND CHECKS 
 
 

Fingerprinting:  Certification  
 
Existing law establishes a certification program for persons who roll fingerprint impressions for 
non-law-enforcement criminal history background checks.  The program is administered by the 
Department of Justice (DOJ), which is the statutorily mandated repository for the state’s criminal 
history records.  By statute, the DOJ will not accept fingerprints from a person not certified by 
DOJ unless he or she is exempt from certification.  Certification requires that the applicant 
undergo a criminal history background check and complete a training program. 
 
A number of Indian gaming tribes have asserted that they are not required to comply with the 
requirement that any person who rolls fingerprints for employment, certification, or licensing 
purposes to be certified by DOL.  These tribes maintain that as sovereign nations they are 
obligated only to meet the provisions the gaming compact as it pertains to fingerprint 
submission:  ". . . the Tribal Gaming Agency shall transmit to the State Gaming Agency . . . an 
original set of fingerprint cards . . . ." 
 



These tribes refused to use certified "rollers", and state law prohibits DOJ from accepting a 
fingerprint rolled by a non-certified roller unless he or she is exempt from the certification 
requirement.  Tribes were not among the list of exempt rollers.   
 

SB 1247 (Runner), Chapter 141, permits an exemption for an employee of a tribal 
gaming agency or a tribal gaming operation if:  (1) he or she has received training 
pertaining to applicant fingerprint rolling, (2) he or she has undergone a criminal history 
background check, and (3) the fingerprints he or she will be rolling are for tribal-state 
compact compliance purposes only.  This new law also clarifies the circumstances under 
which the DOJ may deny or revoke certification.   

 
Background Checks 
 
The California Health and Human Services Agency (CHHS) convened a Licensing Reform 
Workgroup.  The workgroup recommends that the background check processes of departments 
under CHHS' jurisdiction be consistent in requiring licensees, certificate holders, and employees 
in facilities licensed by CHHS departments to obtain clearance prior to contact with clients or 
residents.  Individuals seeking licensure, certification, or employment in facilities licensed by 
CHHS departments would be required to disclose all convictions, arrests and administrative 
disciplinary actions.   Having consistent background check processes for all departments within 
the CHHS would enhance protections provided to the vulnerable populations served by state-
licensed health and care facilities.  Allowing departments within the CHHS to share information 
on final administrative actions they have taken against licensees or employees will further 
protect vulnerable populations. 
 

SB 1759 (Ashburn), Chapter 902, makes a number of revisions to criminal clearance 
provisions for departments under CHHS' jurisdiction, including the Department of Health 
Services and the Department of Social Services, with regard to clearance requirements 
before work. 

 
CHILD ABUSE 

 
 
Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Law 
 
The Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA) was established to identify potential 
child abuse or neglect so that public authorities can protect the victim, as well as obtain 
information to identify and prosecute child abusers.  Under CANRA, specified persons have a 
duty to report known or suspected child abuse or neglect to law enforcement or child protection 
agencies for investigation.  
 

AB 525 (Chu), Chapter 701, amends several CANRA provisions the procedures for 
reporting of instances of child abuse or neglect, emotional damage, evidenced by states of 
being or behavior including, but not limited to, severe anxiety, depression, withdrawal, or 
untoward aggressive behavior toward self or others.  Specifically, this new law: 
 



• Includes reports of suspected child abuse or neglect based on instances of actual, or 
risk of, serious emotional damage in the section providing that these reports may be 
made to specified law enforcement offices. 
 

• Excludes reports of suspected child abuse or neglect based on instances of actual, or 
risk of, serious emotional damage from the requirement that a report be made to 
specified agencies. 
 

• Includes reports of suspected child abuse or neglect based on instances of actual, or 
risk of, serious emotional damage in the section specifying information to be included 
in suspected child abuse or neglect reports. 
 

• Includes reports of suspected child abuse or neglect based on instances of actual, or 
risk of, serious emotional damage in the section requiring that these reports be filed 
with the Department of Justice and be confidential. 
 

• Includes reports of suspected child abuse or neglect based on instances of actual, or 
risk of, serious emotional damage in the section providing that when a child abuse 
report is made the investigating agency, upon completion of the investigation or after 
there has been a final disposition in the mater, shall inform the person required or 
authorized to report of the results of the investigation and of any action the agency is 
taking with regard to the child or family. 
 

• Corrects an obsolete cross-reference. 
 



Child Death Review Teams 
 
Currently, county child death review teams are not included in the confidentiality provisions 
provided for elder death review teams and domestic violence death review teams.  As a result, 
individuals and groups with critical information to the process - particularly those from the 
private sector (i.e., hospitals) – are reluctant to attend meeting and speak openly because of 
potential liability concerns.  A program designed to encourage free-flowing, open and honest 
dialogue has also resulted in child death review teams having to force (even subpoena) 
individuals to participate in the process. 
 
The primary purpose of child death review teams is to prevent future child deaths.  The statewide 
child death review council is responsible for collecting data and information from the counties 
and turning that data into reports to the public and Legislature.  Some child death review teams 
create elaborate, comprehensive reports, while other child death review teams do not report 
anything at all.  Because of the wide discrepancy of reporting, the statewide council cannot get a 
full picture of what is occurring statewide.  While all child death review teams are coming to 
important conclusions about local child fatalities, not all of the review teams are communicating 
the information to the public, which contradicts the basic premise for having them.   
 

SB 1668 (Bowen), Chapter 813, clarifies provisions of law relating to the confidentiality 
of child death review team records and requires a report regarding child death review 
team findings be made at least once per year.  Specifically, this new law:   

 
• Provides that no record made available by a child death review team may include 

names or other personal information regarding any child who was the subject of a 
review or regarding that child's siblings and non-offending family members. 
 

• Provides that records exempt from disclosure to third parties pursuant to state or 
federal law shall remain exempt from disclosure when in the possession of a child 
death review team. 
 

• Provides that no less than once each year, each child death review team shall make 
available to the public findings, conclusions and recommendations of the team, 
including aggregate statistical data on the incidences and causes of child deaths. 

 

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 
 
 
Controlled Substances:  Prescription Requirements 
 
California was required by recently enacted federal law [the National All Schedules Prescription 
Electronic Reporting (NASPAR) Act of 2005] to conform California’s current Controlled 
Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) program to federal law in order 
for California to qualify for federal grant funding. 
 
The NASPER mandates necessitated certain changes to the CURES statutory structure as 
NASPER creates grant funding criteria which the Department of Justice (DOJ) must meet to 



obtain federal funds to enhance California's prescription monitoring program - an important 
public safety tool.  Compliance with NASPER will require pharmacies to submit the dispensing 
of controlled substances to CURES weekly, significantly improving the timeliness of the data 
received by DOJ.   This change will also assist emergency room physicians with more updated 
information when responding to, and seeking background information regarding, patients 
suspected to be abusing controlled substances.    
 

AB 2986 (Mullin), Chapter 286, provided for the changes mandated by the newly 
enacted federal law, NASPER.  Specifically this new law: 
 
• Requires prescription forms to include the name of the ultimate user and check boxes 

enabling the prescribing health care practitioner to indicate the number of refills 
ordered.   
 

• Adds Schedule IV controlled substances to those monitored and reported on the 
CURES report. 
 

• Requires any practitioner other than a pharmacist who prescribes or administers a 
Schedule II, III, or IV drug to make a record of the transaction and requires that the 
information be provided to the DOJ. 

 
Possession of Precursors:  Phencyclidine or Methamphetamine 
 
A recent California Supreme Court decision held that although is illegal to possess certain 
chemicals with the intent to manufacture methamphetamine, it is legal to possess those chemicals 
with the knowledge that another person will use them to make methamphetamine. 
 

SB 1299 (Speier), Chapter 646, makes it a felony,  punishable by 16 months, 2 or 3 
years in prison, to possess specified chemicals that are precursors to methamphetamine or 
PCP when the person in possession has the intent to sell, transfer, or otherwise furnish to 
another person with the knowledge that they will be used to manufacture 
methamphetamine or PCP. 

Controlled Substances:  Sales Near Drug Treatment Centers 
 
Drug dealers target many homeless shelters and drug treatment centers when selling unlawful 
controlled substances as individuals there for treatment can easily relapse and buy drugs.   
 

SB 1318 (Cedillo), Chapter 650, creates a sentence enhancement of imprisonment in the 
state prison for one additional year for persons convicted of trafficking in specified 
controlled substances on the grounds of, or within 1,000 feet of, a drug treatment center, 
detoxification facility, or homeless shelter.  Specifically, this new law:  
 

• Makes legislative findings and declarations relating to drug trafficking near drug 
treatment centers and homeless shelters, and states that a substantial drug abuse and 
drug trafficking problem exists among recovering drug addicts and homeless 
individuals adjacent to and around drug treatment centers, homeless shelters and other 



service providers in California. 
 

• States legislative intent to support increased efforts by local law enforcement 
agencies, working in conjunction with drug treatment centers, mental health centers 
and other homeless service providers; and to suppress drug trafficking adjacent to, 
and around, facilities and agencies dedicated to drug recovery and rehabilitation.   
 

CORRECTIONS 
 
 
Female Inmates and Wards 
 
The State of California currently operates four prisons for women; recent data shows that 10 
percent of women entering prison are pregnant.  Reports issued by Amnesty International and the 
San Francisco National Organization for Women's Women in Prison Task Force describe neglect 
in the health care of women prisoners. 
 
In October 2000, the California Joint Committee on Prison Construction and Operations 
conducted a hearing that disclosed the medical plight of women inmates at California facilities.  
For example, female inmates from the Central California Women’s Facility reported being 
denied health care for serious conditions such as sickle cell anemia, Hepatitis C, and prenatal 
health care.   
 

AB 478 (Lieber), Chapter 608, requires the Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR) to establish minimum standards for pregnant inmates, including 
necessary nutrition and vitamins, information and education, and a dental cleaning.  This 
new law also provides that a pregnant inmate transported to a hospital outside the prison 
shall be transported in the least restrictive manner possible.  Further, the inmate may not 
be shackled by the wrists, ankles, or both, during delivery, and while in recovery after 
giving birth.  This new law accords the same rights to pregnant juvenile wards who give 
birth while under the CDCR's jurisdiction, the Division of Juvenile Facilities, or in a 
community treatment program. 
 
 
 
 
 

Juvenile Facility Superintendents:  Appointments 
 
Under existing law, prior to filling a vacancy for warden by appointment, the Governor shall first 
submit to the Inspector General (IG) the names of candidates for review of their qualifications.  

 
AB 971 (J. Horton), Chapter 709, allows the IG to evaluate and determine the 
qualifications of juvenile facility superintendent candidates and advise the Governor 
accordingly.  

 



Parole:  Pre-Release Program 
 
The recidivism rate for parolees in California is over 60%, costing the state and local 
governments hundreds of millions of dollars annually in increased incarceration and public 
safety costs.  In addition, the high recidivism rate threatens the ability of law enforcement to 
effectively protect the public.  Many parolees return to their local community with mental health, 
substance abuse, employability, and housing issues.  Although there are some programs that 
provide support to help parolees overcome barriers to becoming productive members of the 
community, there is a need for an approach that can effectively reintegrate parolees back into the 
community, enhancing public safety and reducing the recidivism rate. 
 

AB 1998 (Chan), Chapter 732, requires the California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR) to contract for the establishment and operation of a pre-release 
parole pilot program in Alameda County.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Provides that purpose of the program is to provide coordination between CDCR and 

community service providers to ensure that parolees transition smoothly from 
services during incarceration through re-entry programs.  
 

• Requires the pre-release pilot program to prepare participants who will be entering a 
re-entry services program. 
 

• States that up to one year prior to a state prison inmate's release on parole to Alameda 
County any male or female inmate committed for a non-violent offense may enroll in 
the program. 
 

• Requires that the pilot program include, but not be limited to, a pre-release 
assessment screening for needed educational, employment-related, medical, substance 
abuse, and mental health services; housing assistance; and other social services. 
 

• States that in awarding a contract, the CDCR Secretary may accept proposals from 
public and private not-for-profit entities located in the community. 
 

• Requires the contractee with the assistance of an independent consultant with 
expertise in criminal justice programs to complete a report evaluating the cost 
effectiveness of the pre-release program with regard to the effect of the program on 
the recidivism rate of the participating offenders and submit the evaluation to the 
appropriate policy and fiscal committees of the Legislature and the Governor by no 
later than January 1, 2010. 
 

• Limits the cost of the report to the Legislature to no more than five percent of the cost 
of the program. 
 

• Contains a sunset date of January 1, 2011.  
 

Parole Re-Entry:  East Palo Alto Pilot Program 



 
Under existing law, the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation is granted 
authority to establish three pilot programs for intensive training and counseling programs for 
female parolees to assist in the successful reintegration into the community upon release from 
custody following in-prison therapeutic community drug treatment. 
 

AB 2436 (Ruskin), Chapter 799, establishes a parole re-entry pilot program in East Palo 
Alto.  

 
Correctional Institutions:  Communicable Disease 
 
Existing law provides for the confidential testing of inmates and other enumerated persons for 
HIV and AIDS under specified circumstances.  The test is initiated by a request from a law 
enforcement officer or another inmate, to the chief medical officer of the facility, when the 
requesting person has come in contact with the bodily fluids of an inmate or other specified 
persons in a correctional facility or courtroom. 
 

AB 2870 (De La Torre), Chapter 800, expands existing provisions of law regarding 
medical testing of prisoners to include "other infectious, contagious, or communicable 
disease".  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Expands existing legislative findings and declarations regarding HIV and AIDS in 

corrections to include "other infections, contagious, or communicable diseases." 
 

• Expands existing legislative intent language regarding measures to take to address the 
public health crisis regarding HIV an AIDS in corrections to include "other 
infectious, contagious, or communicable diseases." 
 

• Expands the existing definition of "correctional institution" for purposes of medical 
testing of prisoners to include a court facility. 
 

• Expands the existing definition of "counseling" for purposes of medical testing of 
prisoners to include "infectious, contagious, or communicable diseases" as a topic for 
which counseling can be provided. 
 

• Expands the existing definition of "law enforcement employee" for purposes of 
medical testing of prisoners to include "prosecutors and staff." 
 

• Adds for purposes of medical testing of prisoners, a definition of "infectious, 
contagious, or communicable disease." 
 

• Provide that inmates subject to Hepatitis B or C tests shall receive specified 
information relating to the right to appeal and the right to counseling from a medical 
professional. 
 



• Expands existing law to include "a person charged with any crime, whether or not the 
person is in custody" as a category of persons that if a law enforcement employee 
comes into contact with the bodily fluids he or she can have that person tested for 
HIV.   
 

• Provides that the law enforcement employee who reported an incident of contact with 
bodily fluids of inmates, as specified, shall be notified o the results of any test 
administered to any person as a result of the reporting of the incident. 
 

• Provides that testing for other infectious contagious or communicable diseases may 
be conducted by any licensed medical laboratory approved by the chief medical 
officer. 

 
Parole:  Re-Entry Advisory Committee 
 
The recidivism rate for parolees released from California's prisons is nearly twice the national 
average.  A re-entry advisory panel within California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR) should be created so that the relevant stakeholders may discuss how 
parole is working the State of California and how best to implement policies and procedures 
designed to successfully re-integrate parolees into the community. 
 

AB 3064 (Committee on Public Safety), Chapter 782, requires the CDCR Secretary to 
establish a Re-Entry Advisory Committee (RAC) to advise the Secretary on all matters 
related to the successful statewide planning, implementation and outcomes of all re-entry 
programs and services offered by CDCR.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Provides that the RAC shall be comprised of the following members appointed by the 

CDCR Secretary:   
 
o A representative of the California League of Cities; 

 
o A representative of the California State Association of Counties; 

 
o A representative of the California State Sheriffs' Association; 

 
o A representative of the California Police Chiefs' Association; 

 
o A representative of CDCR; 

 
o A representative of the Department of Mental Health; 

 
o A representative of the Department of Social Services; 

 
o A representative of the Department of Health Services; 

 



o A representative of the Labor and Workforce Development Agency; 
 

o A representative of the County Alcohol and Drug Program Administrators 
Association; 
 

o A representative of the California Association of Alcohol and Drug Program 
Executives; 
 

o An individual with experience in providing housing for low-income individuals; 
 

o A recognized expert in restorative justice programs; 
 

o An individual with experience in providing education and vocational training 
services; and, 
 

o An independent consultant with expertise in community corrections and re-entry 
services. 
 

• Requires the RAC to meet at least quarterly at a time and place determined by the 
Secretary.  RAC members shall receive compensation for travel expenses, as 
specified in existing law, but no other compensation. 
 

• Provides that the RAC shall advise the CDCR Secretary on all matters related to the 
successful statewide planning, implementation and outcomes of all re-entry programs 
and services offered by CDCR with the goal of reducing recidivism of all persons 
under the jurisdiction of CDCR. 
 

• Requires the RAC to consider, and advise the CDCR Secretary of, the following 
issues: 
 
o Encouraging collaboration among key stakeholders at the state and local levels; 

 
o Developing a knowledge base of what people need to successfully return to their 

communities from prison and what resources communities need to successfully 
provide for these needs;  
 

o Incorporating re-entry outcomes into CDCR organizational missions and work 
plans as priorities;  
 

o Funding of re-entry programs; 
 

o Promoting systems of integration and coordination; 
 

o Measuring outcomes and evaluating the impact of re-entry programs; and, 
 



o Educating the public about re-entry programs and their role in public safety. 
 

• Contains a January 1, 2011 sunset date; implementation will be delayed until 
July 1, 2007. 
 

Inmates:  Health Care Services 
 
SB 159 (Runner), Chapter 481, Statues of 2005, established a rate structure for emergency health 
care for local law enforcement patients, absent an existing contract between local law 
enforcement and health care providers.  SB 159 also created a working group consisting of local 
law enforcement and health care providers to consider a variety of issues related to inmate health 
care.  Technical changes need to be made to SB 159 which clarify that the provisions also apply 
to public agencies that contract for emergency health services.  
 

SB 896 (Runner), Chapter 303, is a technical cleanup measure to SB 159 and clarifies 
that public agencies can enter into contracts with hospitals for emergency health care. 

 
Attempted Murder of a Custody Assistant 
 
Under existing law, the attempted murder of a custodial officer is punishable by imprisonment in 
the state prison for life with the possibility of parole or by 15 years to life if it is also proven that 
the attempt was premeditated.  The legislation that created that law inadvertently failed to 
include custody assistants (non-sworn, uniformed Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department 
employees) within the law's scope.  A custody assistant's job is very similar to those of a 
“custodial officer”, work in custody detention facilities, and are responsible for the care and 
handling of inmates.  
 

SB 1184 (Cedillo), Chapter 468, corrects the inadvertent omission of custody assistants 
from the crime of attempted murder of a police officer, firefighter or custodial officer by 
specifically providing that this law also applies to custody assistants.  This new law also 
defines in statute a custody assistant as a person who is a full-time employee, not a peace 
officer, and employed by a sheriff's department who assists peace officer personnel in 
maintaining order and security in a custody detention, court detention or station jail 
facility of the sheriff's department.  The new provisions relating to custody assistants 
apply only in Los Angeles County and do not become operative until those provisions are 
adopted by resolution of the board of supervisors.   

 
Parole:  Post-Release Drug Treatment  
 
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), studies of California Department of Corrections 
and Rehabilitation (CDCR) drug treatment programs suggest short-term incentives must be 
provided in order to compel inmates to volunteer for in-prison treatment.  In addition, in-prison 
treatment is rarely successful in decreasing recidivism unless coupled with a minimum of 90 to 
150 days aftercare in the community.   
 



The CDCR spends more than $100 million per year on drug treatment programs.  Currently, only 
28% of all the inmates who successfully complete in-prison drug treatment programs opt for 
aftercare placement and less than 15% of those entering aftercare actually complete the program.  
Some incentive must be provided for those inmates who volunteer for in-prison treatment and 
complete an aftercare program when released on parole. 
 

SB 1453 (Speier), Chapter 875, requires specified inmates who have successfully 
completed an in-prison drug treatment program to be placed in a residential treatment 
program upon release from custody, and be discharged from parole upon successful 
completion of the treatment program.  Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Provides that any inmate in CDCR's custody who is not serving an indeterminate 

term, a sentence for a serious or violent felony, or a crime that requires registration as 
a convicted sex offender and who has completed an in-prison treatment program 
shall, whenever possible be placed in a 150-day residential aftercare treatment 
program upon release. 
 

• Provides that if the inmate successfully completes the 150-day residential aftercare 
treatment program, as determined by CDCR and the aftercare provider, he or she 
shall be discharged from parole supervision at that time. 
 

• States that commencing with 2008, CDCR shall report annually to the Joint 
Legislative Budget Committee and State Auditor on the effectiveness of these 
provision, including recidivism rates. 

 
Mentally Disordered Offenders:  Reimbursement 
 
Under existing law, whenever a hearing is held pursuant to existing law relating to mentally 
disordered offenders, all transportation costs to and from a state hospital or a facility designated 
by the community program director during the hearing shall be paid by the State Controller. 

 
SB 1562 (Maldonado), Chapter 812, reimburses local jurisdictions for the reasonable 
and necessary costs connected with any crime committed at a state hospital for the care, 
treatment, and education of mentally disordered offenders. 

 
COURT HEARINGS AND PROCEDURES 

 
 
Panic Strategy 
 
The murder of Gwen Araujo in Newark, California, focused national attention on the increasing 
use of the "panic strategy" by defendants in murder trials.  In 2004, the criminal trial of the three 
men accused of attacking Ms. Araujo ended in a mistrial, following several weeks of defense 
attorneys asserting that the defendants “panicked” upon learning that Ms. Araujo was a 
transgender individual.  Their arguments, largely based on stereotypes about transgender women, 
were framed to play on societal bias against transgender people.  If successful, using the panic 



strategy could have resulted in a conviction for the lesser charge of voluntary manslaughter 
rather than first- or second-degree murder as sought by the prosecution.   
 

AB 1160 (Lieber), Chapter 550, makes legislative findings and declarations expressing 
disapproval of the use of "panic strategies" by criminal defendants in order to appeal to 
the societal bias of a juror based on the victim's actual or perceived gender or sexual 
orientation, and requires the court to instruct the jury that their decision should not be 
influenced by bias against a victim, as specified. 
 

Sexually Violent Predators:  Out-Patient Release 
 
The Department of Mental Health (DMH) has developed terms and conditions of outpatient 
release to ensure the safety of communities and the success of a sexually violent predator's (SVP) 
rehabilitation.  DMH should not be allowed to unilaterally alter any of the terms and conditions 
of the out-patient release of a SVP without the approval of the court. 
 

AB 1683 (Shirley Horton), Chapter 339, requires DMH to provide the court and law 
enforcement with copies of specified information relating to the monitoring and 
supervision of a SVP proposed for out-patient treatment in the community.  Specifically, 
this new law: 
 
• Requires DMH to provide the court with a copy of the written contract entered into 

with any entity responsible for monitoring and supervising the out-patient placement 
and treatment of a SVP proposed for out-patient treatment in the community. 
 

• States that the court in its discretion may order DMH to provide a copy of the written 
terms and conditions of out-patient release to the sheriff, chief of police, or both, who 
have jurisdiction over the actual or proposed placement community. 
 

• Provides that except in an emergency, DMH or its designee shall not alter the terms 
and conditions of conditional release without the approval of the court. 
 

• Requires DMH to give notice to the committed person, the district attorney, or 
designated county counsel of any proposed change in the terms of out-patient release. 
 

• Provides that the court on its own motion, or upon the motion of either party to the 
action, may set a hearing on the proposed change as soon as practicable. 
 

• States that if a hearing on the proposed change is held, the court shall state its 
findings on the record.  If the court approves a change in the terms and conditions of 
conditional release without a hearing, the court shall issue a written order. 
 

• Provides that in the case of an emergency, DMH or its designee may deviate from the 
terms and conditions of conditional release to protect the public safety or the safety of 
the person, and allows for a hearing on the emergency to be set as soon as practicable. 
 



• Clarifies that matters concerning the residential placement, including any changes or 
proposed changes in residential placement, shall be considered and determined under 
existing statutory guidelines. 
 

Evidence:  Victim Testimony 
 
Under existing law when determining the credibility of a witness, a court or jury may consider 
any matter that has any tendency in reason to prove or disprove the truthfulness of his or her 
testimony at the hearing. 
 

AB 1996 (Bogh), Chapter 225, extends procedures relating to sealed records of the 
sexual history of complaining witnesses to include certain sexual offenses pursuant to 
specified evidence provisions dealing with prior offenses. 
 

Protective Orders:  Firearm Relinquishment 
 
In 2004, the Legislature amended the firearms relinquishment provisions that apply to Domestic 
Violence Prevention Act (DVPA) protective orders issued under the Family Code to provide that 
persons subject to DVPA orders must relinquish any firearms in their possession within 24 hours 
of being served with the order.  Prior to this change, the restrained person was afforded 48 hours 
to relinquish the firearm if he or she had been present at a noticed hearing on the order request, 
but only 24 hours if he or she was not at the hearing.  The changes made by SB 1391 (Romero), 
Chapter 250, Statutes of 2004, were to clarify and simplify the relinquishment standard, and to 
eliminate the need to have checkboxes to indicate which time applied in each situation on the 
order form.  When the Legislature simplified the provision for DVPA orders, the Legislature did 
not change the provision applicable to other types of protective orders.  That provision is found 
in the Code of Civil Procedure Section 527.9 and governs protective orders issued by a criminal 
court, as well as civil harassment, workplace violence, and elder and dependent adult abuse 
protective orders.   
 

AB 2129 (Spitzer), Chapter 474, requires a person who has been served with a 
protective order to relinquish any firearm within 24 hours regardless of whether the 
person was present in court when the order was served. 

 
Criminal Procedure:  Defendant's Appearance 
 
Under current law, all persons charged with a misdemeanor (with the exception of persons 
charged with domestic violence) can appear through counsel.  The court should have the 
discretion to require a defendant to personally appear at any time when charged with a 
misdemeanor driving under the influence (DUI) offense.   
 

AB 2174 (Villines), Chapter 744, provides that the court may order a person charged 
with a misdemeanor DUI offense to be personally present at arraignment, plea, or 
sentencing. 

 



Habeas Corpus:  Notice 
 
Existing law requires a person who is held in custody and is applying for a writ of habeas corpus 
to give 24 hours notice to the district attorney in the county wherein the person is held in 
custody. 
 

AB 2272 (Parra), Chapter 274, requires that if a writ challenging a denial of parole is 
made returnable, a copy of the writ and the order to show cause be served by the superior 
court upon the Attorney General and the district attorney of the county in which the 
underlying judgment was returned. 
 

Probation Reports:  Sexual Assault Victims 
 
Under current law, a probation department is mandated to contact a crime victim in order to 
conduct investigations, write pre-sentence reports, and make recommendations to the court when 
relating to an alleged sex offense.  Current law does not technically specify probation 
departments as authorized recipients of sexual assault victims' names and addresses and must 
obtain contact information through at third party (telephone directory, district attorney’s office, 
victim’s advocacy group, etc.) inhibiting the probation officer's ability to provide thorough and 
accurate recommendations on sentencing to a court.  

 
The probation officer’s report is a permanent record of the victim’s statement that can be referred 
to by the prosecutor in future criminal filings, can provide valuable information to the California 
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation in parole hearings or for clemency consideration, 
and can allow a victim’s voice in the court to resonate should the victim not be available at a 
future date. 
 

AB 2615 (Tran), Chapter 92, adds a county probation officer to the list of law 
enforcement officials who may obtain the name and address of a victim of a sex offense 
for the purpose of conducting official business.    

 
Court Hearings:  Mentally Incompetent Offenders 
 
Under existing law at the end of three years from the date of commitment or a period of 
commitment equal to the maximum term of imprisonment provided by law for the most serious 
offense charged in the information, indictment, or misdemeanor complaint, whichever is shorter, 
a defendant who has not recovered mental competence shall be returned to the committing court. 
 

AB 2858 (Leno), Chapter 799, states that where a defendant has bee found mentally 
incompetent to stand trial, the district attorney shall be notified if the offender is placed 
on an out-patient status. 

 
Spousal Rape 
 
Under existing law, commencement of the prosecution for spousal rape shall not begin unless the 
violation was reported to medical personnel, a member of the clergy, an attorney, a shelter 



representative, a counselor, a judicial officer, a rape crisis agency, a prosecuting agency, a law 
enforcement officer, or a firefighter within one year after the date of the violation.  This reporting 
requirement shall not apply if the victim's allegation of the offense is corroborated by 
independent evidence that would otherwise be admissible during trial. 
 

SB 1402 (Kuehl), Chapter 45, deletes the requirement that spousal rape only be 
prosecuted where the victim reported the attack to a specified person within one year of 
the offense or where the offense is corroborated by independent evidence that would 
otherwise be admissible at trial. 
 

Interception of Communications 
 
Many courts are no longer accepting facsimile copies of a district attorney’s signature on the 
application for an order authorizing a wiretap.  While the law allows a district attorney to 
designate another individual in his/her absence, many district attorneys personally review each 
application.  Due to the serious nature of these applications, district attorneys should be provided 
with the tools to fulfill their responsibilities. 
 

SB 1714 (Margett), Chapter 146, requires a judge to accept a facsimile copy of the 
signature of the Attorney General, district attorney or specified designee in support of an 
application for an order authorizing interception of electronic communications.  The 
original signed application is required to be filed and then sealed by the court consistent 
with existing law. 
 

CRIME PREVENTION 
 
 
Peace Officer Powers:  Los Angeles Security Officers 
 
Existing law provides that numerous types of publicly employed security officers are granted 
peace officer powers of arrest even though they are not peace officers.  These persons may 
exercise the powers of arrest of a peace officer, as specified, during the course and within the 
scope of their employment if they successfully complete a course in the exercise of those powers, 
as specified, which has been certified by the Commission on Peace Officers Standards and 
Training.   
 
The role of Los Angeles city security guards, often the first line of response to any disruption of 
the public order, has clearly evolved over the years into a more proactive approach.  In recent 
years, there have been many situations where these officers have found it necessary to detain 
persons while awaiting a response from the Los Angeles Police Department or other sworn 
personnel.  For example, there have been situations involving assaults, carrying concealed 
weapons, injecting illegal drugs and lewd conduct in front of minors. 
 

AB 1980 (Bass), Chapter 271, clarifies the authority of Los Angeles City security 
officers whose duties include protecting the public at locations throughout Los Angeles.  
These sites include the airport, harbor, libraries, power plants, reservoirs, City Hall and 
other facilities. 



 
Parole:  Prerelease Program 
 
The recidivism rate for parolees in California is over 60%, costing the state and local 
governments hundreds of millions of dollars annually in increased incarceration and public 
safety costs.  In addition, the high recidivism rate threatens the ability of law enforcement to 
effectively protect the public.  Many parolees return to their local community with mental health, 
substance abuse, employability, and housing issues.  Although there are some programs that 
provide support to help parolees overcome barriers to becoming productive members of the 
community, there is a need for an approach that can effectively reintegrate parolees back into the 
community, enhancing public safety and reducing the recidivism rate. 
 

AB 1998 (Chan), Chapter 732, requires the California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR) to contract for the establishment and operation of a pre-release 
parole pilot program in Alameda County.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Provides that purpose of the program is to provide coordination between CDCR and 

community service providers to ensure that parolees transition smoothly from 
services during incarceration through re-entry programs.  
 

• Requires the pre-release pilot program to prepare participants who will be entering a 
re-entry services program. 
 

• States that up to one year prior to a state prison inmate's release on parole to Alameda 
County any male or female inmate committed for a non-violent offense may enroll in 
the program. 
 

• Requires that the pilot program include, but not be limited to, a pre-release 
assessment screening for needed educational, employment-related, medical, substance 
abuse, and mental health services; housing assistance; and other social services. 
 

• States that in awarding a contract, the CDCR Secretary may accept proposals from 
public and private not-for-profit entities located in the community. 
 

• Requires the contractee with the assistance of an independent consultant with 
expertise in criminal justice programs to complete a report evaluating the cost 
effectiveness of the pre-release program with regard to the effect of the program on 
the recidivism rate of the participating offenders and submit the evaluation to the 
appropriate policy and fiscal committees of the Legislature and the Governor by no 
later than January 1, 2010. 
 

• Limits the cost of the report to the Legislature to no more than five percent of the cost 
of the program. 
 

• Contains a sunset date of January 1, 2011.  
 



Confidentiality:  Victim Advocates and Crime Scene Investigators 
 
Existing law provides protection to certain groups in society that come into contact with 
criminals, including according confidential status to their home addresses and telephone 
numbers, including active or retired police officers, district attorneys, public defenders, specified 
California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation employees and others who work closely 
with convicts. 
 

AB 2005 (Emmerson), Chapter 472, expands existing Department of Motor Vehicle 
confidentiality provisions to include specified employees who routinely have contact with 
individuals involved in criminal activity to the list of public safety officials whose 
personal information is protected from disclosure on the Internet.  This new law adds 
specified employees of the Attorney General, as well as the United States Attorney and 
Federal Public Defender, to the definition of "public safety official".  This new law also 
adds state and federal judges and court commissioners, probation officers, and specified 
employees who supervise inmates in a city police department to the list of public safety 
officials whose information is protected from disclosure.   
 

Domestic Violence 
 
In April 2005, the Department of Health Services (DHS) surveyed the current capacity of 
California shelters to provide culturally competent care and identified the lesbian, gay, bisexual 
and transgender (LGBT) community as a population not served in the intimate partner abuse 
area.  Although DHS has clear evidence of the LGBT community's need of services in this area 
and has dedicated funding for this purpose, DHS' programs are still designed primarily to serve 
battered women and their children. 
 
Additionally, from the LGBT community's perspective, many LGBT victims are afraid to access 
shelter services for fear of “outing” themselves or being further harmed by service providers who 
lack the understanding and sensitivity to meet their needs.  Homosexual male and transgender 
victims may feel particularly uncomfortable at women’s shelters.  
 
LGBT domestic violence victims are much more likely to seek safe havens at community centers 
and organizations that cater directly to the LGBT community.  In addition, law enforcement, 
domestic violence shelters and other providers require better training to serve LGBT victims, 
particularly in parts of the state that do not have LGBT-specific organizations. 
 

AB 2051 (Cohn), Chapter 856, establishes the Equality in Prevention and Services for 
Domestic Abuse Act in order to provide culturally appropriate education and services for 
LGBT victims of domestic violence.   Specifically, this new law:   

 
• Establishes a $23 fee for those registering as domestic partners, which will support 

the following initiatives to combat domestic violence in the LGBT community:  
 
o An educational brochure specific to LGBT abuse;  

 



o LGBT-specific domestic violence training for law enforcement officers and 
domestic violence service providers; and, 
 

o Grants administered by DHS to support organizations that serve the LGBT 
community. 
 

• Requires the fee to be deposited in the Equality in Prevention and Services for 
Domestic Abuse Fund to be administered by DHS.   
 

• Requires the Secretary of State to provide couples with a LGBT domestic abuse 
brochure, along with their Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership. 

 
• Requires the Maternal and Child Health Branch of DHS, which issues grants to 

battered women's shelters to provide emergency shelter for women and their children 
escaping family violence, to include grants to underserved communities, including the 
LGBT community.  This new law requires the advisory council established to consult 
with DHS regarding the Maternal and Child Health Branch grants to battered 
women's shelters to include individuals with an interest and expertise in LGBT 
domestic violence.   
 

• Requires that the training program required for law enforcement officers on the 
handling of domestic violence complaints to include adequate instruction on the 
nature and extent of domestic violence in the LGBT community. 
 

• Requires the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training, charged with 
developing the course of instruction for the training program, to consult with, among 
others, individuals with an interest and expertise in LGBT domestic violence.   
 

• Requires that statewide training workshops on domestic violence conducted by the 
Office of Emergency Services include a curriculum on LGBT domestic abuse. 

 
• Requires DHS, using funds from the Equality in Prevention and Services for 

Domestic Abuse Fund, to develop and disseminate an LGBT-specific domestic abuse 
brochure and administer a program of grants that support LGBT victims of domestic 
violence, as specified. 

 
Anti-Reproductive Rights Crimes 
 
Under existing law, "anti-reproductive-rights crime" is defined as a crime committed partly or 
wholly because the victim is a reproductive health services client, provider, or assistant, or a 
crime that is partly or wholly intended to intimidate the victim, any other person or entity, or any 
class of persons or entities from becoming or remaining a reproductive health services client, 
provider, or assistant.  "Anti-reproductive-rights crime" includes, but is not limited to, a violation 
of existing law related to free access to clinics.  
 



SB 603 (Romero), Chapter 481, makes specified changes to the list of organizations 
within the statutory definition of "subject matter experts" on the issue of "anti-
reproductive rights crime" and requires the Commission on the Status of Women to 
convene an advisory committee consisting of one person appointed by the Attorney 
General and one person appointed by each of the organizations listed as subject matter 
experts, as specified, who choose to appoint a member or any other subject matter experts 
the Commission may appoint.  

 
Sex Offender Punishment, Control and Containment Act of 2006:  Risk Assessment 
 
Under existing law, persons placed on probation by a court shall be under the supervision of a 
county probation officer who shall determine both the level and type of supervision consistent 
with the court-ordered conditions of probation. 
 

SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, requires that every sex offender be assessed and 
evaluated using the "State-Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders" 
(SARATSO) by January 1, 2013, as directed by the SARATSO Review Committee. 

 
Continuous Electronic Monitoring 
 
California has more registered sex offenders than any other state in the country.  More than 9,000 
sex offenders are supervised on parole caseloads, and may be living and working in the same 
areas where children congregate.  According to the California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR), at least 2,000 of these sex offenders are classified as "high risk."  
Recently, it was discovered that a number of these offenders were allowed to live in motels 
adjacent to Disneyland.   
 
Currently, another 11,000 sex offenders are on county probation; thousands more are 
incarcerated in county jails and will be released back into local communities within one year.  
While California has some of the toughest laws in the nation as it relates to punishing sex 
offenders, there is a concern that the state does not do enough to ensure that when these 
offenders are released from prison or jail they are monitored to the fullest extent possible.  
 
Global position satellite monitoring technology is a method of tracking the whereabouts of 
offenders who pose a threat to society.  These devices allow a parole agent to be aware of every 
move the offender makes at all times.   
 

SB 1178 (Speier), Chapter 336, commencing July 1, 2008, requires every adult male 
convicted of an offense that requires him or her to register as a sex offender to be 
assessed for risk of re-offending using the state-authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex 
Offenders (SARATSO).  Specifically, this new law:   

 
• States that on or before January 1, 2008, the SARATSO Review Committee, in 

consultation with parole officers and other law enforcement officers, shall develop a 
training program for probation officers, parole officers, and any other persons 
authorized to administer the SARATSO. 
 



• Requires probation and parole regional parole departments to designate persons 
within their organizations to attend yearly training, and shall train others within their 
organizations who are designated to perform risk assessments. 
 

• States that the SARATSO Review Committee shall establish a plan for assessing 
eligible persons not assessed pursuant to this law.  The plan shall provide for adult 
males to be assessed before January 1, 2012 and for females and juveniles to be 
assessed on or before January 1, 2013.  This new law requires that on or before 
January 15, 2008, the Committee shall introduce legislation to implement the plan. 
 

• States that commencing on January 1, 2008, every adult male sex offender registrant 
shall be assessed for the risk of re-offending using the SARATSO assessment and 
every adult male who has a risk assessment of "high" shall be continuously 
electronically monitored while on parole unless CDCR determines that such 
monitoring is unnecessary for a particular person. 
 

• States that beginning January 1, 2009 and every two years thereafter, the CDCR shall 
report to the Legislature and the Governor on the effectiveness of continuous 
electronic monitoring, including the costs of the monitoring and the recidivism rates 
of those persons who have been monitored.   
 

Criminal Justice Statistics 
 
The Office of the Attorney General, through the Department of Justice's (DOJ) Criminal Justice 
Statistics Center, collects, analyzes, and develops reports and data sets that provide valid 
measures of crime and the criminal justice process in California.  The statistics are aggregated by 
state, county, city and jurisdictions with populations of 100,000 or more.  Though the statistics 
provided are fairly comprehensive, not all statistical information collected is available on the 
Internet. 
 
One set of information which is currently unavailable on DOJ's Criminal Justice Statistics Center 
Web site is the comparison of crimes reported, crimes cleared, and clearance rates by individual 
law enforcement agencies.  Generally, crimes are 'cleared' when at least one person is arrested, 
charged for the crime, and turned over to the court for prosecution.  The availability of this 
information would allow Californians to easily compare the number of crimes reported, number 
of crimes cleared, and clearance rates of these crimes by individual law enforcement agencies. 
 

SB 1261 (McClintock), Chapter 306, requires the DOJ to create an additional on-line 
report containing specified criminal justice information as reported by individual law 
enforcement agencies.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Requires the DOJ to maintain data, updated annually, that contains the number of 

crimes reported, number of clearances and clearance rates as reported by individual 
California law enforcement agencies. 
 



• States that the data shall be made available through a prominently displayed hypertext 
link on the home page of the DOJ's Criminal Justice Statistic Center Web site. 
 

• States that this section shall not be construed to require reporting of any crimes other 
than those required under existing law. 

 
Controlled Substances:  Sales Near Drug Treatment Centers 
 
Drug dealers target many homeless shelters and drug treatment centers when selling unlawful 
controlled substances as individuals there for treatment can easily relapse and buy drugs.   
 

SB 1318 (Cedillo), Chapter 650, creates a sentence enhancement of imprisonment in the 
state prison for one additional year for persons convicted of trafficking in specified 
controlled substances on the grounds of, or within 1,000 feet of, a drug treatment center, 
detoxification facility, or homeless shelter.  Specifically, this new law:  
 

• Makes legislative findings and declarations relating to drug trafficking near drug 
treatment centers and homeless shelters, and states that a substantial drug abuse and 
drug trafficking problem exists among recovering drug addicts and homeless 
individuals adjacent to and around drug treatment centers, homeless shelters and other 
service providers in California. 
 

• States legislative intent to support increased efforts by local law enforcement 
agencies, working in conjunction with drug treatment centers, mental health centers 
and other homeless service providers; and to suppress drug trafficking adjacent to, 
and around, facilities and agencies dedicated to drug recovery and rehabilitation.   
 

Criminal Justice Statistics 
 
The California Attorney General has the duty to collect, analyze, and report statistical data to 
measure crime.  While the Attorney General’s report includes property crimes, the report does 
not separate identity theft from general theft and other related property crimes.  Having accurate 
statistical data will help law enforcement and the Legislature in formulating future strategy and 
legislation to combat identity theft. 
 

SB 1390 (Poochigian), Chapter 160, requires the Department of Justice (DOJ) to 
publish statistical data regarding identity theft arrests in DOJ's annual report on crime in 
California. 
 



Parole:  Post-Release Drug Treatment  
 
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), studies of California Department of Corrections 
and Rehabilitation (CDCR) drug treatment programs suggest short-term incentives must be 
provided in order to compel inmates to volunteer for in-prison treatment.  In addition, in-prison 
treatment is rarely successful in decreasing recidivism unless coupled with a minimum of 90 to 
150 days aftercare in the community.   
 
The CDCR spends more than $100 million per year on drug treatment programs.  Currently, only 
28% of all the inmates who successfully complete in-prison drug treatment programs opt for 
aftercare placement and less than 15% of those entering aftercare actually complete the program.  
Some incentive must be provided for those inmates who volunteer for in-prison treatment and 
complete an aftercare program when released on parole. 
 

SB 1453 (Speier), Chapter 875, requires specified inmates who have successfully 
completed an in-prison drug treatment program to be placed in a residential treatment 
program upon release from custody, and be discharged from parole upon successful 
completion of the treatment program.  Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Provides that any inmate in CDCR's custody who is not serving an indeterminate 

term, a sentence for a serious or violent felony, or a crime that requires registration as 
a convicted sex offender and who has completed an in-prison treatment program 
shall, whenever possible be placed in a 150-day residential aftercare treatment 
program upon release. 
 

• Provides that if the inmate successfully completes the 150-day residential aftercare 
treatment program, as determined by CDCR and the aftercare provider, he or she 
shall be discharged from parole supervision at that time. 
 

• States that commencing with 2008, CDCR shall report annually to the Joint 
Legislative Budget Committee and State Auditor on the effectiveness of these 
provision, including recidivism rates. 

 
CRIMINAL JUSTICE PROGRAMS 

 
 
Sex Offender Management Board 
 
In California, sex offenders are currently managed through a complex system involving multiple 
state and local departments.  Yet, there is no centralized infrastructure that coordinates 
communication, research or decision-making amongst the various agencies. 
 
There are over 100,000 registered sex offenders living in California communities, an estimated 
14,000 to 25,000 in California prisons, and an additional unknown number in California jails.  
Almost all convicted sex offenders will eventually return to the community within a short period 
of time under direct supervision, either on parole, probation or conditional release.  During this 



period of time when a sex offender is under direct supervision, it is integral that there is a 
comprehensive and cohesive network of interventions available to control the behavior of sex 
offenders and prevent recidivism. 
 

AB 1015 (Chu), Chapter 338, creates a Sex Offender Management Board (SOMB), 
comprised of 17 members, to assess current management practices for adult sex offenders 
and report to the Legislature by January 1, 2008.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Establishes a 17-member SOMB, under the jurisdiction of the California Department 

of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR), with a representation from northern, 
central, and southern California as well as urban and rural areas.  Establishes the 
following characteristics for each appointee to SOMB: 
 
o Substantial prior knowledge of issues related to sex offenders; 

 
o Decision-making authority for the agency or constituency represented; and, 

 
o A willingness to serve on SOMB and a commitment to contribute to SOMB's 

work. 
 

• Establishes the membership of SOMB to consist of the following persons: 
 
o State government agencies: 

 
� One member who represents the Department of Justice (DOJ), appointed by 

the Speaker of the Assembly, with expertise in dealing with sex offender 
registration, notification, and enforcement; 
 

� One member who represents CDCR, appointed by the Governor, with an 
expertise in parole policies; 
 

� One member who represents the Board of Prison Terms, appointed by 
Governor; 
 

� One California state judge, appointed by the President pro Tempore of the 
Senate; and, 
 

� One member who represents the Department of Mental Health (DMH), 
appointed by the President pro Tempore of the Senate, who is a licensed 
mental health professional with recognizable expertise in the treatment of sex 
offenders. 
 

o Local government agencies: 
 
� Three members who represent law enforcement, appointed by the Governor.  

One member shall possess investigative expertise and one member shall have 



law enforcement duties that include registration and notification 
responsibilities; 
 

� One member who represents prosecuting attorneys, appointed by the President 
pro Tempore of the Senate, with expertise in dealing with adult and juvenile 
sex offenders; 
 

� One member who represents probation officers, appointed by the Speaker of 
the Assembly; and, 
 

� One member who represents public defenders, appointed by the Speaker of 
the Assembly. 
 

o Non-governmental agencies: 
 

� Two members who are licensed mental health professionals with expertise in 
the treatment of sex offenders, appointed by President pro Tempore of the 
Senate. 
 

� Two members who represent sex abuse victims and rape crisis centers, 
appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly; and, 
 

� One member who is a clinical polygraph examiner with a specialization in the 
administration of post conviction polygraph testing for sex offenders, 
appointed by the Governor. 
 

• Directs SOMB to appoint a presiding officer from among its members to serve in a 
capacity as SOMB sees fit. 
 

Sex Offenders 
 
Existing law requires the Department of Justice (DOJ) to make information concerning certain 
persons required to register as sex offenders available to the public via an Internet Web site, 
including the offender's criminal history.  However, there are concerns that the database has not 
disclosed other important aspects of the offender’s history.  For example, the database fails to 
disclose the date of the offender’s last offense of a sexual nature and when the offender was 
released from incarceration for that crime.   
 

AB 1849 (Leslie), Chapter 886, requires that on or before July 1, 2010, the year of the 
conviction of the offender's last sexual offense, the year of release from incarceration for 
that offense, and whether he or she was subsequently incarcerated for any felony be 
posted on the Internet Web site.  This new law also requires any state facility that releases 
a sex offender to provide the year of conviction and year of release for his or her most 
recent offense requiring registration as a sex offender to the DOJ.  Additionally, any state 
facility that releases a person required to register as a sex offender from incarceration 
whose incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense for which he 



or she is required to register to so advise the DOJ.  This new law takes effect 
immediately. 
 

Student Advisory Review Board:  Sunset Date 
 
Education Code Section 48293(c), relating to the failure of a parent to enroll his or her student in 
school, was originally due to sunset on January 1, 2005.  The Legislative Analyst’s Office and 
the State School Attendance Review Board were required to develop a report regarding the 
implementation of Compulsory Education Law provisions; the recommendation was for the 
sunset provision to be eliminated.  However, the annual Education Omnibus Bill was not the 
proper vehicle for eliminating the sunset date and, subsequently, Education Code Section 
48293(c) is to sunset on January 1, 2006.  If Education Code 48293(c) is eliminated and not 
restored after January 1, 2006, the courts will lose one of the tools they need to deal with parents 
who are neglecting the education of their children. 
 

AB 2181 (Salinas), Chapter 273, deletes the sunset date of January 1, 2006 from 
provisions related to mandatory education thereby extending indefinitely the authority of 
the court to order or punish a person for failing to comply with compulsory attendance 
laws. 
 

Amber Alerts 
 
Under current law, any person who reports an emergency, as defined, knowing the report is false 
is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to $1,000 fine; up to one year in county jail; or both.  
However, current law is not clear that an Amber Alert constitutes an "emergency".   
 

AB 2225 (Mountjoy), Chapter 227, adds activation of the Amber Alert System to the 
definition of an "emergency" thus making an individual who knowingly makes a false 
report guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for a 
period not exceeding one year; by a fine not exceeding $1,000; or both imprisonment and 
fine.  This new law also provides that an activation or possible activation of the 
Emergency Alert System is not an "emergency" if it occurs as the result of a report made, 
or caused to be made, by a parent, guardian, or lawful custodian of a child that is based 
on a good-faith belief that the child is missing.   
 

Emergency Medical Services 
 
In Santa Barbara County, local hospitals are reported to be losing an estimated $8 million 
annually due to uncompensated emergency and trauma care.  Two hospitals have closed in Santa 
Barbara County in the past seven years, leaving five hospitals to serve the area.  Santa Barbara 
County has the only level two trauma center between Los Angeles and San Jose (Cottage 
Hospital).  Cottage Hospital has the only around-the-clock physician, on-call panel on the 
Central Coast; has the only pediatric intensive on the Central Coast; and supports facilities 
throughout the tri-county region. 
 



In 2002, over 115,000 emergency room visits were made in Santa Barbara.  Of those, 58 percent 
of the patients were uninsured or underinsured.  Special legislation was passed, implementing an 
additional penalty assessment for Santa Barbara County only, to respond to this crisis.  That 
legislation provided that the additional assessment terminated in 2006. 
 
In February 2005, a local Maddy Committee formed and held numerous meetings to strategize 
about permanent funding sources.  In April 2005, a public opinion survey was conducted.  Voters 
were positive about Santa Barbara hospitals, and a majority supported a sales tax increase for 
trauma/emergency care/law enforcement system.  However, the support was less than the 66 
percent necessary to pass a local ballot initiative.  Therefore, Santa Barbara County required an 
extension of the additional penalty assessment period. 
 

AB 2265 (Nava), Chapter 768, authorizes Santa Barbara County to collect the additional 
penalty revenues to pay for emergency medical services until January 1, 2009.  This new 
law contains legislative findings that the Legislature, in extending the period of time 
during which the additional penalties may be collected, expects Santa Barbara County to 
place an appropriate proposed tax ordinance as a county measure on the ballot for, or 
before, the November 2008 election ensuring the collection of sufficient funds to fully 
support the trauma center.   

 
Parole Re-Entry:  East Palo Alto Pilot Program 
 
Under existing law, the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation is granted 
authority to establish three pilot programs for intensive training and counseling programs for 
female parolees to assist in the successful reintegration into the community upon release from 
custody following in-prison therapeutic community drug treatment. 
 

AB 2436 (Ruskin), Chapter 799, establishes a parole re-entry pilot program in East Palo 
Alto.  

 
Sentencing:  Veteran's Treatment Programs 
 
Under current law, in the case of any person convicted of a felony who would otherwise be 
sentenced to state prison, the court shall consider whether the defendant was a member of United 
States military forces who served combat in Vietnam and suffers from substance abuse or 
psychological problems resulting from that service.  Current law does not extend this 
consideration to veterans who serviced in Iraq or Afghanistan. 
 

AB 2586 (Parra), Chapter 788, allows the court to consider a treatment program, in lieu 
of incarceration, as a condition of probation in cases involving military veterans who 
suffer from post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), substance abuse, or psychological 
problems stemming from their military service.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Makes legislative findings and declarations regarding PTSD among veterans.  This 

new law states legislative intent to extend the opportunity for alternative sentencing to 
all combat veterans regardless of where or when those veterans served the country 



when those veterans are found by the court to be suffering from PTSD. 
 

• Expands which convicted veterans who allege they committed offenses as a result of 
PTSD, substance abuse, or psychological problems stemming from combat and then 
receive a hearing prior to sentence to determine if this is true from Vietnam veterans 
convicted of felonies to all combat veterans convicted of any criminal offense. 
 

• Provides that if the court concludes that a defendant convicted of a criminal offense is 
a combat veteran who committed the offense as a result of PTSD, substance abuse, or 
psychological problems stemming from that combat service, and if the defendant is 
otherwise eligible for probation and the court places the defendant on probation, the 
court may order the defendant into a local; state; federal; or private, non-profit 
treatment program for a period not to exceed that which the defendant would have 
served in state prison or county jail, provided the defendant agrees to participate in 
the program and the court determines that an appropriate treatment program exists.   
 

• Provides what when determining the "needs of the defendant" for purposes of 
probation, the court shall consider the fact that the defendant is a combat veteran who 
committed the offense as a result of PTSD, substance abuse, or psychological 
problems stemming from that combat service in assessing whether the defendant 
should be placed on probation, and by examining whether the defendant would be 
best served while on probation by being ordered into a private, nonprofit treatment 
service program with a demonstrated history of specializing in the treatment of 
military service related issues, such as post-traumatic stress disorder, substance abuse, 
or psychological problems. 
 

• Provides that a defendant granted probation under this section and committed to a 
residential treatment program shall earn sentence credits for the actual time the 
defendant served in residential treatment.  
 

• Provides that the court, in making an order under this section to commit a defendant 
to a treatment program, shall give preference to a treatment program that has a history 
of successfully treating combat veterans who suffer from PTSD, substance abuse, or 
psychological problems as a result of that service.  
 

• Provides that if a referral is made to the county mental health authority, the county 
shall be obligated to provide mental health treatment services only to the extent that 
resources are available for that purpose.  If mental health treatment services are 
ordered by the court, the county mental health agency shall coordinate appropriate 
referral of the defendant to the county veteran's service officer.  The county mental 
health agency shall not be responsible for providing services outside its traditional 
scope of services.  An order shall be made referring a defendant to a county mental 
health agency only if that agency has agreed to accept responsibility for the treatment 
of the defendant.   
 



Domestic Violence 
 
AB 352 (Goldberg), Chapter 431, Statutes of 2003, increased the fees to $400 that a person 
convicted of a domestic violence offense must pay in order to support specified domestic 
violence programs.  This statute was scheduled to expire on January 1, 2007 
 

AB 2695 (Goldberg), Chapter 476, extends the sunset date to January 1, 2010 for the 
$400 fee imposed on a person convicted of domestic violence to support domestic 
violence centers, the Domestic Violence Restraining Order Reimbursement Fund, and the 
Domestic Violence Training and Education Fund.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Extends the sunset date to January 1, 2010 on provisions of law that imposed a $400 

fee on a person convicted of domestic violence to support domestic violence centers, 
the Domestic Violence Restraining Order Reimbursement Fund and the Domestic 
Violence Training and Education Fund. 
 

• Allows a judge, when issuing a temporary restraining order or injunction requested by 
an employer to include multiple employees or worksites within the protection of the 
order. 
 

• Allows the court, upon a showing of good cause by the employer requesting the 
temporary restraining order or injunction, to issue a temporary restraining order or 
injunction which includes other persons employed at his or her workplace or 
workplaces. 
 

• Provides that if the Commission on State Mandates determines that this act contains 
costs mandated by the state, reimbursement to local agencies and school district for 
those costs shall be made pursuant to specified sections of the Government Code. 
 

• Extends indefinitely provisions of law that waive fees associated with the service of 
process of specified protective orders, restraining orders or injunctions. 
 

• Extends indefinitely provisions of law that provides that there is no fee for a subpoena 
filed in connection with an application for a protective order, under specified 
circumstances. 
 

• Extends indefinitely provisions of law that prohibit a sheriff from requiring a 
prepayment fee for protective orders relating to workplace violence. 
 

• Expands the workplace violence exception to include elder abuse and domestic 
violence. 
 

DNA  
 
When implementing the DNA Fingerprint, Unsolved Crime and Innocence Protection Act 
(Proposition 69 passed by the voters in November 2004), it was discovered that technical, 



clarifying changes were needed relating to laboratories authorized to upload DNA profiles and 
clarifying that state mental hospital peace officers are authorized to use reasonable force to 
collect DNA samples from persons who resist DNA collection.  Additionally, it was also 
necessary to clarify that DNA samples may not be taken based solely upon an arrest without a 
conviction that occurred before the enactment of Proposition 69. 
 

AB 2850 (Spitzer), Chapter 170, provides that only Department of Justice (DOJ) 
laboratories and designated public law enforcement crime laboratories may upload 
available DNA and forensic identification databank samples, as specified.  The DOJ and 
designated public law enforcement crime laboratories allowed to upload DNA and other 
forensic identification samples must meet state and federal requirements, including those 
of the Federal Bureau of Investigation Quality Assurance Standards and must be 
accredited by an organization approved by the National DNA Index System Procedures 
Board.  This new law also requires that a quality assessment must be conducted before 
DNA profiles generated by a private laboratory are uploaded.  Additionally, this new law 
includes the officers of a state mental hospital among those peace officers who may 
collect biological samples, and may use reasonable force to collect samples from 
individuals who refuse to provide them as required.   
 
This new law also clarifies that retroactive application of the requirement to provide 
DNA samples does not apply to persons arrested but not convicted prior to the 
implementation of Proposition 69. 

 
Controlled Substances:  Prescription Requirements 
 
California was required by recently enacted federal law [the National All Schedules Prescription 
Electronic Reporting (NASPAR) Act of 2005] to conform California’s current Controlled 
Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) program to federal law in order 
for California to qualify for federal grant funding. 
 
The NASPER mandates necessitated certain changes to the CURES statutory structure as 
NASPER creates grant funding criteria which the Department of Justice (DOJ) must meet to 
obtain federal funds to enhance California's prescription monitoring program - an important 
public safety tool.  Compliance with NASPER will require pharmacies to submit the dispensing 
of controlled substances to CURES weekly, significantly improving the timeliness of the data 
received by DOJ.   This change will also assist emergency room physicians with more updated 
information when responding to, and seeking background information regarding, patients 
suspected to be abusing controlled substances.    
 

AB 2986 (Mullin), Chapter 286, provided for the changes mandated by the newly 
enacted federal law, NASPER.  Specifically this new law: 
 
• Requires prescription forms to include the name of the ultimate user and check boxes 

enabling the prescribing health care practitioner to indicate the number of refills 
ordered.   
 



• Adds Schedule IV controlled substances to those monitored and reported on the 
CURES report. 
 

• Requires any practitioner other than a pharmacist who prescribes or administers a 
Schedule II, III, or IV drug to make a record of the transaction and requires that the 
information be provided to the DOJ. 

 



Victims of Crime:  Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault 
 
California operates the California Confidential Address Program (also known as the "Safe at 
Home Project") for victims of domestic violence and stalking.  This program enables state and 
local agencies to respond to requests for public records without disclosing a program 
participant's residence address contained in any public record.  
 
Additionally, the Office of Emergency services administers a comprehensive statewide domestic 
violence program.  This program provides financial and technical assistance to domestic violence 
service providers.  Existing law also provides that the Department of Health Services' Maternal 
and Child Health Branch shall administer a comprehensive shelter-based grant program to 
battered women's shelters. 
 

SB 1062 (Bowen), Chapter 639, makes victims of sexual assault eligible for 
participation in the California Confidential Address Program.  Eligibility was previously 
restricted to victims of domestic violence and stalking.  This new law also requires that 
any agency which receives funding from both the Maternal and Child Health Branch 
administered by the Department of Health Services and the Comprehensive Statewide 
Domestic Violence Program administered by the Office of Emergency Services to 
coordinate site visits and share performance assessment data, with the goal of improving 
efficiency, eliminating duplication, and reducing administrative costs.  

 
Sex Offender Punishment, Control and Containment Act of 2006:  Risk Assessment 
 
Under existing law, persons placed on probation by a court shall be under the supervision of a 
county probation officer who shall determine both the level and type of supervision consistent 
with the court-ordered conditions of probation. 
 

SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, requires that every sex offender be assessed and 
evaluated using the "State-Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders" 
(SARATSO) by January 1, 2013, as directed by the SARATSO Review Committee. 
 

Continuous Electronic Monitoring 
 
California has more registered sex offenders than any other state in the country.  More than 9,000 
sex offenders are supervised on parole caseloads, and may be living and working in the same 
areas where children congregate.  According to the California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR), at least 2,000 of these sex offenders are classified as "high risk."  
Recently, it was discovered that a number of these offenders were allowed to live in motels 
adjacent to Disneyland.   
 
Currently, another 11,000 sex offenders are on county probation; thousands more are 
incarcerated in county jails and will be released back into local communities within one year.  
While California has some of the toughest laws in the nation as it relates to punishing sex 
offenders, there is a concern that the state does not do enough to ensure that when these 
offenders are released from prison or jail they are monitored to the fullest extent possible.  



 
Global position satellite monitoring technology is a method of tracking the whereabouts of 
offenders who pose a threat to society.  These devices allow a parole agent to be aware of every 
move the offender makes at all times.   
 

SB 1178 (Speier), Chapter 336, commencing July 1, 2008, requires every adult male 
convicted of an offense that requires him or her to register as a sex offender to be 
assessed for risk of re-offending using the state-authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex 
Offenders (SARATSO).  Specifically, this new law:   

 
• States that on or before January 1, 2008, the SARATSO Review Committee, in 

consultation with parole officers and other law enforcement officers, shall develop a 
training program for probation officers, parole officers, and any other persons 
authorized to administer the SARATSO. 
 

• Requires probation and parole regional parole departments to designate persons 
within their organizations to attend yearly training, and shall train others within their 
organizations who are designated to perform risk assessments. 
 

• States that the SARATSO Review Committee shall establish a plan for assessing 
eligible persons not assessed pursuant to this law.  The plan shall provide for adult 
males to be assessed before January 1, 2012 and for females and juveniles to be 
assessed on or before January 1, 2013.  This new law requires that on or before 
January 15, 2008, the Committee shall introduce legislation to implement the plan. 
 

• States that commencing on January 1, 2008, every adult male sex offender registrant 
shall be assessed for the risk of re-offending using the SARATSO assessment and 
every adult male who has a risk assessment of "high" shall be continuously 
electronically monitored while on parole unless CDCR determines that such 
monitoring is unnecessary for a particular person. 
 

• States that beginning January 1, 2009 and every two years thereafter, the CDCR shall 
report to the Legislature and the Governor on the effectiveness of continuous 
electronic monitoring, including the costs of the monitoring and the recidivism rates 
of those persons who have been monitored.  

 
Criminal Justice Statistics 
 
The Office of the Attorney General, through the Department of Justice's (DOJ) Criminal Justice 
Statistics Center, collects, analyzes, and develops reports and data sets that provide valid 
measures of crime and the criminal justice process in California.  The statistics are aggregated by 
state, county, city and jurisdictions with populations of 100,000 or more.  Though the statistics 
provided are fairly comprehensive, not all of the statistical information collected is available on 
the Internet; the public is generally unaware that they may make special requests for such 
statistics to the Statistics Center. 
 



The availability of this information would allow Californians to easily compare the number of 
crimes reported, number of crimes cleared, and clearance rates of these crimes by individual law 
enforcement agencies, and make data readily available that is already collected by DOJ. 
 

SB 1261 (McClintock), Chapter 306, requires the DOJ to maintain a data set, updated 
annually, relating to crimes reported, the number of clearances and clearance rates 
reported by law enforcement agencies.  This new law further requires that the report shall 
be accessible by a hypertext link on the DOJ Internet Web site. 
 

Juvenile Crime 
 
Existing juvenile law (Proposition 21 in 2000) provides that a court may, under specified 
conditions, summarily grant deferred entry of judgment if a minor admits the charges, waives 
time for the pronouncement of judgment, and meets other eligibility criteria.  Existing law 
requires that the procedure for deferred entry of judgment may not commence without the 
agreement of the prosecutor, the public defender or the minor's private attorney, and the 
presiding judge of the juvenile court.  Under existing law, if the parties do not agree, the minor's 
case must be heard according to procedures generally governing juvenile cases.   
 

SB 1626 (Ashburn), Chapter 675, deletes provisions requiring that there be an 
agreement between the attorneys and the judge; and states that upon a finding that the 
minor is suitable for deferred entry of judgment and would benefit from education, 
treatment, and rehabilitation efforts, the court may grant deferred entry of judgment.  This 
new law requires a court to make findings on the record that a minor is appropriate for 
deferred entry of judgment in any case in which it is granted.  Deferred entry of judgment 
is not available to minors who have committed specified serious or violent offenses. 

 
Transit Fare Evasion 
   
Under current law, transit fare evasion and other minor transit infractions (e.g. smoking, eating, 
expectorating or playing loud music on a bus) are charged as an infraction under Penal Code 
Section 640.  San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency and Los Angeles County 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority want to decriminalize that behavior and, instead, 
adjudicate any or all of the specified violations through administrative review, freeing up court 
dockets to handle more serious offenses.  This change is consistent with the trend in other states 
to "decriminalize" minor traffic and parking offenses. 
 

SB 1749 (Migden), Chapter 258, allows for administrative enforcement of transit-
related violations in the City and County of San Francisco and the Los Angeles County 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Provides that the City and County of San Francisco and the Los Angeles County 

Metropolitan Transportation Authority may enact and enforce an ordinance providing 
that any acts prohibited on or in a facility or vehicle for which the City and County 
has jurisdiction shall be subject only to an administrative penalty imposed and 



enforced in a civil proceeding. 
 

• Provides that minors are exempt from these administrative penalties. 
 

• Provides that the City and County of San Francisco and the Los Angeles County 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority may enact and enforce an ordinance to impose 
and enforce an administrative penalty, excluding minors, for any of the following: 
 
o Evasion of the payment of a fare of the system; 

 
o Misuse of a transfer, pass, ticket or token with the intent to evade the payment of 

fare; 
 

o Playing sound equipment on or in a system facility or vehicle; 
 

o Smoking, eating, or drinking in or on a system facility or vehicle in those areas 
where those activities are prohibited by that system; 
 

o Expectorating upon a system facility or vehicle; 
 

o Willfully disturbing others on or in a system facility or vehicle by engaging in 
boisterous or unruly behavior; 
 

o Carrying an explosive or acid, flammable liquid, or toxic or hazardous material in 
a system facility or vehicle; 
 

o Urinating or defecating in a system facility or vehicle, except in a lavatory; 
 

o Willfully blocking the free movement of another in a system facility or vehicle; 
 

o Skateboarding, roller skating, bicycle riding, or rollerblading in a system facility, 
including a parking structure, or in a system vehicle; and, 
 

o Unauthorized use of a discount ticket or failure to present, upon request from a 
system representative, acceptable proof of eligibility to use a discount ticket. 
 

• Provides that the City and County of San Francisco and the Los Angeles County 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority may contract with a private vendor for the 
processing of notices of fare evasion or passenger conduct violation, and notices of 
delinquent fare evasion or specified passenger conduct violations. 
 

• Defines "processing agency" as the agency issuing the notice of fare evasion or 
passenger conduct violation and the notice of delinquent fare evasion or passenger 
conduct violation, or the party responsible for processing the notice of fare evasion or 
passenger conduct violation and the notice of delinquent violation. 
 



• Defines "fare evasion or passenger conduct violation penalty" as including, but not 
limited to, a late payment penalty, administrative fee, fine, assessment, and costs of 
collection as provided for in the ordinance. 
 

• Provides that if a fare evasion or passenger conduct violation is observed by a person 
authorized to enforce the ordinance, a notice of fare evasion or passenger conduct 
violation shall be issued.  The notice shall set forth the violation including reference 
to the ordinance setting forth the administrative penalty, the date of violation, the 
approximate time, and the location where the violation occurred.  The notice shall be 
served by personal service upon the violator.  The notice, or copy of the notice, shall 
be considered a record kept in the ordinary course of business of the issuing agency 
and the processing agency, and shall be prima facie evidence of the facts contained in 
the notice establishing a rebuttable presumption affecting the burden of evidence. 
 

• Provides that when a notice of fare evasion or passenger conduct violation has been 
served, the person issuing notice shall file the notice with the processing agency. 
 

• Sets up a review process for a citation under this new law.  This new law provides for 
a period of 21 calendar days from the issuance to a person of the notice of fare 
evasion or passenger conduct violation, where the person may request an initial 
review of the violation by the issuing agency.  Following the initial review, the 
issuing agency may cancel the notice if it believes the violation did not occur or 
extenuating circumstances should result in its dismissal.   After the initial review, the 
person may request an administrative hearing of the violation no later than 21 
calendar days following the results of the issuing agency's initial review.  The person 
requesting the review shall deposit the amount due under the notice for which the 
hearing is requested, although there must be a process to request a hearing without 
payment upon a showing of an inability to pay.  The administrative hearing shall be 
held within 90 calendar days following the request. 
 

• Provides that the administrative hearing process shall include all of the following: 
 
o The person requesting a hearing shall have the choice of a hearing by mail or in 

person.  An in-person hearing shall be conducted within the jurisdiction of the 
issuing agency.  If an issuing agency contracts with a private vendor, hearings 
shall be held within the jurisdiction of the issuing agency; 
 

o The administrative hearing shall be conducted in accordance with written 
procedures established by the issuing agency and approved by the governing body 
or chief executive officer of the issuing agency.  The hearing shall provide an 
independent, objective, fair, and impartial review of contested violations; 
 

o The administrative review shall be conducted before a hearing officer designated 
to conduct the review by the issuing agency's governing body or chief executive 
officer.  In addition to any other requirements of employment, a hearing officer 
shall demonstrate those qualifications, training, and objectivity prescribed by the 



issuing agency's governing body or chief executive as are necessary and which 
are consistent with the duties and responsibilities set forth in this chapter.  The 
hearing officer's continued employment, performance evaluation, compensation, 
and benefits shall not be directly or indirectly linked to the amount of fare evasion 
or passenger conduct violation penalties imposed by the hearing officer; 
 

o The person who issued the notice of fare evasion or passenger conduct violation 
shall not be required to participate in an administrative hearing.  The issuing 
agency shall not be required to produce any evidence other than the notice of fare 
evasion or passenger conduct violation.  The documentation in proper form shall 
be prima facie evidence of the violation; 
 

o The hearing officer's decision following the administrative hearing may be 
personally delivered to the person by the hearing officer or sent by first-class 
mail; and, 
 

o Following a determination by the hearing officer that a person committed the 
violation, the hearing officer may allow payment of the fare evasion or passenger 
conduct penalty in installments or deferred payment if the person provides 
satisfactory evidence of an inability to pay the fare evasion or passenger conduct 
penalty in full.  If authorized by the issuing agency, the hearing officer may 
permit the performance of community service in lieu of payment of the fare 
evasion or passenger conduct penalty. 
 

• Provides that within 30 calendar days after the mailing or personal delivery of the 
decision, the person may seek review by filing an appeal to be heard by the superior 
court where the same shall be heard de novo, except that the contents of the 
processing agency's file in the case shall be received in evidence.  A copy of the 
notice of fare evasion or passenger conduct violation shall be admitted into evidence 
as prima facie evidence of the facts stated therein establishing a rebuttable 
presumption affecting the burden of producing evidence.  A copy of the notice of 
appeal shall be served in person or by first-class mail upon the processing agency by 
the person filing the appeal.   
 

• Provides that the fee for filing the notice of appeal shall be $25.   
 

• Provides that an appeal under this section may be performed by a commissioner or 
other subordinate judicial officials at the direction of the presiding judge of the court. 
 

Fines and Forfeitures 
 
Existing law provides that counties shall levy a $2 penalty assessment out of every $10 base fine 
for criminal offenses (including traffic violations) to fund emergency medical services.  As 
reported by the State Auditor, in 2002-2003 counties collected about $56 million.  However, 
emergency services are reportedly severely under-funded and funds need to be raised to alleviate 
this problem.  These additional funds would also be instrumental in maintaining the financial 



stability of the emergency and trauma centers, decreasing diversion time and the time a patient 
must wait for services, and improving services overall. 
 

SB 1773 (Alarcon), Chapter 841, provides that until January 1, 2009, a county board of 
supervisors may elect to levy an additional penalty in the amount of $2 for every $10, 
upon fines, penalties and forfeitures collected for criminal offenses.  This new law 
requires that 15% of the funds collected pursuant to these provisions be expended for 
pediatric trauma centers and requires use of these funds, not to exceed 10 percent, for 
administrative costs.   

 
CRIMINAL OFFENSES AND PENALTIES 

 
 
Wireless Communication Devices 
 
AB 836 (La Suer), Chapter 143, Statutes of 2003, made it a misdemeanor for any person to 
unlawfully or maliciously destroy or damage any wireless communication device with the intent 
to prevent the use of the device to summon the assistance or notify law enforcement or any 
public safety agency of a crime is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 

AB 44 (Cohn), Chapter 695, provides that the above provisions are also violated if any 
person obstructs the use of that equipment and such conduct is also a misdemeanor. 

 
Reckless Driving and Speed Contests 
 
Under existing law, reckless driving resulting in great bodily injury (GBI) can only be charges as 
a felony if the defendant has a prior conviction for reckless driving or driving under the 
influence.  However, there many examples of dangerous first-offense reckless driving, such as 
driving on the wrong side of the road and results in GBI.  In these instances, defendants may 
only be charged with misdemeanors. 
 
Illegal street racing is dangerous for participants, passengers and other motorists.  Existing law 
inadequately addresses this situation.  
 

AB 2190 (Benoit), Chapter 432, makes reckless driving and engaging in a motor vehicle 
speed contest that proximately causes GBI to another person an alternate 
felony/misdemeanor.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Provided that any person convicted of reckless driving that proximately causes GBI to 

any person other than the driver shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison 
or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than one 
year; by a fine of not less than $220 nor more than $1,000; or both.   
 

• Provided that a person convicted of a motor vehicle speed contest that proximately 
causes GBI to a person other than the driver is punishable by imprisonment in the 
state prison or in a county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than one year and by 



a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000.  
 

Sex Offenders:  Working With Minors 
 
Current California law requires a sex offender to disclose his or her status as a registrant only if 
the registrant will be working directly with children in an unaccompanied setting.  Additionally, 
if the offender is convicted of a crime in which the victim was under 16 years of age, that 
registrant cannot work with children in an unaccompanied setting.  However, he or she is 
authorized to work with children if the job takes place in an accompanied setting. 
 

AB 2263 (Spitzer), Chapter 341, requires a sex offender registrant who applies for, or 
accepts, a position as an employee or volunteer where the applicant would be working 
directly, and in an accompanied setting, with minor children on more than an incidental 
and occasional basis to disclose his or her status as a registrant upon application or 
acceptance of any such position if the applicant's work would require him or her to touch 
minor children on more than an incidental and occasional basis.   
 

Criminal Penalties 
 
In 1976, California enacted its determinate sentencing law.  Most criminal penalties were 
changed by SB 42, Chapter 1139, Statutes of 1976.  However, close to two dozen non-life 
indeterminate sentences are currently in statute.  Twenty-one of those indeterminate sentences 
should be changed to determinate sentences, which will conform those sentences to the current 
sentencing structure.  Defendants will then know what the actual penalties are rather than having 
to appear before a paroling authority for review until they are finally released. 
 

AB 2367 (La Suer), Chapter 347, changes numerous indeterminate sentences to 
determinate sentences in various code sections.   

 
Vehicles:  Vehicular Manslaughter 
 
Existing code sections relating to vehicle and vessel manslaughter are confusing and unorganized 
and in need of clarification. 
 

AB 2559 (Benoit), Chapter 91, recasts Penal Code provisions relating to vehicular and 
vessel manslaughter to organize the sections in a more logical fashion while making no 
changes to existing law in terms of penalties or elements of offenses. 

 
Sentencing:  Veteran's Treatment Programs 
 
Under current law, in the case of any person convicted of a felony who would otherwise be 
sentenced to state prison, the court shall consider whether the defendant was a member of United 
States military forces who served combat in Vietnam and suffers from substance abuse or 
psychological problems resulting from that service.  Current law does not extend this 
consideration to veterans who serviced in Iraq or Afghanistan. 
 



AB 2586 (Parra), Chapter 788, allows the court to consider a treatment program, in lieu 
of incarceration, as a condition of probation in cases involving military veterans who 
suffer from post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), substance abuse, or psychological 
problems stemming from their military service.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Makes legislative findings and declarations regarding PTSD among veterans.  This 

new law states legislative intent to extend the opportunity for alternative sentencing to 
all combat veterans regardless of where or when those veterans served the country 
when those veterans are found by the court to be suffering from PTSD. 
 

• Expands which convicted veterans who allege they committed offenses as a result of 
PTSD, substance abuse, or psychological problems stemming from combat and then 
receive a hearing prior to sentence to determine if this is true from Vietnam veterans 
convicted of felonies to all combat veterans convicted of any criminal offense. 
 

• Provides that if the court concludes that a defendant convicted of a criminal offense is 
a combat veteran who committed the offense as a result of PTSD, substance abuse, or 
psychological problems stemming from that combat service, and if the defendant is 
otherwise eligible for probation and the court places the defendant on probation, the 
court may order the defendant into a local; state; federal; or private, non-profit 
treatment program for a period not to exceed that which the defendant would have 
served in state prison or county jail, provided the defendant agrees to participate in 
the program and the court determines that an appropriate treatment program exists.   
 

• Provides what when determining the "needs of the defendant" for purposes of 
probation, the court shall consider the fact that the defendant is a combat veteran who 
committed the offense as a result of PTSD, substance abuse, or psychological 
problems stemming from that combat service in assessing whether the defendant 
should be placed on probation, and by examining whether the defendant would be 
best served while on probation by being ordered into a private, nonprofit treatment 
service program with a demonstrated history of specializing in the treatment of 
military service related issues, such as post-traumatic stress disorder, substance abuse, 
or psychological problems. 
 

• Provides that a defendant granted probation under this section and committed to a 
residential treatment program shall earn sentence credits for the actual time the 
defendant served in residential treatment.  
 

• Provides that the court, in making an order under this section to commit a defendant 
to a treatment program, shall give preference to a treatment program that has a history 
of successfully treating combat veterans who suffer from PTSD, substance abuse, or 
psychological problems as a result of that service.  
 

• Provides that if a referral is made to the county mental health authority, the county 
shall be obligated to provide mental health treatment services only to the extent that 
resources are available for that purpose.  If mental health treatment services are 



ordered by the court, the county mental health agency shall coordinate appropriate 
referral of the defendant to the county veteran's service officer.  The county mental 
health agency shall not be responsible for providing services outside its traditional 
scope of services.  An order shall be made referring a defendant to a county mental 
health agency only if that agency has agreed to accept responsibility for the treatment 
of the defendant.   

 
Theft of Free or Complimentary Newspapers 
 
The unauthorized taking of freely distributed newspapers has been a problem for many years.   
 
Recently, an individual in Chula Vista removed entire bundles from news racks and transported 
them across the border where he sold them to recyclers in Mexico.  On three different occasions, 
the entire press run was taken from all of the racks owned by the "Chula Vista Star"; roughly 
8,000 to 10,000 copies were removed in each instance.  "La Prensa" also lost approximately 
1,000 copies.  When the publishers urged local police agencies to halt the thefts, officials 
responded they were unable to prosecute the thefts because under existing law the newspapers 
were complimentary, had no fair market value and, therefore, could not be stolen. 
 
Freely distributed newspapers are often taken based on an unpopular viewpoint expressed in an 
article, column, editorial or advertisement.  In Los Angeles, the "Epoch Times" began to notice it 
was losing thousands of copies in the San Gabriel Valley after publishing stories on controversial 
issues such as Article 23 in Hong Kong, the spread of SARS, human rights violations, and the 
Falun Gong.  Over the course of 11 days, "Epoch Times" employees followed and videotaped a 
suspect who had several thousand stolen newspapers in the back of his pick-up truck. 
 

AB 2612 (Plescia), Chapter 228, makes it a crime to take more than 25 copies of the 
current issue of a free or complimentary newspaper if done to recycle, barter, or to 
deprive others of the opportunity to read the newspaper, or to harm a business competitor.  
An issue is current if no more than one half of the period of time has expired until the 
distribution of the next issue has passed. Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Makes a first offense punishable by a fine not to exceed $250. 

 
• Makes a second or subsequent violation an alternate infraction/misdemeanor.  A 

misdemeanor conviction is punishable by a fine not exceeding $500, imprisonment of 
up to 10 days in the county jail, or by both that fine and imprisonment.  
 

• Exempts owners, publishers, printers, deliverers, advertisers and others, as specified.   
 
Identity Theft:  Penalty Increases 
 
According to the Federal Trade Commission’s data, California had a reported 45,175 victims of 
identity theft in 2005.  California ranked third in the nation with 125 victims of identity theft per 
100,000 people.  The Cities of Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco, Sacramento and San Jose 
have the highest number of identity theft victims in California.  Further, the data only includes 



the number of complaints the Federal Trade Commission received from identity theft victims and 
actual numbers are likely to be significantly higher.   
 

AB 2886 (Frommer), Chapter 522, creates new crimes related to identity theft for 
persons previously convicted and for persons who sell the personal identifying 
information of another person.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Creates an alternate misdemeanor-felony, punishable by up to one year in the county 

jail, or by a term of 16 months, two or three years in state prison for any person who, 
with intent to defraud, acquires or retains possession of the personal identifying 
information (PII) of another person, and who has been previously convicted of 
identity theft, as specified. 
 

• States in any case in which a person willfully obtains PII of another person, uses that 
information to commit a crime, in addition to a violation of the identity theft statute, 
and is convicted of that crime, the court records shall reflect that the person whose 
identity was falsely used to commit the crime did not commit the crime. 
 

• Creates an alternate misdemeanor-felony, punishable by up to one year in the county 
jail, or by a term of 16 months, two or three years in state prison, for any person who, 
with intent to defraud, acquires or retains possession of the PII of 10 or more other 
people. 
 

• States that any person who with actual knowledge that the PII, as specified, of a 
specific person will be used to commit identity theft, as specified, who sells, transfers, 
or conveys that same PII, is guilty of a public offense and shall be punished by a fine, 
by imprisonment in state prison for a term of 16 months, two or three years, or by 
both imprisonment and fine. 
 

• Exempts an interactive computer service or access software provider, as defined in 
federal law, from liability for identity theft unless the service or provider acquires, 
transfers, sells, conveys, or retains possession of PII with intent to defraud. 
 

• Creates an alternate misdemeanor-felony, punishable by up to one year in the county 
jail, or by a term of 16 months, two or three years in state prison, for any person who, 
with the intent to defraud, sells, transfers, or conveys the PII of another.  
 

• States that every person who commits mail theft, as defined by federal statute, shall 
be punished by up to one year in the county jail, a fine or by both imprisonment and 
fine.  Prosecution under this section shall not limit prosecution under other related 
sections, as specified.  

 
Telephone Calling Records 
 
Telephone phone records are readily available to any person who is willing to pay a nominal fee 
for the information.  Although many of the methods used for acquiring the records are illegal, 



businesses are openly selling this information without the consumer’s knowledge or consent.   
 

SB 202 (Simitian), Chapter 626, prohibits the purchase or sale of any telephone calling 
pattern record or list without the written consent of the person making the calls.  
Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Provides that any person who purchases, sells, offers to purchase or sell, or conspires 

to purchase or sell any telephone calling pattern record or list, without the written 
consent of the person making the calls shall be punished by a fine not exceeding 
$2,500; by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding one year; or by both a fine 
and imprisonment. 
 

• Provides that if the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this 
section, he or she is punishable by a fine not exceeding $10,000; by imprisonment in 
the county jail not exceeding one year; or by both a fine and imprisonment. 
 

• Provides that any personal information contained in a telephone calling pattern record 
or list obtained in violation of this section shall be inadmissible as evidence in any 
judicial, administrative, legislative, or other proceeding except when that information 
is offered as proof in an action or prosecution for a violation of this section. 
 

• Defines "person" as an individual, business association, partnership, limited 
partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or other legal entity. 
 

• Defines "telephone calling pattern record or list" as information retained by a 
telephone company that relates to the telephone numbers dialed by the customer or 
other person using the customer's telephone with permission; the incoming call 
number of calls directed to the customer or other data related to such calls typically 
contained on a customer telephone bill, such as the time the call started and ended; 
the duration of the call and any charges applied whether the call was made from or to 
a telephone connected to the public switched telephone network, a cordless telephone, 
a telephony device operating over the Internet utilizing voice over Internet protocol, a 
satellite telephone, or a cellular telephone. 
 

• Provides that an employer of, or entity contract with, a person who purchases, sells, 
offers to purchase or sell, or conspires to purchase or sell any telephone calling 
pattern record or list without the written consent of the person making the call shall 
only be subject to prosecution pursuant to that section if the employer or contracting 
entity knowingly allowed the employee or contractor to engaged in unlawful conduct. 
 

• Provides that this section shall not be construed to prevent any law enforcement or 
prosecutorial agency or any officer, employee, or agent thereof from obtaining 
telephone records in connection with the performance of the official duties of the 
agency consistent with any other applicable state and federal law.  

 
BB Devices 



 
If a person threatens or injures another person with a BB device, that person can be charged with 
a variety of crimes.  However, each of those crimes involves some degree of "criminal intent" 
which becomes a necessary element for the prosecution and is often difficult to prove. 
 

SB 532 (Torlakson), Chapter 180, creates a new crime for the willful discharge of a BB 
device in a grossly negligent manner.  Specifically, this new law: 
 

• Provides that any person who willfully discharges a BB device in a grossly 
negligent manner which could result in injury or death to another person is guilty 
of a public offense and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not 
exceeding one year. 
 

• Defines "BB device" as any instrument that expels a projective, such as a BB or a 
pellet, through the force of air pressure, gas pressure, or spring action. 

 
Attempted Murder of a Custody Assistant 
 
Under existing law, the attempted murder of a custodial officer is punishable by imprisonment in 
the state prison for life with the possibility of parole or by 15 years to life if it is also proven that 
the attempt was premeditated.  The legislation that created that law inadvertently failed to 
include custody assistants (non-sworn, uniformed Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department 
employees) within the law's scope.  A custody assistant's  



job is very similar to those of a “custodial officer”, work in custody detention facilities, and are 
responsible for the care and handling of inmates.  
 

SB 1184 (Cedillo), Chapter 468, corrects the inadvertent omission of custody assistants 
from the crime of attempted murder of a police officer, firefighter or custodial officer by 
specifically providing that this law also applies to custody assistants.  This new law also 
defines in statute a custody assistant as a person who is a full-time employee, not a peace 
officer, and employed by a sheriff's department who assists peace officer personnel in 
maintaining order and security in a custody detention, court detention or station jail 
facility of the sheriff's department.  The new provisions relating to custody assistants 
apply only in Los Angeles County and do not become operative until those provisions are 
adopted by resolution of the board of supervisors.   

 
Crime:  Criminal Gangs 
 
The Street Terrorism Enforcement and Prevention (STEP) Act was passed in 1988.  Legislative 
findings as to the purpose of the STEP Act stated, "[I]t is the right of every person . . . to be 
secure and protected from fear, intimidation, and physical harm caused by the activities of 
violent groups and individuals."  Amendments increasing the predicate crimes and penalties have 
been steadily added to this law.  The original predicate offenses included assault, robbery, 
unlawful homicide or manslaughter, trafficking in controlled substances, shooting at an inhabited 
vehicle (added in 1991), arson and witness intimidation.  Over time, the offenses of grand theft 
of a vehicle; grand theft exceeding $10,000; burglary; rape; looting; money laundering; 
kidnapping; mayhem; torture; felony extortion; felony vandalism and carjacking; firearm 
trafficking and handgun possession; criminal threats; and theft or taking of a vehicle have been 
added.  Proposition 21 (March 2000 Primary Election) greatly increased the enhancement 
imposed where a defendant committed a felony for the benefit of a gang.  The 1988 legislation 
creating the STEP Act authorized the use of nuisance abatement laws to combat gangs.  
Buildings used by gangs can be declared nuisances and civil penalties may be imposed. 
 

SB 1222 (Ackerman), Chapter 303, expands the list of crimes that may be used to 
establish a "pattern of criminal gang activity" to include possessing a firearm, carrying a 
concealed firearm, and carrying a loaded firearm, as specified.   

 
Possession of Precursors:  Phencyclidine or Methamphetamine 
 
A recent California Supreme Court decision held that although is illegal to possess certain 
chemicals with the intent to manufacture methamphetamine, it is legal to possess those chemicals 
with the knowledge that another person will use them to make methamphetamine. 
 

SB 1299 (Speier), Chapter 646, makes it a felony,  punishable by 16 months, 2 or 3 
years in prison, to possess specified chemicals that are precursors to methamphetamine or 
PCP when the person in possession has the intent to sell, transfer, or otherwise furnish to 
another person with the knowledge that they will be used to manufacture 
methamphetamine or PCP. 

 



Bribery  
 
Existing law applies the state’s bribery and extortion laws to state legislators; however, county 
supervisors, city council members, and all other elected local officials are not held to the same 
standards.  Existing law prohibits any type of “quid pro quo” on legislation – it is illegal for one 
legislator to vote a certain way on legislation in exchange for another legislator's vote.  This 
activity constitutes a felony, punishable by two to four years in prison.  Similarly, it is against the 
law to threaten a legislator with retaliation in an attempt to “influence a member in giving or 
withholding his vote” on an issue.   
 

SB 1308 (Battin), Chapter 435, applies the same standards imposed on state legislators 
regarding receipt of bribes for the purpose of influencing how the legislator votes or for 
influencing his or her official action to any member of the legislative body of a city, 
county, city and county, school district, or other special district.  Specifically, this new 
law subjects such local officials to imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four 
years, and permanent disqualification from ever holding office again. 
 

Animal Fighting Exhibitions  
 
Cockfighting is an unacceptable form of animal cruelty that is widely practiced even though it is 
illegal in almost all jurisdictions.  Cockfighting is illegal in 48 states; in 31 of those states and the 
District of Columbia, cockfighting is a felony crime.   
 
In 2003, the Legislature passed legislation that increased the penalties for engaging in this cruel 
and inhumane activity; however California's anti-cockfighting law still lags behind neighboring 
states.  Arizona, Nevada and Oregon have established felony-level penalties for cockfighting, 
making California with its simple misdemeanor-level cockfighting penalties a regional refuge for 
illegal cockfighting activity. 
 
There is an undeniable connection between cockfighting and other significant issues such as 
illegal gambling; drug trafficking; violence toward people; and, as evidenced by the outbreak of 
Exotic Newcastle Disease in 2002, the spread of deadly and devastating diseases.  Moreover, 
officials with the World Health Organization believe that cockfighting has contributed to the 
spread of the deadly H5N1 Avian Influenza throughout Southeast Asia. 
 

SB 1349 (Soto), Chapter 430, increases the penalties for the fighting of animals.  
Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Increases the penalty for causing any animal to fight with another animal, permitting 

the same to be done on any property under his or her control, or aiding or abetting the 
fighting of any animal from up to six months in the county jail, by a fine not to 
exceed $1,000, or both to up to one year in the county jail, by a fine not to exceed 
$5,000, or both.  
 

• Increases the penalty for a second or subsequent offense of fighting animals or cocks 
from a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in the county jail; by a fine not to 



exceed $25,000; or both to an alternate felony/misdemeanor, punishable by up to one 
year in the county jail or by imprisonment in state prison for 16 months, 2 or 3 years; 
by a fine not to exceed $25,000; or both, except in unusual circumstances in which 
the interests of justice would be better served by the imposition of a lesser penalty. 
 

• Consolidates almost identical code sections relating to the training of birds or animals 
for the purpose of fighting into one code section. 
 

• Re-organizes provisions of law relating to spectators at an exhibition of animal 
fighting without increasing the existing penalty. 

 
• Make numerous legislative findings and declarations regarding cockfighting and the 

spread of disease. 
 

Crimes:  Hazing 
 
In 2005, Matthew Carrington, a 21-year-old student at California State University, Chico, died 
from injuries suffered in a fraternity initiation hazing ritual.  Carrington died from cardiac 
dysrhythmia and cerebral edema (brain-swelling) due to hyponatremia (water intoxication).  
Hypothermia was brought on by the forced drinking of water, being doused with water, and 
having fans turned on Carrington in the 40-degree basement of a "rogue" fraternity.  (The 
fraternity had no national affiliation and had been banned by Chico State in 2002 for alcohol 
violations.)  In all, eight persons were charged shortly after Carrington’s death.  However, not all 
the fraternity members charged were students at the university.  Defense attorneys argued that 
California’s hazing law - currently in the Education Code - did not apply to the non-students 
involved in Carrington’s death.  In addition, California’s hazing law provides only misdemeanor 
prosecution, with the maximum penalty of just one year in jail. 
 

SB 1454 (Torlakson), Chapter 601, removes hazing provisions from the Education 
Code and adds those provisions to the Penal Code making hazing punishable as a 
misdemeanor if no serious bodily injury results or as an alternate felony-misdemeanor if 
great bodily injury or death result.  Specifically, this new law:  
 
• Provides that it is unlawful to engage in hazing.  This new law defines "hazing" as 

any method of initiation or pre-initiation into a student organization or student body, 
whether or not the organization or body is officially recognized by an educational 
institution, which is likely to cause serious bodily injury to any pupil or other person 
attending any school, community college, college, university, or other educational 
institution in California.  The term "hazing" does not include customary athletic 
events or school-sanctioned events. 
 

• Provides that hazing that does not result in serious bodily injury is a misdemeanor, 
punishable by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $5,000; imprisonment in the 
county jail for not more than one year; or both. 
 



• Provides that any person who personally engages in hazing that results in death or 
serious bodily injury is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be 
punished by imprisonment in county jail not exceeding one year or by imprisonment 
in the state prison. 
 

• Provides that the person against whom the hazing is directed may commence a civil 
action for injury or damages.  The action may be brought against any participants in 
the hazing or any organization to which the student is seeking membership whose 
agents, directors, trustees, managers, or officers authorized, requested, commanded, 
participated in, or ratified the hazing. 
 

• Provides that prosecution under this section shall not prohibit prosecution under any 
other provision of law. 
 

• Provides that this act shall be known and may be cited as "Matt's Law" in memory of 
Matthew William Carrington, who died on February 20, 2005 as a result of hazing. 

 
Police Pursuits 
 
An individual who attempts to elude police in a vehicle have learned that most law enforcement 
pursuit policies require officers to terminate the pursuit if a perpetrator starts to drive down a 
public highway or freeway in the wrong direction.  This kind of action deserves a specific 
punishment. 
 

SB 1735 (Cox), Chapter 688, makes it an alternate felony/misdemeanor to flee or 
attempt to elude a pursuing peace officer by driving a vehicle upon a highway in the 
wrong direction.  Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Provides that whenever a person willfully flees or attempts to elude a pursuing peace 

officer and the person operating the pursued vehicle willfully drives that vehicle on a 
highway in a direction opposite to that in which the traffic lawfully moves is guilty of 
a criminal offense. 
 

• Makes the above offense punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for 16 
months, 2 or 3 years; by imprisonment in a county jail for not less than six months 
nor more than one year; by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000; or 
by both imprisonment and a fine. 

 
Excessive Blood Alcohol Level 
 
Under existing law, a person convicted of a first-time driving under the influence (DUI) without 
injury offense is subject to a six-month license suspension.  That person may seek a restricted 
license to travel to and from work and to and from the drinking driver treatment program if 
certain requirements are met, including enrollment in the drinking driver treatment program.  
The basic first-time offender drinking driver treatment program is three months long.   
 



AB 1353 (Liu), Chapter 164, Statutes of 2005, created a nine-month program for a person 
convicted of a first-time DUI with a blood alcohol level of 0.20 percent or more.  However, AB 
1353 did not extend the time of the license suspension for a person sentenced to this longer 
program.  Therefore, although technically a person would have his or her license suspended for 
only six months, his or her license could not be reinstated until he or she completes the nine-
month drinking driver treatment program; that person could not get a restricted license beyond 
the six-month time frame.   
 

SB 1756 (Migden), Chapter 692, requires that a person convicted of a first time DUI 
without injury, with a blood alcohol level of 0.20 percent or higher, who is referred to a 
nine-month alcohol rehabilitation program, shall have his or her license suspended for 10 
months rather than six months to conform the license suspension to the duration of the 
DUI program for first-time offenders and allow for the provision of a restricted license 
for the program period. 

 
Animal Abuse:  Unattended Animals 
 
Summer can be dangerous time for pets, especially those left inside of hot cars.  Every year, 
countless dogs die after being locked in cars while their owners work, visit, shop, or run other 
errands.  These deaths are entirely preventable.  
 
Many pet owners are not aware that even moderately warm temperatures outside can quickly 
lead to deadly temperatures inside a closed car.  For example, within one hour, an outside 
temperature of 72-degrees Fahrenheit can cause conditions inside a vehicle that adversely affects 
the health, safety, or well-being of an animal.   
 
Even with the windows left slightly open, an 85-degree outside temperature can cause a 
temperature of 102 degrees inside a vehicle in 10 minutes and that temperature is reached in just 
one-half hour.  A healthy dog, whose normal body temperature ranges from 101 to 102.5 
degrees, can withstand a body temperature of 107 to 108 degrees for only a short time before 
suffering brain damage or death. 
 
Numerous organizations, businesses and individuals have worked to educate pet owners of the 
dangers of leaving animals unattended in vehicles in the heat.  However, animal  



control organizations found that educational approaches by themselves have not significantly 
improved behavior.  To be truly effective, these educational approaches must be integrated with 
enforcement activities. 
 

SB 1806 (Figueroa), Chapter 431, creates criminal penalties for leaving an animal in an 
unattended motor vehicle under conditions that endanger the health or well-being of the 
animal.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Provides that no person shall leave or confine an animal in any unattended motor 

vehicle under conditions that endanger the health or well-being of an animal due to 
heat; cold; lack of adequate ventilation, food, or water; or other circumstances that 
could reasonably be expected to cause suffering, disability or death to the animal. 
 

• Makes a first conviction, unless the animal suffers great bodily injury (GBI), 
punishable by a fine not to exceed $100 per animal.  If the animal suffers GBI, the 
offense is punishable by up to six months in a county jail, a fine not to exceed $500, 
or by both a fine and imprisonment. 
 

• Makes a subsequent violation, regardless of injury to the animal, punishable by up to 
six months in a county jail, a fine not to exceed $500, or by both a fine and 
imprisonment. 
 

• Provides that nothing in this section shall prevent a peace officer, humane officer, or 
animal control officer from removing an animal from a motor vehicle if the animal's 
safety appears to be in immediate danger from heat; cold; lack of adequate 
ventilation, food, or water; or other circumstances that could reasonably be expected 
to cause suffering, disability, or death to the animal. 
 

• Requires a peace officer, humane officer, or animal control officer who removes an 
animal from a vehicle to take it to an animal shelter; other place of safekeeping; or, if 
the officer deems necessary, to a veterinary hospital for treatment. 
 

• Authorizes a peace officer, humane officer, or animal control officer to take all steps 
reasonably necessary for the removal of an animal from a motor vehicle including, 
but not limited to, breaking into the motor vehicle after a reasonable effort to locate 
the owner or other person responsible. 
 

• Requires a peace officer, humane officer, or animal control officer who removes an 
animal from a motor vehicle to, in a secure and conspicuous location on or within the 
motor vehicle, leave the address of the location  
where the animal can be claimed.  The animal can be claimed only after payment of 
all charges that have accrued for the maintenance, care, medical treatment, or 
impoundment of the animal. 
 

• Provides that nothing in this section shall be deemed to prohibit the transportation of 
horses, cattle, pigs, sheep, poultry or other such agricultural animals in motor vehicles 



designed to transport such animals for agricultural purposes. 
 

• States that nothing in this new law shall affect existing liabilities or immunities in 
current law. 
 

• Makes numerous legislative findings and declarations regarding the danger of leaving 
an animal unattended in a motor vehicle. 
 

DNA 
 
 
DNA  
 
When implementing the DNA Fingerprint, Unsolved Crime and Innocence Protection Act 
(Proposition 69 passed by the voters in November 2004), it was discovered that technical, 
clarifying changes were needed relating to laboratories authorized to upload DNA profiles and 
clarifying that state mental hospital peace officers are authorized to use reasonable force to 
collect DNA samples from persons who resist DNA collection.  Additionally, it was also 
necessary to clarify that DNA samples may not be taken based solely upon an arrest without a 
conviction that occurred before the enactment of Proposition 69. 
 

AB 2850 (Spitzer), Chapter 170, provides that only Department of Justice (DOJ) 
laboratories and designated public law enforcement crime laboratories may upload 
available DNA and forensic identification databank samples, as specified.  The DOJ and 
designated public law enforcement crime laboratories allowed to upload DNA and other 
forensic identification samples must meet state and federal requirements, including those 
of the Federal Bureau of Investigation Quality Assurance Standards and must be 
accredited by an organization approved by the National DNA Index System Procedures 
Board.  This new law also requires that a quality assessment must be conducted before 
DNA profiles generated by a private laboratory are uploaded.  Additionally, this new law 
includes the officers of a state mental hospital among those peace officers who may 
collect biological samples, and may use reasonable force to collect samples from 
individuals who refuse to provide them as required.   
 
This new law also clarifies that retroactive application of the requirement to provide 
DNA samples does not apply to persons arrested but not convicted prior to the 
implementation of Proposition 69. 



DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 
 
 
Victims' Compensation  
 
The Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board provides reimbursement to crime 
victims, including domestic violence victims.  Studies have shown that one out of four women 
will experience domestic violence during her lifetime. 
 
Under current law, a domestic violence or sexual assault victims is eligible for a one-time cash 
payment of $2,000 to cover expenses incurred in relocating if the relocation is determined to be 
necessary for the victim's safety.   The only way for a victim to receive another payment is if the 
crime is more than three years after the date of the original crime and involves a different 
offender, thus precluding a victim who must relocate a second time because the offender has 
found the victim. 
 

AB 105 (Cohn), Chapter 539, provides that the Victim Compensation and Government 
Claims Board may authorize more than one reimbursement for relocation of one victim 
per crime if necessary for the personal safety or emotional well being of the victim.  The 
total cash payment or reimbursement for all relocations due to the same crime shall not 
exceed the current $2,000. 

 
Domestic Violence 
 
In April 2005, the Department of Health Services (DHS) surveyed the current capacity of 
California shelters to provide culturally competent care and identified the lesbian, gay, bisexual 
and transgender (LGBT) community as a population not served in the intimate partner abuse 
area.  Although DHS has clear evidence of the LGBT community's need of services in this area 
and has dedicated funding for this purpose, DHS' programs are still designed primarily to serve 
battered women and their children. 
 
Additionally, from the LGBT community's perspective, many LGBT victims are afraid to access 
shelter services for fear of “outing” themselves or being further harmed by service providers who 
lack the understanding and sensitivity to meet their needs.  Homosexual male and transgender 
victims may feel particularly uncomfortable at women’s shelters.  
 
LGBT domestic violence victims are much more likely to seek safe havens at community centers 
and organizations that cater directly to the LGBT community.  In addition, law enforcement, 
domestic violence shelters and other providers require better training to serve LGBT victims, 
particularly in parts of the state that do not have LGBT-specific organizations. 
 

AB 2051 (Cohn), Chapter 856, establishes the Equality in Prevention and Services for 
Domestic Abuse Act in order to provide culturally appropriate education and services for 
LGBT victims of domestic violence.   Specifically, this new law:   

 



• Establishes a $23 fee for those registering as domestic partners, which will support 
the following initiatives to combat domestic violence in the LGBT community:  
 
o An educational brochure specific to LGBT abuse;  

 
o LGBT-specific domestic violence training for law enforcement officers and 

domestic violence service providers; and, 
 

o Grants administered by DHS to support organizations that serve the LGBT 
community. 
 

• Requires the fee to be deposited in the Equality in Prevention and Services for 
Domestic Abuse Fund to be administered by DHS.   
 

• Requires the Secretary of State to provide couples with a LGBT domestic abuse 
brochure, along with their Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership. 

 
• Requires the Maternal and Child Health Branch of DHS, which issues grants to 

battered women's shelters to provide emergency shelter for women and their children 
escaping family violence, to include grants to underserved communities, including the 
LGBT community.  This new law requires the advisory council established to consult 
with DHS regarding the Maternal and Child Health Branch grants to battered 
women's shelters to include individuals with an interest and expertise in LGBT 
domestic violence.   
 

• Requires that the training program required for law enforcement officers on the 
handling of domestic violence complaints to include adequate instruction on the 
nature and extent of domestic violence in the LGBT community. 
 

• Requires the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training, charged with 
developing the course of instruction for the training program, to consult with, among 
others, individuals with an interest and expertise in LGBT domestic violence.   
 

• Requires that statewide training workshops on domestic violence conducted by the 
Office of Emergency Services include a curriculum on LGBT domestic abuse. 

 
• Requires DHS, using funds from the Equality in Prevention and Services for 

Domestic Abuse Fund, to develop and disseminate an LGBT-specific domestic abuse 
brochure and administer a program of grants that support LGBT victims of domestic 
violence, as specified. 

 
Domestic Violence 
 
AB 352 (Goldberg), Chapter 431, Statutes of 2003, increased the fees to $400 that a person 
convicted of a domestic violence offense must pay in order to support specified domestic 



violence programs.  This statute was scheduled to expire on January 1, 2007 
 

AB 2695 (Goldberg), Chapter 476, extends the sunset date to January 1, 2010 for the 
$400 fee imposed on a person convicted of domestic violence to support domestic 
violence centers, the Domestic Violence Restraining Order Reimbursement Fund, and the 
Domestic Violence Training and Education Fund.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Extends the sunset date to January 1, 2010 on provisions of law that imposed a $400 

fee on a person convicted of domestic violence to support domestic violence centers, 
the Domestic Violence Restraining Order Reimbursement Fund and the Domestic 
Violence Training and Education Fund. 
 

• Allows a judge, when issuing a temporary restraining order or injunction requested by 
an employer to include multiple employees or worksites within the protection of the 
order. 
 

• Allows the court, upon a showing of good cause by the employer requesting the 
temporary restraining order or injunction, to issue a temporary restraining order or 
injunction which includes other persons employed at his or her workplace or 
workplaces. 
 

• Provides that if the Commission on State Mandates determines that this act contains 
costs mandated by the state, reimbursement to local agencies and school district for 
those costs shall be made pursuant to specified sections of the Government Code. 
 

• Extends indefinitely provisions of law that waive fees associated with the service of 
process of specified protective orders, restraining orders or injunctions. 
 

• Extends indefinitely provisions of law that provides that there is no fee for a subpoena 
filed in connection with an application for a protective order, under specified 
circumstances. 
 

• Extends indefinitely provisions of law that prohibit a sheriff from requiring a 
prepayment fee for protective orders relating to workplace violence. 
 

• Expands the workplace violence exception to include elder abuse and domestic 
violence. 
 



Victims of Crime 
 
Existing law requires a public notice of any proposed name change to be published in a daily 
newspaper once a week for four consecutive weeks.  For a person petitioning for a name change 
in order to avoid domestic violence and who is also enrolled in the Safe At Home program, the 
proposed name can be kept confidential as part of the public notice requirement; however, the 
original name must still be published in the notice.  In view of the need of domestic violence and 
stalking victims to keep their addresses confidential from their abusers and stalkers, the Office of 
the Secretary of State acts as the program participants' agent for official service of process and 
forwards mail received at the substitute address provided.   
 

SB 1743 (Bowen), Chapter 689, additionally applies the above provisions to a petitioner 
who is a victim of sexual assault or who is filing on behalf of a victim of sexual assault.  
This new law specifies that the action for change of name is exempt under the provisions 
requiring publication of the order to show cause which must be filed with the court and is 
otherwise subject to the publication requirements.  Thus, this new law provides the same 
confidentiality regarding name changes to victims of sexual assault as provided to victims 
of domestic violence or stalking. 
 

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE 
 
 
Criminal Procedure:  Defendant's Appearance 
 
Under current law, all persons charged with a misdemeanor (with the exception of persons 
charged with domestic violence) can appear through counsel.  The court should have the 
discretion to require a defendant to personally appear at any time when charged with a 
misdemeanor driving under the influence (DUI) offense.   
 

AB 2174 (Villines), Chapter 744, provides that the court may order a person charged 
with a misdemeanor DUI offense to be personally present at arraignment, plea, or 
sentencing. 

 
Driving under the Influence 
 
An American Automobile Association's Foundation for Traffic Safety's January 2006 study 
found that between 1995 and 2004, more than 31,000 people throughout the nation suffered fatal 
injuries which resulted from accidents in which the driver was 15, 16 or 17 years old.  Nearly 
2,000 of those deaths occurred in California.  The California Highway Patrol reports that during 
the same time period, 1,540 people were fatally injured in accidents where the driver was under 
21 years of age and had been drinking. 
 
Currently, California has what is called a ‘Zero Tolerance Policy’ for drinking and driving when 
under the age of 21.  Current law does not carry any penalty for underage driving under the 
influence drivers with blood alcohol concentrations (BACs) below 0.05 percent.  California only 
provides for Department of Motor Vehicle administrative penalties if a driver under 21 years of 
age has a BAC of 0.01 percent to 0.04 percent. 



 
AB 2752 (Spitzer), Chapter 899, makes it an infraction for a person under the age of 21 
to drive with a measurable BAC.  This new law makes a first offense punishable by a fine 
of $100; a second offense, within a year of the first offense, a fine of $200; and a third or 
subsequent offense, occurring within one year of two or more prior infractions, a fine of 
$250. 
 

Law Enforcement Patrol Vehicles 
 
Under current law, the Alameda County Sheriff cannot conduct increased driving under the 
influence (DUI) patrols during holiday periods as their patrol vehicles, though distinctively 
marked, are painted a single color and do not match the required patrol vehicle color schemes.  
Without an exemption, if an Alameda County sheriff makes a DUI arrest, it is possible that 
individual could not be punished.   
 

AB 3004 (Houston), Chapter 832, states legislative intent that the that the 
Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol amend the California Code of 
Regulations (CCR) relating to distinctively painted patrol vehicles to ensure that all 
distinctively painted patrol vehicles and motorcycles used by police and traffic officers 
are authorized to enforce Vehicle Code provisions relating to DUI.   This new law also 
states that there is an emergency in Alameda County because the dark blue painted patrol 
vehicles and motorcycles used by the Alameda County Sheriff's Department do not meet 
the required CCR paint specifications that would allow them to enforce DUI provisions 
of the Vehicle Code. 
 

Driving under the Influence:  Ignition Interlock Devices  
 
Alcohol-impaired driving is among the most common contributors of motor vehicle crashes in 
the United States.  The 17,013 alcohol-related fatalities represent 40 percent of the 42,643 motor 
vehicle fatalities that occurred in 2003.  Alcohol-related crashes are estimated to cost the public 
more than $50 billion per year.  California has long been recognized as a leader in traffic safety, 
and many of the demonstrably effective driving-under-the-influence countermeasures have 
already been enacted and implemented in California.  The ignition interlock is a device 
consisting of an alcohol-breath testing unit connected to the ignition switch of a vehicle.  The 
driver is required to provide a breath sample before starting the vehicle; if the sample contains 
more than a predetermined amount of alcohol, the interlock ignition device (IID) locks the 
vehicle’s ignition, preventing the vehicle from being driven. 

 
AB 3045 (Koretz), Chapter 835, prohibits the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
from re-instating the privilege to operate a motor vehicle of a person required to install an 
IID until the DMV receives proof, as specified, that a certified IID has been installed as 
ordered. 

 
Excessive Blood Alcohol Level 
 



Under existing law, a person convicted of a first-time driving under the influence (DUI) without 
injury offense is subject to a six-month license suspension.  That person may seek a restricted 
license to travel to and from work and to and from the drinking driver treatment program if 
certain requirements are met, including enrollment in the drinking driver treatment program.  
The basic first-time offender drinking driver treatment program is three months long.   
 
AB 1353 (Liu), Chapter 164, Statutes of 2005, created a nine-month program for a person 
convicted of a first-time DUI with a blood alcohol level of 0.20 percent or more.  However, AB 
1353 did not extend the time of the license suspension for a person sentenced to this longer 
program.  Therefore, although technically a person would have his or her license suspended for 
only six months, his or her license could not be reinstated until he or she completes the nine-
month drinking driver treatment program; that person could not get a restricted license beyond 
the six-month time frame.   
 

SB 1756 (Migden), Chapter 692, requires that a person convicted of a first time DUI 
without injury, with a blood alcohol level of 0.20 percent or higher, who is referred to a 
nine-month alcohol rehabilitation program, shall have his or her license suspended for 10 
months rather than six months to conform the license suspension to the duration of the 
DUI program for first-time offenders and allow for the provision of a restricted license 
for the program period. 

 
EVIDENCE 

 
 
Evidence:  Victim Testimony 
 
Under existing law when determining the credibility of a witness, a court or jury may consider 
any matter that has any tendency in reason to prove or disprove the truthfulness of his or her 
testimony at the hearing. 
 

AB 1996 (Bogh), Chapter 225, extends procedures relating to sealed records of the 
sexual history of complaining witnesses to include certain sexual offenses pursuant to 
specified evidence provisions dealing with prior offenses. 
 

GANG PROGRAMS 
 
 
Crime:  Criminal Gangs 
 
The Street Terrorism Enforcement and Prevention (STEP) Act was passed in 1988.  Legislative 
findings as to the purpose of the STEP Act stated, "[I]t is the right of every person . . . to be 
secure and protected from fear, intimidation, and physical harm caused by the activities of 
violent groups and individuals."  Amendments increasing the predicate crimes and penalties have 
been steadily added to this law.  The original predicate offenses included assault, robbery, 
unlawful homicide or manslaughter, trafficking in controlled substances, shooting at an inhabited 
vehicle (added in 1991), arson and witness intimidation.  Over time, the offenses of grand theft 
of a vehicle; grand theft exceeding $10,000; burglary; rape; looting; money laundering; 



kidnapping; mayhem; torture; felony extortion; felony vandalism and carjacking; firearm 
trafficking and handgun possession; criminal threats; and theft or taking of a vehicle have been 
added.  Proposition 21 (March 2000 Primary Election) greatly increased the enhancement 
imposed where a defendant committed a felony for the benefit of a gang.  The 1988 legislation 
creating the STEP Act authorized the use of nuisance abatement laws to combat gangs.  
Buildings used by gangs can be declared nuisances and civil penalties may be imposed. 
 

SB 1222 (Ackerman), Chapter 303, expands the list of crimes that may be used to 
establish a "pattern of criminal gang activity" to include possessing a firearm, carrying a 
concealed firearm, and carrying a loaded firearm, as specified.   

 
IDENTITY THEFT 

 
 
Surveillance Photographs 
 
Currently, Government Code Section 7480 allows law enforcement officers to view highly 
personal and confidential banking materials with the consent of the bank and/or the account 
holder.  Government Code Section 7480 lists several types of information that financial 
institutions must provide to the police when a crime report has been filed.  The information 
includes the dates and amounts of deposits and debits and the account balance on specified dates 
and copies of the signature card, including the signature and any addresses appearing on a 
customer's signature card.  This information aids police in their investigation and provides 
information to the police in an expedited fashion as there is no requirement for a search warrant.  
Similarly, providing a way for police to obtain surveillance photographs in an expedited fashion 
may well increase the rate at which types of identity theft crimes are solved. 
 

AB 618 (Cogdill), Chapter 705, expands the list of information a bank, credit union, or 
savings association shall furnish to the police, sheriff's department, or district attorney 
(DA) when a crime report alleging fraud has been filed by the police, sheriff's 
department, or district attorney to include surveillance photographs and video recordings 
of persons accessing the crime victim's financial account via an automated teller machine 
(ATM) or from within the financial institution. 
 

Identity Theft:  Penalty Increases 
 
According to the Federal Trade Commission’s data, California had a reported 45,175 victims of 
identity theft in 2005.  California ranked third in the nation with 125 victims of identity theft per 
100,000 people.  The Cities of Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco, Sacramento and San Jose 
have the highest number of identity theft victims in California.  Further, the data only includes 
the number of complaints the Federal Trade Commission received from identity theft victims and 
actual numbers are likely to be significantly higher.   
 

AB 2886 (Frommer), Chapter 522, creates new crimes related to identity theft for 
persons previously convicted and for persons who sell the personal identifying 



information of another person.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Creates an alternate misdemeanor-felony, punishable by up to one year in the county 

jail, or by a term of 16 months, two or three years in state prison for any person who, 
with intent to defraud, acquires or retains possession of the personal identifying 
information (PII) of another person, and who has been previously convicted of 
identity theft, as specified. 
 

• States in any case in which a person willfully obtains PII of another person, uses that 
information to commit a crime, in addition to a violation of the identity theft statute, 
and is convicted of that crime, the court records shall reflect that the person whose 
identity was falsely used to commit the crime did not commit the crime. 
 

• Creates an alternate misdemeanor-felony, punishable by up to one year in the county 
jail, or by a term of 16 months, two or three years in state prison, for any person who, 
with intent to defraud, acquires or retains possession of the PII of 10 or more other 
people. 
 

• States that any person who with actual knowledge that the PII, as specified, of a 
specific person will be used to commit identity theft, as specified, who sells, transfers, 
or conveys that same PII, is guilty of a public offense and shall be punished by a fine, 
by imprisonment in state prison for a term of 16 months, two or three years, or by 
both imprisonment and fine. 
 

• Exempts an interactive computer service or access software provider, as defined in 
federal law, from liability for identity theft unless the service or provider acquires, 
transfers, sells, conveys, or retains possession of PII with intent to defraud. 
 

• Creates an alternate misdemeanor-felony, punishable by up to one year in the county 
jail, or by a term of 16 months, two or three years in state prison, for any person who, 
with the intent to defraud, sells, transfers, or conveys the PII of another.  
 

• States that every person who commits mail theft, as defined by federal statute, shall 
be punished by up to one year in the county jail, a fine or by both imprisonment and 
fine.  Prosecution under this section shall not limit prosecution under other related 
sections, as specified.  

 
Criminal Justice Statistics 
 
The California Attorney General has the duty to collect, analyze, and report statistical data to 
measure crime.  While the Attorney General’s report includes property crimes, the report does 
not separate identity theft from general theft and other related property crimes.  Having accurate 
statistical data will help law enforcement and the Legislature in formulating future strategy and 
legislation to combat identity theft. 
 



SB 1390 (Poochigian), Chapter 160, requires the Department of Justice (DOJ) to 
publish statistical data regarding identity theft arrests in DOJ's annual report on crime in 
California. 

 

JUVENILES 
 
 
Female Inmates and Wards 
 
The State of California currently operates four prisons for women; recent data shows that 10 
percent of women entering prison are pregnant.  Reports issued by Amnesty International and the 
San Francisco National Organization for Women's Women in Prison Task Force describe neglect 
in the health care of women prisoners. 
 
In October 2000, the California Joint Committee on Prison Construction and Operations 
conducted a hearing that disclosed the medical plight of women inmates at California facilities.  
For example, female inmates from the Central California Women’s Facility reported being 
denied health care for serious conditions such as sickle cell anemia, Hepatitis C, and prenatal 
health care.   
 

AB 478 (Lieber), Chapter 608, requires the Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR) to establish minimum standards for pregnant inmates, including 
necessary nutrition and vitamins, information and education, and a dental cleaning.  This 
new law also provides that a pregnant inmate transported to a hospital outside the prison 
shall be transported in the least restrictive manner possible.  Further, the inmate may not 
be shackled by the wrists, ankles, or both, during delivery, and while in recovery after 
giving birth.  This new law accords the same rights to pregnant juvenile wards who give 
birth while under the CDCR's jurisdiction, the Division of Juvenile Facilities, or in a 
community treatment program. 

 
Children of Incarcerated Parents 
 
Children are deeply affected by the arrest or incarceration of their parents.  Families, law 
enforcement, local governments, and community-based organizations must work together to 
ensure that a child is taken care of when a parent is arrested or incarcerated.  California must 
have uniform procedures that consider the child's needs first.  According to the California 
Research Bureau, approximately 850,000 children in California have parents in the criminal 
justice system.   
 

AB 1942 (Nava), Chapter 729, requires the Peace Officers Standards and Training 
Commission to develop guidelines and training for use by state and local law 
enforcement officers to address issues related to child safety when a caretaker parent or 
guardian is arrested.   
 

Juvenile Crime 
 



Existing juvenile law (Proposition 21 in 2000) provides that a court may, under specified 
conditions, summarily grant deferred entry of judgment if a minor admits the charges, waives 
time for the pronouncement of judgment, and meets other eligibility criteria.  Existing law 
requires that the procedure for deferred entry of judgment may not commence without the 
agreement of the prosecutor, the public defender or the minor's private attorney, and the 
presiding judge of the juvenile court.  Under existing law, if the parties do not agree, the minor's 
case must be heard according to procedures generally governing juvenile cases.   
 

SB 1626 (Ashburn), Chapter 675, deletes provisions requiring that there be an 
agreement between the attorneys and the judge; and states that upon a finding that the 
minor is suitable for deferred entry of judgment and would benefit from education, 
treatment, and rehabilitation efforts, the court may grant deferred entry of judgment.  This 
new law requires a court to make findings on the record that a minor is appropriate for 
deferred entry of judgment in any case in which it is granted.  Deferred entry of judgment 
is not available to minors who have committed specified serious or violent offenses. 
 

Juvenile Justice:  Adequate Facilities and Programs 
 
Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC) Section 736 requires the Division of Juvenile Justice 
(formerly know as the "California Youth Authority") to accept a person committed to the 
Division if it believes the person can be materially benefited by its reformatory and educational 
discipline and if the Division has adequate facilities.  Additionally, the Department of Juvenile 
Justice (DJJ) must accept a person who is "borderline psychiatric" or "mentally deficient", a "sex 
deviate", or suffering from a "primary behavior disorder".   
 
WIC Section 736 contains archaic language over 40 years old and is no longer used by mental 
health professionals or public policy makers in determining mental health treatment needs for 
youth committed to the state juvenile justice system.  Additionally, by specifically delineating 
which type of mental health cases may be accepted by the DJJ, that old language may 
inadvertently restrict DJJ's ability to accept, or offer treatment to, youth with other mental health 
or treatment needs.  Finally, certain individuals may have mental health needs beyond DJJ's 
ability; WIC Section 736 may hinder California's ability to appropriately place such an 
individual in another treatment program. 
 

SB 1742 (Machado), Chapter 257, requires the DJJ to only accept a person committed 
to it if DJJ has adequate staff and programs to provide care, and deletes provisions of law 
that require DJJ to accept a person who is borderline psychiatric, borderline mentally 
deficient, a specified sexual deviate, or suffering from a behavior disorder. 
 

MURDER 
 
 
Panic Strategy 
 
The murder of Gwen Araujo in Newark, California, focused national attention on the increasing 
use of the "panic strategy" by defendants in murder trials.  In 2004, the criminal trial of the three 
men accused of attacking Ms. Araujo ended in a mistrial, following several weeks of defense 



attorneys asserting that the defendants “panicked” upon learning that Ms. Araujo was a 
transgender individual.  Their arguments, largely based on stereotypes about transgender women, 
were framed to play on societal bias against transgender people.  If successful, using the panic 
strategy could have resulted in a conviction for the lesser charge of voluntary manslaughter 
rather than first- or second-degree murder as sought by the prosecution.   
 

AB 1160 (Lieber), Chapter 550, makes legislative findings and declarations expressing 
disapproval of the use of "panic strategies" by criminal defendants in order to appeal to 
the societal bias of a juror based on the victim's actual or perceived gender or sexual 
orientation, and requires the court to instruct the jury that their decision should not be 
influenced by bias against a victim, as specified. 
 

PEACE OFFICERS 
 
 
Custodial Officers 
 
Existing law allows cities and counties to employ custodial officers who are peace officers for 
the purpose of maintaining order in local detention facilities.  A custodial officer under this 
section does not have the right to carry or possess a firearm in the performance of his or her 
duties.  However, a custodial officer may use reasonable force to establish and maintain custody 
and may make arrests for misdemeanors and felonies pursuant to a warrant.  
 

AB 272 (Parra), Chapter 127, adds Inyo, Kings, and Tulare Counties to the list of 
specified counties within which deputy sheriffs assigned to perform duties exclusively or 
initially relating to specified custodial assignments are defined as peace officers whose 
authority extends to any place in California while engaged in the performance of their 
employment. 
 

Illegal Dumping Enforcement Officers 
 
Current law limits the effectiveness of local code enforcement or other specialized, non-sworn 
enforcement/civilian officers to pro-actively combat illegal dumping.  Under Penal Code Section 
836.5, local agencies can designate certain employees to issue citations for infractions and 
misdemeanor violations of local ordinance.  This limited authority is insufficient and contrasts 
with the effective environmental protection enforcement model used in other states. 
 

AB 1688 (Niello), Chapter 267, adds illegal dumping enforcement officers employed by 
a city, county, or city and county, to the extent necessary to enforce laws related to illegal 
waste dumping or littering, and authorized by a memorandum of understanding with the 
sheriff or chief of police within whose jurisdiction the person is employed, to the list of 
persons who are not peace officers but may exercise the powers of arrest of a peace 
officer if that person completes the required course. 

 
Children of Incarcerated Parents 
 



Children are deeply affected by the arrest or incarceration of their parents.  Families, law 
enforcement, local governments, and community-based organizations must work together to 
ensure that a child is taken care of when a parent is arrested or incarcerated.  California must 
have uniform procedures that consider the child's needs first.  According to the California 
Research Bureau, approximately 850,000 children in California have parents in the criminal 
justice system.   
 

AB 1942 (Nava), Chapter 729, requires the Peace Officers Standards and Training 
Commission to develop guidelines and training for use by state and local law 
enforcement officers to address issues related to child safety when a caretaker parent or 
guardian is arrested.   
 

Peace Officer Powers:  Los Angeles Security Officers 
 
Existing law provides that numerous types of publicly employed security officers are granted 
peace officer powers of arrest even though they are not peace officers.  These persons may 
exercise the powers of arrest of a peace officer, as specified, during the course and within the 
scope of their employment if they successfully complete a course in the exercise of those powers, 
as specified, which has been certified by the Commission on Peace Officers Standards and 
Training.   
 
The role of Los Angeles city security guards, often the first line of response to any disruption of 
the public order, has clearly evolved over the years into a more proactive approach.  In recent 
years, there have been many situations where these officers have found it necessary to detain 
persons while awaiting a response from the Los Angeles Police Department or other sworn 
personnel.  For example, there have been situations involving assaults, carrying concealed 
weapons, injecting illegal drugs and lewd conduct in front of minors. 
 

AB 1980 (Bass), Chapter 271, clarifies the authority of Los Angeles City security 
officers whose duties include protecting the public at locations throughout Los Angeles.  
These sites include the airport, harbor, libraries, power plants, reservoirs, City Hall and 
other facilities. 

 
Correctional Institutions:  Communicable Disease 
 
Existing law provides for the confidential testing of inmates and other enumerated persons for 
HIV and AIDS under specified circumstances.  The test is initiated by a request from a law 
enforcement officer or another inmate, to the chief medical officer of the facility, when the 
requesting person has come in contact with the bodily fluids of an inmate or other specified 
persons in a correctional facility or courtroom. 
 

AB 2870 (De La Torre), Chapter 800, expands existing provisions of law regarding 
medical testing of prisoners to include "other infectious, contagious, or communicable 
disease".  Specifically, this new law: 
 



• Expands existing legislative findings and declarations regarding HIV and AIDS in 
corrections to include "other infections, contagious, or communicable diseases." 
 

• Expands existing legislative intent language regarding measures to take to address the 
public health crisis regarding HIV an AIDS in corrections to include "other 
infectious, contagious, or communicable diseases." 
 

• Expands the existing definition of "correctional institution" for purposes of medical 
testing of prisoners to include a court facility. 
 

• Expands the existing definition of "counseling" for purposes of medical testing of 
prisoners to include "infectious, contagious, or communicable diseases" as a topic for 
which counseling can be provided. 
 

• Expands the existing definition of "law enforcement employee" for purposes of 
medical testing of prisoners to include "prosecutors and staff." 
 

• Adds for purposes of medical testing of prisoners, a definition of "infectious, 
contagious, or communicable disease." 
 

• Provide that inmates subject to Hepatitis B or C tests shall receive specified 
information relating to the right to appeal and the right to counseling from a medical 
professional. 
 

• Expands existing law to include "a person charged with any crime, whether or not the 
person is in custody" as a category of persons that if a law enforcement employee 
comes into contact with the bodily fluids he or she can have that person tested for 
HIV.   
 

• Provides that the law enforcement employee who reported an incident of contact with 
bodily fluids of inmates, as specified, shall be notified o the results of any test 
administered to any person as a result of the reporting of the incident. 
 

• Provides that testing for other infectious contagious or communicable diseases may 
be conducted by any licensed medical laboratory approved by the chief medical 
officer. 
 

Attempted Murder of a Custody Assistant 
 
Under existing law, the attempted murder of a custodial officer is punishable by imprisonment in 
the state prison for life with the possibility of parole or by 15 years to life if it is also proven that 
the attempt was premeditated.  The legislation that created that law inadvertently failed to 
include custody assistants (non-sworn, uniformed Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department 
employees) within the law's scope.  A custody assistant's job is very similar to those of a 
“custodial officer”, work in custody detention facilities, and are responsible for the care and 



handling of inmates.  
 

SB 1184 (Cedillo), Chapter 468, corrects the inadvertent omission of custody assistants 
from the crime of attempted murder of a police officer, firefighter or custodial officer by 
specifically providing that this law also applies to custody assistants.  This new law also 
defines in statute a custody assistant as a person who is a full-time employee, not a peace 
officer, and employed by a sheriff's department who assists peace officer personnel in 
maintaining order and security in a custody detention, court detention or station jail 
facility of the sheriff's department.  The new provisions relating to custody assistants 
apply only in Los Angeles County and do not become operative until those provisions are 
adopted by resolution of the board of supervisors.   

 
Deputy Sheriffs:  Residency and Citizenship 
 
Existing law requires that deputy sheriffs or marshals shall not be appointed unless ''he or she is a 
citizen of this state.''  In many of these counties, deputy sheriffs live in the neighboring state due 
to the affordability of housing in comparison to California.  In Alpine County, all deputy sheriffs 
live in Nevada due to the cost of housing.  In San Bernardino County, 30 deputies assigned to the 
Colorado River station live in Arizona.  Housing is not available in Needles or Havasu Landing, 
but is plentiful in Havasu City, Arizona.  Similar situations exist in almost every county along 
the border.  Thus, all these deputy sheriffs are technically in violation of the law. 
 

SB 1241 (Cox), Chapter 53, allows deputy sheriffs and deputy marshals to reside 
outside of the state of California.   
 



RESTITUTION 
 
 
Victim Compensation 
 
Victims of crime have a constitutional right to receive restitution from their offenders (California 
Constitution, Article I, Section 28).  Victim restitution is designed to increase offender 
accountability by holding offenders responsible for the actual costs of their crimes.  Yet, 
currently, victim restitution orders are collected from offenders in state prison only upon request 
of the victims.  Many victims are not aware that they must submit such a request.  Only 19% of 
victims with restitution orders imposed against California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR) inmates request collection. 
 

AB 1505 (La Suer), Chapter 555, authorizes the CDCR to collect restitution from an 
inmate or parolee, but collection is not required, and allows a victim to receive a 
restitution order without filing a claim with the Victim Compensation and Government 
Claims Board. 
 

Information Card for Victims of Crime  
 
Under existing law, many cities and agencies offer programs and services to victims of certain 
violent crimes.  However, some agencies are reluctant to participate because they believe a 
liability exists if the distribution of information regarding victim’s rights already offered under 
current law does not result in services being received by the victim or if the peace officer does 
not distribute such information. 
 

AB 2705 (Spitzer), Chapter 94, encourages the distribution of information regarding 
victims' rights by giving the agencies the protection they need to encourage the 
dissemination of information to victims.  This new law provides that a city or county may 
authorize a law enforcement officer to provide to a crime victim a "Victim's Rights 
Card."  A "Victim's Rights Card" is a card or paper that provides a printed notice with a 
disclaimer, in at least 10-point type, to a victim of a crime regarding potential  services 
that may be available under existing state law to assist the victim. 
 
This new law states that provision of the victim's rights card is a discretionary act and 
shall be operative only in a city or county in which the city council or board of 
supervisors has enacted a resolution regarding the victim's right card.  This new law 
specifically states that it shall not be interpreted as replacing or prohibiting any services 
currently offered to victims of crime by any agency or person.   



SEX OFFENDERS 
 
 
Sex Offender Management Board 
 
In California, sex offenders are currently managed through a complex system involving multiple 
state and local departments.  Yet, there is no centralized infrastructure that coordinates 
communication, research or decision-making amongst the various agencies. 
 
There are over 100,000 registered sex offenders living in California communities, an estimated 
14,000 to 25,000 in California prisons, and an additional unknown number in California jails.  
Almost all convicted sex offenders will eventually return to the community within a short period 
of time under direct supervision, either on parole, probation or conditional release.  During this 
period of time when a sex offender is under direct supervision, it is integral that there is a 
comprehensive and cohesive network of interventions available to control the behavior of sex 
offenders and prevent recidivism. 
 

AB 1015 (Chu), Chapter 338, creates a Sex Offender Management Board (SOMB), 
comprised of 17 members, to assess current management practices for adult sex offenders 
and report to the Legislature by January 1, 2008.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Establishes a 17-member SOMB, under the jurisdiction of the California Department 

of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR), with a representation from northern, 
central, and southern California as well as urban and rural areas.  Establishes the 
following characteristics for each appointee to SOMB: 
 
o Substantial prior knowledge of issues related to sex offenders; 

 
o Decision-making authority for the agency or constituency represented; and, 

 
o A willingness to serve on SOMB and a commitment to contribute to SOMB's 

work. 
 

• Establishes the membership of SOMB to consist of the following persons: 
 
o State government agencies: 

 
� One member who represents the Department of Justice (DOJ), appointed by 

the Speaker of the Assembly, with expertise in dealing with sex offender 
registration, notification, and enforcement; 
 

� One member who represents CDCR, appointed by the Governor, with an 
expertise in parole policies; 
 

� One member who represents the Board of Prison Terms, appointed by 
Governor; 
 



� One California state judge, appointed by the President pro Tempore of the 
Senate; and, 
 

� One member who represents the Department of Mental Health (DMH), 
appointed by the President pro Tempore of the Senate, who is a licensed 
mental health professional with recognizable expertise in the treatment of sex 
offenders. 
 

o Local government agencies: 
 
� Three members who represent law enforcement, appointed by the Governor.  

One member shall possess investigative expertise and one member shall have 
law enforcement duties that include registration and notification 
responsibilities; 
 

� One member who represents prosecuting attorneys, appointed by the President 
pro Tempore of the Senate, with expertise in dealing with adult and juvenile 
sex offenders; 
 

� One member who represents probation officers, appointed by the Speaker of 
the Assembly; and, 
 

� One member who represents public defenders, appointed by the Speaker of 
the Assembly. 
 

o Non-governmental agencies: 
 

� Two members who are licensed mental health professionals with expertise in 
the treatment of sex offenders, appointed by President pro Tempore of the 
Senate. 
 

� Two members who represent sex abuse victims and rape crisis centers, 
appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly; and, 
 

� One member who is a clinical polygraph examiner with a specialization in the 
administration of post conviction polygraph testing for sex offenders, 
appointed by the Governor. 
 

• Directs SOMB to appoint a presiding officer from among its members to serve in a 
capacity as SOMB sees fit. 
 



Sex Offenders:  Parole Conditions 
 
Under existing law, a paroled inmate must be returned to the county of "last legal residence".  An 
inmate may be returned to another county if it would be in the best interests of the public.  If the 
Board of Parole Hearings (BPH) decides on a return to another county, the BPH shall place its 
reasons in writing in the parolee's permanent record and include these reasons in the notice to the 
sheriff or chief of police.  
 

AB 2049 (Spitzer), Chapter 735, prohibits a registered sex offender on parole, as 
specified, from having any contact or communication with the victim or the victim’s 
immediate family.  

 
Sex Offenders:  Punishment, Control and Containment Act  
 
California lacks a comprehensive, proactive approach to preventing the victimization of citizens 
by sex offenders.  A comprehensive approach will make all of California's communities safer 
from sexual predators. 
 

SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, enacts the Sex Offender Punishment, Control and 
Containment Act of 2006.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• States that any person who kidnaps or carries away any person with the intent commit 

a specified sex offense shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life 
with the possibility of parole. 
 

• Punishes any person who, motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in 
children, arranges a meeting with a minor or a person he or she believes to be a minor 
for the purpose of exposing his or her genitals or pubic or rectal area, having the child 
expose his or her genitals or pubic or rectal area, or engaging in lewd or lascivious 
behavior by a fine not exceeding 5,000; by imprisonment in a county jail not 
exceeding one year; or by both the fine and imprisonment. 
 

• Punishes any person who annoys or molests a child, as specified, after having entered 
a dwelling without consent, as specified, with not only a term of imprisonment up to 
one year in the county jail or in the state prison for a term of 16 months, 2 or 3 years 
and by a fine of $5,000. 
 

• Provides that any person previously convicted of a registerable sex offense and who 
arranges a meeting with a minor, as specified, shall be sentenced to a term of 16 
months, 2 or 3 years in state prison.  
 

• States that a person who arranges a meeting with a minor, as specified, and who goes 
to the arranged meeting place on or about the arranged time shall be punished by a 
term of two, three or four years. 
 



• Punishes any adult who engages in sexual intercourse or sodomy with a child under 
the age of 10 years of age or younger by sentencing the offender to a term of 25-
years-to-life. 
 

• States that a person required to register as a sex offender who loiters on school 
property where minors are present without lawful business purpose and without 
permission from the chief operating officer is punishable as a misdemeanor.  
 

• States any person who is required to register as a sex offender where the victim was 
an elderly or dependant person, as defined, and who is present on any property where 
elderly or dependant persons reside or are regularly present without having registered 
with the facility administrator, except as to proceed expeditiously to the 
administrator's office, is guilty of a crime and shall be punished as a misdemeanor.  
 

• Increases the period of parole from five to ten years for any inmate sentenced under 
the One-Strike Sex Law or sentenced as a "habitual sex offender" rather than just 
those offenders convicted of child molestation and the continuous sexual abuse of a 
child. 
 

Continuous Electronic Monitoring 
 
California has more registered sex offenders than any other state in the country.  More than 9,000 
sex offenders are supervised on parole caseloads, and may be living and working in the same 
areas where children congregate.  According to the California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR), at least 2,000 of these sex offenders are classified as "high risk."  
Recently, it was discovered that a number of these offenders were allowed to live in motels 
adjacent to Disneyland.   
 
Currently, another 11,000 sex offenders are on county probation; thousands more are 
incarcerated in county jails and will be released back into local communities within one year.  
While California has some of the toughest laws in the nation as it relates to punishing sex 
offenders, there is a concern that the state does not do enough to ensure that when these 
offenders are released from prison or jail they are monitored to the fullest extent possible.  
 
Global position satellite monitoring technology is a method of tracking the whereabouts of 
offenders who pose a threat to society.  These devices allow a parole agent to be aware of every 
move the offender makes at all times.   
 

SB 1178 (Speier), Chapter 336, commencing July 1, 2008, requires every adult male 
convicted of an offense that requires him or her to register as a sex offender to be 
assessed for risk of re-offending using the state-authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex 
Offenders (SARATSO).  Specifically, this new law:   

 
• States that on or before January 1, 2008, the SARATSO Review Committee, in 

consultation with parole officers and other law enforcement officers, shall develop a 
training program for probation officers, parole officers, and any other persons 



authorized to administer the SARATSO. 
 

• Requires probation and parole regional parole departments to designate persons 
within their organizations to attend yearly training, and shall train others within their 
organizations who are designated to perform risk assessments. 
 

• States that the SARATSO Review Committee shall establish a plan for assessing 
eligible persons not assessed pursuant to this law.  The plan shall provide for adult 
males to be assessed before January 1, 2012 and for females and juveniles to be 
assessed on or before January 1, 2013.  This new law requires that on or before 
January 15, 2008, the Committee shall introduce legislation to implement the plan. 
 

• States that commencing on January 1, 2008, every adult male sex offender registrant 
shall be assessed for the risk of re-offending using the SARATSO assessment and 
every adult male who has a risk assessment of "high" shall be continuously 
electronically monitored while on parole unless CDCR determines that such 
monitoring is unnecessary for a particular person. 
 

• States that beginning January 1, 2009 and every two years thereafter, the CDCR shall 
report to the Legislature and the Governor on the effectiveness of continuous 
electronic monitoring, including the costs of the monitoring and the recidivism rates 
of those persons who have been monitored.   
 

SEX OFFENSES 
 
 
Sex Offenders 
 
Existing law requires the Department of Justice (DOJ) to make information concerning certain 
persons required to register as sex offenders available to the public via an Internet Web site, 
including the offender's criminal history.  However, there are concerns that the database has not 
disclosed other important aspects of the offender’s history.  For example, the database fails to 
disclose the date of the offender’s last offense of a sexual nature and when the offender was 
released from incarceration for that crime.   
 

AB 1849 (Leslie), Chapter 886, requires that on or before July 1, 2010, the year of the 
conviction of the offender's last sexual offense, the year of release from incarceration for 
that offense, and whether he or she was subsequently incarcerated for any felony be 
posted on the Internet Web site.  This new law also requires any state facility that releases 
a sex offender to provide the year of conviction and year of release for his or her most 
recent offense requiring registration as a sex offender to the DOJ.  Additionally, any state 
facility that releases a person required to register as a sex offender from incarceration 
whose incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense for which he 
or she is required to register to so advise the DOJ.  This new law takes effect 
immediately. 
 

Sex Offender Registration Offenses 



 
Existing law requires that persons convicted of specified sex offenses register annually with the 
Attorney General each year for life.  The Attorney General makes certain  
information about the location of these sex offenders available to the public via the Internet on its 
Megan's Law Web site.   
 

AB 1900 (Lieu), Chapter 340, adds the additional of crime murder committed in the 
course of a sex crime to the list of sex offenses which require registration.  This new law 
also clarifies that persons convicted in another state of pimping and pandering with a 
minor and required to register in that other state need not register in California unless the 
out-of-state conviction contains all of the elements of a registerable California offense.  
This new law further clarifies that sex offender registrants who have been incarcerated 
for less than 30 days and then return to the previously registered address are not required 
to re-register upon release from incarceration. 
 

Sex Offenders:  Working With Minors 
 
Current California law requires a sex offender to disclose his or her status as a registrant only if 
the registrant will be working directly with children in an unaccompanied setting.  Additionally, 
if the offender is convicted of a crime in which the victim was under 16 years of age, that 
registrant cannot work with children in an unaccompanied setting.  However, he or she is 
authorized to work with children if the job takes place in an accompanied setting. 
 

AB 2263 (Spitzer), Chapter 341, requires a sex offender registrant who applies for, or 
accepts, a position as an employee or volunteer where the applicant would be working 
directly, and in an accompanied setting, with minor children on more than an incidental 
and occasional basis to disclose his or her status as a registrant upon application or 
acceptance of any such position if the applicant's work would require him or her to touch 
minor children on more than an incidental and occasional basis.   
 

Spousal Rape 
 
Under existing law, commencement of the prosecution for spousal rape shall not begin unless the 
violation was reported to medical personnel, a member of the clergy, an attorney, a shelter 
representative, a counselor, a judicial officer, a rape crisis agency, a prosecuting agency, a law 
enforcement officer, or a firefighter within one year after the date of the violation.  This reporting 
requirement shall not apply if the victim's allegation of the offense is corroborated by 
independent evidence that would otherwise be admissible during trial. 
 

SB 1402 (Kuehl), Chapter 45, deletes the requirement that spousal rape only be 
prosecuted where the victim reported the attack to a specified person within one year of 
the offense or where the offense is corroborated by independent evidence that would 
otherwise be admissible at trial. 
 

Victims of Crime 
 



Existing law requires a public notice of any proposed name change to be published in a daily 
newspaper once a week for four consecutive weeks.  For a person petitioning for a name change 
in order to avoid domestic violence and who is also enrolled in the Safe At Home program, the 
proposed name can be kept confidential as part of the public notice requirement; however, the 
original name must still be published in the notice.  In view of the need of domestic violence and 
stalking victims to keep their addresses confidential from their abusers and stalkers, the Office of 
the Secretary of State acts as the program participants' agent for official service of process and 
forwards mail received at the substitute address provided.   
 

SB 1743 (Bowen), Chapter 689, additionally applies the above provisions to a petitioner 
who is a victim of sexual assault or who is filing on behalf of a victim of sexual assault.  
This new law specifies that the action for change of name is exempt under the provisions 
requiring publication of the order to show cause which must be filed with the court and is 
otherwise subject to the publication  
requirements.  Thus, this new law provides the same confidentiality regarding name 
changes to victims of sexual assault as provided to victims of domestic violence or 
stalking. 
 

SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS 
 
 
Sexually Violent Predators:  Out-Patient Release 
 
The Department of Mental Health (DMH) has developed terms and conditions of out-patient 
release to ensure the safety of communities and the success of a sexually violent predator's (SVP) 
rehabilitation.  DMH should not be allowed to unilaterally alter any of the terms and conditions 
of the out-patient release of a SVP without the approval of the court. 
 

AB 1683 (Shirley Horton), Chapter 339, requires DMH to provide the court and law 
enforcement with copies of specified information relating to the monitoring and 
supervision of a SVP proposed for outpatient treatment in the community.  Specifically, 
this new law: 
 
• Requires DMH to provide the court with a copy of the written contract entered into 

with any entity responsible for monitoring and supervising the out-patient placement 
and treatment of a SVP proposed for out-patient treatment in the community. 
 

• States that the court in its discretion may order DMH to provide a copy of the written 
terms and conditions of out-patient release to the sheriff, chief of police, or both, who 
have jurisdiction over the actual or proposed placement community. 
 

• Provides that except in an emergency, DMH or its designee shall not alter the terms 
and conditions of conditional release without the approval of the court. 
 

• Requires DMH to give notice to the committed person, the district attorney, or 
designated county counsel of any proposed change in the terms of out-patient release. 
 



• Provides that the court on its own motion, or upon the motion of either party to the 
action, may set a hearing on the proposed change as soon as practicable. 
 

• States that if a hearing on the proposed change is held, the court shall state its 
findings on the record.  If the court approves a change in the terms and conditions of 
conditional release without a hearing, the court shall issue a written order. 
 

• Provides that in the case of an emergency, DMH or its designee may deviate from the 
terms and conditions of conditional release to protect the public safety or the safety of 
the person, and allows for a hearing on the emergency to be set as soon as practicable. 
 

• Clarifies that matters concerning the residential placement, including any changes or 
proposed changes in residential placement, shall be considered and determined under 
existing statutory guidelines. 
 

Sex Offender Punishment, Control and Containment Act of 2006:  Sexually  
  Violent Predators 
 
Under existing law, a sexually violent predator (SVP) is an inmate who has been convicted of a 
sexually violent offense against two or more victims and who has a diagnosed mental disorder 
that makes the person a danger to the health and safety of others in that it is likely that he or she 
will engage in sexually violent criminal behavior. 
 

SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, makes several changes to the law as it relates to the 
civil commitment of offenders deemed SVPs.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• States persons committed as SVPs shall be committed for an indeterminate term 

rather than the current law of two years. 
 

• Tolls the period of parole while a person is committed as a SVP and states time spent 
on conditional release under the supervision of the court shall be subtracted from the 
person's period of parole.  
 

• Expands the definition of "sexually violent offense" to include specified acts of rape, 
sodomy and oral copulation in concert.  
 

• Specifies that a committed person's failure to engage in treatment shall be considered 
evidence that his or her condition has not changed for purposes of any court 
proceeding held pursuant to existing law and a jury shall be so instructed.  
Completion of treatment programs shall be a condition of release.  
 

VEHICLES 
 
 
Vehicles:  Passengers in Trunks 
 



The California Highway Patrol states that since 2000, there have been 153 collisions resulting in 
140 injuries and 9 deaths associated with persons riding on portions of vehicles not designed or 
intended for the use of passengers.  United States Department of Transportation statistics show 
that 96 people have died from riding in trunks from 1982 to 2003. 
 

AB 1850 (Mountjoy), Chapter 900, makes it an infraction for a driver of a vehicle to 
knowingly permit a person to ride in the trunk of that vehicle and also for the person who 
rides in the trunk.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Makes a first offense punishable by a fine of $100. 

 
• Makes a second offense occurring within one year of a prior violation punishable by a 

fine of $200. 
 

• Makes a third offense occurring within one year of two prior violations punishable by 
a fine of $250. 
 

• Provides that knowingly permitting a person to ride in the trunk of a motor vehicle 
shall be given a value of one point for purposes of traffic violation point count. 
 

• Specifies that a person riding in the trunk of a motor vehicle shall not receive a 
violation point count. 
 

Vehicles:  Vehicular Manslaughter 
 
Existing code sections relating to vehicle and vessel manslaughter are confusing and unorganized 
and in need of clarification. 
 

AB 2559 (Benoit), Chapter 91, recasts Penal Code provisions relating to vehicular and 
vessel manslaughter to organize the sections in a more logical fashion while making no 
changes to existing law in terms of penalties or elements of offenses. 

 
Driving under the Influence 
 
An American Automobile Association's Foundation for Traffic Safety's January 2006 study 
found that between 1995 and 2004, more than 31,000 people throughout the nation suffered fatal 
injuries which resulted from accidents in which the driver was 15, 16 or 17 years old.  Nearly 
2,000 of those deaths occurred in California.  The California Highway Patrol reports that during 
the same time period, 1,540 people were fatally injured in accidents where the driver was under 
21 years of age and had been drinking. 
 
Currently, California has what is called a ‘Zero Tolerance Policy’ for drinking and driving when 
under the age of 21.  Current law does not carry any penalty for underage driving under the 
influence drivers with blood alcohol concentrations (BACs) below 0.05 percent.  California only 
provides for Department of Motor Vehicle administrative penalties if a driver under 21 years of 
age has a BAC of 0.01 percent to 0.04 percent. 



 
AB 2752 (Spitzer), Chapter 899, makes it an infraction for a person under the age of 21 
to drive with a measurable BAC.  This new law makes a first offense punishable by a fine 
of $100; a second offense, within a year of the first offense, a fine of $200; and a third or 
subsequent offense, occurring within one year of two or more prior infractions, a fine of 
$250. 
 

Law Enforcement Patrol Vehicles 
 
Under current law, the Alameda County Sheriff cannot conduct increased driving under the 
influence (DUI) patrols during holiday periods as their patrol vehicles, though distinctively 
marked, are painted a single color and do not match the required patrol vehicle color schemes.  
Without an exemption, if an Alameda County sheriff makes a DUI arrest, it is possible that 
individual could not be punished.   
 

AB 3004 (Houston), Chapter 832, states legislative intent that the that the 
Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol amend the California Code of 
Regulations (CCR) relating to distinctively painted patrol vehicles to ensure that all 
distinctively painted patrol vehicles and motorcycles used by police and traffic officers 
are authorized to enforce Vehicle Code provisions relating to DUI.   This new law also 
states that there is an emergency in Alameda County because the dark blue painted patrol 
vehicles and motorcycles used by the Alameda County Sheriff's Department do not meet 
the required CCR paint specifications that would allow them to enforce DUI provisions 
of the Vehicle Code. 
 

Driving under the Influence:  Ignition Interlock Devices  
 
Alcohol-impaired driving is among the most common contributors of motor vehicle crashes in 
the United States.  The 17,013 alcohol-related fatalities represent 40 percent of the 42,643 motor 
vehicle fatalities that occurred in 2003.  Alcohol-related crashes are estimated to cost the public 
more than $50 billion per year.  California has long been recognized as a leader in traffic safety, 
and many of the demonstrably effective driving-under-the-influence countermeasures have 
already been enacted and implemented in California.  The ignition interlock is a device 
consisting of an alcohol-breath testing unit connected to the ignition switch of a vehicle.  The 
driver is required to provide a breath sample before starting the vehicle; if the sample contains 
more than a predetermined amount of alcohol, the interlock ignition device (IID) locks the 
vehicle’s ignition, preventing the vehicle from being driven. 

 
AB 3045 (Koretz), Chapter 835, prohibits the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
from re-instating the privilege to operate a motor vehicle of a person required to install an 
IID until the DMV receives proof, as specified, that a certified IID has been installed as 
ordered. 

 
Police Pursuits 
 
An individual who attempts to elude police in a vehicle have learned that most law enforcement 



pursuit policies require officers to terminate the pursuit if a perpetrator starts to drive down a 
public highway or freeway in the wrong direction.  This kind of action deserves a specific 
punishment. 
 

SB 1735 (Cox), Chapter 688, makes it an alternate felony/misdemeanor to flee or 
attempt to elude a pursuing peace officer by driving a vehicle upon a highway in the 
wrong direction.  Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Provides that whenever a person willfully flees or attempts to elude a pursuing peace 

officer and the person operating the pursued vehicle willfully drives that vehicle on a 
highway in a direction opposite to that in which the traffic lawfully moves is guilty of 
a criminal offense. 
 

• Makes the above offense punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for 16 
months, 2 or 3 years; by imprisonment in a county jail for not less than six months 
nor more than one year; by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000; or 
by both imprisonment and a fine. 

 
VICTIMS 

 
 
San Francisco General Hospital Trauma Recovery Center 
 
The Trauma Recovery Center (TRC) has proven to be an extremely effective program, winning 
prestigious awards and serving the community with its innovative and comprehensive model of 
care.  Designed not only to increase access for crime victims to Victim Restitution Funds, the 
TRC also has developed and tested a more cost-effective alternative model of care.  The TRC 
provides a range of mental health services, and these services are available at the TRC and also 
via trips by staff to the patient's home or community depending on the needs of the patient. 
 

AB 50 (Leno), Chapter 884, appropriates funds for the TRC at San Francisco General 
Hospital/University of California, San Francisco. 

 
Victims' Compensation  
 
The Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board provides reimbursement to crime 
victims, including domestic violence victims.  Studies have shown that one out of four women 
will experience domestic violence during her lifetime. 
 
Under current law, a domestic violence or sexual assault victims is eligible for a one-time cash 
payment of $2,000 to cover expenses incurred in relocating if the relocation is determined to be 
necessary for the victim's safety.   The only way for a victim to receive another payment is if the 
crime is more than three years after the date of the original crime and involves a different 
offender, thus precluding a victim who must relocate a second time because the offender has 
found the victim. 
 



AB 105 (Cohn), Chapter 539, provides that the Victim Compensation and Government 
Claims Board may authorize more than one reimbursement for relocation of one victim 
per crime if necessary for the personal safety or emotional well being of the victim.  The 
total cash payment or reimbursement for all relocations due to the same crime shall not 
exceed the current $2,000. 

 
Victim Compensation 
 
Victims of crime have a constitutional right to receive restitution from their offenders (California 
Constitution, Article I, Section 28).  Victim restitution is designed to increase offender 
accountability by holding offenders responsible for the actual costs of their crimes.  Yet, 
currently, victim restitution orders are collected from offenders in state prison only upon request 
of the victims.  Many victims are not aware that they must submit such a request.  Only 19% of 
victims with restitution orders imposed against California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation (CDCR) inmates request collection. 
 

AB 1505 (La Suer), Chapter 555, authorizes the CDCR to collect restitution from an 
inmate or parolee, but collection is not required, and allows a victim to receive a 
restitution order without filing a claim with the Victim Compensation and Government 
Claims Board. 
 

Sex Offender Registration Offenses 
 
Existing law requires that persons convicted of specified sex offenses register annually with the 
Attorney General each year for life.  The Attorney General makes certain information about the 
location of these sex offenders available to the public via the Internet on its Megan's Law Web 
site.   
 

AB 1900 (Lieu), Chapter 340, adds the additional of crime murder committed in the 
course of a sex crime to the list of sex offenses which require registration.  This new law 
also clarifies that persons convicted in another state of pimping and pandering with a 
minor and required to register in that other state need not register in California unless the 
out-of-state conviction contains all of the elements of a registerable California offense.  
This new law further clarifies that sex offender registrants who have been incarcerated 
for less than 30 days and then return to the previously registered address are not required 
to re-register upon release from incarceration. 
 

Evidence:  Victim Testimony 
 
Under existing law when determining the credibility of a witness, a court or jury may consider 
any matter that has any tendency in reason to prove or disprove the truthfulness of his or her 
testimony at the hearing. 
 

AB 1996 (Bogh), Chapter 225, extends procedures relating to sealed records of the 
sexual history of complaining witnesses to include certain sexual offenses pursuant to 
specified evidence provisions dealing with prior offenses. 



 
Sex Offenders:  Parole Conditions 
 
Under existing law, a paroled inmate must be returned to the county of "last legal residence".  An 
inmate may be returned to another county if it would be in the best interests of the public.  If the 
Board of Parole Hearings (BPH) decides on a return to another county, the BPH shall place its 
reasons in writing in the parolee's permanent record and include these reasons in the notice to the 
sheriff or chief of police.  
 

AB 2049 (Spitzer), Chapter 735, prohibits a registered sex offender on parole, as 
specified, from having any contact or communication with the victim or the victim’s 
immediate family.  

 
Sex Offenders:  Working With Minors 
 
Current California law requires a sex offender to disclose his or her status as a registrant only if 
the registrant will be working directly with children in an unaccompanied setting.  Additionally, 
if the offender is convicted of a crime in which the victim was under 16 years of age, that 
registrant cannot work with children in an unaccompanied setting.  However, he or she is 
authorized to work with children if the job takes place in an accompanied setting. 
 

AB 2263 (Spitzer), Chapter 341, requires a sex offender registrant who applies for, or 
accepts, a position as an employee or volunteer where the applicant would be working 
directly, and in an accompanied setting, with minor children on more than an incidental 
and occasional basis to disclose his or her status as a registrant upon application or 
acceptance of any such position if the applicant's work would require him or her to touch 
minor children on more than an incidental and occasional basis.   
 

Habeas Corpus:  Notice 
 
Existing law requires a person who is held in custody and is applying for a writ of habeas corpus 
to give 24 hours notice to the district attorney in the county wherein the person is held in 
custody. 
 

AB 2272 (Parra), Chapter 274, requires that if a writ challenging a denial of parole is 
made returnable, a copy of the writ and the order to show cause be served by the superior 
court upon the Attorney General and the district attorney of the county in which the 
underlying judgment was returned. 
 

Victims of Crime:  Compensation 
 
Under current law, the Victim’s Compensation Program (VCP) reimburses victims and their 
survivors for the loss of wages and income support.  The loss of child care services due to the 
injury or death of a primary child care provider creates a similar need. In such cases, families 
must purchase replacement childcare services for the surviving children.  
 



AB 2413 (Spitzer), Chapter 571, creates a pilot program to allow victims of crime to be 
reimbursed for child care expenses incurred as a result of the crime.  The pilot will allow 
the VCP to determine how well the program meets the needs of victims and whether to 
change and/or extend the program beyond the sunset date in 2009.  This new law allows 
survivors who were living with a deceased victim to be reimbursed for security 
enhancements in the home where the crime occurred.  Also, this new law allows the VCP 
to reimburse the cost of crime scene cleanup when any eligible violent crime occurs in a 
residence that requires the services of a registered trauma scene management practitioner. 
 

Theft of Free or Complimentary Newspapers 
 
The unauthorized taking of freely distributed newspapers has been a problem for many years.   
 
Recently, an individual in Chula Vista removed entire bundles from news racks and transported 
them across the border where he sold them to recyclers in Mexico.  On three different occasions, 
the entire press run was taken from all of the racks owned by the "Chula Vista Star"; roughly 
8,000 to 10,000 copies were removed in each instance.  "La Prensa" also lost approximately 
1,000 copies.  When the publishers urged local police agencies to halt the thefts, officials 
responded they were unable to prosecute the thefts because under existing law the newspapers 
were complimentary, had no fair market value and, therefore, could not be stolen. 
 
Freely distributed newspapers are often taken based on an unpopular viewpoint expressed in an 
article, column, editorial or advertisement.  In Los Angeles, the "Epoch Times" began to notice it 
was losing thousands of copies in the San Gabriel Valley after publishing stories on controversial 
issues such as Article 23 in Hong Kong, the spread of SARS, human rights violations, and the 
Falun Gong.  Over the course of 11 days, "Epoch Times" employees followed and videotaped a 
suspect who had several thousand stolen newspapers in the back of his pick-up truck. 
 

AB 2612 (Plescia), Chapter 228, makes it a crime to take more than 25 copies of the 
current issue of a free or complimentary newspaper if done to recycle, barter, or to 
deprive others of the opportunity to read the newspaper, or to harm a business competitor.  
An issue is current if no more than one half of the period of time has expired until the 
distribution of the next issue has passed. Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Makes a first offense punishable by a fine not to exceed $250. 

 
• Makes a second or subsequent violation an alternate infraction/misdemeanor.  A 

misdemeanor conviction is punishable by a fine not exceeding $500, imprisonment of 
up to 10 days in the county jail, or by both that fine and imprisonment.  
 

• Exempts owners, publishers, printers, deliverers, advertisers and others, as specified.   
 
Probation Reports:  Sexual Assault Victims 
 
Under current law, a probation department is mandated to contact a crime victim in order to 
conduct investigations, write pre-sentence reports, and make recommendations to the court when 



relating to an alleged sex offense.  Current law does not technically specify probation 
departments as authorized recipients of sexual assault victims' names and addresses and must 
obtain contact information through at third party (telephone directory, district attorney’s office, 
victim’s advocacy group, etc.) inhibiting the probation officer's ability to provide thorough and 
accurate recommendations on sentencing to a court.  

 
The probation officer’s report is a permanent record of the victim’s statement that can be referred 
to by the prosecutor in future criminal filings, can provide valuable information to the California 
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation in parole hearings or for clemency consideration, 
and can allow a victim’s voice in the court to resonate should the victim not be available at a 
future date. 
 

AB 2615 (Tran), Chapter 92, adds a county probation officer to the list of law 
enforcement officials who may obtain the name and address of a victim of a sex offense 
for the purpose of conducting official business.    

 
Information Card for Victims of Crime  
 
Under existing law, many cities and agencies offer programs and services to victims of certain 
violent crimes.  However, some agencies are reluctant to participate because they believe a 
liability exists if the distribution of information regarding victim’s rights already offered under 
current law does not result in services being received by the victim or if the peace officer does 
not distribute such information. 
 

AB 2705 (Spitzer), Chapter 94, encourages the distribution of information regarding 
victims' rights by giving the agencies the protection they need to encourage the 
dissemination of information to victims.  This new law provides that a city or county may 
authorize a law enforcement officer to provide to a crime victim a "Victim's Rights 
Card."  A "Victim's Rights Card" is a card or paper that provides a printed notice with a 
disclaimer, in at least 10-point type, to a victim of a crime regarding potential  services 
that may be available under existing state law to assist the victim. 
 
This new law states that provision of the victim's rights card is a discretionary act and 
shall be operative only in a city or county in which the city council or board of 
supervisors has enacted a resolution regarding the victim's right card.  This new law 
specifically states that it shall not be interpreted as replacing or prohibiting any services 
currently offered to victims of crime by any agency or person.   

 
Victim's Compensation:  Burial Expenses 
 
Current law is sufficiently ambiguous as to allow the Victim's Compensation and Government 
Claims Board to deny a claim made by a family member to pay for the burial or funeral costs of 
his or her relative if the relative was still on parole or probation at the time of death. 
 



AB 2869 (Leno), Chapter 582, clarifies that the Board is required to award 
compensation to a person seeking reimbursement for the funeral and burial expenses of a 
victim who died as a result of a crime without respect to any felony status of the victim. 

 
Protective Orders:  Firearms Relinquishment 
 
Under existing law when a court issues a protective order, the court shall order the respondent to 
relinquish any firearm in that person's immediate possession or control, or subject to that person's 
immediate possession or control, within 24 hours of being served with the order by either 
surrendering the firearm to the control of local law enforcement officials or by selling the firearm 
to a licensed gun dealer, as specified.  A person ordered to relinquish any firearm pursuant to this 
subdivision shall file with the court a receipt showing the firearm was surrendered to the local 
law enforcement agency or sold to a licensed gun dealer within 72 hours after receiving the 
order. 
 

SB 585 (Kehoe), Chapter 467, requires a person ordered to relinquish a firearm pursuant 
to the terms of a protective order to surrender the weapon in a safe manner upon request 
of any law enforcement officer or within 24 hours, as specified. 
 

Confidential Addresses 
 
SB 489 (Alpert), Chapter 1005, Statutes of 1998, created the California Confidential Address 
Program (CalCAP) to protect victims of domestic violence from the disclosure of address 
information.  Victims of stalking were added in 2000 pursuant to AB 1318 (Alpert), Chapter 
562, Statutes of 2000.  CalCAP allows a documented victim of domestic violence and 
stalking to use an alternate address maintained by the Secretary of State's Office (SOS) for 
his or her mailing address and for any public record disclosures, which allows a CalCAP 
participant to keep his or her residential address and, therefore, his or her physical location 
confidential.  The SOS then forwards mail to the victim's actual address.  Currently, sexual 
assault survivors are not allowed to participate in the program. 
 

SB 1062 (Bowen), Chapter 639, makes victims of sexual assault eligible for 
participation in CalCAP.  Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Extends CalCAP (also known as the "Safe at Home Project") eligibility to victims 

of sexual assault in addition to victims of domestic violence and stalking. 
 

• Defines "sexual assault" as assault with intent to commit a specified sex offense, 
rape, unlawful sexual intercourse, spousal rape, rape in concert, aggravated sexual 
assault of a child, incest, sodomy as specified, oral copulation as specified, child 
molestation, continuous sexual abuse of a child, forcible sexual penetration and 
annoying a child under the age of 18. 
 

• Requires any agency that receives funding from both the Maternal and Child 
Health Branch, administered by the Department of Health Services (DHS), and 
the Comprehensive Statewide Domestic Violence Program, administered by the 



Office of Emergency Services, to coordinate site visits and share performance 
assessment data with the goal of improving efficiency, eliminating duplication, 
and reducing administrative costs. 
 

• Extends until January 1, 2010 provisions of law that establish an advisory council 
to consult with DHS on funding priorities on issues relating to battered women's 
services and programs. 
 

Victims of Crime 
 
Existing law requires a public notice of any proposed name change to be published in a daily 
newspaper once a week for four consecutive weeks.  For a person petitioning for a name change 
in order to avoid domestic violence and who is also enrolled in the Safe At Home program, the 
proposed name can be kept confidential as part of the public notice requirement; however, the 
original name must still be published in the notice.  In view of the need of domestic violence and 
stalking victims to keep their addresses confidential from their abusers and stalkers, the Office of 
the Secretary of State acts as the program participants' agent for official service of process and 
forwards mail received at the substitute address provided.   
 

SB 1743 (Bowen), Chapter 689, additionally applies the above provisions to a petitioner 
who is a victim of sexual assault or who is filing on behalf of a victim of sexual assault.  
This new law specifies that the action for change of name is exempt under the provisions 
requiring publication of the order to show cause which must be filed with the court and is 
otherwise subject to the publication requirements.  Thus, this new law provides the same 
confidentiality regarding name changes to victims of sexual assault as provided to victims 
of domestic violence or stalking. 

 
WEAPONS 

 
 
Assault Weapons 
 
Currently, there is a discrepancy in the law regarding the delivery of handguns to law-abiding 
consumers when the manufacturer has failed to pay its annual maintenance fees to the 
Department of Justice (DOJ) in a timely manner.  The resulting confusion creates a great deal of 
paperwork for both the state and the retailer. 
 

AB 2111 (Haynes), Chapter 71, provides that if a purchaser of a handgun initiates a 
transfer and prior to delivery the handgun is removed from the DOJ's roster of handguns 
found not to be unsafe for a failure to pay the required fee to keep the handgun on the 
roster, the handgun shall be delivered to the purchaser if the purchaser is not prohibited 
from owning or possessing the handgun. 
 

Protective Orders:  Firearm Relinquishment 
 



In 2004, the Legislature amended the firearms relinquishment provisions that apply to Domestic 
Violence Prevention Act (DVPA) protective orders issued under the Family Code to provide that 
persons subject to DVPA orders must relinquish any firearms in their possession within 24 hours 
of being served with the order.  Prior to this change, the restrained person was afforded 48 hours 
to relinquish the firearm if he or she had been present at a noticed hearing on the order request, 
but only 24 hours if he or she was not at the hearing.  The changes made by SB 1391 (Romero), 
Chapter 250, Statutes of 2004, were to clarify and simplify the relinquishment standard, and to 
eliminate the need to have checkboxes to indicate which time applied in each situation on the 
order form.  When the Legislature simplified the provision for DVPA orders, the Legislature did 
not change the provision applicable to other types of protective orders.  That provision is found 
in the Code of Civil Procedure Section 527.9 and governs protective orders issued by a criminal 
court, as well as civil harassment, workplace violence, and elder and dependent adult abuse 
protective orders.   
 

AB 2129 (Spitzer), Chapter 474, requires a person who has been served with a 
protective order to relinquish any firearm within 24 hours regardless of whether the 
person was present in court when the order was served. 

 
Firearms:  Exempt Federal Firearms License  
 
Under federal law, a distributor of firearms only needs to obtain a copy of a federal firearms 
license (FFL) prior to shipping guns to a dealer.  In 1996, Sean Twomey of Hayward, California, 
forged a FFL utilizing Adobe Acrobat Reader.  Twomey used this forged license to obtain 
hundreds of guns from gun distributors in Ohio.  The distributors were unaware that the license 
was forged.  This process allowed thousands of guns to be distributed in California communities 
that have been used in assaults, robberies, and murders.  
 

AB 2521 (Jones), Chapter 784, authorizes the Department of Justice to create a 
centralized Internet list of exempt federal firearms licensees and place certain 
responsibilities on federally licensed firearms dealers and exempt federal firearms 
licensees, as specified. 
 

Assault Weapons:  Public Nuisance 
 
With the enactment of SB 23 (Perata) in 1999, the add-on provisions of Penal Code Section 
12276.5 have become obsolete.  If additional assault weapons are added to the list, the 
proliferation of assault weapons in California will continue.  Consequently, it is in California's to 
remove the Attorney General’s power to add additional weapons.  Law should also declare 
assault weapons possessed in violation of California law nuisances, thereby allowing their 
destruction.  District attorneys should be allowed to seek and impose civil fines against persons 
found in possession of illegal assault weapons in lieu of prosecution.  
 

AB 2728 (Klehs), Chapter 793, provides that any possession of an assault weapon or .50 
BMG rifle in violation of exiting law is a public nuisance.  Specifically, this new law: 
 



• Repeals provisions of law that allow a court to declare a firearm an assault weapon, as 
specified.  
 

• Ends the Department of Justice (DOJ) authorization to declare a firearm an assault 
weapon as of January 1, 2007, and any firearm declared to be an assault weapon prior 
to that date shall remain on the list of specified firearms with the Secretary of State. 
 

• Clarifies that except as provided in existing law related to the sale and distribution of 
assault weapons, possession of an assault weapon is a public nuisance, as specified.  
 

• Authorizes the Attorney General (AG), any district attorney, or any city attorney in 
lieu of criminal prosecution to bring a civil action or reach a civil compromise in any 
superior court to enjoin the possession of an assault weapon or .50 BMG rifle that is a 
public nuisance, as specified. 
 

• States upon motion of the AG, a district attorney or city attorney, a superior court 
may impose a civil fine not to exceed $300 for the first assault weapon or .50 BMG 
rifle deemed a public nuisance, as specified, and up to $100 for each additional 
assault weapon or .50 BMG rifle deemed a public nuisance, as specified. 
 

• States that any assault weapon or .50 BMG rifle possessed in violation of existing law 
must be destroyed so that it may no longer be used, except upon filing of a certificate 
of a judge if a court of records, the district attorney, or the DOJ stating that the 
preservation of the assault weapon or .50 BMG rifle is in the interest of justice. 
 

• Provides that for a conviction for a misdemeanor or felony involving an assault 
weapon, the assault weapon shall be deemed a nuisance and disposed of pursuant to 
existing law.  
 

BB Devices 
 
If a person threatens or injures another person with a BB device, that person can be charged with 
a variety of crimes.  However, each of those crimes involves some degree of "criminal intent" 
which becomes a necessary element for the prosecution and is often difficult to prove. 
 

SB 532 (Torlakson), Chapter 180, creates a new crime for the willful discharge of a BB 
device in a grossly negligent manner.  Specifically, this new law: 
 

• Provides that any person who willfully discharges a BB device in a grossly negligent 
manner which could result in injury or death to another person is guilty of a public 
offense and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one 
year. 
 

• Defines "BB device" as any instrument that expels a projective, such as a BB or a 
pellet, through the force of air pressure, gas pressure, or spring action. 

 



Protective Orders:  Firearms Relinquishment 
 
Under existing law when a court issues a protective order, the court shall order the respondent to 
relinquish any firearm in that person's immediate possession or control, or subject to that person's 
immediate possession or control, within 24 hours of being served with the order by either 
surrendering the firearm to the control of local law enforcement officials or by selling the firearm 
to a licensed gun dealer, as specified.  A person ordered to relinquish any firearm pursuant to this 
subdivision shall file with the court a receipt showing the firearm was surrendered to the local 
law enforcement agency or sold to a licensed gun dealer within 72 hours after receiving the 
order. 
 

SB 585 (Kehoe), Chapter 467, requires a person ordered to relinquish a firearm pursuant 
to the terms of a protective order to surrender the weapon in a safe manner upon request 
of any law enforcement officer or within 24 hours, as specified. 

 
Firearms:  Transactions  
 
Under existing law, the sale, loan or transfer of firearms in almost all cases must be processed 
by, or through, a state-licensed dealer or a local law enforcement agency with appropriate 
transfer forms being used, as specified.  In those cases where dealer or law enforcement 
processing is not required, a handgun change of title report must still be sent to the Department 
of Justice. 
 

SB 1239 (Hollingsworth), Chapter 52, requires a dealer, in a private-party firearms 
transaction, to provide copies of paperwork completed in connection with said transaction 
to both the buyer and the seller and to redact from those documents the purchaser's 
personal information from the seller's copy and the seller's personal information from the 
purchaser's copy. 

 
Firearms 
 
Under Penal Code Section 12021, any convicted felon who "owns, purchases, receives, or has in 
his or her possession or under his or her custody or control any firearm is guilty of a felony", 
punishable by 16 months, or 2 or 3 years in state prison.  Penal Code Section 664 states "every 
person who attempts to commit any crime, but fails, or is prevented or intercepted in its 
perpetration, shall be punished where no provision is made by law for the punishment of those 
attempts."  An attempt is generally punishable by one-half the length of incarceration provided 
for the crime attempted.  Penal Code Section 12076(b)(1) specifically addresses the attempted 
purchase of a firearm by a felon, stating "[a]ny person furnishing a fictitious name or address or 
knowingly furnishing any incorrect information or knowingly omitting any information required 
to be provided for the register and any person violating any provision of this section is guilty of a 
misdemeanor.  It is the general rule that where the general statute standing alone would include 
the same matter as the special act, and thus conflict with it, the special act will be considered as 
an exception to the general statute whether it was passed before or after such general enactment".  
 



SB 1538 (Scott), Chapter 668, increases the penalty for persons who are prohibited from 
owning a firearm to knowingly provide false or incomplete information to a firearms 
dealer in attempting to purchase a firearm, from a misdemeanor to an alternate felony-
misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for eight, 12 or 18 months. 

 

MISCELLANEOUS 
 
 
San Francisco General Hospital Trauma Recovery Center 
 
The Trauma Recovery Center (TRC) has proven to be an extremely effective program, winning 
prestigious awards and serving the community with its innovative and comprehensive model of 
care.  Designed not only to increase access for crime victims to Victim Restitution Funds, the 
TRC also has developed and tested a more cost-effective alternative model of care.  The TRC 
provides a range of mental health services, and these services are available at the TRC and also 
via trips by staff to the patient's home or community depending on the needs of the patient. 
 

AB 50 (Leno), Chapter 884, appropriates funds for the TRC at San Francisco General 
Hospital/University of California, San Francisco. 
 

Illegal Dumping Enforcement Officers 
 
Current law limits the effectiveness of local code enforcement or other specialized, non-sworn 
enforcement/civilian officers to pro-actively combat illegal dumping.  Under Penal Code Section 
836.5, local agencies can designate certain employees to issue citations for infractions and 
misdemeanor violations of local ordinance.  This limited authority is insufficient and contrasts 
with the effective environmental protection enforcement model used in other states. 
 

AB 1688 (Niello), Chapter 267, adds illegal dumping enforcement officers employed by 
a city, county, or city and county, to the extent necessary to enforce laws related to illegal 
waste dumping or littering, and authorized by a memorandum of understanding with the 
sheriff or chief of police within whose jurisdiction the person is employed, to the list of 
persons who are not peace officers but may exercise the powers of arrest of a peace 
officer if that person completes the required course. 

 
Confidentiality:  Victim Advocates and Crime Scene Investigators 
 
Existing law provides protection to certain groups in society that come into contact with 
criminals, including according confidential status to their home addresses and telephone 
numbers, including active or retired police officers, district attorneys, public defenders, specified 
California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation employees and others who work closely 
with convicts. 
 

AB 2005 (Emmerson), Chapter 472, expands existing Department of Motor Vehicle 
confidentiality provisions to include specified employees who routinely have contact with 
individuals involved in criminal activity to the list of public safety officials whose 
personal information is protected from disclosure on the Internet.  This new law adds 



specified employees of the Attorney General, as well as the United States Attorney and 
Federal Public Defender, to the definition of "public safety official".  This new law also 
adds state and federal judges and court commissioners, probation officers, and specified 
employees who supervise inmates in a city police department to the list of public safety 
officials whose information is protected from disclosure.   
 

Human Remains:  Permits 
 
Current law states that human remains may not be removed from California without a permit.  
As a result, an out-of-state funeral director is not authorized to remove a body from California 
for embalming without a death certificate and issuance of an appropriate permit. 
 
A problem has occurred when California residents who lived alongside the Colorado River and 
only a few miles from the Arizona border have died.  One decedent’s family would have 
preferred to send the body to a mortuary in Parker, Arizona, only a short distance from the state 
line.  However, current law requires that a signed Certificate of Death as well as a Disposition 
Permit both be filed with the county health department prior to the release of a body across state 
lines.  As a result, a body that will eventually end up at a mortuary only a few miles from the 
decedent’s home must often be transported to a much more distant county mortuary to be 
embalmed and await the filing of the Death Certificate.   
 
Moreover, in San Bernardino County, if a more proximate county mortuary is full, the main 
county morgue - over 230 miles away - will be designated.  When this situation occurs, the cost 
to the County is over $500, not including additional costs such as overtime pay.  Current law 
only allows counties to recover up to $185 for this occurrence. 
 

AB 2105 (Emmerson), Chapter 463, allows human remains to be transported to an 
adjacent state without a death certificate or permit for disposition.  Specifically, this new 
law: 
 
• Provides that neither a death certificate nor a permit for disposition shall be required 

to transport human remains from California to an adjacent state for disposition in that 
state when the following circumstances exist: 
 
o The remains are recovered within 50 miles of the California border and the 

nearest mortuary is within 20 miles of the border in the adjacent state.   
 

o The coroner with jurisdiction over the area in which the remains were recovered 
authorizes their release. 
 

• Provides that the coroner shall release the remains to an out-of-state mortuary without 
a death certificate or permit for disposition when he or she makes each of the 
following determinations:   
 
o No forensic interest in the remains exists.   

 



o A reasonable certainty exists that the cause of death will be provided either by the 
primary physician or by a review of medical records by the medical examiner.  
 

• Provides that except when a permit is not required to be issued, the permit shall 
accompany the body to its destination. 
 

• Requires the coroner with jurisdiction over the area in which the remains were found 
and who releases human remains to an out-of state funeral establishment to file a 
death certificate with the local registrar within 72 hours after the remains were found. 
 

• States that nothing in this section shall exempt a coroner, health officer, health care 
provider, or other individual from reporting a case or suspected case of any reportable 
communicable disease or condition as required by other provisions of law. 

 
Student Advisory Review Board:  Sunset Date 
 
Education Code Section 48293(c), relating to the failure of a parent to enroll his or her student in 
school, was originally due to sunset on January 1, 2005.  The Legislative Analyst’s Office and 
the State School Attendance Review Board were required to develop a report regarding the 
implementation of Compulsory Education Law provisions; the recommendation was for the 
sunset provision to be eliminated.  However, the annual Education Omnibus Bill was not the 
proper vehicle for eliminating the sunset date and, subsequently, Education Code Section 
48293(c) is to sunset on January 1, 2006.  If Education Code 48293(c) is eliminated and not 
restored after January 1, 2006, the courts will lose one of the tools they need to deal with parents 
who are neglecting the education of their children. 
 

AB 2181 (Salinas), Chapter 273, deletes the sunset date of January 1, 2006 from 
provisions related to mandatory education thereby extending indefinitely the authority of 
the court to order or punish a person for failing to comply with compulsory attendance 
laws. 
 

Reproductive Health Care Services:  Confidentiality of Personal Information 
 
Anti-abortion activists have long used violence or true threats of violence to intimidate and 
harass women exercising their constitutionally protected right to make personal, private, 
reproductive choices.  Women should never face the risk of vigilante justice for exercising their 
right to choose; the same goes for those who enable women to exercise this right. 
 

AB 2251(Evans), Chapter 486, seeks to protect the personal safety of reproductive 
health care providers, employees, volunteers, and patients by prohibiting the posting of 
such people's personal information on the Internet under specified circumstances.  
Specifically, this bill provides:   

 
• Civil penalties for any person, business, or association who displays on the Internet 

the home address, telephone number, or image of any provider, employee, volunteer, 
or patient of a reproductive health services facility with the intent to do either of the 



following:  (1) incite a third person to cause great bodily harm to the person 
identified, or a person with whom that person resides; or (2) threaten the person 
identified, or a person with whom he or she resides, in a manner that places the 
person in objectively reasonable fear of his or her personal safety.  
 

• That any reproductive health service provider, employee, volunteer, or patient who is 
placed in reasonable fear by the posting of his or her home address and phone number 
on an Internet Web site may make a written demand that such information be 
removed from the Web site so long as the demand includes a sworn statement 
describing the reasonable fear and attesting that the person is a member of the group 
protected by the statute.  
 

• That no person, business, or association shall solicit, sell, or trade on the Internet the 
home address, telephone number, or image of a reproductive health service provider, 
employee, volunteer, or patient  with the intent to do either of the following:  (1) 
incite a third person to cause great bodily harm to the person identified, or a person 
with whom that person resides; or (2) threaten the person identified, or a person with 
whom he or she resides, in a manner that places the person in objectively reasonable 
fear of his or her personal safety. 

 
Emergency Medical Services 
 
In Santa Barbara County, local hospitals are reported to be losing an estimated $8 million 
annually due to uncompensated emergency and trauma care.  Two hospitals have closed in Santa 
Barbara County in the past seven years, leaving five hospitals to serve the area.  Santa Barbara 
County has the only level two trauma center between Los Angeles and San Jose (Cottage 
Hospital).  Cottage Hospital has the only around-the-clock physician, on-call panel on the 
Central Coast; has the only pediatric intensive on the Central Coast; and supports facilities 
throughout the tri-county region. 
 
In 2002, over 115,000 emergency room visits were made in Santa Barbara.  Of those, 58 percent 
of the patients were uninsured or underinsured.  Special legislation was passed, implementing an 
additional penalty assessment for Santa Barbara County only, to respond to this crisis.  That 
legislation provided that the additional assessment terminated in 2006. 
 
In February 2005, a local Maddy Committee formed and held numerous meetings to strategize 
about permanent funding sources.  In April 2005, a public opinion survey was conducted.  Voters 
were positive about Santa Barbara hospitals, and a majority supported a sales tax increase for 
trauma/emergency care/law enforcement system.  However, the support was less than the 66 
percent necessary to pass a local ballot initiative.  Therefore, Santa Barbara County required an 
extension of the additional penalty assessment period. 
 

AB 2265 (Nava), Chapter 768, authorizes Santa Barbara County to collect the additional 
penalty revenues to pay for emergency medical services until January 1, 2009.  This new 
law contains legislative findings that the Legislature, in extending the period of time 
during which the additional penalties may be collected, expects Santa Barbara County to 



place an appropriate proposed tax ordinance as a county measure on the ballot for, or 
before, the November 2008 election ensuring the collection of sufficient funds to fully 
support the trauma center.   

 
Court Hearings:  Mentally Incompetent Offenders 
 
Under existing law at the end of three years from the date of commitment or a period of 
commitment equal to the maximum term of imprisonment provided by law for the most serious 
offense charged in the information, indictment, or misdemeanor complaint, whichever is shorter, 
a defendant who has not recovered mental competence shall be returned to the committing court. 
 

AB 2858 (Leno), Chapter 799, states that where a defendant has bee found mentally 
incompetent to stand trial, the district attorney shall be notified if the offender is placed 
on an out-patient status. 
 

Telephone Calling Records 
 
Telephone phone records are readily available to any person who is willing to pay a nominal fee 
for the information.  Although many of the methods used for acquiring the records are illegal, 
businesses are openly selling this information without the consumer’s knowledge or consent.   
 

SB 202 (Simitian), Chapter 626, prohibits the purchase or sale of any telephone calling 
pattern record or list without the written consent of the person making the calls.  
Specifically, this new law:    
 
• Provides that any person who purchases, sells, offers to purchase or sell, or conspires 

to purchase or sell any telephone calling pattern record or list, without the written 
consent of the person making the calls shall be punished by a fine not exceeding 
$2,500; by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding one year; or by both a fine 
and imprisonment. 
 

• Provides that if the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this 
section, he or she is punishable by a fine not exceeding $10,000; by imprisonment in 
the county jail not exceeding one year; or by both a fine and imprisonment. 
 

• Provides that any personal information contained in a telephone calling pattern record 
or list obtained in violation of this section shall be inadmissible as evidence in any 
judicial, administrative, legislative, or other proceeding except when that information 
is offered as proof in an action or prosecution for a violation of this section. 
 

• Defines "person" as an individual, business association, partnership, limited 
partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or other legal entity. 
 

• Defines "telephone calling pattern record or list" as information retained by a 
telephone company that relates to the telephone numbers dialed by the customer or 
other person using the customer's telephone with permission; the incoming call 



number of calls directed to the customer or other data related to such calls typically 
contained on a customer telephone bill, such as the time the call started and ended; 
the duration of the call and any charges applied whether the call was made from or to 
a telephone connected to the public switched telephone network, a cordless telephone, 
a telephony device operating over the Internet utilizing voice over Internet protocol, a 
satellite telephone, or a cellular telephone. 
 

• Provides that an employer of, or entity contract with, a person who purchases, sells, 
offers to purchase or sell, or conspires to purchase or sell any telephone calling 
pattern record or list without the written consent of the person making the call shall 
only be subject to prosecution pursuant to that section if the employer or contracting 
entity knowingly allowed the employee or contractor to engaged in unlawful conduct. 
 

• Provides that this section shall not be construed to prevent any law enforcement or 
prosecutorial agency or any officer, employee, or agent thereof from obtaining 
telephone records in connection with the performance of the official duties of the 
agency consistent with any other applicable state and federal law.  
 

Anti-Reproductive Rights Crimes 
 
Under existing law, "anti-reproductive-rights crime" is defined as a crime committed partly or 
wholly because the victim is a reproductive health services client, provider, or assistant, or a 
crime that is partly or wholly intended to intimidate the victim, any other person or entity, or any 
class of persons or entities from becoming or remaining a reproductive health services client, 
provider, or assistant.  "Anti-reproductive-rights crime" includes, but is not limited to, a violation 
of existing law related to free access to clinics.  
 

SB 603 (Romero), Chapter 481, makes specified changes to the list of organizations 
within the statutory definition of "subject matter experts" on the issue of "anti-
reproductive rights crime" and requires the Commission on the Status of Women to 
convene an advisory committee consisting of one person appointed by the Attorney 
General and one person appointed by each of the organizations listed as subject matter 
experts, as specified, who choose to appoint a member or any other subject matter experts 
the Commission may appoint.  

 
Firearms:  Transactions  
 
Under existing law, the sale, loan or transfer of firearms in almost all cases must be processed 
by, or through, a state-licensed dealer or a local law enforcement agency with appropriate 
transfer forms being used, as specified.  In those cases where dealer or law enforcement 
processing is not required, a handgun change of title report must still be sent to the Department 
of Justice. 
 

SB 1239 (Hollingsworth), Chapter 52, requires a dealer, in a private-party firearms 
transaction, to provide copies of paperwork completed in connection with said transaction 
to both the buyer and the seller and to redact from those documents the purchaser's 



personal information from the seller's copy and the seller's personal information from the 
purchaser's copy. 

 
Criminal Justice Statistics 
 
The Office of the Attorney General, through the Department of Justice's (DOJ) Criminal Justice 
Statistics Center, collects, analyzes, and develops reports and data sets that provide valid 
measures of crime and the criminal justice process in California.  The statistics are aggregated by 
state, county, city and jurisdictions with populations of 100,000 or more.  Though the statistics 
provided are fairly comprehensive, not all of the statistical information collected is available on 
the Internet; the public is generally unaware that they may make special requests for such 
statistics to the Statistics Center. 
 
The availability of this information would allow Californians to easily compare the number of 
crimes reported, number of crimes cleared, and clearance rates of these crimes by individual law 
enforcement agencies, and make data readily available that is already collected by DOJ. 
 

SB 1261 (McClintock), Chapter 306, requires the DOJ to maintain a data set, updated 
annually, relating to crimes reported, the number of clearances and  
clearance rates reported by law enforcement agencies.  This new law further requires that 
the report shall be accessible by a hypertext link on the DOJ Internet Web site. 
 

Public Safety:  Omnibus Bill 
 
The annual Senate omnibus bill makes technical changes and corrections to various provisions of 
code. 
 

SB 1422 (Margett), Chapter 901, makes various technical, non-substantive changes to 
provisions related to, among other things, crime, firearms, child welfare and controlled 
substances addiction.  Specifically, this new law:    
 

• Repeals a Penal Code statute related to sentencing enhancements for various crimes 
which no longer has any application.  
 

• Changes references to "district attorney" to "prosecuting attorney".  
 

• Codifies a statutory determination of People vs. Shabazz (2006) 38 Cal.4th 55 relating 
to applying the enhancement language in California's "10-20-Life" firearms statute. 
 

• Adds uncodified intent language explaining intent to be declaratory of existing law, 
and to conform the language of the statute to the decision of the California Supreme 
Court in People v. Shabazz (2006) 38 Cal.4th 55, 66-70. 
 

• Deletes duplicate listings of "assault with intent to commit murder" and "assault with 
a deadly weapon" which are listed twice in Penal Code Section 667.7. 
 



• Adds "attorney general" to the prohibition on making a false report to a district 
attorney.  
 

• Codifies an Attorney General opinion which clarifies that those existing public 
agencies authorized to inspect juvenile case files may also copy those files.  
 

• Corrects numerous technical and non-substantive grammar and cross-referencing 
errors.  

 
Transit Fare Evasion 
   
Under current law, transit fare evasion and other minor transit infractions (e.g. smoking, eating, 
expectorating or playing loud music on a bus) are charged as an infraction under Penal Code 
Section 640.  San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency and Los Angeles County 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority want to decriminalize that behavior and, instead, 
adjudicate any or all of the specified violations through administrative review, freeing up court 
dockets to handle more serious offenses.  This change is consistent with the trend in other states 
to "decriminalize" minor traffic and parking offenses. 
 

SB 1749 (Migden), Chapter 258, allows for administrative enforcement of transit-
related violations in the City and County of San Francisco and the Los Angeles County 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority.  Specifically, this new law: 
 
• Provides that the City and County of San Francisco and the Los Angeles County 

Metropolitan Transportation Authority may enact and enforce an ordinance providing 
that any acts prohibited on or in a facility or vehicle for which the City and County 
has jurisdiction shall be subject only to an administrative penalty imposed and 
enforced in a civil proceeding. 
 

• Provides that minors are exempt from these administrative penalties. 
 

• Provides that the City and County of San Francisco and the Los Angeles County 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority may enact and enforce an ordinance to impose 
and enforce an administrative penalty, excluding minors, for any of the following: 
 
o Evasion of the payment of a fare of the system; 

 
o Misuse of a transfer, pass, ticket or token with the intent to evade the payment of 

fare; 
 

o Playing sound equipment on or in a system facility or vehicle; 
 

o Smoking, eating, or drinking in or on a system facility or vehicle in those areas 
where those activities are prohibited by that system; 
 



o Expectorating upon a system facility or vehicle; 
 

o Willfully disturbing others on or in a system facility or vehicle by engaging in 
boisterous or unruly behavior; 
 

o Carrying an explosive or acid, flammable liquid, or toxic or hazardous material in 
a system facility or vehicle; 
 

o Urinating or defecating in a system facility or vehicle, except in a lavatory; 
 

o Willfully blocking the free movement of another in a system facility or vehicle; 
 

o Skateboarding, roller skating, bicycle riding, or rollerblading in a system facility, 
including a parking structure, or in a system vehicle; and, 
 

o Unauthorized use of a discount ticket or failure to present, upon request from a 
system representative, acceptable proof of eligibility to use a discount ticket. 
 

• Provides that the City and County of San Francisco and the Los Angeles County 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority may contract with a private vendor for the 
processing of notices of fare evasion or passenger conduct violation, and notices of 
delinquent fare evasion or specified passenger conduct violations. 
 

• Defines "processing agency" as the agency issuing the notice of fare evasion or 
passenger conduct violation and the notice of delinquent fare evasion or passenger 
conduct violation, or the party responsible for processing the notice of fare evasion or 
passenger conduct violation and the notice of delinquent violation. 
 

• Defines "fare evasion or passenger conduct violation penalty" as including, but not 
limited to, a late payment penalty, administrative fee, fine, assessment, and costs of 
collection as provided for in the ordinance. 
 

• Provides that if a fare evasion or passenger conduct violation is observed by a person 
authorized to enforce the ordinance, a notice of fare evasion or passenger conduct 
violation shall be issued.  The notice shall set forth the violation including reference 
to the ordinance setting forth the administrative penalty, the date of violation, the 
approximate time, and the location where the violation occurred.  The notice shall be 
served by personal service upon the violator.  The notice, or copy of the notice, shall 
be considered a record kept in the ordinary course of business of the issuing agency 
and the processing agency, and shall be prima facie evidence of the facts contained in 
the notice establishing a rebuttable presumption affecting the burden of evidence. 
 

• Provides that when a notice of fare evasion or passenger conduct violation has been 
served, the person issuing notice shall file the notice with the processing agency. 
 



• Sets up a review process for a citation under this new law.  This new law provides for 
a period of 21 calendar days from the issuance to a person of the notice of fare 
evasion or passenger conduct violation, where the person may request an initial 
review of the violation by the issuing agency.  Following the initial review, the 
issuing agency may cancel the notice if it believes the violation did not occur or 
extenuating circumstances should result in its dismissal.   After the initial review, the 
person may request an administrative hearing of the violation no later than 21 
calendar days following the results of the issuing agency's initial review.  The person 
requesting the review shall deposit the amount due under the notice for which the 
hearing is requested, although there must be a process to request a hearing without 
payment upon a showing of an inability to pay.  The administrative hearing shall be 
held within 90 calendar days following the request. 
 

• Provides that the administrative hearing process shall include all of the following: 
 
o The person requesting a hearing shall have the choice of a hearing by mail or in 

person.  An in-person hearing shall be conducted within the jurisdiction of the 
issuing agency.  If an issuing agency contracts with a private vendor, hearings 
shall be held within the jurisdiction of the issuing agency; 
 

o The administrative hearing shall be conducted in accordance with written 
procedures established by the issuing agency and approved by the governing body 
or chief executive officer of the issuing agency.  The hearing shall provide an 
independent, objective, fair, and impartial review of contested violations; 
 

o The administrative review shall be conducted before a hearing officer designated 
to conduct the review by the issuing agency's governing body or chief executive 
officer.  In addition to any other requirements of employment, a hearing officer 
shall demonstrate those qualifications, training, and objectivity prescribed by the 
issuing agency's governing body or chief executive as are necessary and which 
are consistent with the duties and responsibilities set forth in this chapter.  The 
hearing officer's continued employment, performance evaluation, compensation, 
and benefits shall not be directly or indirectly linked to the amount of fare evasion 
or passenger conduct violation penalties imposed by the hearing officer; 
 

o The person who issued the notice of fare evasion or passenger conduct violation 
shall not be required to participate in an administrative hearing.  The issuing 
agency shall not be required to produce any evidence other than the notice of fare 
evasion or passenger conduct violation.  The documentation in proper form shall 
be prima facie evidence of the violation; 
 

o The hearing officer's decision following the administrative hearing may be 
personally delivered to the person by the hearing officer or sent by first-class 
mail; and, 
 

o Following a determination by the hearing officer that a person committed the 
violation, the hearing officer may allow payment of the fare evasion or passenger 



conduct penalty in installments or deferred payment if the person provides 
satisfactory evidence of an inability to pay the fare evasion or passenger conduct 
penalty in full.  If authorized by the issuing agency, the hearing officer may 
permit the performance of community service in lieu of payment of the fare 
evasion or passenger conduct penalty. 
 

• Provides that within 30 calendar days after the mailing or personal delivery of the 
decision, the person may seek review by filing an appeal to be heard by the superior 
court where the same shall be heard de novo, except that the contents of the 
processing agency's file in the case shall be received in evidence.  A copy of the 
notice of fare evasion or passenger conduct violation shall be admitted into evidence 
as prima facie evidence of the facts stated therein establishing a rebuttable 
presumption affecting the burden of producing evidence.  A copy of the notice of 
appeal shall be served in person or by first-class mail upon the processing agency by 
the person filing the appeal.   
 

• Provides that the fee for filing the notice of appeal shall be $25.   
 

• Provides that an appeal under this section may be performed by a commissioner or 
other subordinate judicial officials at the direction of the presiding judge of the court. 
 

Fines and Forfeitures 
 
Existing law provides that counties shall levy a $2 penalty assessment out of every $10 base fine 
for criminal offenses (including traffic violations) to fund emergency medical services.  As 
reported by the State Auditor, in 2002-2003 counties collected about $56 million.  However, 
emergency services are reportedly severely under-funded and funds need to be raised to alleviate 
this problem.  These additional funds would also be instrumental in maintaining the financial 
stability of the emergency and trauma centers, decreasing diversion time and the time a patient 
must wait for services, and improving services overall. 
 

SB 1773 (Alarcon), Chapter 841, provides that until January 1, 2009, a county board of 
supervisors may elect to levy an additional penalty in the amount of $2 for every $10, 
upon fines, penalties and forfeitures collected for criminal offenses.  This new law 
requires that 15% of the funds collected pursuant to these provisions be expended for 
pediatric trauma centers and requires use of these funds, not to exceed 10 percent, for 
administrative costs.   

 


