Welcome to the Committee on Public Safety

A portrait photo of McCarty (Chair)
Assembly Member Kevin McCarty Assembly District 6 Chair of the Public Safety Committee
A portrait photo of Alanis (Vice Chair)
Assembly Member Juan Alanis Assembly District 22 Vice Chair of the Public Safety Committee
For information on how to submit a position letter please see the  
Advocacy Quick Reference Guide
Submit Position Letter

Committee Jurisdiction: Primary jurisdiction is the California Penal Code.

The Public Safety Committee is located in the Legislative Office Building, 1020 N Street, Room 111 and the phone number is (916) 319-3744.

We encourage the public to provide written testimony before the hearing by visiting https://calegislation.lc.ca.gov/Advocates/. Please note that any written testimony submitted to the committee is considered public comment and may be read into the record or reprinted.

Procedures put in place to accommodate the pandemic restrictions have been reverted back to pre-pandemic practices. Teleconference testimony during committee hearings will no longer be available.

Committee Information

Committee Room

Assembly Public Safety Committee
1020 N Street, Room 111
Sacramento, CA 95814

Copyright © 2024 State of California

Back to Top